Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Aqua-Bound Seaquel (Discontinued) Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Aqua-Bound Seaquel (Discontinued)


Rated: 8.92/10 Based On: 13 Reviews

Aqua-Bound Logo
See Products from Aqua-Bound in the Buyers' Guide!
Aqua-Bound in the Buyers' Guide:
  • Performance Paddles
  • Kids Kayak Paddles
  • Recreational Kayak Paddle
  • Touring Kayak Paddles
  • Canoe Paddles
  • SUP paddles
  • Whitewater Kayak Paddles



08-09-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I'm disappointed to see that this paddle is discontinued. I've really love mine. It was affordable, is lightweight, and the paddle shape seems to drive the boat well yet is still manageable in shallow water. I'm a sea kayaker (P&H Capella rotomolded) and paddle on inland reservoirs, slow moving rivers, and some very shallow wetlands. This has been the best of the 3 paddles I own.
Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
01-26-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Hey, this is an entry-level paddle and was never intended to compete with top-end touring gear. With that said, it's well-designed for its purpose. The blade design has a good clean catch, very little if any flutter and is definitely a vertical-style power blade. Great for pushing those 60-pound, 30-inch beam SOT's around, which is why I bought mine.

The thing's about as delicate as a WWII army shovel,weighs a bit less, and is just as good for digging clams. (Actually, twice as good, if you break it down and give half to one of your buddies.) After 4+ years of use and abuse by myself and friends, the ferrule is still tight, there's a little vinyl wear on the shaft, and the driprings have been replaced. Yeah, and the blades are a little scratched from clamdigging and fending off rocks. Beyond that it's good as new.

A while back, I stepped up to a touring-type boat and acquired a touring-type paddle. Now the Seaquel sits on my afterdeck, not only as a spare and a camp shovel, but also for surf and rock gardens and other odd occasions when I want a bigger blade or just don't want to bang up the Werner.

Good design, cost-effective, rugged as hell. A 9 just because I haven't tried 'em all, yet.

Submit your own review!

07-21-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have a Seaquel in the rarely seen 210 cm size. Probably because I paddle an Aire Force XL I use a steeper stroke than people in hardshells, so I like the short size. This is a very well made paddle. It fits together smoothly with no noticeable play, and it is very durable. It's a great paddle for the price. Paddles costing twice as much are noticeably lighter. I found that even with the plastic coating, the aluminum shaft does get rather chilly in cold weather. Of course that's why there are gloves, but wood or fiberglass might be a little nicer in those conditions. There is enough floatation in the center of the shaft to keep the unit from sinking. The blades are a little heavier than water, which makes it a little more awkward to swim with if you have to. The blades are nicely shaped so there is no torque, and it paddles forward smoothly. It doesn't have as much power in the backstroke as the more expensive Big Spoons paddle.
Submit your own review!

06-23-2003
Submitted by: EKSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have a 230cm SeaClude. It's the yellow one, whatever that is. I've had the pleasure of wearing the markings off of it in Galveston Bay. My first impression was how "smooth" the paddle is. I really don't see the point of swapping big bucks for just a few ounces of weight reduction. Okay, it's rugged. But I can't take mine apart anymore. It fits in the truck anyway. I think the reason it's stuck is because I wiped out my WS Manteo in the Galveston surf and somehow the kayak wound up on top of the paddle. It doesn't feel bent. Luckily, it's stuck in the feathered position, and the rest of my family likes a straight paddle, so this one's mine. Yeah, that's cool.
Submit your own review!

11-12-2002
Submitted by: Hyper PaddleSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     In all fairness of the replies so far.... I find this a good paddle at a fair price. My friends call me "bam-bam" due to the fact I destroy paddles (even shattered an ash canoe paddle in the 1st 10 minutes of a trip LOL). It requires a stronger arm to gain speed,isnt as smooth on flat water, but takes a medium/rocky river beating. I frequently paddle the New Jersey pine barrens, and the Lehigh river also. I have used it on both as a primary,and didnt worry about a break, or blister. It has drip rings and is oval at the right place, a snug fit in the center, and the blade shape allows for pushing off a sand bar, or rock. I paid $85 and so far, after 2 years with my nature, it has survived lol. Beginner, fisher, or funseeker.......give it a try...I trust it.
Submit your own review!

11-09-2002
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I use a 210. Great, cheap whitewater and surf paddle. The large blades can move even a short heavy boat out of harm's way quick! This is one tough paddle. I use mine a lot and can't believe the abuse it has taken.

No, This is NOT a good touring paddle. If you want a touring paddle look at an Aquabound Seaclude in 220+ Still heavy, but smaller blades.

Submit your own review!

11-08-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     Yes its low priced, yes its strong and will take most anything you can dish out. Save your money and try a Swift, Werner, Whetstone, Epic whatever.
Submit your own review!

07-18-2002
Submitted by: G.BaldwinSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I really feel the previous reviewer made an invalid comparison of the Seaquel to a carbon San Juan. C'mon! Apples and Oranges! I own and have used both. The Seaquel is a fine entry level paddle that can provide nice acceleration for a strong paddler. And, if you're getting tired, just flip the paddle and use the short side of the blade for relaxed return legs. An important consideration is shaft length. Since the blade of the Seaquel is somewhat short, the 240 shaft is like a 250 in any other paddle. That makes it a handful for most people, and can tire your arms out if out there for a couple of hours. You might want to consider going down to a 230 in this model. It takes plenty of abuse without being marred, and the connection is nice and tight. So, it's weight versus budget versus sophistication. If you are just getting started, on a budget, or have good strong arms, then this is an OK paddle. When you get more sophisticated and notice accumulated paddle weight, then by all means go to a Werner or similar premium paddle, for 2.5X the price but .5 the weight. And keep the Seaquel as a backup paddle.
Submit your own review!

07-23-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 7 of 10

     I have a Seaquel 230....As far it it out performing a paddle costing three times as much the Seaquel can't compare. And since most paddles come with drip rings, come apart and are featherable I don't consider these things reasons for running out and buting one today. The thing gets a little tiring after paddling in chop for 2 or 3 miles. I have a Werner all carbon San Juan. Someone please tell me how a heavy aluminum shaft paddle with pathetic blades is going to be a better touring paddle than that when paddling in chop and currents. I rate the Seaquel at seven just because it has drip rings and comes apart.
Submit your own review!

02-19-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I got a Seaquel as my first paddle. It started as a 240, but I cut it down to 220 after a couple of seasons. I tried a few other paddles as I searched for a lighter replacement with smaller blades. At 240, the paddle was quite a handful. I keep it now for a spare or for when I expect to try abusive maneuvers among rocks. Settled on a 220 Aqua Bound Expedition AMT for my general touring needs. The Seaquel is a great value in a large-blade touring paddle, but gets heavy after a while.
Submit your own review!

04-12-2000
Submitted by: JoelSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     (mine's a 220cm)And I would have to concur with Slick...his summary says it all. It's featherable, has driprings, breaks down and fits easily in the car...This is a great, affordable paddle that I have given a good beating already...will have to see how it holds up.
Submit your own review!

08-15-1999
Submitted by: G.Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great paddle that takes alot of abuse.
Submit your own review!

07-13-1999
Submitted by: Slick
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Aqua-bound Seaquel is an UNBEATABLE paddle for the money! It has a relatively large, asymetrical blade that is identical to one of their much more expensive paddles in size and shape. The blade yields rapid accelation, great power, great directional control with NO flutter or wandering. The aluminum shaft is slightly heavier than a fiber or composite shaft, but the ferrule on the 2-piece is rock solid and the shaft has a nice feel to it. The shaft is also ovalized at the right places and covered with something (PVC would be my guess) that is supposed to provide some manner of insulation from the cold. I can't tell yet whether this'll work since I've done only warm water paddling since I got the Seaquel. In all though, the Seaquel is a GREAT paddle and a STEAL at well under $100. I'd venture to say that with regards to performance, it'll equal paddles costing three times as much. BUY ONE NOW!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt