Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Folbot > Greenland II Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Greenland II Kayak by Folbot


Rated: 8.11/10 Based On: 19 Reviews


Greenland II Kayak by Folbot

Length: 17' 0" - Width: 34.00" - Starting at: $2500.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Folbot Logo



07-20-2014
Submitted by: PDNSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I own three of these boats. (Two I "inherited" from friends who passed away.) I have paddled these boats in northern CA, WA, BC, and Alaska since 2001. All boats have the expedition kit installed (including the hull strips). Never a problem with the hulls or any part of the boat. I've collided with barnacle covered rocks, beaches, docks and other boats but no damage worth noting has occurred. One has the plastic frame, the other two have the aluminum frame. I bathe in DEET when in Alaska and it's never reacted with the plastic frame in my experience.

These boats are deceptively fast with two decent paddlers aboard. I've never had a hardshell single able to keep pace. They hold a TON of gear and are great for long trips (2-3 weeks for two people including food). They are the aircraft carrier of tandems, meaning they are rock-steady stable even when getting hit directly abeam with 4ft steep waves in an offshore storm at twilight in the fog in Alaska with humpbacks surfacing all around (don't ask me how I know this). Safest boats I own and I own a crapload of boats!

They are easy and fast to load/unload with the big zippers in the deck. It takes me about 20 minutes to put one together, not a big price to pay when I can throw the folded boat inside my camper shell (security plus better gas mileage) and check these as baggage on commercial airlines AND toss them INSIDE float planes (this is a HUGE advantage given changes in FAA regulations concerning float planes carrying hardshell boats). The money saved in one trip via float plane can pay for the boat itself.

Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
07-06-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     It is hard to rate this boat. It does all that it says but I have a few problems. It is a long process to put together although that will shorten with practice. It paddles ok but not great. I have the rudder but I have not used it yet because installing it takes that much more time to get it on the water. It needs the rudder when paddling upstream in a moderate current. I knew these things going in. My biggest disappointment was the amount of space it takes when folded. I bought the Greenland II so I could carry it in my car when I wanted to take 2 solos and a tandem. The bags are too big to transport easily in a Mazda when I am carrying all my kayak stuff and the stuff for a week long trip.

In short, I do not enjoy all the fooling around needed to get on the water, but some people enjoy the process of getting there as much a being there.

Submit your own review!

08-05-2012
Submitted by: Steven GyslerSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought my Greenland II new in 1994. 18 years later I'm still using it frequently. Mine has polycarbonate cross-frames unlike the metal frames they have now, so I can't comment on what a new Greenland II is like.

I've never had any problems with my boat except when it was new, it was too tight to assemble. I shaved 1/4 off the bow frame. It's still tight, but that's OK.

It doesn't have a hypalon keel like Klepper, but I've only had scrapes, not punctures. Putting it together can bust your knuckles sometimes, but little "helper" tools can be used (I bust my knuckles when joining longerons with the aluminum slider). To me, that's almost nit-picking. I give for-pay tours almost every week through Newport or Mission Bay in SoCal, so it gets good use. It's a good boat for that because of the openness and size of the cockpit. A boat with two little holes for the occupants would freak un-experienced passengers out with claustrophobia. Greenland II is the right boat for people who want a tour in comfort. It can be a butt-buster after 8 hours on a full-day tour, but what isn't after 8 hours? I also do half-day tours.

Submit your own review!

06-25-2009
Submitted by: ED LSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     Part Failures:
THIS APPLIES TO A 1990 GREENLAND II ONLY, the new ones have nylon gussets.
The seat back and frame gussets on my 1990 were made from a plastic sensitive to bug dope. I hiked out of the BWCA on a ski trail after my gussets started cracking. On a guess, I sprayed bug dope on a gusset - it ate a 1" hole thru the gusset in less than a 1/2 hour. FolBot replaced the frame.

Submit your own review!

01-13-2009
Submitted by: rbSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I own a 1998 and have had none of the problems mentioned.
The frames are in no way "brittle". Mine have been subject to significant abuse and I would pronounce them amazingly flexible. There is little oxidization on my boat - but I do rinse the salt water off of it almost every time. Stainless rivets or screws on aluminum are not ideal, but aluminum screws or rivets would be too weak. Large sailboats use stainless screws in aluminum masts all the time. There can be pitting but this is almost always minor, in my experience. It's not a problem.

The boat is very well made. A bit slow, as one would expect with the design. That is why I also bought a Folbot Cooper. I am extremely happy with it.

Submit your own review!

08-28-2007
Submitted by: AMLSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Addressing Scott's 5 of 10's review (April 2001).
The man is correct in his review for when that boat was made. I sold my old super to buy the Greenland when it 1st came out and experienced all of the problems he did. The early version had a lot of bugs to work out. The plastic was brittle and would break just as he described and the frame would become loose with age due to dissimilar metals oxidizing.

Back then they used stainless steel rivets that would oxidize in the aluminum long runs. True, they would send replacement parts, but it took a while for the better ones to appear. I even had to buy a new frame, at cost, because of the oxidation problem. And then there was the amazing shrinking skins...

But that was then and the bugs have long since been worked out. So Scott, here's to ya, you weren't the only victim. Of course you got to realized that Folbot was dead in the water, literally, and Phil Cotton came along to hand rescue just in the nick of time...

Submit your own review!

07-31-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Greenland II is a tough, lightweight folding double that has the capacity for extended tripping. I have owned mine for 2 years and have used it on a number of saltwater trips here in BC, ranging from 3 to 7 days, and I have plans to push it to longer trips as soon as I get the time.

I bought the GII after using a friend's Klepper double and realizing that folding boats had some real advantages: the ability to store them in a closet being a big one. The things that sold me on the GII: it is very light for a double, it assembles easily and in reasonable time (25 mins solo), it is priced lower than the competition, and it comes with a lifetime warrantee. Those things still impress me, especially the customer support offered by Folbot, a company that is truly customer-oriented. No kidding -- these people want you to be happy with their product.

Now that I've paddled the boat for a couple of years, some other things impress me. First, the boat is very easy to load/unload for tripping and it swallows a ton of gear, thanks in large part to its deck zippers. In this respect, it behaves more like a canoe than a kayak. Second, the boat loves the rough water, handling chop, swells, and rebounding waves with aplomb. It's not a boat for major surf, but it will ride out breaking waves in comfort and give you confidence on those exposed crossings. Finally, it's tough. I think this boat will last as long as my friend's 20-year old Klepper.

Downside? It's slower than a skinny composite double. I travel at about 3 knots in good conditions. All in all, the boat is a workhorse, well suited to wilderness travel with lots of gear.

Submit your own review!

03-31-2005
Submitted by: Alfred
Rating: 8 of 10

     When I unpacked my GII the first time, my first thought was, "These guys have got to be kidding". Depending on plastic slots to hold alu connections didn't appeal to me. My qualms on that issue turned out to be well founded. The #5 plastic slot in the keel piece got chewed up by the alu connection. Also, I've never been able to assemble the boat (solo) in less than an hour.

So why an 8. I love the boat. I've paddled in Lake Superior and off the coast of Mount Desert Island in Maine. I always felt secure and stable. I solved the chewed up plastic slot problem in the keel by using a plywood floor.

Submit your own review!

08-03-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've had my Greenland II for 1 month and think it's a great double and an ok single. Paddling solo with the solo kit is the way to go, though it's still slow and bulky. I do see it's utility as a long distance tripper especially as far as volume is concerned. As a double it's very easy to paddle, it turns ok, but tracks really well. It's also quite sea worthy handling chop and waves well. It assembles and disassembles easily and seems to be very well constructed. It also cartops well. I think it will be a great all around double.
Submit your own review!

08-26-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I obtained a virtually new 2001 Greenland II in trade for a Mad River canoe. First, I agree with all the below comments except for every criticism in the 5/10 review. Man, that guy is jinxed!!! The design and ease of assembly is great. Paddles well solo or tamdem for such a large tandem. My only complaint is that it weighs 62 lbs. But then again, how many carbon, kevlar, fiberglass or poly 17' double kayaks weight less or fit into two bags in your closet!! Thank you Folbot for a great product and the finest service in this industry.
Submit your own review!

08-07-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Pregnant(really pregnant!)wife, myself and young daughter have taken Greenland 2 out each weekend since we got it. it handles great,even though i paddle solo from the bow. hold us all and plenty of gear while still being fun in the swells. Great, great boat. Our daughter loves to sleep in the bow while we cruise along. Have been in the ocean, bays and lakes and it performed in each type of outing. highly portable by just one person. I would challenge any other kayak to handle the load of gear, kids, and round bellys as this boat does. Highly recommend this boat.
Submit your own review!

08-06-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     In my opinion, for the money, you can't beat my Greenland II exp. I've had it on the ocean, on lakes, and rivers and its stability is amazing. Even my wife, comments on how secure it feels. The paddles that come with it are obviously for backup only, since they are clunky and heavy, and the company says this in its literature.

I absolutely love the sailing rig even though the outriggers look a little like training wheels. With the outriggers attached it is virtually impossible to overturn the boat and they do their job while not giving any noticeable drag. The only negatives I have are its slower nature and the fact that the sailing kit tends to make you a lazy paddler. Having owned a 18ft catamaran sailboat previously, I can attest to the fact that the sailing kit works well, even in high winds.

Submit your own review!

05-22-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     The GII is my favorite of the four boats we own. On camping trips, I've paddled it solo with 300+ pounds of gear - no problem. On a trip through Boca Grande Pass, while my wife and I in our Folbots happily stopped and snapped photos and saw the sights, another couple with us in their hard-shell kayaks (we found out later) were in fear of capsizing in the heavy seas. The Folbots just rode over all that stuff and absorbed the waves, while they were thrown around and had to constantly brace. If I had to choose to keep only one boat, it would be the GII.
Submit your own review!

07-22-2002
Submitted by: matt swainSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is our first kayak, so all I can compare it to are the rentals I've used. It is not fast, but it is STABLE. And remember, I'm comparing to rentals here, where the renter has a vested interest in safety. This thing is so stable, I've been able to stand up in it, just to see. We haven't packed it with a full load yet, but in the twelve outings we've had, it's handled my wife in the front, our three year old daughter behind her (comfortably between my ankles), and me in the rear. My wife and I put it together and take it apart in 20 to 30 minutes, then pack it in the back of a Ford Escort station wagon. We have fit the kayak, and a full four days camping supply in the back of that small car (nothing strapped on top) along with our daughter in her car seat (still comfortably in the center). What more could you want from a compact portable kayak? Quality looks good, even after a little surf time and an occaisional encounter with submerged rocks. The only reason I don't give this more than an 8 out of 10 is due to the inevitable trade off of stability and durability for performance. Yes, it's a bit slow.
Submit your own review!

01-08-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     17.5 ft expedition model with rudder, spray cover,and deck rigging. I've had the boat for three years and have used it in lake superior, class one and two rivers and in the BWCAW. I've had no breakage.it's fast enough to keep up with single hardshell kayaks with two strong paddlers. I love the spray cover, it keeps me dry in big waves or in rain and the kids love to duck down completely "below deck". My biggest beef is you need to sit about six inches higher than the seat provided for comfortable paddling, the paddles that come with the boat are extra long just so you can reach the water. It is certainly stable enough to sit higher. also the deck rigging puts a sewn on ring right where your knuckles can hit it while paddling. The rudder works well but the string to raise it sometime falls out of place and can't be raised. It also is not easily adjusted for different sized paddlers.
Submit your own review!

11-24-2001
Submitted by: RobS.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Before buying my first GII, I test drove a friend's for a week in Northern Wisconsin, and in Lake Superior. The stability, ease of assembly, and touring capacity almost sold me. I had three minor beefs, and even though I wasn't a customer yet, I wrote to Folbot to ask about the issues. They responded quickly and told me that all three issues were taken care of already in their new model. I bought.

Two years later, with a second GII under my belt, I'm still in love with the boat and the Folbot experience. The GII has proven its worth on expeditions, sailing, solo "exercise" paddles, and as a photography platform. It's most comfortable and handles best when loaded double, but for a large person it is a perfectly suitable single (with the conversion kit). If you want to roll a kayak, the GII is probably not for you. If you want to paddle in comfort, with great capacity, be able to sail, and virtually never fear capsize, then the GII is a good choice.

Submit your own review!

11-24-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     No kayak is perfect for all needs and situations, However, the Folbot Greenland II for me has been as close as I could have come and it has served me well for the 4 years I've owned it. It is not a "fast" boat but it's been used in coastal ocean and rivers where it's "good" speed was needed and it has enough speed capability coupled with more than enough initial stability to do most any task asked of it in a pretty comfortable manner. It is not a good choice for surf or whitewater nor would any folding kayak in my opinion. The parts have been durable and no breakage has been experienced by me on this or any of the other two Folbots I own. I do not treat my boats with loving care or cuddle them in storage. They are in use as much as I can get them out. I have had to replace the occasional rivet but the boats have never let me down, and always bring me home pleased with my daily experience.
Submit your own review!

04-25-2001
Submitted by: scottSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I work and live overseas and bought the Greenland II so that my wife and I would be able to have a 2-person watercraft with us wherever we went. Since we purchased it, I would estimate that something has broken in the boat one out of every three or four outings. The resin used in the plastic on this boat was extremely brittle and in addition to having a cross-piece snap the first time the boat was used I have had three other failures. One of the bladders leaked from day one until I fixed it when I got back to the states. The paddles are brittle, heavy and clunky - both have cracked in minimal use. I'm embarrassed to take the boat out with friends to whom I have to admit how much the thing set me back. Boat used in slack water only really. Two outings on Class I "white" water resulted in one broken hinge, one broken bow, and a cracked paddle. The only reason I give the boat a 5 and not less is that FOLBOT has been good about sending me replacements - except that it must seem to them that I'm throwing their product off of overpasses onto freeways as opposed to treating it like the fragile porcelain object that it is. People rave about FOLBOT quality... Perhaps I got the Monday morning resin pour after the company picnic. I don't know.
Submit your own review!

08-24-2000
Submitted by: mjeSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     The Greenland II is probably the single best deal in a double folding kayak on the market. While it doesn't have the performance of a Feathercraft K2, the seaworthiness in rough water of a Nautiraid Grand Raid or the ultimate ruggedness and history of the ocean-crossing Klepper double, it does deliver more quality and performance than anything else in its price range. It assembles as quickly as any boat on the market, and the Folbot factory support is legendary- a full , lifetime warranty to the original purchaser. Break a rib or frame piece? You'll have a replacement two days later, no questions asked. A good boat for camping, sailing or just messing about.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt