Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Necky Kayaks > Pinta Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Pinta Kayak by Necky Kayaks


Rated: 9.75/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



07-29-2014
Submitted by: BECSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased my Pinta in 2000. I weigh 240 lbs so it was the kayak for me. Tracks great, carries everything you need for a week of camping. Very stable. To bad it is no longer made...
Submit your own review!

09-04-2008
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I recently bought a 2nd hand 2003 Kevlar Necky Pinta. I have a lot of experience Kayaking though never bought one til now always kayaking on trips away from home. I have Kayaked in sea conditions in England, B.C California, and Maine but now am fortunate enough to live on Lake Ontario in Canada.

I am 5'10", 230lbs with 38 inch waist. I wanted a kayak I could enjoy that recreational paddle wise would track well and keep up with the rest of the crew. I decided away from shorter skeg kayaks in english style like Valley's though pretty are not as comfortable nor initially stable. The Pinta design is a modified greenland style double chine. It tracks well yet is fast and stable in a uniquely balanced nature. Mine being a hand laid kevlar built when Necky was Necky not Johnson Marine they truly built a hand crafted machine. Mine is unique in color dark top hull, sea blue seam and white hull. I can load my 230 plus everything I could want for 4-5 day trip with son, including tent, 15L of water etc. I have also surfed Lake Erie 2-3 foot rollers and though I use the rudder find my Pinta tracks well and does not exhibit weathercock issues. If you don't live on the sea and want a lake kayak for both rec exercise as well as long touring this is definitely the PERFECT Kayak. If you can find one buy it.

Submit your own review!

12-27-2006
Submitted by: NormSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Pinta rules for big paddlers. I am 6' 5" and almost 300 pounds, with a 48" waist, and I have no trouble getting in or out of it. I have tried other "big boy" kayaks and I always found my legs cramped up and all of them were difficult to exit after iI squeezed in.

The Pinta has lots of leg room. I can cross my legs, or straighten them all the way out for a good stretch on long paddles. I also find paddle float recoveries easy in the Pinta. I never had an unintentional capsize yet, but in wet-exit (ocean) practices I always get back in quickly using a paddle float. Even at my size the cockpit has enough room to stash an extra drybag behind the seat in the cockpit without compromising leg room.

Now the Pinta is only available "used".

Submit your own review!

04-01-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased a 2003 Kevlar Pinta a couple of weeks ago after having sold my six year old Prijon Yukon. Having now paddled it on San Fancisco Bay in 20 knot winds and rather steep chop near the Golden Gate Bridge and the local lakes near my house - I`m in heaven. My 6'5" 240lb frame fits the boat like a dream. I rarely had the rudder down as the boat tracked so well. A little dip of the paddle astern put the bow on track in following seas. Reading the the reviews from this site and paddling an older Pinta on Monterey Bay prior to puchasing one helped me in my final decision.
Submit your own review!

06-10-2003
Submitted by: MaxSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased a 2002 Necky Pinta after reviewing all the literature regarding it's ease of use, design and stability. Of all the kayaks I've tried, this is by far the most comfortable and has the best performance of any large volume kayak.
Submit your own review!

06-26-2000
Submitted by: L
Rating: 9 of 10

     I'm a big guy - 6'4", 275 lb. Had a chance to try several boats side-by-side at a Paddlefest. I'm still a novice paddler. The Pinta was by far the most comfortable boat I've tried. I got in it and said "This must be how a kayak is SUPPOSED to feel". Plenty of room, very easy to enter & exit. In the water, it tracks wonderfully, turns readily with the rudder and moderately well without. Responds well to edging. Slips through the water very smoothly, but it did feel a little "heavy" when I was trying to push it at speed. Both initial and secondary stability were superb - it felt almost rock-stable. I didn't have a chance to try it in wind. It seems like such a big boat would be effected quite a bit, but I don't know. If you're big and want a stable, roomy boat that still performs pretty well, and if you can afford it, definitely look at the Pinta. It's on my short list of boats to buy.
Submit your own review!

05-15-2000
Submitted by: LexSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I only have a little to add the Chuck's description, he did a good job conveying the Necky Pinta's feel. The Pinta is one of the few boats that is REALLY made for us big guys. Some of the so called big guy boats really don't fit. For example, the seat in the Sealution XL is narrower than my hips. The pressure on my femurs becomes painful in less than an hour. On the other hand, the seat in the Pinta needs to be padded a little to fit me perfectly. I guarantee there was at least one person well over six feet/ 250 lb. in the test crew on the Pinta. I am 6' 4" and about 260, I honestly think the Pinta was designed for someone my size or even a little bigger. It is pretty clear nobody my size was on the test team for the Sealution XL. I do not mean this to pick on Wilderness Systems, the Sealution XL is a good boat for the "kinda big" paddler but the cockpit opening (smaller than the distance from my butt to my knees, narrower than my thighs) and the seat tell me it was not built for really big people. If you wear an XLT or XXL shirt like me try the Necky Pinta before you buy anything. It is not the only good big guy boat (I have heard good things about the PWS Thunderbird and I'm sure there are a few others I haven't found) but it is one of very few really good boats for people over about 6' 2" and 225 lb.
Submit your own review!

05-08-2000
Submitted by: ChuckSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Tried a Necky Pinta today and LOVED it!!!!! Here's the story: If you're a big guy, I mean really big, the choices amongst touring boats are pitifully few. There's the Current Designs Solstice GTHV, the Wilderness Systems Sealution XL, the Pacific Water Sports Thunderbird, the Nimbus Telkwa HV and the Necky Pinta. That's about it. The Pinta is a Necky Looksha IV in XXL and is a GEM! She's beautifully constructed with recessed hatches to prevent spray, a really large (36x19.5") cockpit with a VERY comfortable seat and back-rest. She has Necky's signature Looksha hull-shape with double hard-chine hull. The one I tested (and am gonna buy tomorrow!!!!!!) was a kevlar lay-up with carbon ribs and a wooden (spruce?) keelson to provide additional stiffness to the hull. She comes with Necky's rudder which, tho OK, has foot pedals that control the rudder so you lose bracing when the rudder is down.

She's an incredibly stable boat both in initial as well as secondary stability.The 27" beam makes her feel like a rock at rest, though underway, her hard-chined hull takes over and she becomes even more stable.Here's the surprising part tho. For a boat this BIG, she accelerates like she's on warp dive rather than impulse engines! She's FAST!!!!! And, when put on a lean, she turns on her axis the FIRST time!!!! And without the rudder! Haven't had a chance yet to try her in serious seas, but her solid stability will make me feel real comfortable in doing so!

As a big guy. I've lamented the fact that sea-kayaking seems to be by default a shrimp's sport given the available boats. However, hats off to Mike Neckar for giving us fellow big-guys a boat that'll show all them small folk that size DOES matter! She's every big-man's dream!

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale