Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Rolling with Sticks - book Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Rolling with Sticks - book


Rated: 9.9/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Research Books, Videos, & More in the Buyers' Guide!



07-12-2012
Submitted by: WarrenSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     First, this book is ring bound and waterproof. It is perfect for putting on the deck of your kayak while you practice. Second, the written descriptions are clear and concise. Third, the stick images are brilliant. Well done, Chris.
Submit your own review!

04-23-2012
Submitted by: PamfSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Rolling With Sticks is a unique guidebook for those learning Greenland rolls. There aren't many kayaking books that you can take with you on to the water and stick under your decklines while you practice! And I can confirm that it truly is waterproof (and tearproof). The figures are clear and the descriptions make sense. It is extremely useful to have on hand, not only for inspiration as to which roll to try next, but for working on fixing problem rolls. I'm delighted to now have the accompanying excellent DVD.
Submit your own review!

04-18-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Rolling with Sticks is an excellent way to expand on basic and advanced Greenland skills with clear and detailed models of many layback, forward finishing, norsaq/throwing stick and hand rolls. The guide book is an outstanding companion to have with you on the water after you've seen some rolls on the dvd. I learned two new rolls the first day just from looking at the book on water. This is going to be an excellent tool for learning more advanced rolls.
Submit your own review!

11-12-2011
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This book is a great product. You can't take a laptop on the boat but this book is right there underwater with you. The narratives are written in easy to understand conversational format. Chris explains the minute moves required so you clearly understand what needs to happen to make these rolls and braces. His web site videos are time well spent on the computer. Thank you Christopher Crowhurst.
Submit your own review!

11-08-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great book, well worth it. Looking forward to using it in some pool sessions this winter.
I've paid more to get a lot less; really recommend.

Submit your own review!

11-07-2011
Submitted by: Mike H from UKSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Sometimes you come across something that just hits you as a brilliant idea. I first came across Chris's stick man(he needs a name Chris!) when he was developing the pages (Chris has also put a huge amount of work into his videos that would make a superb DVD IMHO). Making the Stick Man into a waterproof booklet was a one of those inspirational moments from Chris.The important thing is in the detail. The drawings are simple, clear and concise but, more importantly for me, the text adds the detail that makes all the difference when you are trying to perfect that roll-not too wordy or complicated - just adding succinct detail to complement the little man! I take Rolling with Sticks to every pool session-trouble is it always disappears off to the other end of the pool! I am a fan - can't you tell! Volume 2 coming soon. Not having any Greenland Rolling gurus in the UK makes this booklet doubly valuable to us poor lost souls - well done Chris.
Submit your own review!

11-04-2011
Submitted by: AdrienneSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Rolling with Sticks is a wonderful addition to the DVD's and books that are available for learning how to roll. The unique attributes are that it is waterproof, simple to follow with good progression from the basic static brace to sculling to the more common backward and forward ending Greenland rolls and then to finally some more complex slight deviations. I don't know of any hard copy book that is available that addresses Greenland rolling. In addition, Christopher's website has video's that can be reviewed when the roll doesn't work. Can't wait until the 2nd volume comes out that explains how to do the sculling rolls.
Submit your own review!

11-03-2011
Submitted by: SheilaPSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     LOVE my rolling with sticks book. I had worked on a static brace and basic roll this summer and wanted to learn more. This way I can mentally work on my roll before heading out to get help from friends.

Plus, the waterproof format is the best! I can review what I am working on WHILE I am working on it.

Submit your own review!

11-01-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Christopher Crowhurst has put together a terrific book to assist paddlers in learning new Greenland kayak rolls. He has posted extensive video of these techniques on his website. But you can't take video with you in your boat. If you are practicing a roll or want to try a new roll while you are already in your kayak and on the water, it may be a struggle to remember what to do or what steps you need to follow. This book solves that problem.

The book uses stick figures and instructions to go through the steps in performing 25 different Greenland rolls. It is spiral bound so it lays flat on a particular page. But here's the cool thing: this book is written on water resistant fabric paper. You can put Rolling with Sticks on your deck, under your bungees and refer to it while you are out on the water. No need to get out of the water to review steps for a roll.

The descriptions are excellent and easy to follow. The contents include lay back rolls, forward finishing rolls, norsaq rolls and hand rolls. The book is not designed to teach a kayaker their first roll, though the website discusses learning your first roll at length. It is designed to help paddlers learn to do new rolls.

There are good rolling DVD's out there, but none are usable while you are actually in your boat on the water. Crowhurst's book is a creative idea that fills this unique need and does so in a clear and coherent way. It is reasonably priced and he promises a second volume with more rolls.

"Rolling with Sticks" is a great little book for anyone who wants to learn to do a variety of Greenland kayak rolls.

Submit your own review!

10-31-2011
Submitted by: Chris MartinSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     "Rolling with Sticks" is a spiral bound book produced on waterproof paper and written by Christopher Crowhurst. The book has 25 rolls and techniques. Each roll/technique is illustrated with 8 simplified diagrams and described in detail. Each technique also has its Greenland name and Competition point value.

After watching numerous DVDs on rolling and bracing and still not being able to roll/brace I thought I would give this book a try. As I started reading the first few pages I had an "ah-ha" moment and things began to click. The angle of the drawings and the descriptions were easy to visualize in my head. Some of the DVDs I had watched before left me confused as to my body position but this book cleared things up.

The author also has video clips on his website for additional help.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Luxury Kayaking Trips
ORCA WHALES, EAGLES
SAN JUAN ISLANDS
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.