Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Aqua-Bound Expedition AMT (Discontinued) Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Aqua-Bound Expedition AMT (Discontinued)


Rated: 8.54/10 Based On: 13 Reviews

Aqua-Bound Logo
See Products from Aqua-Bound in the Buyers' Guide!
Aqua-Bound in the Buyers' Guide:
  • SUP paddles
  • Touring Kayak Paddles
  • Whitewater Kayak Paddles
  • Recreational Kayak Paddle
  • Canoe Paddles
  • Kids Kayak Paddles
  • Performance Paddles



08-19-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I recently purchased a used kayak on craigslist and one of the paddles it came with was an Expedition AMT. At first I did not use this one much because I really liked the other paddle I got a (B.B. Infusion). After I started using it a bit a really got to like this paddle. It performs just as well as the Infusion. The only reason that I prefer the Infusion is that it is bright green as compared to the black AMT. (I like to be as visible as possible on the water if you know what I mean!!)
Submit your own review!

06-13-2008
Submitted by: Michael DeeganSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     This Aquabound is an alright paddle for the occasional kayaker. A few of my customers have found that the connecting pieces get loose after a few days of heavy use. This is mainly an annoyance and I don't think it'd cause any major problems. There are better paddles on the market.
Submit your own review!

12-18-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is an update to my original review that I un-fairly rated as 7. As I paddled a couple of sea kayaks and eventually bought my own, I realized it's not the paddle's fault that my old rec. double was a barge that just took too much effort to move. With the WS Cape Horn 170 everything fell in its place. The 220 length works great for the boat's 23 inch width and blades are big enough to give decent sprint speed if need be, but small enough for long haul.
Submit your own review!

09-12-2005
Submitted by: cooldoctor1Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Aquabound Expedition AMT for one year, and love it! Lightweight, I have 230 cm for my Prijon Capri and Clabria, works well (I personally would not have gotten it any whorter, as I prefer and light and low stroke). Only knock: the stiffness of the paddle, a boon to some, might cause some joint pain with extended use. Wrists, elbows, can "feel it" for this 40 something paddler, but the Bending Branches fiberglass I never feel this. The stiffness is noticeable. I for one prefer the longer narrower blades, because frankly (although other Aquabound’s have more of a large spoon blade), I think a super stiff paddle with larger bladers would REALLY screw up my joints. Anyhow, well made, and purchased for about $175. Good value.
Submit your own review!

08-02-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I'm a beginner kayaker and here's my 2 cents on the Expedition AMT, mostly compared to my other paddle, Walden coastal paddle. Expedition AMT feels light, very little stress. Good low-effort cruising paddle. But I found it sucks when trying to bring a wider recreational boat up to speed, or go against current, the smaller blades really don't have much "bite". The joint in the center is prone to sticking if you don't keep it clean.
Submit your own review!

06-12-2005
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 6 of 10

     The paddle is strong and light. However, in my second season of use the coupling has stretched. I can feel the shift as I paddle. Very annoying: the problem interrupts my tempo.
Submit your own review!

06-06-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I too am relatively new to the sport. I had researched MANY paddles both online and talking to others who paddle in my area. I found that the best overall value was the Expedition AMT by Aquabound. The kind folks at Canoe Sport Outfitters in Indianola, Iowa helped me pick this beauty out and I could not be happier! The paddle is light, attractive and stands up to the abuse that Iowa rivers gives it. Its a great paddle at agreat price and I would not hesitate to recommend to anyone.
Submit your own review!

10-10-2001
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I am fairly new to Kayaking but was looking for an upgrade to my current flat blade paddle. I have a friend with a sequal and it seemed like a well constructed and made my current paddle seem like I was using a garden spade. After some research and reading the reviews here I purchased a Aqua-Bound Expedition AMT fibre glass two piece paddle. I currently have only about 20 miles of paddling on it but so far I have absolutly no complaints about weight, price, quality or ease of use. Very good indeed.
Submit your own review!

09-10-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought an aquabound in June, and have had no complaints at all. I started out in March with the $30 Ocean Kayak paddle, and decided that an upgrade was necessary, and this has proved to be a great choice. Unwittingly, but wisely, I also bought short, and it is sheer bliss. I use it mostly for flat water. I am using an ocean scrambler xt, and looking to get a Scupper Classic. I find that it does even better on the narrower boat.
Submit your own review!

09-04-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Aquabound carbon fibre paddles are an excellent value. I was thinking of a $450 graphite paddle (Werner or Lightning), but the cockpit of my boat is small,therefore I use the paddle as an outrigger for entry and exit. I require something less fragile than a graphite blade, but as light as possible. Thus, the Aquabound! I purchased a 220 cm Expedition one piece, as the one piece saves a few more ounces from eliminating the ferrule (important, as I paddle 7.5-11 hours a day guiding). I read other reviews from paddlers recomending to go shorter, and it is good advice! I was using a 240 cm for years, but the 220 is muh easier to handle, and is kinder to your body. You will not find that your bracing/sculling, sweeps etc are compromised. My paddle is about 29-30 ounces, and is very well balanced. The blades do not flutter, and the dyhedral shape draws good water for speed if required. Give the Aquabound carbon fibres a try!! You will like them.
Submit your own review!

08-15-2001
Submitted by: JRB
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have been using an Aqua-Bound Expediton with carbon/fiber shaft for past 3 years. Am extremely pleased with it. It has held up very well, very quiet paddle with clean entry and exit. Excellent balance and feel. Easy on the wrists. I, like above author, was talked into going shorter and ended up with 220 cm and am very happy. Easier to handle in wind and easier on paddler. Don't really notice any loss of leverage in turns or braces.
Submit your own review!

04-16-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Both my wife and I have been using Aqua-Bound Expedition AMT Kayak Paddles for the last 4 years, recently upgrading from an aluminum shaft to their carbon graphite model. I'm 52 yrs old, 235 lbs and paddle a Current Design Gulfstream. I'm very hard on paddles as I use them to brace when going in and out to protect the boat's bottom plus do A LOT of rolls when the water is warm. Recently I broke my 3 year old paddle and after reading the Aqua-Bound web page about their product I inquired about having it repaired to use as a spare. After sending it to them they responded by SENDING ME A LIKE NEW FIBERGLASS SHAFT PADDLE AT NO COST!!! I'M HOOKED ON AQUA-BOUND. THEY MAKE A GREAT PRODUCT AND STAND BY IT.
Submit your own review!

02-19-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Aqua-Bound Expedition AMT is a general-purpose touring paddle available in 1-, 2- or 4-piece construction. The blade is 6.25x20 inches. In addition to being available, affordable and durable, it paddles pretty decently, too. It put less hurt on my elbows and wrists than the wide-bladed Seaquel I had before, but lets me scoot along fine when I'm chasing my buddy in his expensive boat with his carbon Werner San Juan. I chose a 220 on the advice of experienced friends and have been glad of it. It's quick but still has plenty of leverage when needed. Go short! I see and hear very little razzle-dazzle about Aqua-Bound, but they seem to produce a very creditable product.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale