Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Necky Kayaks > Jive Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Jive Kayak by Necky Kayaks


Rated: 8.8/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



06-18-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I am 5'8 and weigh 205 lbs. I bought the Jive a few years ago to learn how to roll and to get comfortable surfing a closed deck boat. I live near San Diego and have become mostly a surf kayaker in recent years. When I asked some experienced BCU instructors what closed deck boat they recommended for getting started surfing decked boats they all agreed the Jive was the best place to start. True to their recommendations the Jive is easy to roll and easy to surf. It's a very forgiving boat. Slow compared to my surf kayaks and without fins it does not give the ability to hold on a wave as well as a surf kayak, or get off a wave or hit the lip. It will surf big waves, but not the best for fast breaking hollow waves. It is very loose and will spin if you flatten out at high speed, it teaches you to surf rail to rail and use the paddle as fin for trimming on a fast wave. It's a venerable little boat and a lot of fun in rock gardens and confused seas, bobs like a cork. It's small enough I throw it in my van or truck for traveling and it has seen a lot of waves up and down the California coast. Have done very little whitewater, but I was very confident after having been in rough ocean conditions in my Jive. Only drawback is that the foam seat is fairly uncomfortable as is the steel foot plate. I have to get out and stretch every couple of hours.

It's too bad Necky does not make this boat any more, it seems to be a very good design for both rivers and surfing . A good boat to get started.

Submit your own review!

10-07-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Only downside is when compared to true playboats- otherwise great all round as others have noted- in addition its a great surfer on both freestanding waves and ocean waves- easy to roll- forgiving-great boat.
Submit your own review!

01-24-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     Great all around boat... I agree with the other posts on this site. I paddle the Jive 810... very comfortable... enough volume to punch through a nasty hole... GREAT river runner... easy to roll. Great all around boat!!! Thumbs up!
Submit your own review!

11-27-2001
Submitted by: CMWSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The jive was the first boat that I ever paddled. It rolls easily and is very stable. Older jives tend to be a little uncomforatable due to the outfitting. However, necky recently began producing jives with comforatable bomber gear outfitting. I take it on five hour trips down the chattooga and don't even get slightly cramped. It is pretty playful and surfs like a dream. You have to be a little careful though when going through a big hole, because it will sometimes do a rear ender. All in all it is a very fine boat and I love it dearly.
Submit your own review!

07-16-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my first boat - bought it used for a good price. So far it's been great. It's a good all around boat, larger than the new play boats, but it still moves and rolls well. Pretty comfortable inside, I'm about 6'1" with long legs - the Jive fits me. I would highly recommend it for someone like me who is getting started in the sport and needs a boat that is versatile enough and forgiving enough to be fun in a lot of varied waters. Plus you can find them used for a steal! Great all around boat.
Submit your own review!

03-19-2001
Submitted by: Monk
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Jive is perhaps the best all around boat out there. It is a fast and playful, yet forgiving, boat that I am more than happy to paddle in easy class V. Great for learners as well as advanced, it won't throw down like the new boats... but if you can only own one boat this one will take you far. It does need outfitting work, (new thigh hooks), and for a larger person it might be uncomfortable over a long day, but some stretching can overcome that.
Submit your own review!

07-16-2000
Submitted by: charlesSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Great ocean surf boat easy to lean on and great for adv. surfers to work out the bugs on tricks. Surf a larger creek boat then this you will not go back. great boat to teach 1st time paddlers to roll in. adv. paddlers should move to the zip by necky.
Submit your own review!

06-06-2000
Submitted by: HY
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is a great boat, particularly for beginners to intermediate level paddlers. It is easy to roll, and it is not so edgy that going in and out of every eddy doesn't try to roll it over. The flat planing hull surfs and 360's well, and the lower volume ends are slicey enough for enders. It ferries good too. A great all around river running boat. I would recommend this boat to anyone just getting started.
Submit your own review!

04-30-2000
Submitted by: TerrySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great fun boat, very forgiving. Lets boat!
Submit your own review!

08-05-1999
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great beginner/advanced kayak. Very stable, easy to roll and surf. Excellent secondary stability. Will stay on line even in pushy water up to Class IV. Playful river runner for larger paddlers. Stern can be somewhat catchy when learning.

On the downside, as the outfitting is poor, Dagger or Perception thighbraces are highly recommended to replace Necky plastic strips. Needs dawg bars as the security straps are the next-to-useless nylon web variety. A recessed drain plug and top to bottom bulkheads would be nice, too.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





Kayak & Bicycle Trips
Food Wine Kayak
2-6 DAY TOURS
www.crystalseas.com/Orcas

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.