Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Old Town Canoe > Guide 160 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Guide 160 Canoe by Old Town Canoe


Rated: 8.81/10 Based On: 26 Reviews


Guide 160 Canoe by Old Town Canoe

Length: 16' 0" - Width: 39.5" - Starting at: $899.99
See More Details about this Canoe
Old Town Canoe Logo



09-18-2014
Submitted by: Richard E.Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I recently bought a Guide 160 and it has lived up to all my expectations. It is a big boat, and certainly no speed machine, but for my needs it is perfect. I bought it as a family boat, and I regularly take 4 kids out in it. It has a payload of 550kgs, so can carry lots of people as well as gear.

It is an excellent fishing platform, with built in spots for rod holders. Made of plastic and weighing in at about 37kg, it is still light enough for me to put on the top of my 4wd by myself. It is highly durable, can take a knock, and is finished well. On the water, it is stable, at 1m wide, and with a step in the chine, it will gain extra stability the more you load it up.

Submit your own review!

09-08-2014
Submitted by: TammyMSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This canoe is perfect for the combined canoe/camping trip. It is roomy enough to carry your equipment and provide for a comfortable paddle at the same time. It is a sturdy build that can handle those occasional brushes with rock, downed trees, etc. It is a comfortable canoe for those with lower back issues allowing you the leg room to stretch out and the back support needed for those long paddles.
Submit your own review!

08-04-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I floated my friends Old Town 160 Guide RX and was very pleased. The canoe glided with ease across the lake, and was very stable, and comfortable as we fished nearly the entire day.
Submit your own review!

07-30-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     It's fantastic to paddle these canoes for people who have lower back problems. The backrests are perfect to enjoy moments on the water without the hurt.
Submit your own review!

01-13-2012
Submitted by: C DaviesSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I live in the UK on a narrowboat, my canoe is towed behind or on top of the boat. It's regularly squashed behind a 12 ton boat inside locks, used as a wheelbarrow (firewood, gas bottles, chemical toilets), used to take casual passengers to the pub, and occasionally clumsy attempts at seduction. Some of them work, the canoe definitely helps. (:

It is SLOW compared to other canoes. But if you're on your own time (who isn't on their own time when they're in a canoe?), you will get to where you're going. Mine went out 280 days last year(would have been more but I broke my rib), this year I'm going for tours with two different people along the Thames just above London twice and even a trip along the Svartälven in Sweden in August. The canoe will do it all, it's not as fast as some canoes but it still gets there.

Of course, if you're one of those slightly inadequate equipment obsessives, you'll want something that costs more money, shinier and made of more esoteric materials. But if you just want to go paddling, this will do the job and won't give you any trouble.

Submit your own review!

06-05-2011
Submitted by: DudeSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love my Guide 160, tracks awesome and turns like a truck. I take my 4 year old daughter in it and she leans over the side and it does not even move. I have gone over logs and rocks and put a few scratches on it and it has not bother it a bit. GREAT CANOE!!
Submit your own review!

03-28-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     This is an inexpensive, bullet proof, stable flat water canoe. you can have a lot of fun in it as I did mine, however, if you plan to canoe a lot, look further.

Flat water fishing is its strength. But it is slow, turns like a tank - no worse than that, and has no final stability - once it starts to tip it goes quickly. Plus, 85lbs is tough to load after a while. The Discovery series is much better for a little more $. You will learn more and enjoy it for a longer period of time (better glide and maneuverability). But it is still much better than a Coleman or Pelican.

Submit your own review!

01-26-2006
Submitted by: M.C.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this canoe new as a scratch and dent about 4 years ago for $300. For an general recreation and family canoe, it would be hard to beat for the price. This thing is a barge, it can carry all your friends and family and all their stuff, but it just won't do it very quickly. I've gone hunting and fishing with three large guys and all our gear and it was quite stable and went about it's business without a fuss. My boys (4 and 3) can lean over the gunwale and there's no chance that we'll tip. Perfect for slow rivers and quiet lakes.

I have taken this canoe up to the BWCA on many occasions, and that's when the weight becomes an issue. Portaging is NOT fun, but it gives me an incentive to get in shape. One of these days I'll get a kevlar speedster for these trips and all will be well. Although, they too, have their downsides.

On one trip, we were plodding across a lake and two kevlar boats raced past and beat us to the landing. Well, this landing was particularly rocky and both of them put holes in their canoes. We bored in at full steam and hit every rock we possibly could. Picked up our canoe, now with a couple more scratches, and went on our merry way while the other boaters went about patching up their canoes. It IS a tank, and I expect it will last a lifetime or two.

Submit your own review!

08-29-2005
Submitted by: jimSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Outstanding! After much research for a rugged, stable, family canoe, we found the Old Town Guide 160 at 30% off at Sport Chalet.

We have a large family and the canoe successfully provided safe fun for my wife and 6 kids, ages 3 to 10 (including twins) on a local reservoir.

The boat was easy to maneuver, stable and a real joy. When it was my turn to paddle, it responded well to 4 little kids paddling + me (I only took 4 of the kids). I was able to also paddle solo with the kids in the canoe. It responded very well, much better than I remembered an aluminum rental responding.

The only slight minus is the 83 pound weight. However, we purchased a Thule rack with an "outrigger" that works as a pivot point to load and unload the canoe off of our 7 foot high van. Using this, today I was able to unload the canoe solo. (However, it probably helps that at 6 feet tall I just barely didn't need a step-stool.)

You can't go wrong if you are looking for a great family canoe for still water.

Submit your own review!

05-25-2004
Submitted by: Jim HSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I very much agree with the 05/20/2004 review. This is my first canoe and I did a lot of research before purchasing it. I live in southwest Wisconsin and my main use will be fishing and recreational paddling on small lakes and rivers. It really works great for that.

I wanted something very stable (secondary stability), good tracking, durable, big enough for my family, small enough for solo, and low price. It may be too big for some to solo, but it's OK for me.

The 2 kids (age 9 & 12) do quite well in it fishing. For now, I bungy cord a 'low to the ground' type lawn chair just ahead of the thwart for a 3rd seat.

It is quite heavy to load by myself, so I purchased a 4 wheeled canoe dolly that straps on either end of the canoe. Due to the more oval shape at the bow & stern, I had to add some padding to the dolly to get a tight fit. Now, I can strap it on, walk it to my car, flip it over on the other set of wheels and roll it onto the car roof.

I don't have a roof rack, so I attach those foam canoe pads to the gunwales and put a 'roller' underneath which allows me to put one end on the car roof. I then pick up the end on the ground and the roller moves the canoe forward until it falls off onto the hood. The 'roller' is a long broom handle type of stick, covered with black 1" foam insulating covers used for your home's water pipes. It isn't ideal but it makes solo loading much easier.

In order to fish the Wisconsin River by myself, I purchased a MinnKota Endura 55 transom trolling motor. I flip the boat around, sitting in the bow and put the battery in the stern. Plenty of power to go several miles upstream and float back.

Lastly I purchased two SitBacker chairs. They are very comfortable and fit the molded seats, even if used backwards for solo canoeing.

Submit your own review!

05-20-2004
Submitted by: Big DeeSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I love my Guide 160. It is a great boat for what I want from it...If you want this boat for the same reason I do, you will love it too. I want it for small lakes, big ponds, slow rivers and nothing over class I fast water. It turns like a pig. It's heavy. It's tough as a Patton tank! I use it to fish for smallmouth bass and trout on the New River and small lakes in North Carolina and two and three day canoe camping trips on the same. It hold a lot of gear. I tracks GREAT. If you want to do whiteater in this boat, you're susicidal. If you want speed and sportyness, go else where. This boat wan't designed for those things, the Old Towne brochures even say so! I t was designed for people who want a steady, not tippy canoe, kinda like a fishing guide (hint hint) would want to take a client fishing or duck hunting in a canoe. Thus the stability chines that make the boat almost fourty inches wide at the waterline. I only have two complaints. I consider them valid and wish Old Towne would address them.

1. The front seat is too close to the front of the canoe, making my wifes feet be jammed up into the bow when we travel. I am going to buy an aftermarket wicker seat and drill some new holes in the gunnels to move the front seat back about six inches so she'll shut up about it... the reasonfor this is that Old Towne uses the same molded seat for all it's so equipped canoes, and the Guide boat gets wider quicker, which mean the standard seat has to be bolted in closer to the front of the boat. Also, you can't sit backward comfortably in the molded seat, but not a complaint for me, cuse when I solo, I always have gear in the front keeping the nose down.

2. There is no readily available aftermarket seat that will fit in the middle of the boat like the other Old Townes, again due to the width of the boat. If you want a middle seat (a good idea-this boat can take it) you have to buy a wood and wicker one, cut chop and drill and fit. Other Old Townes can use the plastic aftermarket seat that Old Towne sells that can be snapped down on top of the gunnels and removed just as fast, which is way cool if you have an unexpedted or short notice third party...

Other than those two specific things, this boat is a classic FOR WHAT IT WAS DESIGNED FOR! If you intend on using it outside it's designed parameters, you will hate the boat and rate it low. It is not a Discovery 168 or a Expedition boat, this is not your choice. I f you want safe, stable, fishing, day or two day tripping slow ater boat, go for it!

Submit your own review!

11-18-2003
Submitted by: DonSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just purchased a Guide 160 for the family. Have had it out twice so far and it is great. Very stable canoe and tracks well. Took my two boys out and guess who did most of the paddling?! No trouble keeping it in line and it moved through the water nicely. Would highly recommend it for a general, recreational canoe, especially for the price.
Submit your own review!

06-26-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I recently purchased the Guide 160 and very happy with its initial outting. My wife and I found it easy to paddle, stable and best of all down right fun! Her mother and our 70# dog both loved it. It was large enough for all of us. We had it out on a small lake in varying degrees of wind and waves and had no trouble handling it in tandem. However, when I took it out solo, in a moderate wind, sitting backwards in the bow seat, without any ballast in front, it was difficult to turn. Won't do that again. But it was large enough for her son, Brian, our dog, Buck, me and tackle box, cooler, fishing rods, cushions and all to go all over the lake. My wife and I also took her mother on a tour across the lake to get a close look at a Blue Herron. Super fun. For the money, and its intended use, its great.
Submit your own review!

10-28-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     I fretted over buying this canoe since my wife and I prefer solo. We sold our canoes years ago when we started to have kids, which coincided with multiple cross-country moves.

We purchase the 160 to accommodate both of us and our three kids. We were not disappointed at all with the performance and stability. Our oldest (7 years) loves to lean over the gunwale - and you hardly notice.

The problem (as stated in the other review) is that we ALWAYS kept the canoe on its gunwales. We too had some unconformity in the hull and gunwales and were told at purchase that the canoe would regain its shape...

...Wrong. I finally decided to exchange it for a Penobscot 16. The kids can fish from our Boston Whaler, and learn how to stay balanced in the new canoe - it will serve them well in the future. My wife and I can sneak off for fairly good solo paddles (she could not lift the 160), and my Canoe says "Old Town" on the sides now.

The 160 performance in the water was great for its designed intention. However, after seeing this other review I decided that Poly Link at these dimensions might pose a manufacturing challenge that leaves Old Town inconsistent at best...

Submit your own review!

08-30-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     We have used our 160 on the local river and its adjoining lake. Paddling tandem or solo( even from the rear seat) its great. It works great with our 65 thrust Minnkota as well. We've paddled in to water less than ankle deep without problems. We love how stable it is, especially since there is alot of powerboat traffic around here. We've even used our 3hp outboard on it.
Submit your own review!

08-06-2002
Submitted by: Bill R.Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I am a large paddler (6'3", 250 lbs.) and I find that the Guide 160 handles superbly. It has a wide, stable platform, yet it glides easily and tracks like an arrow. I use it for fishing and duck hunting. It carries all my gear with no problem. Just be careful on rocks and pebbles, the finish scratches easily.
Submit your own review!

07-01-2002
Submitted by: SchrageSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My first canoe. I've paddled quite a few others, but I think this one tracks easier than those without the keel. I mostly take her down rivers with some rapids and fish for trout off her. I was worried that I wouldn't like the keel because it would catch on rocks and I would spend more time hung-up than my friends without keels, but that hasn't happened. If we are in VERY shallow water for a long period I might change my mind, but I can go over most rocks and through 4 inch deep water with ease. She is definitely a TANK. Has a lot of big scratches from going over rocks, but I think it will last forever.

Complaints: I bought the boat at Bass Pro Shop and a few days after bringing it home I noticed the gunwales were really warped. (Flat on one side, bowed on the other.) Now, this is likely my fault because I did store it leaning on it's side the first day I had it. One day only. Since then it is upsidedown on sawhorses. I called Old Town and they said in hot weather it should pop back into shape. It didn't. I called Bass Pro and they said I could bring it in to exchange it. The manager about fell over when he saw all the scratches on it, he apparently has never seen a well used canoe before! They did exchage it though. I guess that's the advantage of buying a brand name.

The only other complaint is that the sides are fairly short, so going through rapids and rough water we take on quite a bit of water. That's what the bail bucket is for, but you're going to get wet!

