Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Pelican International > Castaway 100 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Castaway 100 Kayak by Pelican International


Rated: 8.5/10 Based On: 6 Reviews


Castaway 100 Kayak by Pelican International

Length: 10' 0" - Width: 30.00" - Starting at: $349.99
See More Details about this Kayak
Pelican International Logo



09-23-2014
Submitted by: jonscott8Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     A friend and I decided to get into kayaking and try kayak fishing so 3 months ago I purchased my castaway 100 for $200 off Craigslist from a guy who had only used it twice in Saltwater. I've since had it on the water at least 20 times.

For a beginner, it's a great quality vs cost option. Its strengths are its cost, light weight & angler features. Its weaknesses are lack of hull access and hatches (I've since added a 6" day hatch to mine just in front of the seat similar to the Pelican Tidewater model as well as a zig-zag cleat for anchoring & stringing fish).

I use mine primarily in rivers, some lakes & ponds, and saltwater flats. I haven't braved the Gulf, inshore or off as I suspect it wont fair well in rougher currents. It is stable to sit but standing isn't feasible for me, I've tried and rolled both times, maybe a stand assist strap would help but I doubt it. It's more maneuverable than my friends Perception Sport but doesn't track nearly as well. The backrest is handy and while I thought the lack of padded seat would be a problem, it's not until I'm on the water for a 6+ hour trip which doesn't happen often.

Very pleased with my purchase but now looking to upgrade to a larger (12-13ft) kayak.

Submit your own review!

07-02-2014
Submitted by: Bacaruda73Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I recently purchased a Pelican Castaway 100 to introduce myself into the sport of Kayak Fishing. The Kayak serves it's purpose for a beginner such as myself. I did not want to spend a lot on a Fishing Kayak since I am a beginner. I just wanted to get my feet wet so to speak before I decide to upgrade to something larger with more options.

The Kayak is well equipped with accessories for a beginner. such as an adjustable rod holder and two recessed rod holders. It also came with a crisscross bungee lashing system for the rear deck to help hold down items securely. The kayak is very light weight and I can easily toss it in the bed of my truck. and since it is only 10 feet long I do not require a bed extension system to transport it. I just use a couple of ratchet tie downs and the boat is secure. I was a bit worried that the plastic construction might be weak but so far it has held up to the abuse that I have given it due to my low handling skill as a novice.

I recommend this Kayak for a beginner or as a gift to a Youth that wants to get into Kayak Fishing due to it's affordability and factory options.

Submit your own review!

06-16-2014
Submitted by: dan the river ratSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I love this yak it is my first kayak and handles great I've caught many fish from it. It's all good except no dry storage and it got a hole the first summer I had it. I patched it, but one summer is not a very good life expectancy. I'll be buying Old Town or Ascend next time...
Submit your own review!

04-02-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased my Pelican Castaway a little under 1 year ago. It was on a hot deal sale at academy for $200.00 and I was looking for an inexpensive way to try kayaking. I have really enjoyed this kayak and it was a great way for me to find out that I love kayaking.

I have used it on ponds and slow moving rivers. It handles well for what I do with it. I haven't done much fishing out of it, and have since bought a larger kayak that I fish out of.

The only complaint I have about this kayak is that there are not any dry storage hatches. It is stable, but I have never tried to stand up in it. It is also light weight (40-50lbs I think) and easy for me to load on my SUV.

Submit your own review!

03-10-2014
Submitted by: larry k leeSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Purchasing the Pelican Castaway 100 (10 feet) late in the 2013 season allowed for only six trips on Tennessee's roaring river. The Castaway is a fishing yak and includes 3 rod holders, one straddle and two built in. I have yet to wet a line with my Castaway, using it for my summertime "float and drink a few beers boat". the boat has been excellent for this endeavor. Stability, tracking, and hull quality are all excellent. The Native Watercraft company sells a fish storage/cooler bag that stores 3 six-packs. at 42 pounds the boat is easy for most to carry. Negatives include the lack of dry hatches and a shortage of tie-downs which is easily solved with padeyes from Walmart. For the suggested retail of $349, this may be the buy for fishing (oops, beer-drinking) kayaks.
Submit your own review!

07-19-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Had Castaway for few months; my first yak. Took a little getting used to (balance), but tracks well... would set up bungee deck, stern, different maybe instead of terminal loops use hook ends (work better for me). I added 2 hatches and is a work in progress.

Overall very happy with purchase, just wish recent weather would have co-operated more so could use more.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Shop these fine Retailers





Kayak & Bicycle Trips
Food Wine Kayak
2-6 DAY TOURS
www.crystalseas.com/Orcas

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale