Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Whetstone Mako T1 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Whetstone Mako T1


Rated: 9.63/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Research Paddles in the Buyers' Guide!
Paddles
View Paddles in Buyers' Guide



02-21-2005
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     Nice paddle overall. Has less flutter and a more comfortable shaft than the Werner Camano I used to have. The price was terrific and I like the customer service I received (bought this two years ago) and was able to get it with yellow blades which I prefer. My main gripe is that the blades don't seem to hold up well. I do some pushing off with it and I noticed some fraying very quickly. As a result I'm a little paranoid about having friends use it and how it might hold up.
Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
06-12-2003
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great value, this paddle offers the smoothes pull once in the water that I have ever felt. The company is in a bit of transition so delivery might be a bit messed up. Worth the wait, unless you want to throw down for an Epic full carbon (twice as much $, more flutter, but ahh, that super smooth entry of an Epic)
Submit your own review!

02-04-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Have 2 of these and have tried all different kinds of paddles. This is cat's meow. If you want light carbon fiber, you can pay more but you cant buy better.
Submit your own review!

11-16-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just took my initial paddle with a custom T-1 touring paddle and was generally pleased. The good folks at Whetstone made me a one piece 230 cm paddle with bright yellow fiberglass blades for $140.00 plus shipping. I have been using a 220 cm Harmony Sea Passage paddle (carbon/fiberglass) but I wanted something with a bit better visibility and slightly more blade. The paddle weighs just under 30 ounces and is considerably stiffer than the Sea Passage which is two ounces lighter. The shaft is exactly the same length with the additional 10 cm being accounted for in the longer blades. I had gotten used to the smaller diameter of the Sea Passage but shouldn't have any trouble adjusting to the T-1. The Sea Passage has been a reliable easy to use paddle that both my wife and 9 year old twins can handle. I don't plan to give up on it entirely but expect that I'll use the T-1 most of the time - especially in surf or other situations where I might have to let go of the paddle. (don't like paddle leashes). So, I would recommend this paddle for anyone who wants a high end visible paddle at a reasonable price.
Submit your own review!

10-29-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     An excellent paddle for the money. I'm very happy with the performance, weight and quality. What it differnce from my earlier glass reinforces plastic blades with composite/alloy shafts. The lightweight and stiffness of these paddles are fantastic for the $205.
Submit your own review!

06-21-2001
Submitted by: SilveroseSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Very light, virtually no flutter, with excellent touring blade design. We use three K-1s and one K-2 in my family, and seven different paddles ranging from 220cm to 240cm. The 240cm T1 is everyone's first choice even though it is somewhat too long for my kids. I am ordering (sigh...) two more.
Submit your own review!

04-01-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Best bargain on the paddle market! Smooth, well balanced, no flutter, efficient, and light. At $185 (I got a custom feather of 75 degrees) less than half the price of the Epic my girlfriend has. And, I can make the Epic flutter! Price has gone up a little bit but still a great deal. Also, 30 no questions asked return policy if you don't like it. By the way, I have no association with Whetstone, etc. etc.
Submit your own review!

10-19-2000
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Best yet. Years ago, I started with an aluminum & plastic paddle. HEAVY. I bought a wooden take apart paddle, much better. I tried an Inuit style paddle, light but definitely not for me. When I recieved the Whetstone T1 (one piece, unfeathered), my wife and I took our kayaks to a local pond with the T1, the wooden take apart paddle, and the Inuit style paddle. We swapped around all three paddles between us as we paddled. She was pretty obstinate about NOT returning the T1. (I'm gonna miss that gal.)
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!











Talic:



Bicycle and Kayak along Island Shores
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/BikeKayak

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Paddling.net Sweepstakes Shirt Sale