Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > We-no-nah Canoe > Escape Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Escape Canoe by We-no-nah Canoe


Rated: 9.25/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



09-02-2008
Submitted by: Gary W. FoggSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My wife and I bought the Wenonah Escape in Tuf-weave for day tripping on the Maine coast this spring and have taken it out on numerous occasions since then. Our paddles take place in semi-protected waters, where conditions are often calm in the morning , but then changing to a wind speed of 10-16 mph and waves from 1-2 feet by early afternoon. In addition, there is almost always a tidal current of about 1 mph interacting with the wind and waves during these outings.

Our conclusion is that the Escape is a fine boat for people who like an active paddling style and are in good physical condition. Because it is a performance boat, it naturally has narrow entry and exit lines, a round bottom, and straight or reverse tumblehome. Space for feet and legs is limited but sufficient if you are under 6 feet tall and weigh less than about 180 pounds. Also, it is a design best suited for straightforward paddling and touring, rather than fishing, wildlife observation or casual poking around in quiet waters.

Because of the design features to enhance speed and easy paddling, the Escape can rock back and forth excitedly in big waves. This could be horrifying to people who are unaccustomed to this motion, but it is natural for those who are accustomed to bracing and stabilizing a boat in rough water. The same design features make the boat more sensitive to the distribution of weight in the hull than wider and flatter models. To obtain maximum tracking ability and speed, we find it necessary to adjust the boat's trim periodically while underway, usually by moving the bow seat forward and backward or by changing the position of heavy gear.

Our average ground speed during the afternoon varies considerably, depending on numerous factors. When the winds and tides are directly opposed, it is about 3.5 mph. When the tide is slack, our speed against the wind and waves is about 2.6 mph, but about 5 mph downwind. If the tide is running at a 45 degree angle to the wind, which creates a diamond wave pattern, our speed varies from about 2 to 4 mph, depending on our angle of entry into the chop.

The Escape slices smoothly through waves up to one foot high. In waves higher than that, the bow rises dramatically, keeping the boat dry, but also creating a wild ride. It is best to approach steep waves from a slight angle in order to avoid a destabilizing launch over the top of a whitecap and a fall into empty space on the other side. Running broadside to waves up to 2 feet high is delightful, so long as one turns slightly into the steepest waves at the last moment, in order to prevent them from dumping water into the boat and rocking it violently. We have not encountered any unusual issues running downwind so far, except for some yawing, which is normal for any boat, but which has been easy to correct in the Escape.

My wife and I cannot say enough good things about this canoe. We have used a variety of small boats for touring on the Maine Coast over the last 30 years, from rowing and sailing boats to canoes and kayaks. The Escape is perhaps our favorite boat so far. For winds under 16 mph and waves under 2 feet, it is almost equal to our Current Designs Gulfstream sea kayaks in performance, but it is much easier to use in terms of loading, unloading, stowing gear, stretching, changing clothes, and so on.

Submit your own review!

06-26-2008
Submitted by: TASend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We bought the Escape having never even been in a canoe before. Ours is the tuff-weave version, weighs about 65 LBS.

We could not be happier with our purchase. While we are inexperienced canoers, we have done quite a bit of sailing, and in many respects the Escape reminds me of a sailboat - the stern paddler can effectively use their paddle like a rudder and get great turning results. I love the way this boat tracks in the water, my wife and I can get this thing cooking if we want to, with very little effort.

Others have talked about initial stability being a drawback. It took us no time to get used to the stability of this boat, when it warms up, we are going to see just how much it takes to to tip this thing, but the lakes are still too cold right now for that.

I can't imagine us ever wanting or needing a different boat, we bought what we thought was our second boat first, but I'm afraid that We-No-Nah isn't going to get any more of our money, this boat will be all we ever need.

Submit your own review!

12-22-2005
Submitted by: thepalinsSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is a follow up to my last review' Iíve been taught that the bow paddler initiates the turn and the stern follows. However the Escape turns easier if the stern initiates the turn then the bow will respond and be less stressful to the bow paddler. The boat is very stable and predictable even when leaned.
Submit your own review!

11-04-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We own the Escape in a standard kevlar layup, 50# is perfect for single person to carry. Our needs - My wife and I have a 3 year old, we live in Pennsylvania where we use the boat for touring local lakes, rivers and trips in protected coastal estuaries along east coast. We are more accustomed to kayaks but since our daughter arrived we wanted a boat to carry 3 in variety of conditions and NOT a 20 ft, 80# monster kayak with child in mid storage portal.

This boat has served our unusual needs extremely well! A canoe design for the kayak couple with child or other visitor. The lively initial stability is a non-factor, even for our 3 year old. If you assume this craft is going to feel like a flatbottomed tank then maybe you would be uncomfortable? The secondary stability is fantastic! It is a very safe family boat. We test it all the time, we had it in very rough Delaware seas with white caps, taking waves at times from the side - not a problem! The hull is so well designed waves are a real treat and our daughter loves them, she asks for more! The depth of the bow is perfect, my wife claims on a number of trips if the bow was 1" lower she would be soaked!

My wife and I both use a 210 Werner Corryvrecken glass paddle (which we also love), at a fast cadence we can really get this boat cruising! Prefer these over the bent shaft canoe paddles since we are more comfortable with kayak paddles due to our experience. Part of the reason why we bought the Escape is because it has plenty of swing room with narrow gunwales which is a real treat!

Daddy can take it out solo sitting on a milk crate. Narrow enough at mid section to use 210 paddle! Found the 17.5 length is acceptable for solo use and can steer with lean. Very fast, fun, nice glide as others have written.

Fast enough we push through the wind and can cut through waves when conditions get rough. Open craft easy enough to jump in and out of when stopping to explore and collect shoreline goodies. For those families who want to get on the water with a child and cover some distance, the escape is fun and functional! We love it! If you only had room to store a single boat for a wide range of use, this is the design! Well done Wenonah!

Submit your own review!

08-08-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This boat cooks right along very effeciently for larger lakes and rivers. I find it to be too hard to turn on narrow rivers though. It will turn with two experienced paddlers but I find only with a stationary draw or prys from the bow. The stern will respond to draws and sweeps but the lack of responsiveness in the bow puts a lot of stress on the person in the front.
Submit your own review!

07-31-2005
Submitted by: JFMSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Escape is one fast boat! Not only is it fast, when you let off on the power it keeps gliding. I had trouble getting used to the lack of initial stability when I first got it. Now, I do not notice it. What I had to come to realize is that it firms up as it rocks back and forth. I have been pleasantly surprised to find that I could cross current lines and do eddy turns and peel-outs with no problem. It does not turn on a dime. You have to work at turning the Escape, and I find it responds better to ruddering than draw strokes.
Submit your own review!

06-10-2002
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Finally got to paddle this hull with my go fast bow partner Vitamin Ray. We did it as a back to back with a 17'Jensen since we were considering the Escape as a rough water alternative for recreational class racing. The Escape shows its depth in the stern with the gunwales at knee level for this 5'9" paddler, had to be careful to lift the paddle higher on the switches than in the Jensen. Speed seemed as good as the Jensen for the half hour we paddled hard, we need to time several laps on the same course with both boats for a quantitative comparison. The boat does cruise with very little paddle input, keeping it at speed seemed effortless. Initial stability was very lively, but the boat firms up quickly as the lean is increased. Seems especially sensitive getting in and out, probably a function of the slender ends and the lightweight layup we paddled. Seaworthiness was very good, we crossed some big ski-boat turning wakes and tested the handling both front and rear quartering to the wakes; the hull was rock steady angled forward into the wakes, and took the rear quartering waves with little deflection from course and no wallowing. Bow depth kept us dry thru wakes that would have put water into the Jensen.

Turning was a big surprise, we expected the Escape to turn slower than the shorter Jensen, but it comes about quickly in response to the bow paddlers draws and rudders. Its rounded bottom contour does like well timed strokes from both paddlers, a missed stroke with the other paddler sweeping is really felt as is a missed 'hut'. This hull does not challenge the Spirit II for stability, with well matched strokes it is stable and responds like a sports car, but it does demand the paddlers attention to keeping strokes in sync.

A fast seaworthy hull for paddlers not needing the capacity of the Minnesota II, but wanting the big water capability.

Submit your own review!

08-24-2001
Submitted by: Eric NyreSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Escape is a new tandem from We-no-nah. At 17'6, it is described in their literature as being a shorter version of the Minnesota II. While in some aspects that may seem correct, the boat is in all fairness in a class of it's own. The bow reminds me of an Odyssey, with it's extreme flare. The stability and comfort remind me of a Cascade, or even a lively version of the Spirit II. Paddling in the stern, the tumblehome and narrow stern cockpit are reminiscent of a Sundowner, with the sheer ease of getting the paddle to the water. But the smile on my face as I paddled it was pure Minnesota II, if in a smaller package.

This boat lacks the extreme speed of the Minnesota II. Our GPS was reading 6.6 mph at a fast cruising pace, but when we slacked off, the boat was still running nice in the 5.5 - 6 mph range. This is a great touring speed, comfortable for all day paddling. The greatest assets to the Escape are not it's speed, but it's seaworthiness. The extreme flare in the bow should allow the boat to run much larger waves than we had it in (only mild chop), and the shorter length and increased maneuverability can also help with control in very rough blowing conditions.

Here in Colorado, I am looking at this as a great general-purpose lake and river canoe. I would not hesitate putting it in some nice class II, yet I know it will also eat up the flats. If you are shopping for a nice general-purpose tandem, this boat belongs on your short list.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Piragis Northwoods Company
Free Shipping on New Canoes from Piragis Northwoods Company or pick up in Ely, MN and get $100 off
Shop these fine Retailers





Family kayak vacations this summer
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.