Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > QCC Kayaks > Q600X Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Q600X Kayak by QCC Kayaks


Rated: 9.18/10 Based On: 28 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-08-2014
Submitted by: TBSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Luv the boat, goes anywhere, handles Lake Superior and smaller lakes in area. Pedals on rudder system leave something to be desired, but learnable.
Submit your own review!

06-24-2014
Submitted by: Steve
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've owned this boat for a year. Primary stability is medium, secondary is high. I replaced the seat with a backband and added hip pads and it rolls like a dream. Very fast. Very satisfied owner.
Submit your own review!

07-29-2013
Submitted by: TomiSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great Kayak, moves smoothly through all water conditions from Lake Superior to smaller lakes, rolls well. Not stable for beginners without some practice getting in and out.
Submit your own review!

07-24-2013
Submitted by: relSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I own 1 carbon and 1 Kevlar QCC600. Workmanship is excellent. Both have rudder, useful for tracking in wind. Lower bow catches less wind. Lite kayak rides up higher waves well. Primary stability intermediate, secondary excellent. Storage adequate for several days in BWCA. Love these boats.
Submit your own review!

07-22-2013
Submitted by: WELSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I have a QCC600 Kevlar boat. It is a beautiful boat and is smooth and fast on the ocean waters of the Coast of Maine. However, my boat has a skeg with a design flaw. The skeg will not deploy as it should, and unless you have paddling partner to pull it down from underneath it cannot be used when needed.
Submit your own review!

02-20-2013
Submitted by: RWSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I bought the 600x with a kevlar/fiberglass mixture two years ago for use in coastal Maine. The boat is certainly beautiful. It handles well. It's very lightweight. I was impressed with its speed. But I would not recommend this boat for coastal Maine where it is very hard to avoid touching a rock.

This boat is very fragile. I've had light cracking, which they say is normal, and some other slight cracks. I have made special efforts to avoid rocks, but if you hit one even slightly you pay for it with a crack. If you have nice sandy beaches and no rocks, then this boat would work for you. But be warned, this is like a piece of fine china. Not for every day use in Maine!

Submit your own review!

08-16-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased my Q600X in Kevlar, sight unseen based on information I acquired on the net and from my interaction with Steve at QCC. I was reassured that if I wasn't satisfied with the boat I could return it for a full refund. That was three years and thousands of miles ago! Absolutely the best Kayak I have ever paddled. As a novice I was worried that it would be too much boat and not enough width for me to feel comfortable, however I was wrong. This is a very stable boat. And fast. The first race I competed in, I came in first place out of 50 some kayakers. Now I primarily use it for training and fitness and I would recommend this boat to anyone interested in getting more serious about Kayaking in general. Just a great boat!
Submit your own review!

09-12-2011
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have owned my QCC600 for over 10 years. It is an excellent kayak, please refer to my 2001 review.

I have looked at many kayaks over the years and I still think the QCC is best for me. Steve, the owner is wonderful and stands behind his product. My kayak has been flawless over the ten years and it is used primarily in salt water. I had a deck component fail and received a replacement in a few days.

QCC has been a great choice for me!

Submit your own review!

06-10-2011
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have been looking and dreaming about a QCC kayak for over a year now. I read all the reviews and anything else about them that I could find. Finally, a Q600X with carbon/kevlar and a skeg came up on the demo page. It came in yesterday and today we did a 19 mile trip on part of the Mississippi River in Northeast Louisiana.

After 4 1/2 hours with one stop I am very pleased with my purchase. The boat is fast and comfortable. It looks great. It fits great. I am 5'8" and 180 lbs and am glad I didn't get the 700. I think it might have been to big unless loaded with supplies. Several commented about the boat being tippy but it hasn't been a problem. In all kind of conditions from fast water, flat water with a 10 MPH headwind, weaving in and out of trees in flooded timber, it performed better than expected. The other paddler had a rudder and could navigate a little better in the trees but I just picked the skeg up and it did fine.

The boat was listed as a two year old in excellent condition but it's more like a brand new boat. I put the box out this morning for the trash pickup because this boat is staying here.

Submit your own review!

05-15-2009
Submitted by: John PauzaSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Since my wife has a new Kevlar/Carbon Q-600 on the way I'm inheriting her two year old Kevlar boat. My 5'11" 160 pound frame fits the boat almost perfectly but I would benefit from some hip pads which I will install. There isn't much foot room due to the low deck but the seat is more comfortable than it looks.

The boat feels very twitchy at first but becomes rock solid as you become acclimated to the narrow beam. Due to the 600's amazing secondary stability, I very quickly found myself leaning turns aggressively enough to take on water. Wow, what fun! For a hull with modest rocker, she turns really quickly when leaned. A six mile "speed run" around an island and back with glassy conditions and only an 8 to 10 mph breeze took 45 minutes flat.

The 600 is pretty much a rocket if you have the strength and stamina to match its potential. It covers distance well at an easy pace but virtually leaps forward when you really crank on the paddle! I'll have to wait and see how she handles in a heavy chop and windy conditions but so far I'm quite pleased to say the least. My paddle is adjustable so after trying various lengths I was surprised to prefer 205cm the shortest setting which is down in the whitewater range. Not only is the boat narrow but also very low to the water so a longer paddle just felt cumbersome.

Conclusion: the boat is comfortable for me and really quick, but not a boat for a novice or someone with feet much larger than my size nines. I couldn't recommend a better boat for a moderately experienced athletic paddler who fits. This is your boat if you want to go fast and are willing to expend a lot of energy to tap its potential.

Submit your own review!

06-05-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a new Kevlar QCC-600X for my wife. Impressive quality, especially considering the price, and requires less effort to maintain cruising speed. She was the slowest paddler of our group, now she's much quicker! Is it partly because she believes she's faster now? Whatever it is, it works, so who cares? Great boat and she LOOKS good in it too!
Submit your own review!

05-30-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Five years and still going: I can't believe it has been five years since I purchased my 600. It it still a great kayak. Fast, stable and has held up very well. I recently did a three day paddle in the 10,000 islands West of Everglades City, FL, on the trip I got a chance to paddle with another QCC owner. It was great fun and paddling aginst a 4 knot current was fun.
Submit your own review!

10-04-2004
Submitted by: Nancy PaceSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We are 55 and 57, good swimmers and athletes and occasional recreational boaters. We took a day-long kayak course and after shopping awhile, found QCC on the web. We weren't in love with any of the other boats we tried, liked the sound of the quality, value, and free tryout of the QCCs--and, to be brief--we are thrilled with our choices (my husband bought a Q700X, I bought a Q600X.) We spent a month in Wisconsin "trying them out" on local lakes, in average conditions--calm, wind, chop--and loved every minute. They were so fast, so maneuverable, and we always felt safe and competent. We had a wonderful time and are so happy to have discovered this sport and QCC. Our kayaking friends admire their quality and then fall in love with their handling. We are eager to join up with Chesapeake Bay and lake paddlers now that we're back home in MD, and to improve our skills. My husband is happy with his new kind of workout, being outdoors in the peace and nature, and being companionable. I'm also thrilled with my kayak's personality--like the horses and bicycles of my youth--peppy, energetic, beautiful, responsive, freeing, fun, fast.... We were completely pleased with every contact with QCC--they are great at answering questions and no hard sell--and would return the opportunity we were given to show a prospective MD buyer our QCC boats. Ours are graphite/kevlar because I don't want to wimp out lifting them as I get older.... Thanks QCC!
Submit your own review!

09-02-2004
Submitted by: DKSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased my Q600X this past November and have used it quite a bit since then, well actually since May, considering I live in Maine and don't have a dry suit. On that note, the folks at QCC give you a 30 day no questions asked trial which was important to me. My problem was this, I wanted to take advantage of the winter sale they offer but still have a 30 day trial. No problem, they said the 30 day trial would start from the first day I put it in the water. Thatís great customer service!

As far as performance, I have to say itís a great kayak. Fast, tracks great and still very maneuverable. Even rolls quite easily. The front hatch doesnít leak at all, not a drop. The rear hatch only a touch, even if I have been rolling or practicing rescues.

I will say that I donít feel the finish and details are so great like other folks seem to say. My wife got a Wilderness Systems Tempest which the Q600X does not begin to compare with in this regard. This is not to say the Q600X is a poorly or sloppily built boat, I just donít give it high marks for fit and finish. Also, the cockpit is not well designed for layback rolls but itís not a real issue since the kayak rolls so easily. For my aesthetic tastes QCC kayaks are a little homely looking compared to the standard kayak look but I am totally content to live with that considering its stellar performance.

Oh, I forgot to mention, I am a 5'8" 150lb male and fit in the boat fairly well. I did have to put hip pads in to prevent myself from coming out during rolls but I figure every cockpit needs some adjusting.

All in all a good kayak is about performance in my opinion, and this kayak definitely has it. Just cant quite give a 10 because of it's average fit and finish.

Submit your own review!

05-12-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I hope anyone interested in the Q600 will read the reviews. The web site suggest it is for the smaller paddler. I'm 5'10" and 220 on a small day. It performs like a playboat for me and still carries loads very well. At 2" shorter than the Q500 it has a better waterline length, is faster, less sensitive to wind and easily maneuverable. It rolls easily, and edges well for turning. This is QCC's performancfe boat, but they don't adverttise it that way. Mine is the carbon/kevlar model with thigh braces and the smart-track rudder - which I have never had to use. I've paddled the Q500 and Q700, and recommend this boat over them unless you plan to travel for a month without resupply.
Submit your own review!

09-02-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     8.1 MPH sprint GPS verified! QCC600 Carbon/Kevlar with no skeg or rudder,no add on thigh braces. The QCC600 cockpit is very comfortable -- the seat/backband is the best I've ever sat on. This seat allows you to have good posture and does not throw you rearward or dig into your legs. The cockpit is large enough to enter and exit easily, but shaped to allow you to brace your knees under the deck.

Faster than an Anas Acuta, and more agile! Exciting to paddle with good primary and outrageous secondary stability. Surfs without effort.

People whom I let paddle my kayak say they can not belive how the hull seems to track well, yet turn at the seed of thought.

The white hull and deck do not show scratches, the red stripe looks sharp. Deck elastics and hatch cover are top quality.

I am 5' 10" 185 lbs with size 10 feet. I also have paddled a QCC700, it also comfortable -- just felt a bit large for me. Also the QCC600 is faster for me, and far more agile.

If you like a kayak to go really, really fast and challange you to develope your paddling technique I recomend the QCC600 over all other kayaks if you fit. If you're BIG, then the QCC700 is a rocket. By the way, I also paddle and love our QCC400 with the Smart Track Rudder, and think it's the best kayak if you're not willing to live on the edge from time to time.

QCC customer service is simply the best you can hope for. A problem with me and my first kayak getting along was fully resolved. Check out the web site -- read about the kayaks. Very informative, with more than you want to know about hull design!

Submit your own review!

06-25-2003
Submitted by: TomSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had Kevlar QCC600 since when they first started making them and have paddled it on several 2-3 week trips. It is well built with good handling and QCC backs it up with excellent customer service. I've also paddled the 400 and 500 and will contrast the boats. Most people reading this will want to know: is this the right boat for me. I've come to the conclusion that for most paddlers the vast majority of well made kayaks will work well form them. Most people will be happy with a QCC. Given their low price I strongly recommend the boats.

Construction: Very good. Some better, many worse. The front hatch of all versions has never leaked on me. The rear hatch takes on pint of water over the day. Not unusual and never a problem. They have always used top quality fittings. The new Seal Line rudder or skeg is a good example of that.

Handling: Tracks moderately well. In a cross wind it will weather cock significantly. I have a skeg and I recommend that or a rudder. I think a skeg is nearly ideal: with it up the boat is reasonably easy to turn and with it down the boat tracks straight as an arrow in all conditions. Their rudder is fine to. Low to moderate initial stability with good secondary stability. Tippy enough that it is hard to use binoculars in any sort of sea. A little more stable fully loaded. The boat is quite low to the water and small waves will splash into the cockpit so I always wear a spray skirt.

500: A bigger boat and harder to steer with out skeg or rudder. Fast. Good initial stability - you can easily use binoculars - but harder to put on edge. Higher and dryer cockpit. Same cockpit fittings. A lot more room for legs - more comfortable for longer periods.

400: Perhaps the best combination of handling. Because it is a short boat it can both track well and be easy to steer. You may be fine with out a rudder. Stable but reasonably easy to put on edge.

Fit: Very good for me. No keyhole, but my legs easily grip below the rim of the cockpit. Large enough for easy entry. The low deck and narrow beam makes a tight fit. Good for paddling but not much wiggle room for long days. I like having a narrow kayak close to the water. Same cockpit fittings. A wide boat with a high deck. Lots of room below. I was still able to grip the boat well. I felt like there was a lot of boat around me.

Customer Service: Excellent. I originally ordered a 500, was not happy with it, and they exchanged it for a 600. They wanted me to be satisfied and were very interested in my feedback.

Submit your own review!

06-11-2002
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I've had the boat for 11 months paddling an average of 25 miles per week and this is my revised review. My usual paddling distance is 10-12 miles.

I'm 5'9" and 200lbs so I fit tightly into the bone stock cockpit. I taught myself to roll two weeks ago and the boat rolls up very easily. I imagine that if I can learn a roll in murky Chesapeake Bay water by trial and error then it's about as easy to roll up as a boat can be.

I'm still pleased with the speed of the hull. I finished a 5.5 mile flatwater loop race in 44 minutes this past weekend to finish third overall about a minute behind two Savage River marathon canoes and about two minutes ahead of two more marathon canoes. There were several portions of the course through standing timber where I appreciated having a short boat that turns well when leaned. For long open water races I could probably use a longer hull, but for 16'3" of WLL, the shallow V with soft chines slips ahead very quickly. Helping the speed is the long cockpit (no thigh braces) that allows a knees-free paddling style to help exaggerate torso rotation.

The boat is great in flat water or a chop and being on the Bay I get to see lots of chop (any boat does well in rolling swells). I recommend a skeg. Without a skeg, a rear-quartering chop will drive you bonkers especially if you're trying to make racing speed. It's easy to lean to correct weather helming but that lean creates a constant turning force that robs energy from forward motion.

I found a serious weakness in the boat last week. The Velcro system on the hatches is weak. I have been in whitecaps and crumbling wind swell breakers without a problem but last week while playing in barreling surf down on Hatteras Island I blew the hatches off during an outbound sprint when I mistimed a wave and had the lip come down over my head while I punched through the back of the wave. There was a SE groundswell at 3' and 11 sec so the waves were punchy but not terribly big. The hatches should not have failed so I drop my original review from 9 to 7.

Submit your own review!

06-10-2002
Submitted by: Paul JonesSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is a fast, responsive boat. Paddled it for 150- 200 miles now in everything from glass to small craft advisories on lake michigan(5-6 footers breaking). I would highly recommend installation of foam hip clips(I velcroed mine to the seat pillar) and some thigh braces. Without these items you will never know the true steering and tracking ability of the boat and will probably have to use the rudder when it is actually unnecessary(they also contribute to initial and 2nd stability). Unusual bow design seems superior for flotation over typical needle nosed kayaks, it is a very dry ride in big waves. No problems with any leaks, hatches are bone dry. Sealine rudder is cool looking but I found the boat leans easy and steers fine without the rudder, even in high winds on flatter water(rudder will also slow you down). Overall, the boat feels more like a sleek sailboat than your traditional kayak, seems to have great performance if you have the know-how and stones to ake it to the limit. I think you'd have to be insane to purchase a similarly designed British boat (VCP or Nigel Dennis) and spend the extra $1000.00, get crappy rubber hatches and bad cust service.
Submit your own review!

04-16-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The first thing I noticed when I put the QCC 600 in the water was that the paddle I had been using for a year seemed to have lost its bite on the water. The boat's acceleration and speed was producing this deceptive effect. Further exploring the speed factor, I put in at the same dock where I had earlier tested a Wilderness Systems Arctic Hawk and a Shenai, two of their nicest, fastest, and longest boats. Making several sprint runs between the same buoys where I had previously timed the other two boats at 38 seconds each, I shaved off 3 seconds (upwind) to 4 seconds (downwind), or about 10% faster. I was surprised, given the worthy competition.

If you've ever examined hull shapes, or perhaps seen a number of kayaks together with their hulls turned upward, it really shouldn't be a surprise where the QCC gets its speed. Every inch below the QCC's waterline works to allows efficient movement through the water. The mild uniform rocker throughout the length of the hull contributes to that effect. Add to that a 16' 3" waterline, as much as found on many 18 - 19 foot boats, and you can really cover some water.

Although the waterline width measured only 19" with a 150 pound paddler, the boat was not particularly tippy, and a bit more stable than a few other boats I've paddled - the CD Andromeda, CD Slipstream, and Eddyliner Nighthawk come to mind. Perhaps the extra stability is due to the QCC's more rounded rather than V-shaped hull. The QCC's secondary stability was strong and predictable, letting me quickly became confident about putting the boat on edge.

The QCC tracked very nicely under power and remained reasonably straight when set carefully on a glide, but didn't "ride on rails" as do a few other boats. When putting down the paddle to get a drink of water, it was possible for the boat to begin slowly yawing right or left after a few seconds. Weathercocking was apparent but mild, and controlled without much effort in winds of 15 to 20 mph. Deploying the skeg eliminated any weathercocking, but I noticed that a little weathercocking was a good thing with the QCC. In tending a little toward the wind, I ultimately stayed right on course rather than being swept slowly downwind as I would otherwise have been.

In one to two foot chop and some boat wake, the QCC handled well, cutting through the water without any pounding or tossing. The bow was buoyant, and the foredeck shed water nicely and kept me dry. There weren't any surfing opportunities, and the water was a bit cold still for rolling, so that will have to wait for another day.

Despite it's very long waterline, the QCC was very maneuverable, especially when on edge. It fortunately has one of those hulls which produces noticeable turning force when leaned. I was all the more pleased to find that this effect was enhanced with the skeg about 1 inch in the water. This works because the skeg is barely a foot from the stern where it can act as a flipper to generate turning force when the boat is rotated onto its side. (Any greater amount of skeg started to impede the turn more than assist it.) I had quite a bit of fun carving controlled turns using just the boat's forward momentum and some leaning, completely without the paddle. Gliding back to the dock, I edged the boat to execute a 90 degree turn in close quarters, steering the boat perfectly into a 4 foot wide slot between the dock and a piling. Talk about parallel parking!

QCC's quality is very high by virtue of outstanding design, excellent materials, and good production technique. You can't expect absolute perfection - I found glue oozing from hidden seams, and foam outfitting under the deck which could have been more carefully laid and trimmed. They also somehow forgot about the teal stripe I requested, for which they were very apologetic and offered a discount. The guys at QCC are tremendously helpful and will do anything possible to make sure you are happy with your purchase.

At 5'9" and 150 pounds, I fit pretty well in the boat. It has enough room to easily accommodate someone a bit larger as well. Except for a much heavier molded plastic seat made by Wilderness Systems, QCC's fully padded seat with attached backrest was the most comfortable I've ever tried. I really would have liked some built-in thigh braces, though I can still get a decent grip with my knees under the sides of the deck. And with some outfitting foam, a good knife, and contact cement, I'm ready to roll. Well almost -- I did have to relocate the skeg control wire to a lower position to remove some hardware from under my knee. Now the comfort and fit are first rate.

The kevlar boat with skeg came in at about 49 pounds, but that was with nearly a pound of extra hardware already added. The QCC balanced and carried very nicely on my shoulder, and I found that I could easily walk it 50 yards down to a put in spot, and back up the hill, where I had to drag my plastic boat. The interior kevlar surfaces have what may be called a "cloth coat" versus "skim coat", meaning that the kevlar weave can be seen and felt right at the surface. Obviously this saves weight but makes it more susceptible to abrasion in high traffic areas than if you had a hard glossy coat of resin. The floor of the cockpit, especially under your heels needs some protection, perhaps with some foam, a sheet of vinyl, or a coat of resin or varnish.

I highly recommend the QCC 600, especially with the skeg and in kevlar, which can be had for less than the typical cost of fiberglass.. If you must have a rudder, they now install the SealLine SmartTrack system with fixed foot braces and pivoting toe control. (On rudderless boats, you may want to specify that you want flat-surfaced foot braces since SealLine's non-rudder foot braces, being an afterthought to their rudder version, have an annoying hump with must be ground off for optimum comfort.)

Overall, I can't imagine being much happier with an as-designed product. And yes, I had to buy a new paddle to keep up with the boat.

Submit your own review!

11-28-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I spent a great deal of time making the decision to purchase a kayak. I knew that I wanted a boat I would not grow out of and wanted the most for my hard-earned dollars. I came across QCC while searching the Internet. I was impressed with the boats and decided to call.

My first conversation was with Phil. What impressed me was that he gave me the names of people local to me who had purchased QCC kayaks! This gave me the opportunity to contact them and get a chance to see and paddle the boat I was thinking of buying. This was a tremendous help in my decision-making. The only mistake I made at this point was not immediately ordering the 600XL after I paddled it. There was no reason for me to continue debating.

Finally, I took the plunge and ordered the kayak. Now the hardest part was to wait for delivery. The kayak came as described. I took the boat to Monterey Bay Kayaks, my local kayak dealer, who looked it over. They were very impressed with the construction of the 600XL. The bulkheads were cleanly sealed and there was no leakage. They liked the recessed deck fittings and the high quality rudder. They were pleased with the rubber coating on the rudder cables (sounded like they had cut their hands on wires before). The only problem was that they identified some minor freight damage. I was concerned. The next day I contacted Steve and told him what we found. He immediately told me that they would build me another boat! I was shocked. Their web page said that they stood behind their product but this was putting their money where their html text was.

While I waited for the new kayak, I joyfully paddled the original one. It was exactly as described. As a novice paddler, I knew this was an advanced design so I was not surprised with my initial insecurity. I kept paddling and took a 2 hour lesson to improve my skills. Each time out, my confidence grew. I am still amazed at how well the boat cuts through the water. I kayak mainly in Monterey Bay and have been in a wide range of situations from calm seas to 5- 8+ foot swells. The QCC 600XL handles them all!

I have found the cockpit to be very comfortable. I normally paddle from 2 to 3 hours at a time. When I first started paddling, I found my left leg kept falling asleep. I told this to Steve, at QCC, who suggested I pull the seat pad forward. Since that minor change, I have not had any problems. The greatest part is that I take the boat out of the water, put it on my shoulder and carry it up the beach! I'm very glad I purchased Kevlar. It allows me the independence to paddle whenever I want.

I would recommend QCC to anyone looking for a kayak. I am very pleased with my 600XL. QCC enabled me to get a magnificent kayak that will last me for many years to come at a price I can afford.

Submit your own review!

07-25-2001
Submitted by: ReidSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Got my fiberglass 600 four weeks ago and love it. It's fast, tracks beautifully (especially with the skeg deployed), and can be leaned to obscenely steep angles (flood the cockpit without a skirt). My previous experience in kayaks includes clunky recreational boats like the spectrum and the Seacret. My Seacret is still my workhorse though (fishing and river running).

The 600 is a speedster. I held off a review until I could test it in ruff water. I went out into the mouth of the York River with a 15kt NE wind blowing across the Chesapeake Bay into the river against a dropping tide. The result was a very steep confused chop to about 3'. I logged 11 miles (out against the wind, back against the tide) in 1.75hrs for a speed of just over 6mph. I didn't think that was too bad givin the rough water. I would like to see how fast a Q700 is (The salesman actually talked me out of a 700 due to my size and the fact that I usually just day paddle and don't carry much gear. He said that the 600 would be more fun for workouts sprint paddling). I did have to pump out the cockpit 2-3times because of flooding by whitecaps (I didn't use a skirt).

The boat cut through head seas well. It also surfed well when I turned to move with the waves. It did get squirrelly on some really steep waves when I popped the stern out of the water and skidded sideways. I think a little inexperience may have been a factor there. I was concerned that it would pearl when surfing because of the steep bow entry. This fear being propagated by the fact that many manufacturers claim the superiority of the Inuit design (high bow) in climbing seas. It didn't pearl at all. Even in the short steep seas I was unable to bury the bow when surfing into the back of a wave.

The boat is finished beautifully. I almost cried when I bumped the stern deck on a metal railing and scuffed the gel-coat. It is really light for a glass boat. It's hull is thinner than my brothers Walden Legend, hence 12lbs of weight savings, and not quite as rigid. I haven't (nor do I plan to) tested the durability of impacts. It doesn't flex when being paddled though, not even when slamming headlong into whitecaps. I may enter some amateur races. I'll review its performance in that setting later.

Submit your own review!

04-02-2001
Submitted by: Eric GraffSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just recently bought a QCC600 in fiberglass and love the kayak. It is fast and comfortable for long treks. The kayak shipped on time and was in perfect condition out of the box. I have taken the kayak across bays here in the Texas area in open water and found the kayak to ride well in all types of seas that I have ran across so far. A great boat at a great price!
Submit your own review!

03-30-2001
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     A few friends thought I was foolish to purchase a kayak sight unseen over the Internet, but with the guarantee that QCC offers and the level of comport and expert advise that I received on the phone, it was an easy decision. Based on their advise I purchased the Kevlar model, yellow deck and white hull with skeg and the flag/light option. I recommend that you follow their expert advice. The kayak arrived in a "big-long" brown box, when I slid it out I was immediately impressed with the quality of workmanship and the components they used. The boat was flawless and it smelled good too.

This review is based on padding most weekends and several multi-day excursions. I also did a few open water crossings of over 7 miles in smooth and choppy sea conditions. All of this over the past six months. I used it for BCU 4-Star training and surfed inlets loaded with gear and water (250 lbs). The boat is dry, stable and seaworthy. What can I say except that I love the boat. I wanted a boat that I could solo paddle, that was easy to load on a car by my self, easy to pack for 3 day trips, and be able to portage. I paddled my 600 in winds up to 20 knots and tested the boat at all angles to the wind, the boats tracks straight and reacts to edging very well. The 21" beam initially feels tippy but quickly becomes unnoticeable. The great thing is the efficiency you gain from the overall design. The hull is fast and efficient. What I noticed immediately was that I heard now sound as I moved through the water at 4-5 Knots proving the great laminar flow of the hull design. The hatch design is flawless and the best that I have seen.

One other important item is the seat is comfortable. I have paddled without getting out of the boat for 6 hours and many 12 mile non stop paddles all with no discomfort, which is not true of the other boats I have owned. The QCC kayak is a great value and a great boat to own!!

Submit your own review!

10-07-2000
Submitted by: Gary R.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought a QX600 with a layup of Kevlar and Carbon Fiber. It is very light which is a big plus when loading on an SUV. The boat is impeccably crafted and I concur with all other reviews about handling. With a 21" beam it feels tippy at first but has great secondary stability. I have slightly leaky hatches - nothing much at all. As to the comments from someone else about scratches, the secret is to get a white hull and a colored deck. If you get a colored hull the scratches from beaching will show.
Submit your own review!

08-02-2000
Submitted by: KHSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Thumbs up from this new paddler. Having paddled for only about 2 years, I found my QCC 600 to be responsive, fast and constructed with attention to detail. I've had veteran paddlers try it out and comments included: Extremely well made. Edges smooth, fast paddle and quality construction. A little hard to roll compared to other boats but not impossible (removing the seat pad helped). Hatches are awesome for accessiblity - large and seal well. If you purchase, consider a light color. Only downfall (maybe this is common on kevlar boats) is the scratchs. Even with care the darker color boat (purple) shows a ton of scratchs and requires alot of off water care. The yellow one we bought doesnt show them nearly as bad. Overall a great investment. When we paddle we get alot of comments on what beautiful boats they are.
Submit your own review!

07-20-2000
Submitted by: DAPSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great design! The boat in fiberglass is light enough, very fast, good surfer, and turns well on edge. A slightly leaky stern hatch cover and an easily-correctable rear bulkhead leak make the rating a 9. Otherwise it compares favorably with the best of the medium-volume boats out there. The finish has a few marks from an inexperienced or harried buffer, but I've seen others, all of which have been impeccably finished. The company is easy to deal with, very responsive to telephone inquiries, and keeps its promises. I've paddled the Q600 in high winds (25-35 mph) and moderate seas, and have been impressed by the secondary stability and ease of paddling.
Submit your own review!

02-26-2000
Submitted by: JerrySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Quality Composites markets it's line of kayaks over the internet only. Although, this method of purchasing requires a "leap of faith", I want to assure prospective buyers that they will be pleasantly surprised with the result.

My Q600 is impeccably crafted. The construction is absolutely first rate and everything about the boat is excellent quality from the fiberglass layup to the deck fittings. The seat is very comfortable and there is excellent storage capacity in the fore and aft compartments.

As with all QCC Kayaks, my Q600 was designed by John Winters. After having read several articles I was confident that any design by Mr. Winters would be superb. I was not dissappointed. Although having a beam of only 21", my Q600 had a surprising amount of initial stability. The secondary stability was excellent. This boat is fast and tracks very well. On my initial outing, I encountered winds up to about 10 knots, tidal currents, and a fair amount of wave action. I found the Q600 to ride very dry and exhibit only a slight amount of weathercocking.

I highly recommend a Q600 to anyone of medium build who is looking for superb quality and handling at a reasonable price. This is a lot of kayak for the money and you will have a boat in which you can take a great deal of pride.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Family kayak vacations this summer
San Juan Islands
See Whales & Eagles
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.