Submit your own review!

04-01-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 4 of 10

     This is my first canoe I've owned. After a trip in the Adrondaks I watched my rather large, out of shape friends effortlessly paddle past me in a discovery,(A very aggravating momment}. The canoe has the nickname creek beater now, do two its indistructable heavy design, and that's all I use it for. In moving water don't expect to get out of any turns, it will stuff you right into the corner, right into the driftwood that resides there. The boat is very stable and tracks well, just don't think that your going to get to your destination without alot of work.
Submit your own review!

09-04-2001
Submitted by: Stephen
Rating: 8 of 10

     We've had an Old Town Guide 160 for about two months now, and have taken it out quite a bit. This boat is indestuctable (for instance, my 180 lbs self, a 180 lbs friend riding shotgun and a 290 lbs friend sitting on the bottom with his back again the yoke hit a rock square on the bow. From at least 12 mph down the Big Manistee, to zero mph in a heartbeat. No damage whatsoever, apart from about 12 square inches of black and purple on the big fellas knees as he went slip and slide into the back of the front seat).

Hull has a very deep stabilizing chines just below the waterline. You can not tip this canoe if you do the polka on roller skates while floating down the river. However, at close to max weight allowance she turns like a drunk playing dizzy bat (see above tale of the Big Manistee rock).

Paddling solo is very do-able. I'd recommend sitting backwards on the bow seat, and paddlin' in reverse. The keel and the chines do produce some hydrodynamic effects that can only be described as "funky," but this is a good boat.

Submit your own review!

07-02-2001
Submitted by: NickSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Didn't want to upkeep of a boat so we went with a Guide 160 canoe. A little much, but it is worth it. We live 2 miles fro a lake and W/ my brother and I we are able to transport it easily on my Maxima and fish from it w/ no problem. It's weight capacity is a plus for when we want to fit the whole family (5 people) in it. I'm able to dangle my feet out the side into the water and still have stablilty. Overall, I think it's a great investment.
Submit your own review!

07-02-2001
Submitted by: C HedrickSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     What a great boat! My wife was a little nervous about taking out the canoe; within an hour she was STANDING in the boat taking her shorts off. This is a very stable canoe. We take it on a class one river and find it very relaxing. Easy to paddle. It takes some planning to load and unload off the F-150, but that is a small price to pay for such a fun island.
Submit your own review!

06-30-2001
Submitted by: KGSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love my Guide! I bought this canoe mainly for stability, and am very impressed. Great tracking with 2 paddlers (haven't tried it with one, yet). I use this for fishing with my family. Bought the adjustable sling seat, and it works very well for an extra passenger. Lots of room. No complaints.
Submit your own review!

06-19-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Recently purchased the Old Town Guide 160 and find it lives up to its advertisement as an "outstanding recreational canoe." As my first canoe I am quite pleased with it and find it portable enough to carry on top of my pickup truck. I looked quite a bit on the new canoe market and found this the best value of quality/dollar for under $600 for a 16 footer, and I paid less than that. So far have only used it on lakes of under 20 acres, but initial performance paddling in tandem was favorable as it seemed easy to paddle and turn and not at all tippy. It does not have the niceties of wooden gunwales or cane seats, but at least its nearly maintenance-free and it gets me out on the water.
Submit your own review!

10-15-2000
Submitted by: EdSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought the Guide to use as a fishing boat. I bought the Old Town sidesaddle motor mount, and with the Minn Kota 40lb. Thrust motor really goes. The floor flexes a bit at full speed, but is controllable. Just explored a local marsh, went right over a beaver dam no problems!! Canoe is stand-up stable to fish or hunt.
Submit your own review!

07-30-2000
Submitted by: DAve A.Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I use this canoe for fishing. I love it. It is a little on the heavy side (82lbs) for getting on and off the car myself and I would not try and paddle it alone on a windy day(unless I was only going with the wind. Having said that, I really enjoy this canoe.
Submit your own review!

07-15-2000
Submitted by: A.G.S.
Rating: 8 of 10

     The Guide 160 is a good canoe for the money. It realy shines as a flat and slow water vessel,and if the intended use is recreational fishing, hunting, or just nature watching, the Guide 160 has plenty of stability for you. The only negative aspect I found is the full length keel not present on It's little brother, the Guide 147. I wonder why Old town added the keel on the 160. So, as long as you stick to water a foot deep or deeper you'll be very pleased with this canoe.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers




Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.