Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Nimbus > Telkwa Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Telkwa Kayak by Nimbus


Rated: 9.67/10 Based On: 9 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-26-2014
Submitted by: DougSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I am 6'2" and 230 lb. I have kayaked past 5 years. This kayak was bought used after reading reviews. It fits a large body and paddles like the wind. Having gone from a thermoform kayak and the upgrade is well worth it. Telkwa HV is stable and fast.
Submit your own review!

07-02-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've owned my Nimbus Telkwa for 6 years and have used it for 8 week long camping trips, and many day trips.
  1. Overall quality.
    Amazing. I've owned and rented many kayaks, and Nimbus kayaks are as good as it gets for quality and craftsmanship. At 53 lbs, it's reasonably light for a large craft. The Feathercraft rudder seems robust enough. No complaints there.
  2. Performance.
    Primary stability is very good. Not at all twitchy. Secondary is also nice and stable. Edging is easy. It didn't take long to figure out edging tolerances. For a big boat, I was amazed how easily it turns - especially when edged.
    In rough water, the Telkwa handles very well. It does broach a little when hit with waves on the quarter stern (like any kayak). When loaded with gear, the broaching is reduced. The higher cockpit does catch the wind. I found the Telkwa Sport a little better in this respect. With the rudder down, it cuts through 4-5 foot waves like butter, very nice.
    It's possible to roll the Telkwa, but it's not as forgiving as other boats I've rolled. Your technique has to be spot on. The thigh and hip braces are a must to have.
  3. Comfort.
    The seat / set-up is simple, comfortable and easy to set up. The cockpit is large. I installed micro-foam pads/braces to create a tighter fit for rolling etc. Nimbus sells kits that are pre-formed. Once set up, the Telkwa is extremely comfortable.
  4. Tracking.
    When the rudder is up, it tracks well, but is also easy to turn. It's surprisingly manoeuvrable for an 18.3 foot boat. When the rudder is down, it loses a lot of it's manoeuvrability and tracks extremely well - the best of both worlds.
  5. Storage.
    There is ample space in the bulk-heads for storing gear - enough for a 2 or 3 weeks trip depending on how dehydrated your food is. The hatch covers lie flat with neoprene covers that snap into place underneath.
  6. Nice Touches
    There is a neoprene 'map' shelf under the cockpit that sits nicely above the legs. I use this all the time.
    Cockpit rim is deep. This makes it easier to put on stubborn neoprene spay skirts (usually when new). The spray skirt seems to tuck under the rim and stick nicely. I used to own a Delta, a great kayak, but was not easy to put spray skirt on without it slipping off half way through the process
    I prefer standard rudder pedals over gas pedals. I can feel where the rudder is more easily. In addition, they are simple to fix if something goes wrong.
  7. Cons
    I'm not a huge person (5'11 185 lbs) - so I find the cockpit a little large for my build. I preferred the Telkwa Sport for my size. Don't put anything behind your seat. The bulk head wall behind the seat is easy to crack if you stick a stuff bag behind you with hard objects inside. The previous owner did this and had it fixed.
In sum, an amazing kayak for both day trips or touring.

Submit your own review!

05-27-2013
Submitted by: JAHSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Bought a Telkwa used and the rescue straps were worn out, wrote to Nimbus attempting to buy new straps. The company sent me new straps at "no charge." Very impressed with a company that stands by its product like that. Also, love the boat, use it for camping on the lakes in AZ and ocean in Mexico.
Submit your own review!

