Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Bell Canoe Works > Woodsman lll Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Woodsman lll Canoe by Bell Canoe Works


Rated: 9.67/10 Based On: 6 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



04-27-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I'm very happy with my new Galyan's Woodsman III 166 (Bell Northwind), in Olive Drab Royalex. I always do a product review on anything more than $250 or so, so I found these reviews a great help and thought I would "give back" by putting in my $.02 after the maiden voyage yesterday. At 62lbs, I can load and unload it from my Tahoe by myself without too much trouble. It's very stable and my wife, a total novice paddler, was impressed with how fast and straight we could move, even against a 10-15 mph wind, if we were both paddling. We caught 5 fish between us in 2 hours of good time on the water. The cane seats are comfortable and overall this is a well made, easy to handle canoe. I'd say you can't go wrong with this one and the price is right. The color works great for me as I'm primarily fishing and hunting with it. It rates a 9 only because the thwarts and handles are unfinished wood, which is a very minor quibble for the price. Plus, I didn't get an owners manual with the purchase. I should have asked but in all the excitement, I forgot. I just went to the Bell website and asked. Don't forget, Galyan's gives you 10% of the purchase price (in this case $78 for the $799 retail) to buy paddles, PFDs, or other accessories, so it's REALLY like getting a $725 canoe that's the same as an $1100 one, with a better color!
Submit your own review!

11-20-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased this boat after hearing about it on this website and calling bell to see if it was the same boat as the 16.6 northwind in royalex. They confirmed that it was the same hull but in olive. The gunwales and seats are different then the northwind. The gunwales only come in Vinyl and the seats are cane on brackets. This canoe is great. I like the drab olive color over anything bright and for $650.00 you can't find a better deal. It turns great and tracks nicely with a balanced load.I would recommend this boat to anyone as an all around canoe.
Submit your own review!

03-24-2003
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I wish the Galyan 16.5' Woodsman was available when I started canoeing "some" years ago. This is the best royalex canoe on the market in terms of all-around use, and happens to be the best value on the market, as well. It also soloes great by placing a plastic step tote(discount store) in the center as a seat. The lateral slop in drop down seats can be significantly improved by putting small strips of foam(hot water pipe insulation) between the seat and the royalex hull.

The Woodsman 15.5' is one foot less in length, but is a completely different design of canoe, more suited for white water, or experienced paddling afficiandoes who prefer no initial stability at all. I paddled it, too.

Submit your own review!

07-22-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love this canoe! The only problem is the color. This canoe is almost identical to the BELL Northwind except it is sold under the Galyan's name plate. If you purchase the Northwind, you will pay ~$1,095.00 but you can get the Woodsman III for ~ $750.00. It is very quick yet stable for its dimensions and can handle a lot of cargo.
Submit your own review!

07-01-2002
Submitted by: REPSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I paddled my Bell Woodsman III today for the 1st time today. I own or have owned an OTC Discovery, a Wenonah Adirondack, and a Mohawk. I like them all, but this Bell boat is really a nice, well crafted boat that is highly versatile. I was looking at the Mohawk Intrepid and the MR Revelation, but I'm glad I found this Bell. It's good both in still and moving waters, and the paddling is effortless. It's well designed.
Submit your own review!

03-11-2002
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought the woodsman lll royalex 16.6 ft canoe from Galyen's sporting goods. Bell made it for them to sell. It weighs 62 pounds and wicker seats and plasic rails. I was out in it today on 3/9/02 and the wind was 20-25 miles per hour on my favorite lake. the waves were choppy and the canoe handled great and the boat was dry after 5 hours of fishing. It is very stable and tracks pretty good. I look forward to a weekend canoe trip in it very soon. Quality boat and I am very happy. J. Summers, Victor NY
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale