Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Whetstone 60* Feathered Paddle Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Whetstone 60* Feathered Paddle


Rated: 9.29/10 Based On: 7 Reviews

Research Paddles in the Buyers' Guide!
Paddles
View Paddles in Buyers' Guide



04-22-2002
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have had the Whetstone Bonito T-2 take-apart since late last summer and love it. Customer service was very helpful in helping me sort out the merits of the the T-1 and T-2 and getting me the right paddle. With mine, the fit and quality are excellent. So is the performance. I have yet to experience flutter. I have some arthritis in my hands but with the T-2's slightly larger grip I can paddle for hours without pain and with its weight, long paddles are easily possible. That with the incredible price for a carbon blade makes this a perfect paddle.
Submit your own review!

10-08-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     I'm afraid I can't be quite as enthusiastic as the other reviewers. Yes, the workmanship and performance are generally good for a paddle in this price range. And considering the cost vs weight, it does add up to a very good value. I should mention that I have the T2 take-apart model. Some stickiness with the spring clip which does not have the snap when adjusting the the blade angle. Difficulty in getting the spring button to fully engage the adjustment holes. Seems like a combination of weak spring action and/or undersized holes. Service has been lousy. Still waiting for a new spring clip they promised to mail me 12 days ago. Based on my particular experience I feel they may have a quality control problem with their take-apart units and their after sale service leaves much to be desired.
Submit your own review!

09-17-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought one of the Whetstone 60* T-2 one piece paddles for $165. I moved up from a Warner mid-tour paddle. I like the larger indexing on the Warner and it feels slightly more effecient. I can generate flutter w/ the T-2. I am 260lb and paddling a 65lb yak though. But,bottom line the T-2 is half the weight at the same price. I really found the people at Whetstone to be great to deal with and later bought a WW paddle and spray skirt from them. Also very good quality,equal to brands costing double the price.
Submit your own review!

12-19-2000
Submitted by: Peter KSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     If you like dihedral paddles, paddle this one and you will buy it. Price is great, indexing is effective put not as large as Lightning or Camano. I used the T2 style. I think the blade design is by far better than the Camano, the dihedral is slight, so efficiency is good, but the balance of forces between the upper and lower blades is truly extraordinary. Try and make it flutter! The shaft is longitudinally wrapped, so it is not smooth, and a little bit larger than Werner or Lightning. I will say that it is now my preference not to use a dihedral paddle (I am willing to sacrifice some forward efficiency for a better skulling for support stroke etc.) If you like dihedral paddles this is an absolute must!
Submit your own review!

10-02-2000
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Whetstone carbon touring paddle L-2 is outstanding in its field! mine weighed in at 24 ozs. paddls like a dream and outpriced the local boys by $150....I opted for the once piece model to save weight...best bang for the buck I have seen. Now I have a carbon paddle to go with my carbon kayak.
Submit your own review!

10-02-2000
Submitted by: SeanSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Wow! A total bargain and unbelievable customer service. Bought a T-1, but think I need a T-2 (smaller blade). They said "no problem, we'll ship it to you". Helpful and knowledgeable customer service. And the construction of this paddle is amazing! It's beautiful, strong and butter-smooth in the water. Buy one of these paddles before they figure out what it's worth!
Submit your own review!

05-22-2000
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     Whetstone is an internet order paddle company. I bought a one piece carbon fiber which is PHENOMENOL! Why? It weighs 29oz, has an indexed handle and most of all it costs $165!!! I do not work nor am I a representative of Whetstone! I am a new paddler and so happy I did not get a 4 pound plastic paddle that costs $45! Most carbon paddles costs in excess of $250- This is a great deal!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Luxury Kayaking Trips
ORCA WHALES, EAGLES
SAN JUAN ISLANDS
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.