11-30-2012
Submitted by: NoelSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Before doing this review I thought I should give you some background on my paddling experience. My dad was paddling white water rivers in Ontario when he was a kid back in the thirties. He was an expert canoer and taught canoeing at summer camps. He also made sure that my sister and I spent a lot of time with him in his Peterborough canoe. My sister remembers the sketchy situations in the rough water that we survived and now says jokingly, "Remember that time going out with Dad and getting the hell scared out of us." I bought the canoe off him and continued to do a lot of river touring & some white water. We didn't wear helmets, wet suits or have dry bags, just PFDs. If we spilled in the cold mountain fed rivers and didn't get a campfire going ASAP we would end up with hypothermia. I got into river kayaking in the eighties. I gave it up when I became a self employed commercial fisherman. I got back into kayaking several years ago and now do more ocean kayaking. I have four kayaks that I share with family and friends. I picked up my Nimbus HV Telkwa kayak from the original owner who had owned it for 9 years and did sea touring with friends. I have since put 500 miles in three and half months in the Telkwa in flat & rough tidal waters. I now figured I've put enough miles in this kayak to give it a review. I had read other reviews on the Telkwa prior to buying it so I had a bit of an idea what I was buying. I kayak year round on the British Columbia Coast and I expect to encounter rough water even if I am trying to avoid it. The Telkwa stands out as a high volume sea touring kayak with a reputation for maneuverability, durability & seaworthiness. It has good initial stability and great secondary stability. I trust the stability enough that I had no problem fly fishing out of it. It wind cocks slightly but not as bad as other kayaks I've paddled. I am impressed with how easy it is to edge quick tight turns for a kayak over 18 feet. I have hardly used the rudder other than checking to see if it works and it does the job. The turned up bow is an eye catcher and gives you a feeling of confidence going into a wave. I have had greater thrills surfing the waves. I am 5 ft. 9 in. and fairly lean. The HV Telkwa would not be a kayak recommended for someone my size by a knowledgeable kayak guide or salesperson. The HV Telkwa has a 24 in. width and 14.75 in. depth which is .75 inches more height around the cockpit than the regular Telkwa. The Telkwa Sport would be a better choice for a guy my size at 23 in. width and 13 in. depth. The reason I went for this kayak was I got a deal I couldn't walk away from and it is getting harder to find these kayaks. I have been told that they are only being built by Nimbus on request. This kayak is designed for a big guy with big feet. It is just about as easy to get in and out of as a canoe. I have tightened up the fit considerably by attaching high density foam between the cockpit and my hips as well as under the thigh braces. The snug fit gives the feel and response of my other 21 - 22 in. wide kayaks. I have had no problem turning around in rough seas to go into the waves or with them. The speed is good but not quite as fast as my Seaward Quest. The kayak if not loaded with cargo broaches a bit when getting waves on the quarter stern. This kayak was designed to travel for a week or so with cargo. More cargo in the stern hatch helps reduce the broaching. As mentioned there is a pile of storage in the hatches. The hatch cover system is not as water tight as my Valley and Seaward hatches but they work. An easy solution is to use dry bags. The hatch covers are easy to remove and put back on. This boat is predictable and you know exactly how far you can lay it over to edge. The previous owner said that he couldn't roll it but I have heard different from other Telkwa owners. It is winter so I don't plan on trying to roll it. I have put long hours in the Telkwa thanks to one of the best kayak seats I have sat in. Some reviewers mentioned the weight was an issue. This boat is over 18 feet and was designed for strength and durability. That adds some weight but I have not thought that the Telkwa was heavy for it's size. The Nimbus web site says it weighs 56lbs. Wes Boyd's web site said it weighed 62 lbs. He also gave the HV Telkwa a stellar review after testing it when he wrote an article on ' boats for big guys'. After the tests and reviews he ended up buying the Nimbus Telkwa. I am not a big strong guy but I have no problem loading and unloading this boat regularly from my Honda CRV by myself. I have met a few guides that own Telkwas and they swear by the quality and performance of this kayak. I have spent twenty years skippering off shore fishing vessels. You learn that all boats have their strong and weak points. I would say that this kayak has few weak points. The legendary builder & designer of the Telkwa, Steve Schleicher, is the owner of Rain Forest Designs Ltd. that builds the Nimbus Kayaks. He built a reputation in the eighties and nineties on the quality of these boats and they are highly sought after. There are a lot of good reviews from other web sites on the Telkwa. Nimbus like like Necky, Current Designs & Seaward were a few of the early kayak manufacturers in the Pacific Northwest of Canada. These small companies' owners were kayakers that had a passion to build kayaks. I have had a lot of great days in the Telkwa and the more I paddle it the more insight I have to what an amazing kayak it is. Between the Telkwa, the HV and the Sport there is a kayak for a paddler of every size. These kayaks have to be rated in the top ten sea touring kayaks. Because of the quality of the craftsmanship, the maneuverability & the seaworthiness of this kayak I gave it a nine. I would highly recommend this kayak or its lower volume sister, the Sport as one of the best expedition boats out there.
Submit your own review!

07-10-2007
Submitted by: crjSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     When I returned to sea kayaking after years of w/w paddling I wanted a boat that would do double duty: long trips if I wanted to do them but mostly local day paddles. This is a tall order and most boats wouldn't fit the bill. I knew I wanted a Telkwa and found my HV used on craigslist 3years ago. It's fiberglass; beat up; ugly. But this kayak handles well both loaded and light. I can retract the rudder and edge/turn with ease. I can deploy the rudder and concentrate on strokes. It handles BIG water and flat water. The cockpit is comfortable, the seat is the best in the business. My son-in-law (also a big guy) bought his (also used) after paddling mine. If you are big guy or gal and want one kayak to do virtually everything. The Telkwa is the boat for you.
Submit your own review!

02-09-2007
Submitted by: CA
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Telkwa, high volume, is a perfect mix of large expedition touring boat and reasonably maneuverable day tripper. Every other large volume boat I demo'ed seemed like a truck, even when empty. The Telkwa has a fairly "light" feel when not loaded. Even when loaded with two weeks worth of equipment, it manages to turn effectively. If your priority is a boat that will take you for an extended trip, but be fun on weekends, this is the best I've found.
Submit your own review!

09-07-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     After a summer paddling my new kevlar Telkwa, I am even more delighted with this craft. It handles like a dream---stable in choppy conditions, edges and carves, turns upwind and down, has enormous carrying capacity especially in its huge back hatch, drains at a touch, etc. I have played with it on day trips and multi-day, in up to Force 6 wind and waves, in saltwater and fresh. Truly a delight.
Submit your own review!

06-14-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just traded up to the Telkwa from the Seaward Navigator. What a difference. The Telkwa is a large volume expedition kayak but is highly responsive to edged turns due to its rockered hull and high primary and secondary stability. Manufacturing quality appears to be excellent. Very satisfied. Only (relative) weakness is the rudder system---Seaward's is simply the best with its fixed gas pedal pegs.
Submit your own review!

12-31-2001
Submitted by: Fred L.
Rating: 10 of 10

     Kevlar beauty. Tried many Boats but found the cockpit size, speed and handling to be the best for me. Great boat-very nimble for 18 + feet.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt