Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Perception > Tribe 9.5 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Tribe 9.5 Kayak by Perception


Rated: 9.63/10 Based On: 8 Reviews


Tribe 9.5 Kayak by Perception

Length: 9' 5" - Width: 31.25" - Starting at: $449.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Perception Logo



09-23-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I had the chance to take the Perception Tribe out for my very first kayaking day trip. As a first timer, this sit on top kayak gave me the confidence to conquer the 11 Point River in Southern Missouri. It tracked easily and I could coast a bit and relax. It was easy to steer and balance. I didn't have any tipovers! Oh, and this kayak had plenty of room on the back for a small soft cooler and a portable grill. I would recommend it to any beginner kayakers.
Submit your own review!

09-22-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is one 'GREAT' little kayak. I have used it on rivers and lakes and it tracks wonderfully. The Perception Tribe is very stable and there is nothing more fun than waiting for a large motorboat to pass and then turning to paddle over the motorboats waves. You will be absolutely surprised about how fast this little boat can cross a lake and sneak up on some egrets. This grandma is totally 'in love' with this little sit-on-top kayak. It literally 'makes my day' out on a beautiful lake or river.
Submit your own review!

09-03-2014
Submitted by: shepSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Have 2 of the 9.5 Tribes. I use them in the ocean on the east coat; very stable, handles ruff surf with no problems. Have also fished off of them in the Gulf, as well as fresh water. My 12 year old daughter loves them. My son is 6'3 210 pounds, he looks like a pro in big waves on these. These also haul great, have taken them 1200 miles one way in a standard rack.
Submit your own review!

09-03-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The best sit on top kayak out there. Good on lakes, streams, rivers and in the surf. Stack-able, light enough to throw on top of a car. The tribe is stable for novice paddlers but is an awesome boat for intermediate/advanced paddlers. 9.5 turns quickly yet tracks well for a sit on top.
Submit your own review!

08-20-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Have the Tribe 9.5 and it found it to be great in the surf and going down class I and II rivers. The fact that the boat has no hatches is a plus to me as less areas for the boat to take on water.

I'm 6 ft tall, 220 pounds and the boat is NOT too small for me. Like that it easy to carry and fits inside my SUV.

Submit your own review!

07-25-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just recently used the Tribe 9.5 on a short trip down the canal. This boat is very stable and tracks well for a little boat. It is perfect for still to slow moving water. I would have given a 10 but I think the 11ft model would be a better fit for me.
Submit your own review!

06-30-2011
Submitted by: Joe WSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Bought this kayak Sunday and took it out today. I was really impressed overall with this boat. For a 9.5 ft kayak it paddles really well and turns on a dime, due to it's length. I had a hard time deciding between the 11.5 and the 9.5 but most of the time I am loading into J hooks myself, therefore the 9.5 won out. Paddled this out in Wells Harbor at the peak of high tide and 1 1/2 hours after high tide. In the harbor this impressed me as much as my Wilderness Pamlico 100. I have also paddled the harbor from an Otter and an OC Frenzy. This blows away the Frenzy in comfort, speed, and there is minimal bow slap compared to a Frenzy as well.

I think this is a good SOT for the length and can't wait to paddle again and hope for a few swells to see how it handles them.

Submit your own review!

07-21-2010
Submitted by: OldFatManSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     My first outing with the new 9.5 proved it to be just right for a marsh rat who sometimes has to cross larger bodies of water. It is maneuverable but held the line better than my other short yaks. It tracks well but not fantastic. It turns and back paddles very nicely. The waves were small this day but the wind was not small. It seemed to handle the wind without any weathercocking at all. First impression is that it is just right. My other short yaks were like paddling a beach ball in the wind. This one behaved well.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale