Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Sevylor > Tahiti Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Tahiti Kayak by Sevylor


Rated: 7.24/10 Based On: 33 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



01-31-2014
Submitted by: PBSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I have the HFK-79 [Tahiti] and I love it. It's definitely too small for 2 people, but I fish in it by myself and have plenty of room. The first few times I used it I sat in the back and had trouble with the seat sliding so that by the end of my trip I was pretty much laying down, but then I figured out I can put the milk crate with my fishing gear in the back, put the seat against that and it doesn't slide. Plus, since being more forward keeps the front in the water, it tracks way better and spins less when you stop. Of course, I'd love to have a hard-sided fishing kayak, but for $100 this thing is amazing.
Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
05-22-2013
Submitted by: GarySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've been paddling the Tahiti off and on for around 15 years and I just love this kayak! I've never babied it at all and it has always treated me much better than I have treated it.

If you're having trouble with a slow leak, Inland Marine sells a product that will fix them from the inside. Just pour it into the air chambers, then inflate and move the boat around to make sure the product gets to every part of the inside of the tubes. You'll get enough to treat all the air tubes in your kayak.

Submit your own review!

07-03-2012
Submitted by: pfoSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     Bought my Green One and have used it twice. I did buy the skeg and used it twice. The skeg is hardly ever in the water = useless. This is a big float. Will NOT stay straight. Useless for me and a perfect total waste of money!
Submit your own review!

09-24-2011
Submitted by: SaritaSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought the Sevylor Tahiti HF79 inflatable last year and I'm still enjoying it a year later. I had already been an avid kayaker prior to my purchase but I needed an inflatable because I drive a Miata. At a moment's notice, I can pack the kayak, 2 seats, 2 paddles, the pump, and pfd in the trunk of my convertible. This for me was worth its weight in gold and considering I paid $115, excluding add-ons, scored a screaming deal!

A few add-ons/upgrades are necessary for a richer experience:

  1. get a high quality paddle. This thing is a beast on windy days, specially going upstream. The only reason I went with a 2-piece paddle is because I can't fit the full length with the top up. You're definitely exerting more effort given that you sit lower and the two air chambers force you to paddle wider, like a canoe - think of it as a good workout rather than an easy paddle. That said, I've taken a front passenger for ride and paddled the yak on my own, no problem.
  2. I got a double action hand pump so the yak and seats are ready to go in 15min. You'll need at least 2 different sized pump connectors for the double lock valves.
  3. Definitely get the skeg for a noticeable difference paddling around large lakes. It's not a fast ride but it's super comfy.
  4. Get the high-backrest seats. I sit cross-legged and get pretty good back support for about 4 hours.
There's plenty of room for a dry bag, or two, but the floor will get wet, even if you close the bow self-bailing cover. I wish there was a way to attach the paddle to side. Speaking of attachments, the ties for the bow and stern covers are helpful when attaching a rope, anchor, or bag. Knocking on every piece of wood I can find, so far no punctures. I try to be careful around rocks, asphalt and grassy areas and carry duck tape...just in case. I also attached a strap on the bow & stern so that I can pick it up instead of dragging it. Oh, and as far as air pressure goes, there's a gauge on each of the air chambers that basically don't work. My pump has a gauge too but that broke shortly after I got it. So my advice is to try not to over-inflate and hope for the best.

There are better inflatables out there for sure, but for <$150, the Tahiti goes in the smallest of trunks and rides confidently in large bodies of water.

Submit your own review!

08-30-2011
Submitted by: tomSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I've owned the Tahiti hf 109 the long version for 4 months I've been in the sea but mostly rivers the bottom is very strong and scrapes rocks fine but I've had 7 punctures in the side tubes 3 were off just being folded and stored then the final one were it tore from the bottom seam can't be fixed I paid 100 pound for boat so bit disappointed if only sides were as thick as bottom if you want an inflatable that lasts this is not it.
Submit your own review!

08-08-2011
Submitted by: CarterSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I think the Tahiti is the best $150 boat that can be stored in a closet. It is not tough enough for whitewater and it catches a lot of wind, but for paddling down flat rivers it is good cheap fun.

I bought the skeg to try to make it track straighter, but there are no instructions on how to install it. In the position suggested by the inadequate photo and drawing that came with it, it is too high, barely breaking the surface of the water. It has a spike molded into it that would fit in the hole in the cleat that anchors the spray skirt tie-down, but the spike is ten inches higher than the cleat. Ridiculous! I hope the boat would not be ruined if I cut a slit between the two pontoons right at the tip of the stern, so the skeg would ride low enough to be attached to the cleat.

Submit your own review!

08-03-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Our orange Tahiti cost $40.00 and has served us well since 1975 despite a few patches. We have always rinsed off salt water and mud and dried it before storing it in a cool basement. Now that we are older we often use a strong umbrella to get up speed when the wind comes up on a lake. We are looking for a new plug since ours popped off coming down the Rogue.
Submit your own review!

07-11-2011
Submitted by: Graham JenkinsSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     At first this seemed to exactly fit my needs as a tender for my yacht. But it wasn't long before the first hole appeared. Now it seems that I need to patch it every time I use it. Latest thing is that it started to split along the main bladder seam. After every new patch there it would split again where the old split finished. The glue they supplied ran out after the second patch.

It is definitely not robust. OK for paddling in clear water, but hopeless for launching/ recovering from a pontoon. It also gets new holes when deflated and rolled away.
looking for a more expensive more robust inflatable now.

Submit your own review!

08-27-2010
Submitted by: MDYSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have the 2+1 version. No previous experience of kayaking. First trip out was a bit difficult: found it hard to control direction even with the skeg attached. My second trip today was much more successful. I'm getting the hand of control. Paddling from near the back of the boat, rather than further to the front really seems to help. Don't feel dispirited if you can't control the thing first time!

Fantastic price - I paid £110. Plenty of space for me (6'2", 200lbs), my 8-year old boy and coats, bags, etc.. Quick to inflate - 10 mins with a foot pump. Really pleased with the product.

Submit your own review!

04-28-2010
Submitted by: Steven M EllisSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've only been paddling for about a year,and as a novice who's only had a couple of lessons in hardshells I cant compare my k79hf(the green one) to much else, but me & my over-sized Collie love it! We paddle around the Norfolk Broads, take camping trips, etc.

The Tahiti is hard work upstream even in a mild current, mainly because the bow is a bit "blunt" so it doesn't cut the water. But in the stills or downstream it's fine. As everyone says, you need the skeg (unless you stick a couple of skegs on like I have).

At the end of the day, in my humble opinion you're not going to beat the Tahiti for smiles per buck, I got a superb deal on mine from sk camping... paid £79. The only thing I can really dis are the seats... they're shite. I paddle solo & wedge the seat back against the stern spray deck.that supports the backrest but the sit-on bit is too small even if you ain't a fat arse.

Trust me, if you're considering a Tahiti then look at the nearest competition, compare the prices, then order a skeg & buy a Tahiti!! Hope this helps & remember: have fun but be safe.

Submit your own review!

12-13-2009
Submitted by: Bill DishongSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We have used the Tahiti as a barge for carrying our gear while back packing in Big Cypress Preserve Florida. Since we are wading in the summer and fall it is a great aid for overnight trips in the swamp. An added bonus is having a boat for fishing, photography etc. when we encounter really deep water. Love it.
Submit your own review!

04-24-2009
Submitted by: James NomadRipSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have had a Tahiti since somewhere around 1994. It has seen calm fresh water only once in the Sierras, the rest of the time it has been a saltwater boat for me. I have fished from it many times. It has been in a swimming pool twice for leak-finding, and it has only had one leak. A tear from me dragging it fully laden across the asphalt when I got lazy one day at the boat launch 2 years ago. I have had it in 3-4 foot swells off the coast, and it is extremely stable.

Believe it or not, I got the boat from a cigarette promotion back then, 15 years ago. Smoke up a bunch of cigarettes and turn the proofs of purchase in for a kayak, a tent, a sleeping bag, or an iron lung! I picked the first 3 and still use all 3 to this day (and quit smoking).

This boat absolutely sucks as a sea kayak. It is twitchy as heck. It is supposed to be maneuverable like it is, though. I have not tried the skeg, but I am going to do that after seeing the reviews here, since it's only a few bucks. It does take some getting used to in order to get proficient at steering it, and it is especially frustrating in even moderate winds. Compared to a proper Kayak, this is the worst option...but for the price! If you are on a limited budget, don't need anything professional quality, have easy and frequent access to water you'd like to float about on, and no place to store a larger boat, then this is an easy and usable solution. I have had no end to the fun I have had on this boat, even just exploring harbors. It's a great, no-cost way to go out and enjoy a nice day on the water, and it holds plenty of gear to paddle out to someplace to camp or fish, or to bring a (reasonably small) friend along with you.

For the price and what it tries to be, you really can't beat the Tahiti.

Submit your own review!

10-08-2008
Submitted by: YakChapSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have given this boat a 9/10. There are better boats out there, but I have rated it on how well it fulfills it's specific purpose; that of a cheap beginner boat

I got the slightly longer K109, which is about 12'8" but otherwise identical to the K79. I have had it three months and put four holes in it - all my own fault and not one of them has occurred on the water (all were done through clumsiness on my part when transporting it). If you have to carry it any distance, get a folding upright trolley for it.

It doesn't track well sadly, but nor is it supposed to - it's a white water boat that is intended to be able to turn on a sixpence, which it does. Get the optional skeg, it's worth it. However, I also made a 75cm long by 20cm deep fin to strap to the underside of the hull like a false keel. It now tracks brilliantly - I'd even go so far as to say that it tracks better than a hard shell with my homemade fin.

It is rugged, and can take some abuse. You will get punctures, that's inevitable. Odds are, though, that they will be slow punctures. Punctures are easy to fix using seamseal (don't bother with patches for small punctures - save them for if you get a tear or large hole).

The seats are useless. I kneel to paddle, as if you sit on the floor you will sink into it and find that your legs are a few inches higher than your hips - so you are basically trying to paddle while holding a crunch, which is painful to say the least. Kneeling is very comfortable though.

It is extremely stable too. I use mine to fish from, and often anchor it in the river with a folding anchor and stand up in it to fly fish.

There is one small issue. In direct sunlight the PVC will expand and you will lose air pressure in the side chambers. DO NOT TRY TO ADD MORE AIR IF THIS HAPPENS. You will stretch the PVC and weaken it. The yellow Tahiti looks silly, but the yellow colour reflects more sunlight than the green one, so is slightly less susceptible to this phenomenon.

Submit your own review!

08-11-2008
Submitted by: bkSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     From my experience with iks this boat isn't half bad for 100 bucks. I run class IV in it and it works (except for the fact that every time I drop in a hole I have to eddy out and take 5 minutes to drain it). Good boat for the price though, probably the best beginner boat on the market considering most people don't want to spend 1000 bucks to try out the sport and find they don't like being thrashed by mother nature
Submit your own review!

07-16-2008
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 3 of 10

     I've owned the green Tahiti K79 for a while. It is my least favorite inflatable kayak (I own 4 different ones with my favorite being the Stearns 1k-116). I bought it for my husband who is 6 ft. He said the seat was too small for him, so he turned it around and used it as a backrest. He never wanted to use the kayak again. Last fall I decided to use it on the Au Sable River so I could see if he was complaining for nothing.

I found the seat to be entirely too small to sit on. I had to keep trying to get my butt back on it. The side tubes are quite big so you expend more energy trying to reach over them. I had to paddle continually. Every time I stopped, the boat immediately did an about-face so I was facing backwards (no relaxing float here).

But the worst thing is that by the end of a 2 hour trip, one side tube as quite low on air. Obviously, I had a leak. I have since tried to find the leak but to no avail. I have emailed Sevylor twice to see what they can do for me. I'm still waiting for a response.

Need less to say, I'm not thrilled with the boat. Only two uses out of it and I'm ready to sell (if I can fix the leak). Maybe it would track better with 2 people in it, but I still would worry about it holding air. I'd much rather have a kayak with the nylon cover.

Submit your own review!

07-11-2008
Submitted by: ZCSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I recently bought the Tahiti and I love it. My buddy and I paddle it out of our local harbor (Redondo Beach) and paddle it all the way to (Manhattan beach) which is about 4 miles in fairly high seas. I am 5'8 and he is 6'0 and we feel comfortable enough. We then surf it in the waves and it handles well and then we paddle it right back through the waves 3 to 5 foot waves and have a blast. Sure the fact that it can't bail itself is a bummer, but for 100 bucks it's all good.
Submit your own review!

07-12-2007
Submitted by: B NoletSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have been paddling whitewater kayaks since they were 17 feet long and made out of fiberglass--which was a long time ago. I recently purchased two Tahiti's so that I could get my young children involved in riversport. I have been very impressed thus far. Most everyone makes the comment that the boats will not track without the skeg. This is correct, kayaks are not supposed to track straight. In whitewater you want them to turn on a dime, your life depends on it. These are, of course, not serious whitewater kayaks but the same rules apply, each stroke corrects the last stroke, Paddling is a skill and only time and experience will make this an effortless process. I did purchase the skegs to make it easier for my kids, but don't be fooled, any whitewater flat bottomed kayak will spin in circles under the control of an inexperienced paddler.

Other nice features of the Tahiti are as follows: It blows up in about 8 minutes start to finish. It holds me and one of my children perfectly, it draws very little and it deflates quickly. I haven't had it long enough to speak as to its durability, but for family fun, and as a launching point for riversport, I give it a big thumbs up!

Submit your own review!

07-09-2007
Submitted by: PangoSend Email
Rating: 4 of 10

     I purchased a Sevylor Tahiti last year but found several problems with it:
* I punctured the floor in three places the first time I took it in a shallow creek. It patched up just fine, but I was very disappointed.
* It's too heavy, bulky and slow to inflate for my needs.
* I hate to say it, but it's embarrassing to be seen in a big yellow plastic blow-up boat.

I took the Tahiti to a campground near a local reservoir and paddled it like a kayak every morning. I know it sounds shallow, but I was embarrassed by the yellow plastic boat when fishing and ski boats passed by. I purchased the skeg, but it still does not track well at all--it's like paddling a raft.
I don't want to go into a lot of bad detail since many people seem to like it, and I guess it's not bad for around $100, but it's still a single-walled inflatable pool toy that's too big for a pool.

Submit your own review!

03-07-2007
Submitted by: MFSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I paddled a Tahiti down the better portion of 84 miles on the San Juan in Utah--Bluff to Clay Hills takeout. There is some class III here but most of the river is flatwater. This boat does not track well because it's not supposed to. A boat cannot be expected to turn on a dime, and also be expected to track well on flatwater. The Tahiti is designed for whitewater, and maneuvers like a whitewater boat should. You don't want to put the skeg on if you're doing many rapids because it will hinder your ability to avoid hazards. This is a good boat for anyone on a budget, but keep in mind that if you were to spend for an Aire Tomcat $550, you could get a boat 20 times better--but heavier. The Tomcat is more durable, bails itself without leaving you sitting in a puddle, and is more stable. It is so rigid that you can stand upright on the pontoons in flat or riffle water and paddle it like a gondola, and the boat will not bend even with all your weight in the center, provided that you have the balance to stand, of course. The Tomcat beats every inflatable kayak that Sevylor has to offer, even the River X series. Aire says the Tomcat tandem will hold 450 lbs, but I've put really close to 500 lbs and was still maneuverable in moderate whitewater--class II and III. Sevylor says their boat will hold a lot but it can really handle no more than a single person with moderate gear, and even with that you will be sitting in a puddle because it doesn't bail above the water line.
Submit your own review!

10-05-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've had the Tahiti for about 6 months and have a love hate relationship with it. It got me hooked on kayaking and has survived some class II/III white water. It doesn't respond quite as fast to turns in the class III and had me resting up against a rock now and again. If you buy it, buy a skeg. Maneuvering without a skeg in calm water is a pain. I managed to snap my first skeg in half on a class II chute but have wasted no time in replacing it. It seems to be fairly thick skinned and more durable than I thought it would be. I would not recommend it as a two person kayak unless you are very short legged. I recommend one person with a beer cooler to fully utilize its potential. I've found that its 400lbs capacity is excellent for a 250lbs person. It is super easy to get in and out of even in deep water. The color drives me nuts.
Submit your own review!

08-14-2006
Submitted by: MSSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Will join the crowd here in noting that the Tahiti, at least the K79 HF (green/tan boat) we have, is a nice flatwater boat. It is a great extra boat that we carry with an AE Dragonfly2 to lakes and quiet rivers. Very stable and the seats are easily adjustable and comfortable to hold two under 5'8" or so, or one 6 footer and one under 5'. Not so great for two 6 footers or taller, but what would you expect on a kayak style boat not even 11 feet long?

Also agree that the skeg is an essential extra, and should be standard equipment with the boat, IMO! Our teen and her friends love the thing, and though they like the stealthy green and tan color boat and seats, we can now see that yellow might have been a better choice so we can easily SEE those teens way off in the distance on the lake!

Wish Sevylor would upgrade the valves to something like on the AE Dragonfly line, but the Tahiti is at a different, much lower price point and thus is more basic.

Just take care to loosen the "shoelace stitching" in the aft cover before putting in the skeg - the boat we bought used (but only in the water once) had a small tear in the aft cover where the skeg was forced in place. Easily taken care of with some GE Silicone2! In fact, I agree with the former owner, GE Silicone2 works well for patching this thing if patch kit isn't available. Patch in eve and ready to go next morning.

Submit your own review!

07-10-2006
Submitted by: JFDMSend Email
Rating: 2 of 10

     Great experience to start with. 7 moths down the line turned out to be a disater - holes popping up in the seams all the time. Fought a running battles to put 20 patches on sofar, each time another one appears upon the next time it is inflated.Too late to claim on the warranty, money down the drain. Caveat emptor
Submit your own review!

06-16-2006
Submitted by: DKovacSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have had the Sevylor Tahiti Pro for about 4 years now. I purchased it used from Orange Torpedo Tours in Oregon, who uses this boat on their guided tours of the Rogue and Klamath rivers. It is an excellent boat for the money. As mentioned in other reviews, it does not track all that great, but I have not used the skeg that Sevylor offers, and perhaps it will improve that. Also, it's a bit thin skinned. I have managed to put a couple of holes in it over the years.

That said, I have taken my little Tahiti Pro through some fairy hairy Class III whitewater and it is very stable, and rides the waves confidently. I have found it to be an excellent introduction to paddling. I particularly like the ability to roll it up, put it on a frame pack, and hike to wherever I want to paddle. Or I'll take it camping, or boat camping, and it takes up very little room. Of course, that is the beauty of inflatables in general. In response to a previous post about it being tippy, I found that to be the case as well, when I first got it, but after I started not filling the floor up as much, it became much more stable. I leave the floor just a bit soft too the touch, and pump the sides up until they are about as rigid as they'll get, and it works pretty good. I have no problem taking this boat through big water, but not through rock gardens or anywhere super shallow, because of the material thickness. I think it'd be fine on flat water as well if I use the skeg. The self-bailing feature works, but is a little bit on the slow side, and if you are flat water paddling with it, you will be sitting in a permanent puddle. But hey, for $150, you really can't go wrong with this boat. I love it. I'm looking to upgrade a bit right now for something a little more whitewater specific, but plan on hanging on to the old "Orange Torpedo" for many more years to come.

Submit your own review!

08-04-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I purchased the Ranger version earlier this year. I have had it out several times ant enjoy it. I purchased the boat mainly because of the protective cover. As stated below it really seems to help with tracking and you don't have to worry about hitting things. With the seats you also stay relatively dry. The only complaints I have is that the cover is a fabric that must air dry and water collects between bottom of kayak and cover. It blows up very quickly but takes longer to deflate, dry, and put away.
Submit your own review!

06-27-2005
Submitted by: VulthoomSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We have had our Tahiti now for just over a year and have found it to be much more fun that it should be. It does fit two with a squeeze (I am not tiny...) but with the smaller person in front with legs under the forward spraydeck we manage fairly comfortably. The olive green version we have is a lot easier on the eye than the bright yellow one too!

On the plus side it is light, incredibly compact (the whole thing fits into one sports bag), very stable if you are new to the water and above all comfortable. I have a bad back but find the inflatable seats really supportive. As Gary mentions below, if you are on your own you can stop, stretch out, lie back in comfort and let the world drift by.....

On the negative side, in windy conditions or on a lake where a stream enters it can feel like you are trying to paddle an inflatable elephant and is rather embarrassing as you rotate round and round to the amusement of all and sundry. The skeg does help to maintain a straight line and I would recommend you buy one with the boat. Also, don't bother with a fancy electric pump - the basic footpump has the boat up and running in less than 15 mins.

Don't expect the performance of a thousand pound (or dollar) touring kayak. Itís cheap, fun and got us both into kayaking. If you're unsure about kayaking and don't want to shell out a fortune for a hard kayak with all the associated extras then for the price it is a great buy. Having now been properly bitten by the kayak bug we are moving on to get hard kayaks but we will be keeping the Tahiti for those times when you need a boat that will fit into one sports bag.

Buy one and enjoy yourselves!

Submit your own review!

06-22-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Sevylor also markets a boat based on the tahiti called "The Ranger." It is green in color, not that hideous yellow or orange, and has a protective polyester (spelling) hull cover with two tracking fins on it. This does help to control that donut feel. When the cover gets soaked there is an extra layer of water, adding bouyancy that really helps in the ride. Because of this, the boat more or less has a flat bottom like a hardshell kayak and can really fly across the water. I have kept up with hardshells before, though I am a strong paddler. It is much better than the regular Tahitis, including the orange torpedo. I had one of those that was a curse, but the Ranger is relaxing. It also goes anywhere and you do not winch and fear a puncture when that unseen rock or tree stump snags the boat from below. I've done rapids and rivers with it and the boat cruises across the swells. The seating can be designed better, but, oh, well, I love the Ranger. I just improvise and it works well for me. It inflates and deflats in minutes. Like the Tahitis it can carry two, though I would be really squeezed with another person of the same size in there. The Ranger is an excellent and versatile inflatable kayak/canoe, much better than the regular Tahitis, for about $200.00.
Submit your own review!

04-16-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Sevylor Tahiti first introduced me to kayaking and got me out on the water, so I will forever love it for that. It was only a couple of months before I wanted a boat that didn't always do donuts. I soon got the skeg for the boat, but still knew I could do better. My husband and I tried the boat tandem, which is painful even to think about. Wer'e both pretty small people, and one of us had the other's knees in our back, and had to squish our feet. I ended up resting my feet and legs on the sides. I was also able to bring the boat to the lake alone, inflate it in 5 minutes with the airpump, coax my dog into it, and we were off and on the lake in no time. It was all so nice until I tested a plastic sit-on-top. That's when I realixed I had been putting along in an old Honda when I could be in a Porsche. In comparison, I see that the high sides make paddling extra work because you have to lift the paddle high besides just paddling through the water. On the plus side, it was very inexpensive, very stable, felt safe as you could be, and my dog felt totally secure with the high walls. This is a great beginner boat.
Submit your own review!

03-31-2004
Submitted by: GarySend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Iíve had my Tahiti for a bit over a year. My first trip out, like others have said, the thing kept doing doughnuts. I was beginning to think, ďWell it was cheap and the kids will enjoy playing in it.Ē A few days latter my skeg arrived and what a difference. No, it doesnít track or go as fast as one of my 15í dive kayaks but it does an ok job. I really like that both of my kids can sit up front while I paddle around. Another thing I really like about the Tahiti is that on a nice day, after Iíve been paddling awhile, I can lay back with my head on the inflatable seat and let the breeze push be along. Try that in a hard kayak.

Iíve actually bought a second Tahiti for my wife. Now we can take the whole family out on the water in two boats and for less than $300. Best feature to me is that 2 boats, PFDís, pump and skegs all fit in one Rubbermaid container. Itís a lot easier to toss it in the back of the van or in the tent trailer than strapping boats to the top of the car. Each boat weighs 25#.

Be sure to get the Skeg if you want to go in a straight line.

Submit your own review!

03-25-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 3 of 10

     I was a beginner when i got my tahiti about 2 years ago. When i first got it i thought it was great and i used it to explore a few lakes in my neighborhood(nothing more). But after a year when a got better a paddling and tryed going fast it never sayed straight and it took forever to get somewhere. This made for a really tiring trip. And with 2 tall people its not always a comfortable ride either because your feet are squished or used as and armrest. I've also had problems with holes, but its not as bad as my or sevlor raft which more like swish cheese. I've ordered a skeg for it which i hope will help the tracking but i doubt it. It's beyond hope. The only good thing is it is light, cheap, and compact. Find something else.
Submit your own review!

10-07-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 6 of 10

     I am new to kayaking but have already learned a few things. The sevylor pro, which is a heavier material that is self bailing, is not a bad boat for the money (paid 125 dollars for a used boat). One of the problems with the boat is that it is alittle tippy, primarily because the side tubes do not rest on the water. The self bailing feature leaves about an inch of water in the boat at all times. Had to trash the boat because the seams between the side tubes and the floor kept leaking after two years. Excellent seat cushion. Can also be used as a double for two small adults. This is a good boat for under $200 but if you are willing to spend an extra $200 more, the aire tomcat looks like the best inexpensive inflatable on the market. I know, because I just purchased it! Remember, dont forget your lifejacket...
Submit your own review!

03-25-2003
Submitted by: Paul &GoldieSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Sevlor Tahiti - Goldie my chihuahua and I have explored many rivers around Austin and enjoyed free concerts along Town Lake, Lake Austin, and Hippie Hollow at Lake Travis in our inflatable kayak. It fits in the trunk of my Toyota Solara and inflates in minutes with my Coleman rechargable air pump. Plenty of room for ice chest and I always carry a small anchor for stopping and swimming.
Submit your own review!

09-11-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is the Tahiti series, used by Orange Torpedo. It comes with only one large seat, is slightly heavier and is self bailing. At first it was akward on the water due to very little tracking. Sevylor markets a skeg for this boat, sells for about 15 dollars. After installing the skeg the boat handles in rough or calm water equally well, even in the wind. While not as good as my Stearns kayak, it certainly has its place.
Submit your own review!

07-19-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've had my Sevylor Tahiti for more than a year now, and I have enjoyed the experience. Though I originally bought the inflatable to paddle around the several lakes to be found in the Prescott AZ area, I have also taken it down the Verde River. I found it to be highly maneuverable and surprisingly stable in Class 2 Rapids. It even makes a beginner look good. You can seat 2 mid-sized people with room for a cooler in the middle with storage room at both above & below the splashguards. The Tahiti has only 2 or 3 drawbacks. First, it feels very unstable during entry and exit. Second, it has trouble tracking & frequently wants to do doughnuts in the water when pushing the speed envelope. Third it is possibly the slowest of the inflatable class of kayaks. In spite of the above, its a great boat for beginners, and at a cost of less than $200 including paddles and pfds, its also great for those on a budget.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt