Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Yakima Roof Rack & Canoe Adapter Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Yakima Roof Rack & Canoe Adapter


Rated: 8/10 Based On: 13 Reviews

Yakima Logo
See Products from Yakima in the Buyers' Guide!
Yakima in the Buyers' Guide:
  • Hully Rollers
  • Jaylow
  • DryDock
  • Kayak Stacker
  • BoatLoader
  • RacknRoll 78 Boat Trailer
  • KeelOver
  • Crossbar Pads
  • SweetRoll
  • BowDown



07-29-2013
Submitted by: John S. StewartSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My YakRak has served me well for 15 years on two different vehicles: A Jeep Grand Cherokee which I used adapters to attach to the Cherokee luggage rack and now a Ford Ranger with shell. I bolted the rack to the shell and use it for a canoe as well as cargo like lumber and 4x8 panels that are too long or wide to fit into the truck bed. The key-locking mechanism makes it easy to remove or secure the canoe to the rack with a heavy chain and lock for overnight parking.
Submit your own review!

03-27-2005
Submitted by: Steve HSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I have used the Yakima rack for 6 years and two cars. I have driven over 8000 miles with two kayaks on top, and without major transport problems. In one instance, I demolished the front of my car coming back from Canada in a collision, without the racks and boats shifting more than perhaps three inches.

Having said that, I will be trying a different manufacturer this time. The limitations of the Yakima system are detailed below. They may be faults of all of these sorts of racks; I have not yet used a competitor.

Plastic fairings on towers are required to hold the system together, but they have a tendency to fall apart.

The tower clamps utilize a plastic lever to lock the cams. I broke two of these over the years, loading up in cold weather prior to driving to Florida.

Silicon pads under feet are poorly secured, I lost several over the years.

Kayak hull cradles had several hardware problems, too numerous to report here

Strap clips on Hully Rollers are not structurally attached to rollers, I lost several.

Bolts that clamp cross bars were low grade steel (my opinion), they had a tendency to strip prior to gripping securely. Eventually, I had to drill and thru-bolt one of them.

Submit your own review!

05-24-2004
Submitted by: BFSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     We purchased saddles and rollers 4 years ago to haul our two Eddyline Carbonlite kayaks. Both the saddles and rollers have held up well except the rubber in the rollers really marks the white bottom of our boats. I tried a lot of different cleaners. Nothing cleans the rollers well. In addition, the rollers tend to twist on the cross bars causing the rear of the boats to drop lower than the front which are held tightly in place by the saddles. We are looking to replace the rollers. This should not happen for the price of the product.
Submit your own review!

04-16-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I absolutely love my Yakima rack! I have the Railrider 1 and the 60" tracks on my Tundra, which has a cap. Due to the height of the truck, I purchased a boatloader to assist me with my canoe when I'm solo. I have a 16 ft. Dagger Legend, which would be impossible for me to load w/o the Boatloader. I tried once, then went out and purchased it. I will also agree that the load stops/gunwale brackets more than do the job. I also have a Steelhead for my bike, but that's another webpage and review board. Fantastic product. Work of art!
Submit your own review!

10-14-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I use Rocket Box(general gear), Mako/Hully Rollers(kayak), Button Down 6(skis/snowboards), Steelhead (bikes), and Gunwale Brackets (canoe) attached to the factory rack of either Ford Explorer or Subaru WRX wagon. The only down side is the price. It is really quite ridicules how much they cost. The quality is top notch. I regularly exceed the weight limitations (shhh) and tend to travel at high rates of speed. No problems yet. Installation has always been very intuitive. I lost a part and called the folks at Yakima and they had a replacement for out of a spare parts bin for no charge!
Submit your own review!

09-11-2002
Submitted by: JMBSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have used yakima canoe brackets to carry my canoe atop a subaru outback. I was driving at speeds up to 80mph and the canoe was very secure, no noises, no rattling, no shifting. This is an excellent canoe transporting system.
Submit your own review!

06-06-2002
Submitted by: lfinderSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     Yakima racks with Mako saddles and Hully rollers. I recently purchased this configuration to fit my 2000 Audi A4 sedan. Whlie driving down the interstate the entire rack blew off the top of my car and luckily did not hit another vehicle. I felt one tower begininng to break loose and tried to stop but it was too late my arctic hawk was a 50lb white missle. To add insult to injury there is over $2200 damage to my auto the kayak needs repair and Yakima states that they will not warranty or stand behind the product because I did not use a bow line. The rack was installed by a dealer who never mentioned a bow line and frankly it probably would have been more dangerous for the loose boat to remain attatched to my vehicle causing more damage and possibly caused the car to go out of control. I am frustrated and angry with Yakima nad believe that clip#72 does not work for my auto. If one tower fails the other three should not follow suit in a blink.
Submit your own review!

04-03-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love my Yakima roof rack! I just finished a 1500 mile road trip with my canoe carried in a Yakima Q-tower system with a stretch kit. I drive a Toyota T-100. I found assembly and installation exceptionally easy and did the whole job in about 20 minutes. Now that the measurements are set, installation/removal from the truck takes 1-2 minutes. With the Yakima Gunwale brackets, my canoe stayed rock solid in place at highway speeds with horrendous crosswinds. This is an excellent product and well worth the money.
Submit your own review!

11-13-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 5 of 10

     Bought Yakima gutterless racks for Honda Civic DX. Never again Yakima; although now I guess I am committed to them since only have to change clips (maybe bars also) to change to different car. Took me a day to install them, following Yakima instructions. The problem is trying to get the distance between Q-towers to 36 3/4" as specified. I measure and get it to right length; then, voila, crank down on the allen wrench and it spreads them anywhere to 1/4 to 1 inch - not consistent, so it was measure, tighten, measure, untighten, measure/fudge, tighten, measure, untighten, measure/fudge, etc. Well, you get the idea. I think I ended up somewhere between 36 3/4 and 37 1/4 and just said hell with it and tightened them down. Frustrating. Bad design, IMOH. No experience with Thules or Saris, so can't compare. I used to have a guttered VW with a rack and could put it on in 5 minutes.
Submit your own review!

06-04-2001
Submitted by: KJCSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased my Yakama rack on the internet. Great price. Installed easily. I had a hard time finding foam pads. Well actually found them at a sporting goods store, $45 for 4 pads and 2 tie downs -- ouch. Went to walmart and bought noodles. You know like you use in the pool. Just make sure they have a hole in the middle, slice through to the middle, $1.40 2 for $2.80 and they covered both bars all the way to the end --58" bars.
Submit your own review!

05-23-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Yakima rack system is simply one of the best. It installs easily, it is easy to use and attaches your boat securely to the roof. I tested my boat and rack at 75 mph without a single problem. The rack keeps your canoe snug and safe. It is a great investment for people looking to quickly get their boat in and out of the water.
Submit your own review!

05-10-2001
Submitted by: DLHSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had Yakima racks on vans and cars and have used them with both lengths of bars. They are durable, don't seem to rust readily, and can carry a lot of load. Right now I have a 2000 Honda Civic and used the wide bars to load a 15' canoe and a solo kayak for a trip. Yes the bars were wider than the car and I had to use the extender system because I have a two door car. It worked wonderfully and that says a lot about the rack system and the little car. Two people, a dog, gear and two boats and a nine hour trip all went smoothly. I could load and unload the boats by my self and nothing shifted even at 85-90miles per hour (they drive fast in Canada). The only bad thing is that I have lost the pads somewhere over the winter for the bottom of the rack where it meets the car roof and have had a hell of a time getting new ones. Just for your information I am using strips of towels and that works also.
Submit your own review!

01-23-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     To carry a canoe on top of my F-250 pickup, I opted for the Yakima basic rack with the canoe adapter accessory kit. The pickup has a cab-high camper shell, which required a rear rack with mounts different from the front. The mount on the rear had to be bolted through the shell, but made a nice watertight joint. Yakima has modular racks, which means you get a round pipe, a tower to hold it off the roof and a mount to affix the tower to the top of your vehicle. The pipes come in different lengths, and the towers and mounts in a great many different versions to match different vehicles. Their variety is greater than Thule's, which was part of the basis for my decision to go with Yakima. Another good point for Yakima was the round pipes. This allows the canoe brackets to rotate around the pipe to the exact angle necessary to hold them flat to the angled canoe gunwale. The round pipes also help with one-person loading from the end, providing a roller-type contact point, though the pipes do not rotate. I plan to try putting a section of pvc pipe over the Yakima pipe to try and make an actual roller. All in all, the system works very well. With additional adapters, you can put bicycles, luggage pods and a host of other things on the same bracket. A bit pricey; at a cheaper price, it would be a 10.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt