Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Radisson > Stern End w/ Sail Kit Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Stern End w/ Sail Kit Canoe by Radisson


Rated: 7.94/10 Based On: 16 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



07-22-2014
Submitted by: LjsSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've had mine since 1996 never had an issue. Just started to use it again after 13 years of hanging in the basement. I forgot how much fun it is and safe. Very nice to fish from. My two boys love it!
Submit your own review!

03-24-2012
Submitted by: RjvSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Found my Radisson in the garbage of a neighbor. Very minor seepage at the bow. A little rust-o-leum spray rubber and it's bone dry. Super stable, paddle, row or sail, it's awesome. So far, $20 invested and the family loves it.
Submit your own review!

05-16-2007
Submitted by: LSSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Bought my Radisson 12' used and absolutely love it. I'm 51 years old and carrying it to the lake is a breeze since it's so light. The unique oar system works great and I have grown to like the seat system. I have maxed out the weight (500 lbs) and although the Radisson handled it, I prefer just one person for fishing and sightseeing.
Submit your own review!

03-20-2006
Submitted by: steveSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I use my raddison 14' canoe on the open waters of oneida lake and love fishing out of it,I take along my golden retreiver, a cooler of brews and lunch and have a great time. The hull is thin but if you watch where your going there should be no problems. I have run it up onto logs and rocks and haven't had any leaks yet. I love it.
Submit your own review!

08-16-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     I love my Raddison. a 14 footer, 41lbs, optional sail kit. (which, sadly, I never got) I've had it for more than 14 years now. Drove 6 hours to Mayfield, NY (just inside the southern end of the Adirondack Park) and bought it new for just over $600. it's never leaked, even though its treated roughly. It's never flipped, and boy i've given it plenty of chances to. Its wide bottom allows room for a LOT of gear or a couple dogs. actually, its good for both. We made some modifications to the canoe, added our own seats with trays, moved the crossbars, added back supports to our custom seats, installed cup holders (lol) and lure & rod holders. I give it an 8 instead of a 10 because: It is slow. Dont plan to get anywhere "fast". And...It is NOT for whitewater.
Submit your own review!

07-23-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I wouldn't take my Radisson down white water or over rocks, but common sense and a review of the company's brochure would show that that's not what this canoe was designed for. I'll use my Old Town for that type of canoeing. However, for paddling ponds, lakes and slow rivers, this canoe is excellent. Lightweight (44#) and stable, I can paddle, row (my preferred method), sail or troll in it. I can toss it on my car without breaking a sweat and fish or explore all day long. Throw in some fishing gear, lunch and a radio and I'm set. Also, it's stability makes it ideal for kids. Not designed for speed, it can be slow going when paddled. However, try to catch me when I'm using oars! (I bought 6 1/2 oars as the oar/paddle combination that's standard are somewhat short and awkard to use). I've had my 14 footer for almost a decade and was introduced to the Radisson over 20 years ago and I can honestly say I haven't been disappointed. It's my most used canoe.
Submit your own review!

06-10-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just came back from sailing the 14' double ender. It is a lot of fun. I enjoy the lightness considering the price. I have used it in a lot of conditions that small ponds and lakes offer and it has been fine. I row it or use an oversized kayak paddle from the center or a 2HP motor from the rear. I would not use it on a river with a lot of potential for hitting rocks but for most simple stuff it is just fine.
Submit your own review!

05-23-2002
Submitted by: THCSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I ran the 14 foot with a 4 horse evinrude for many years. It was perfect for easy getting onto the lakes in Minnesota. What a rig. Yes it is somewhat fragile but mine held up very well. I got a kick out of the way the bow came around 90 degrees with every paddle stroke. This canoe has a square back for a motor and should either be rowed or motored,not paddled. Besides, the boat is wide and is a reach to paddle anyways. If you can find one with a motor for under 500 dollars,jump on it. It will put you on the water easily while most are still on the couch. Mainly because it is easy to transport and launch. If you want something like it but tougher get a sportspal from castlecraft, I did. I think it was made for a 2 horse motor but was more than strong enough for the 4 horse and could easily handle even a lightweight 5 without stressing the hull.
Submit your own review!

05-01-2002
Submitted by: JDLSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I have owned my 14 foot Radisson for 12 years. With the exception of one year(I didn't take it out.) I have had to patch, fill and repaint before each duck season. Brush a stump, get a leak, scrap a gravel shoal, get a leak. Try to drive through a shallow bottom and your heels will peel the foam bottom and pop out the ribs like a broken banjo string. On the good side it has good capacity(850 lbs.) and tracks well on winding northern Michigan streams and rivers. Hello Radisson, thicken the skin, add a few pounds and you may be able to sell me another canoe. I would rather find ducks than leaks!
Submit your own review!

04-01-2002
Submitted by: RickSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My 14 ft. Radisson is RAD!! I got what I PAID FOR and more, did my research, could not be more pleased. I'm 265# my son is 250# w/ our gear stowed for the weekend we have room to spare. Handles great, I've owned a few canoes, this is a dream come true.
Submit your own review!

08-13-2001
Submitted by: d f woodSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My Radisson 14' (13.5) is the best canoe a guy could have, unless his intentions are canoeing rocky whitewater rivers. I have canoed several rivers and hit several rocks, and even been hung up on the rocks. NO PUNCTURES! The marine grade aluminum (.032") is very strong. Don't be afraid to canoe rivers (Class 1). I have no sail, but do plan on getting an electric trolling motor for cruising the lake when fishing.
Submit your own review!

08-13-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I abuse my Radisson! Use it mostly for duck hunting. I'll carry myself (165#), friend (240#) his dog (60#) 2-3 bags of decoys, guns and more w/ no problems. Easily load it on top of my Durango. I found rowing from the middle the best way to get around by oneself. It may not look so pretty (bottom) anymore but it certainly does everything I need it to do.
Submit your own review!

08-08-2001
Submitted by: Peter
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love my radisson, I found it to be one of the most stable canoes on the market. The best thing about the canoe is that it only weights 50 pounds, which is a problem is your paddleing by yourself. What I always do when I am fishing by myself and my trolling motor run out juice, I paddle from the middle of the canoe on my knees or I will sit in the front seat too paddle. It makes a world of differents, it only makes sense if you have any canoe under 75 pounds on a windy day to move the weight to the front.
Submit your own review!

07-30-2001
Submitted by: Jim ASend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I have to say I'm surprised to hear these discouraging words about the Radisson. I bought one in a yard sale a year or so ago (for $150 US!) and like it a lot. I don't have the sail kit, sadly, but it is the 13.5 foot with the square stern, foam lining, oar locks and whatever you call the foam on the gunwales. The finish is birch bark.

I haven't had much chance to take it out yet, but a few times on a local lake. I have to agree that with me alone, the wind does make it hard to handle with a paddle, but I bought a 54lb electric motor and with the battery up front for ballast, it handles beautifully and zips right along. I haven't done much colliding with underwater objects, but having read the comments, I'll be careful.

Submit your own review!

07-10-2001
Submitted by: DanKSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     I need the lightness but like the previous writer I too experienced extreme frailness with regard to the outer "skin" material. The unit has a 3 inch slice / crack in the underside bow area. I have just completed a weekend of patching and painting the unit. I will try to use it again this Fall for Duck hunting. From this time on I will be alot more careful but I am apprehensive that under water obstacles may not be discernable. One more try that is all that this thing gets !!!
Submit your own review!

05-14-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 1 of 10

     This is my worst nightmare come true. I ordered this thousand dollar package from a huge NY retailer because of its ability to paddle, row, motor, & sail, and 44 lb weight. Its made in Canada, and our initial river run with it proved horrifying: soft sand beaches wrinkled & dented the tinfoil skin, it leaked water at about 3 gallons per hour, and handles like a floating bathtub. Any wind blows the high profile and light weight like a dead leaf. I wondered why I could not find any info on this craft besides the manufacturer's brochure; now I know. Its worse than a white elephant. I am writing to both the maker and selling dealer in complaint of this sorry example of watercraft. I know of only one other manufactured sailing canoe (IL) & opted out of that nice looking one due to weight, and wait (4 wks) for delivery. Instead I settled for this oversized kipper can welded together like a patchwork quilt. Stay away from ANY product by this manufacturer, or risk being bilked and drowned.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale