Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Wilderness Systems > Tchaika Pro Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Tchaika Pro Kayak by Wilderness Systems


Rated: 8.71/10 Based On: 7 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



06-20-2009
Submitted by: szSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     A beautiful, light boat. I have the fiberglass lay up with deep teal deck, purple seam line, white hull. A joy to paddle with little wind. Weathercocks badly in a following wind. Perhaps could benefit from a skeg or fixed rudder. Great secondary stability, nice low deck.

At 5'2" and 110lbs., the Tschaika fit me with just a bit of adaptation. I drilled holes to move the seat forward about 2", and then could reach the foot pedals. Moving the seat up also allows me to lock in to the non-adjustable thigh hooks. Now I am really "at one" with the boat, and love it.

Submit your own review!

03-24-2008
Submitted by: SeaPaddlerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Gorgeous little boat. Fast, light, maneuverable, tracks well, easy to roll. The perfect size for weekend camping for smallish women (I'm 5'6", 130). This is the first boat I've bought that was the right size for me, and I'm never going back...
Submit your own review!

01-20-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 6 of 10

     Not a bad boat for its length. Tracks poorly, has good speed. Layup is poor with trademark stress cracks on the kevlar hull even on a new boat. Having owned Mad River boats with high quality the merger with Wilderness Systems is not encouraging. Buy the plastic Picollo and save your money.
Submit your own review!

02-01-2002
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Very fast for a small boat. At 5'8" and heavier than I want to be it is a tight fit getting in and out. Also, the extra weight makes it necessary to add an extra weight in the bow for proper balance. It is really built for the slender paddler.
Submit your own review!

07-06-2000
Submitted by: Vickie
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love this boat! I fell in love when I first tried it out. It's my 4th kayak (you can never have too many?) I'm small (5'2") yet I am able to carry it on my shoulder, even though it weighs 40#+. It fits like a glove. I've used it in twisty Florida wilderness rivers and rough waves in open water. It is amazingly fast, tracks like a arrow and stable, turns on a dime. I haven't camped in it yet. (I backpack, so hopefully my downsized stuff may fit.)It is my favorite and most used boat.
Submit your own review!

05-06-2000
Submitted by: RM
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great boat for smaller paddlers. Very fast for a 14ft. Handles waves well, floats like a cork. Get it with a rudder if your not yet good at edging for course corrections. I always see smller paddlers in too much boat. This one will do everything the bigger boats will do except carry a lot of gear.
Submit your own review!

04-27-2000
Submitted by: GGH
Rating: 9 of 10

     GREAT BOAT! (Give it a 9, but don't thing that there is a '10' boat). This 14' is faster than any plastic 16' or 17' that I've paddled. I'm 5'9 155# and it's a good fit -- most of the bigger cockpits swallow me and I can't quickly lean them. I've got some lifting issues and this one in Kevlar comes out to 34#, yep 34. It's classified 'Light Touring' due to storage, (just a back hatch). Great for tight rivers as well as ocean -- an incredible all arounder if you can fit.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale