Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Old Town Canoe > Vapor 10 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Vapor 10 Kayak by Old Town Canoe


Rated: 8.82/10 Based On: 50 Reviews


Vapor 10 Kayak by Old Town Canoe

Length: 10' 0" - Width: 28.50" - Starting at: $399.99
See More Details about this Kayak
Old Town Canoe Logo



08-22-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Hands down the best kayak I have ever been in. I have rented a bunch and usually Old Town is well represented at most liveries. I picked this up at the local Dunhams and have been happy with it since the day I brought it home. (Wow I sound like a new parent) Overall the stability and ability to pivot in the water are what sells me on it. It's not skinny and won't track as well as a streamlined kayak, but I use this on an inland lake for paddling about and fishing so it serves its purpose well. The seat bottom is sort of padded and the seat back is the flex seat and moves with your movements. It doesn't have the sealed storage areas but you can buy a kit (which will require cutting into your kayak) or like me buy a dry bag and a dry box. The adjustable footpegs on my model are fine but in looking at a friends (that just bought one) it looks like Old Town made them a bit sturdier. A lot of the people on my lake have been showing up with Pelicans and they seem fine but I think the Vapor is a Cadillac compared to the Pelican.
Submit your own review!

08-21-2014
Submitted by: GKSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     The Vapor is my first kayak and I love it. It has a lot of room, is stable, and takes a beating. Tracking isn't great but you learn to compensate with rowing technique. There is no lumbar support so you will need some extra padding for long trips. I made a lumbar support from a piece of swimming noodle. I also added the hatch cover and a bungee tie-down to the front.
Overall very happy with the Vapor 10.

Submit your own review!

08-21-2014
Submitted by:
Rating: 9 of 10

     I got this kayak last summer as a complete beginner and fell in love with the sport. I live in Montana so I have had the opportunity to use it on lots of flat water and the river. It has great stability and good tracking. I have had more fun than I ever dreamed I would with it. I have a detachable anchor system for fishing, I have taken it camping and I have lots of room for gear. It's light weight and I can load it myself as well as carry it.

I think it's an awesome all around kayak for the different things I like to do. I may get another kayak for different purposes as I gain experience but I will never give this one up! It's the kayak that showed me a whole new love. There's nothing better than paddling down the river and seeing what's around the next bend.

Submit your own review!

07-30-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I live about 100 yards from a boat launch and decided on this model to move around an inland lake. I have rented a lot of kayaks and believe that is the most stable of all I have rented. Most rental places rent Old Town so I felt confident in my choice.

I think it tracks rather well for being a wider bottomed kayak and takes on waves pretty decently. I haven't swamped this thing yet and have had a whole lot of fun with it. The notch for the paddle rests helps while fishing out of this kayak and with the open cargo in the back (I did look into the hatch you can add) I can easily reach for my tackle box or drinkables I have back there. There is ample storage up front as well although it will be between your feet. The seat back folds down for more storage as well. The only things holding this back from being a 10 are: the front cupholder is too far out of reach if you are sitting back and the foot pegs need to be a little studier.

Submit your own review!

07-24-2014
Submitted by: BrianSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I am not a first time paddler and this kayak is OK. I have 2 of them, one angler and one plain Vapor 10. I gave them only 8 stars because there is much more good to say than bad.

To start, this is a sturdy boat. I am 250 lbs and feel very comfortable in it, even with my 6 year daughter in front of me. This boat is great for the room in front of you to put a child, but it does lead to being a little wet from your journey from paddle drip. I did add some ties to the front of my plain boat to match the angler and you need to add a drain to the back of the boat (once added the boat drains in seconds vs. trying to hold the boat on its side in the perfect position for a while). It tracks OK, not great, but turns on a dime for a 10 ft boat. I wish it had a better hull design to track well, then I would have given it 10 stars.

Overall, if I had to buy another boat, I would not choose this one again. I have an older Perception that is only a foot longer and tracks like an arrow, has similar room and does have covered storage which is wonderful, but can be difficult to easily access. In addition, the anchor system on the angler is a nickel buster when paddling hard, but usually not a problem.

Submit your own review!

07-20-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I wanted to get a kayak so I can paddle with my three-year-old daughter, but I didn't want a tandem. After doing tons of research on various kayaks, I decided to go with the Old Town Vapor 10 for a couple reasons. Mainly, it has the largest cockpit of any other kayak I've seen. There's plenty of room for me (and I'm fat) and my daughter with room to spare. I sit her on a little life preserve pad in front of me and she has plenty of space. The length is perfect, and I really like the molded-in paddle holder feature. That's just for resting, it's not to secure your paddle to the kayak, but it comes in handy when I want to stop and take pictures. The seat could be a teensy bit more padded, but I think all kayak seats, unless you're sitting on a pillow, are going to be slightly uncomfortable. It's not the deluxe seat but still it's really not bad. It's easy to adjust, too, as are the foot pedals. I can adjust both the seat and the pedals easily several times while out on the water for a more comfortable ride. It has two cup holders, one between your legs in the seat and one on the console.

This Vapor 10 weighs about 45 lbs., which is about average for this size kayak. Old Town sure knows what they are doing. At first, as a beginner, this kayak felt a little tippy to me. But after 15 minutes on the water, I felt completely confident. I realized they all must feel a little tippy at first, but when you lean over, you realize it only goes so far before it doesn't lean anymore. You can safely look over the side in this kayak and I feel confident taking my young daughter out with me.

I tried to think of something I don't like about this kayak and I cannot. I'm glad I did my research and went with the Old Town Vapor 10. You will not be disappointed!

Submit your own review!

07-07-2014
Submitted by: Jason Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I almost bought a Future Beach kayak. Glad my friend told me about the Old Town Vapor 10 Angler. Got mine at Academy sports for $500 and have been a yakin junkie ever since. I've hit 5 foot wakes from large boats and can't tip it over. I've pushed the limits of this vessel and taken on a lot of water but never tipped it. Very stable and easy to control.

Love it an highly recommend it for anyone starting out. I even built a rack out of pvc that hooks into the pole holders so I can load camping gear on it. I give this craft 50 stars.

Submit your own review!

07-06-2014
Submitted by: DustinSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I love the Vapor 10, it is an inexpensive boat that is still a quality boat. I'm a bigger guy so I like the larger cockpit, it makes it much easier to get in and out of. I also like the fact that it has an open well instead of the dry well....that never stays dry. The Vapor is also a very versatile boat, I've used it on small creeks and lakes....its at home going over some shoals or cutting through flat water. All and all I would recommend the Vapor to anyone.
Submit your own review!

07-03-2014
Submitted by: TylerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a great kayak! The quality and features are far above that of other kayaks which cost twice as much. I have used this kayak in flat water, white water, and have even taken it on a couple overnight trips as it has plenty of storage space. It tracks well and is extremely stable.

The only complaint that I have is that after a few hours the seat can get uncomfortable but all the pros of the kayak cancel this out and a seat pad can be easily installed to fix this problem. This kayak should last me many more years to come!

Submit your own review!

07-03-2014
Submitted by: Matt MoonSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This kayak is amazing. Excellent quality/craftmanship. Superior materials than other, cheaper kayaks. The cockpit is very spacious. I go on 3-4 hour trips down the river and do not get sore a bit because there is enough room so i can change my sitting position. This kayak is one of the best recreational kayaks for the price.
Submit your own review!

02-19-2014
Submitted by: Dallas from TexasSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I got this kayak because my wife told me paying over $500 for plastic is dumb. Even though with our jobs money is no issue. Well I said ok better than nothing. Wow that was not justice. I went out on a white cap lake today and by god I felt safe! I am 5'8 160 pounds I felt it easy to paddle and track perfect!

I am pretty stout due to me being in construction but I felt anyone could do it. No need to get an expensive kayak I laugh now at people who obviously not been fishing long and think some how expensive is better *psh* the fish don't care. Love it would recommend it!

Submit your own review!

12-10-2013
Submitted by: Chet RagsdaleSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Ok, I admit this is my first kayak, but not my first experience in one, or canoes etc;. I bought two of these for the wife and I. Forget 'entry level', just because they are 'cheaper' doesn't mean it won't do the job. I buy for the job at hand, not for what it might do (which I may never need).

I read another reviewer's comments. He seems to be around my size and height. He didn't like it and I can understand that some might not, and some will. It's all about what each individual wants and needs. This filled all my wants and the needs are simple upgrades. For instance, I want mine to be like the Angler model. So i purchased a couple of flush mount rod holders and the lid for the rear storage compartment. Easy to install and saved money over the angler addition. It does not have the camo color of course, but I have never met a bass or trout that cares what color the boat is. I am in the process of upgrading it more as in depth finder, and an 'exterior' rod holder. Also easy updates.

As far as the seat, I am 250 and 6'3" and have no problem so far. I purchased an inflatable seat cushion as used in camping, it works great. That coupled with the PFD on, makes it fine. The pedals adjust for me ok. One guy mentioned the profile of the yak as he sat in it in the water, high in front. Well I'm thinking for us guys upwards of 250 it might possibly sit a little higher in front, because of the weight closer to the back?

My only cons (and these are minor) is the knee pads on the sides are next to paper thin, I overcame this with some foam shipping padding that they use for auto windshields. Also with the storage lid I put on the rear well, it is a little difficult to open. I attached some paracord and fashioned a handle from some wood dowel from Home Depot, I tied the cord to the bungie on the front and laced it through the seat to me. Now I can pop the lid open by simply pulling the handle and not fumbling with it.

Myself nor my wife are in these for speed and we don't do rapids or the ocean, so these work just fine. They are stable, not too heavy, track good and roomy. Good product

Submit your own review!

08-09-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have owned my Vapor 10 for two weeks now and I love it. This is my first kayak. I have had lots of experience with canoes and rental kayaks a couple of times. My kayak experience was only with sit-on kayaks, but I find the cockpit of my Vapor to work great. I have no problem with the seat because the life jacket provides added cushioning.

I am 6' tall and 220 lbs. It is stable--even in a strong wind and foot high waves. It is light enough that there is no problem getting it onto the roof of my car.

The only two complaints I have are that a sit-in cockpit is not easy to get out of. There is no graceful way to do it. The other problem is with the drain plug. It's location makes it almost useless. But a sponge does the trick just fine. Even in heavy waves, the only water in the boat was what dripped off of the paddle. I wondered if a ten foot long boat would be good enough for me, but it seems to work. So far I've only had it out on our lake, but I am already dreaming of taking it to Florida next winter to see what it might do on bigger water.

Submit your own review!

08-03-2013
Submitted by: JasonSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought this kayak for my wife and we love the versatility. The well in the back holds a small cooler for snacks on the float. (I added bungee cords to hold it down). The roomy cockpit allows her to put a small padded seat between her feet so our youngest can sit there when we go out as a family. All around solid entry level kayak.
Submit your own review!

07-31-2013
Submitted by: lg
Rating: 8 of 10

     First of all anyone reading this review can be confident that its extremely reliable since I use my Old Town Vapor 10 nearly everyday. I got this kayak about 3 years ago and have used it for just about everything ever since.

It's a great boat for beginning kayakers or anyone who just wants to take a relaxed paddle. The boat is extremely durable and easy to transport. The foot pedals are easy to adjust, the handles are great, especially for securing the kayak to a car, and the cockpit is nice and open. The kayak is extremely easy to enter and exit which is great when you do a lot of portages, plus the wide and rather flattish hull basically makes a big table right there between your legs.

Don't even think about buying the expensive angler version of the Vapor because once you add a few rod holders its great for fishing, which I do a lot of from it.

My only complaints would be about the seat, speed, and height of the kayak. Obviously, this is a fairly chubby kayak so you cant expect much as far as speed goes, so if your looking for something efficient, look some where else. although, I have done a few 11 mile trips in the boat, it just requires a lot of conditioning. also the sides on the kayak are a little high so when you paddle your fingers often bump the side of the boat. lastly, the seat is just plain bad. the quality of it isn't great and its uncomfortable. after about 2 hours of kayaking I start sitting on my pfd since this seat even makes my young 17 year old back sore.

Despite a few problems this is an exceptional kayak. I would recommend it to any beginning paddler. Pretty soon I'm upgrading to a Current Designs Kestrel, but I'll definitely miss this boat.

Submit your own review!

07-26-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     A nice recreational kayak w/ some good features. Appears more robust than most of the more basic 10-footers; but that likely adds a few pounds. Tracks very well, likely due to the stern end having a well-defined and pronounced fin-like "tail" which extends even past the rest of the kayak. While this helps with tracking, it does make it not as easy to "turn on a dime".

Very stable, yet good speed for its length - one of the minority of kayaks that can be paddled all the way up to its "theoretical maximum hull speed". (Must be an efficient hull design.) Pretty roomy cockpit even for my 6'3" 200-pound frame. No sealed storage, but you can add a cover to go onto the back storage tray for about $50 (it likely costs less to buy it and add it yourself than to by the 10XT which already has the tray cover installed, since the XT version may cost $100 more that the standard version of Vapor 10).

You should be able to get the Vapor 10 for around $300 on sale, although it is usually sold for closer to $400. Seat and foot pegs adjust easily. A couple nice extras are the sporty-looking design and the snazzy color patterns available. It does lack deck bungie cords, and the drain plug is located in a rather odd, impractical location.

Submit your own review!

07-24-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I found the Old Town Vapor 10 to be an exceptional starter kayak for me. It has very good stability, tracks well for its design and the poly construction seems very durable. The large cockpit allows plenty of room for fishing gear and a grandson will be riding in there in a few months. Light and small enough to fit inside of my van, it's grab and go. Aftermarket accessories are plentiful and easy to install.
Submit your own review!

07-24-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought the Vapor 2 years ago and have not been disappointed. It is very stable, I fish out of it I haven't tried standing in it but I think a more agile person could. The seat is the only thing I would change it is a pain to adjust the back. But that is all I have to complain about.
Submit your own review!

07-19-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     The major issue with this boat is its seat. It's poorly padded, way too wide, and doesn't put you in a good, ergonomic seated position. I've added foam and hip pads which help some but I'd like a more permanent solution. Other than the seat, the boat does what it's supposed to do as an entry-level rec boat. Its cockpit is very open (a little too open in my opinion) which allows you to haul a decent size cooler in the bow. I've added some bungies allowing me to take several dry bags, a chair, a table. I could camp out of this boat for several days, if needed. Again, a decent boat for short trips and big hauls but the seat prevents me from recommending this boat.
Submit your own review!

06-29-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     After much thought and research I decided to purchase an Old Town Vapor 10 for my first kayak. I definitely made the best choice! It handles great, tracks well, and has good primary and secondary stability.

The Vapor is an excellent first kayak and offers plenty of room to grow. I'm primarily a flat water/lake paddler but wouldn't hesitate to take it on a little rougher water. My only suggestion is to get a foam seat pad...your butt will thank you!

Submit your own review!

06-25-2013
Submitted by: PhilSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased my Vapor 10 to use on the Potomac River (been on this river since I was a boy I am now 39) in Western Maryland and I must say it is a fantastic kayak. It goes through rapids without a problem and is very stable (Class I and II and minor III). The kayak is very maneuverable and glides across the water. This would include slow or fast water. Paddling is a breeze.

I also outfitted my Vapor 10 with rod holders. Although I want my rods to lay down because I glide under tree branches etc while bass fishing. Rods that would stick straight up would not be practical for me. I also had my 70 year old father trying it while we were fishing the river together and he is sold. Another highlite is the easy load and unload and the large open cockpit and tons of storage room. EXCELLENT KAYAK. THANK YOU OLD TOWN FOR THE VAPOR 10! I will be purchasing another one!!!!!

Submit your own review!

06-13-2013
Submitted by: J.B.M.Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     After much online research I finally decided to buy an Old Town Vapor 10. I wanted a kayak that I could use primarily to descend rivers with class I and II rapids and with the knowledge gained from years of canoeing experience was somewhat concerned about the "keels" on the bow and stern. I also wanted a kayak that would track well on flat stretches with a strong headwind. I needn't have been concerned. This kayak is everything I wanted!

One thing I want to mention in particular. I have read some reviews complaining about the location of the drainplug. I found the location of the drainplug to be perfect! You just pull the kayak about halfway up on a gravel bar and turn the kayak up on its side to drain water. This is much easier than turning one upside down and lifting one end up in the air to drain water out a drain hole located at the other end. I would recommend getting a spray skirt or splash shield if you intend to run class I and II rapids, as the cockpit is quite long and it is easy to take on water without one.

Submit your own review!

05-06-2013
Submitted by: EdSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I'm totally new to kayaking, and after seeing all kinds of makes and models for sale on Craigslist I started doing A LOT of research to educate myself! I considered getting a kayak from Costco but decided on the Old Town Vapor 10 after seeing it was very highly rated in reviews, reasonably priced (although slightly more than Costco), and relatively easy to transport with it's 10' length and overall light weight. I found a great deal for a new one online and placed my order...I was not disappointed.

Although I don't have anything to compare it to other then reading reviews of other kayaks, I have to say that this kayak has excellent performance. It's fairly easy to load and unload and to carry... it tracks straight, is easy to paddle, is very responsive, has a very large cockpit opening making it easy to enter and exit for a newby like me. Seems to be very durable, has a nice look, and my 15 year old son who didn't seem to care much about dad getting a kayak is now HOOKED!!! The only negative is that my back got sore after a recent 2 hour excursion, but the same thing has happened to me in different rental cars... I figure a good kayak cushion will help immensely.
* I recommend using a long paddle length due to the kayak width, I'm using a 243cm paddle (8'), I don't think I'd go much shorter than that

I rate this kayak very high, and am very happy with my purchase!!

Submit your own review!

02-08-2013
Submitted by: J.R.D.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've had the Old Town Vapor 10 Kayak for about three years now. I have taken out the front Styrofoam support/ballast to free up cargo space on extended camping trips. I have taken to using a neoprene mat (double folded) and placed on the seat to address comfort issues on long paddles. I traveled over 60 miles in this kayak down the lower Colorado river last spring, and it performed amazingly well.

Do yourself a favor and invest in a high quality paddle (Carlisle 130), with plenty of clearance; get a bigger size than recommended as the Vapor is quite wide. This width allows for easy entry/exit, and overall cabin room. I stowed my bedroll (w/backpacker's mattress, guitar, four gallons of water, ice cooler w/30 pack, dry box for camera/phone/wallet/etc., and my dry bag. in this yak. It sat low, but it had no issues flooding. TIP: Keep a sponge and a bailer in case of flooding, also, the bailer can double for a urinal...if your shorts are loose enough!

The only knock on this yak is the lack of a cargo bungee on the rear; which I installed myself for cheap though.

This yak is a class I, flatwater yak. You CANNOT go wrong with this quality brand yak for the price!!

Submit your own review!

01-31-2013
Submitted by: KCBSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought two Kayaks this summer: a Pelican and a Old Town Vapor. Both are ten footers. The two kayaks fit nice into the back of my truck (Ranger) and they are easy to get down to the river edge. There is better handling with the Vapor and more room in the cockpit. It paddles straighter and sits out of the water better. I fish with both yaks and find the stability much better in the Vapor. Casting is no trouble from the Vapor and it will stay put even with ship rollers coming at you from any angle. Important feature because of the St Lawrence River can be a little rough on occasion...
Submit your own review!

08-24-2012
Submitted by: DaleSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     The seat on the vapor 10 is not comfortable at all. I can only paddle for about 30 minutes before everything starts hurting. Never had this problem in all my previous kayaks. I tried to upgrade the seat to the new acs but old town tells me this is not an option. I will be selling this boat even though it is new.
Submit your own review!

08-15-2012
Submitted by: Tillamook paddler
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a great recreational kayak. It is extremely stable and tracks well for a short boat. The open cockpit works well for my family. I can easily take my 8 year old along with me and under calm conditions my. 5 year old sits in the rear storage hatch as well! Probably not recommended by Old Town but the kayak handles it no problem. When I want to go for a longer paddle on my own it does well at that too. I fit the splash deck to it to make it more sea worthy in chop and wind. The versatility of this kayak is hard to beat and with the package I got from Austin Kayak, the value is outstanding. Awesome rec kayak.
Submit your own review!

08-13-2012
Submitted by: Ann from KYSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great entry kayak! We ended up purchasing 5 of these this summer for our family. Very stable, nice large opening/cockpit makes it easy to get in and out of. Didn't come with hatch cover, but I don't think you need it. We just set our water bottles or snacks in the hatch spot and just reach back to get it.

LOVE the paddle rest. It is straight ahead of you. It is like a cut out and you just set the paddle there. Use it ALL the time while paddling. Just push the paddle up there while you rest, talk, get a drink, etc. I love how the seat is adjustable easily while you are kayaking. It has foot pegs too. we have 2 in blue, 1 in red/orange and 2 in the lime green. The one neat thing about the Lime green is that it is translucent. So when you are paddling you can kinda see the water up against the kayak. I kinda liked that. You can Not see the water inside with the 2 other colors.

Overall, I would buy this kayak again. Also, my grandson who is 2 has enough room to sit up against the front on the floor. I really like handles where you carry it. Not those cheap "string" type handles. This is a real handle. Makes it good when you are trying to run straps through it to tie them in the bed of the pickup truck.

Submit your own review!

07-18-2012
Submitted by: RB
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great kayak at a great price. Nice, open cockpit, stable, light weight and durable. Tracks well without hard paddling. Recommended!
Submit your own review!

01-18-2012
Submitted by: gunnerSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     A kayak for starters listen to talk that I like because I put fishing equipment in it fishing all kinds of different waterways I had to buy a spray skirt which you can get from old town I bought it from dick's sporting goods field and stream n x x l after a year of runnin it I have mine for sale right now because I bought an angler now it has a better seat
Submit your own review!

09-06-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I promised an update: I haven't changed my rating... I've had it out a few times in a few different locations (the longest paddle was a little over 6-1/2 miles, half of it upstream in some fairly fast moving water), and have had the same reaction each time, which sort of summarizes what the real problem with the ‘yak is: it's a decent rec kayak with a _really_ awful seat. REALLY, the other problems I noted would be fine if it wasn't for the seat and the problems it causes.

You sit too low with your feet too high. I've sat 4 hours in an old style Swifty seat (just a molded plastic bucket that's part of the ‘yak) without any discomfort, where the one in the vapor has me squirming in 30min. It's not comfortable, it doesn't support you, the wet ride and low seat means your shorts are wet right away, if it's a cooler day, you will be cold.

So what about the rest of it- well I pretty much agree with my first impression good and bad, but the seat is the real problem- so much so that I even tried removing it and moving it around, adjusting its mounting some... without any real help, it's just a terrible design.

So for those of you thinking "well, maybe he's just too big for it or something." Well, I'm 6'4 and run around 240-250#, so I am bigger, but almost all my weight is in my chest and arms. I fit in things that some 175 pounders might not. I fit in a smaller seat then my 5'7" wife. I wear size 34 jeans, but 2 or 3x tall shirts (and have much longer than average arms, so I should have an easier time reaching over the high/wide sides of this thing). I'm used to having fit problems with things but I can't imagine who will actually be be comfortable in this thing.

My wife just said "but the water bottle holder is nice."

Submit your own review!

08-22-2011
Submitted by: RKSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We bought two of these a year ago at a clearance of the 2009 models. My wife and I are smaller than average but we have no trouble getting the pegs and seats to be perfect. Then we bought Azul fibre paddles for almost the price of the kayaks. The only accessories are two self-inflating Thermarest cushions and safety kits.

First, the Vapors look nice in and out of the water, like blue dolphins. The canoe heritage is obvious from the keel line and rocker. We use them in a river with considerable current and they handle beautifully. I only get water in if I paddle sloppily or if someone borrows it. Then I use a soaker gun from Swift to pump it out.

The large cockpit means it's wider than it needs to be but there is no problem getting comfortable or going straight and fast. It turns by telepathy and I can paddle for hours and be comfortable. It rides waves very well. The weight and width make it a bit more of a chore to get onto a high rack. It's rugged and attractive. I am pleased with this model and brand.

In order to establish my commitment, I bought two cockpit covers for the next off season as the fellow in the store told me that mice eat the seats in the winter. That may or may not be true but the mouse traps that were in the boats last winter had no takers. I hope that if the mice come along they will be confused by the covers if they are interested in eating seats.

Submit your own review!

08-17-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     Wow, after all the positive reviews I was expecting more.
As compared to something like a Swifty 9.5 (I consider that the prototypical small rec Kayak, small, cheap, light fun... I don't see the point in comparing it to a longer or more $$$ kayak):
    Pros:
  • cheap
  • carries me well (I'm 6'4, 250, in a Swifty I'm buried in the water, plowing through more than gliding over, I'm jealous of my wife that kind of floats along in hers, if I was >50lbs lighter I'd probably just get one for me)
  • Glides better than a typical short kayak.
  • tracks better than an early swifty, not as well as the current model

    Cons:

  • There is no way to stay dry, I get wet in something with a smaller cockpit, got soaked in this in less than an hour- I had enough water in the bottom of the boat that my backside was getting wet through the seat just from drips off my paddle (and I was using a better, dryer paddle than I was in the swifty)
  • tracking, yea, better than some short boats, but since it does glide a little it's definitely insufficient. If you give it a few hard strokes and let it glide, you make it a second or 2 before it starts veering off to one side or the other. No real pattern, I experimented and found that sometimes it was to the left, sometimes to the right, didn't seem to be the wind or current (it was calm and I tried it facing both ways in the same spot and couldn't find a pattern)
  • the seat sucks. It felt good in the store, but in use it's not rigid enough, the adjustment seems to stretch and the plastic that it's made out of flexes and pokes you. It's so low in the bottom of the boat that just a little water and you're back side is sitting in a puddle. You long for the simple molded bucket of a seat in the Swifty, which keeps you up off the bottom, is stiff...
  • the whole shape is tall and awkward. I have long arms and it still felt like i had to do a lot of reaching to prevent from smacking the deck (really the combing) with my paddle, there is no real put your feet over the top and recline or dunk them in the water over the sides to rinse off some mud, it's just too tall and big, even for someone as tall as me with disproportionately long legs
  • You almost have to use the foot pegs- with the v-bottom it's a little uncomfortable to just leave your feet sitting in the bottom like in a flat bottomed kayak and none of the other positions that you try when out for a day on the water really work in it either
  • The foot pegs/adjustment are a great design, easy to adjust, seem to lock in well... why a con? Who do they fit? I want them about 2-3" past the end of the rail. With them all the way down, with my feet on the pegs my knees are up over the top of the cockpit, maybe 3-5" over the padding on the sides.
  • more about the seat- I think it's an inch or 2 too far back. I was definitely sitting with the nose up higher than the back. My wife commented on the wake I was leaving and the nose up attitude I had, kind of like a v-hulled motor boat with it's trim not set right.
  • The cockpit is just too large, it actually makes it harder to get in and out of, well not actually harder, just awkward, it kind of becomes the same maneuver as getting in and out of a canoe with a big dog with you, it just seems like there is no good way to do it
So with all this, why a 6 (I almost gave it a 7)? I can see why some people might want it:
- you want a lot of room to put a dog or a kid in front of you, maybe
- you're going to use it with a spray skirt
- you have a really shallow stroke that never gets the opposite end of the paddle over the kayak
- it might be faster than a swifty, while almost as maneuverable, if one of the above keeps you dry it would be fun in fast moving water and better on the flat stuff that you might have to go across to get to the fast moving stuff that other kayaks that do well on one don't like the other.
- in a lot of ways it's like a jeep, which some people love- wildly impractical in many situations, but it will get you there, it will get you in to places that something more normal will not, either because of it's relatively small size or maneuverability, and it will get you out, I get the impression that you can abuse this thing constantly and it will come back for more.

I may try to return it (I just bought it this afternoon and dropped it in the water for an hour on the way home), but if I don't I'll try to remember to post an update after a few longer trips with it, maybe my opinion will change...

Submit your own review!

07-11-2011
Submitted by: JSAUK
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought 2 Vapor 10's a year ago and my wife and I have put close to 60 miles on them. We have paddled several miles of the Rockcastle River and I paddled 12 miles of the Cumberland River in Feb. of 2011 both in KY.

We love our boats; best recreational investment we've made since we have been married. Having never been in a kayak we were not sure what to expect but right out of the gate we were extremely comfortable in them. Track great especially when you learn the correct paddling technique. They are not however speed demons but I had no problem keeping up with a Wilderness Pungo 120 and a Tsunami and a couple Liquid Logics(all are very nice boats).

For the money you can't beat these. I have $600.00 in the boats alone. I have added bungee kits to both of the bows and over the stern wells. I like the fact that the stern wells do not have lids, because you can pile it full of gear in drybags and bungee it down. I installed a flush mount rod holder(walmart) on the right side of the stern and also installed drain plugs in each one. All the placement points for the rod holder and drain plug are already molded in the boat just have to cut the holes (be cautious not to cut them too big and seal them with waterproof sealant just to be safe). The new Vapors should already have drain plugs installed. You can google the angler edition to use as a guide or just buy the angler if installation is not for you.

I purchased the spray skirts which I have only used it once (February trip) works well enough. I purchased the matching 230cm Carlisle paddles for about $50 ea. The paddles are decent can't get them apart though even used WD40 and can't budge them. Also the paddles ends themselves were sliding off the actual pole but I super glued them on. The boats I can't say enough about them, plenty of room for anything you want. Adjustable backrest is a huge plus, along with 2 cupholders

Very steady, have rocked mine in calm water just to check how steady and it is more so than any canoe I have been in. My wife nor I have never dumped and have never come close or felt uneasy and we have been thru several stage I and maybe a stage II and probably could do a stage III. My first outing I collided with a boulder in the middle of the river hit it hard enough to snap my head forward and my boat took it in stride. Now that I know how to maneuver it, it turns, stops, and backs as well as any boat I been in or been around.

These boats may be classified as a beginner, recreational boat but if we ever wear them out or damage them beyond repair I will not hesitate to immediately purchase them again. So for all of you who are new to paddling and looking for an affordable boat with features you will find or not find on higher end boats this could be a great option. It may not look as cool as other boats but it will give them a run for their money. All the add-ons I purhased from Austin Kayak(awesome to work with), they will have anything you need: Bungee kits, Pop rivets (get a few extra), Drain Plug, Yak Clip, 7.0 Spray skirt, Paddle leash

Purchased my boats at Dunhams Sporting Goods on sale for $279.99 and got another discount on top of that. The boats are a single layer of poly so keep that in mind and use your own judgement. Great boat I do recommend them and hope this helps.

Submit your own review!

06-22-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just back from first time using my kid Old Town Vapor 10, bare bone. I have been using a 14' canoe for years and I am amazed how this kayak tracks. Expect moderate speed, but is a recreational kayak. The cockpit is huge, getting in and out was a breeze; we had some winds but the Vapor was easy to maneuver, turn, and paddle. Some water gets inside coming from the paddle, but if you are careful and/or use a 100.00 paddle (mine is a 30.00 paddle), the water inside can be minimum.

I like this kayak. I will add some goodies, a couple of rod holders, and a hatch cover. I would recommend this kayak to anyone who wants to experience or break in kayaking on a budget (299.99). Old Town Vapor 10 won't let you down.

Submit your own review!

08-12-2010
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is my first yak and I generally like it. It is great for lakes and slow rivers. It is a good "middle-of-the-road length" at 10'. It is short enough to be maneuverable, and long enough to track well and cruise along at a fair clip. It doesn't excel at anything, but does everything fairly well.

I like it a little better than my friend's Swifty 9.5. I even took it down the lower Nolichucky a few days ago. With my splash deck added, class I and II rapids didn't ship too much water into the massive cockpit. I did swamp quickly in the only class III, but I knew I was already pushing the limits of a recreational boat.

This boat is a great introduction to all kinds of kayaking, but you'll need a more specialized boat to advance to higher levels.

Submit your own review!

07-29-2010
Submitted by: CVCIIISend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just bought the Vapor 10 today... Put it on the Dan River in Eden, NC and had a blast. I am 6'3 240 and the kayak fit like a glove. Just getting into kayaks so I did some research and found the Vapor on sale at Dicks Sporting Goods for $329.00. Great boat for the money. I would recommend this kayak to anyone. Very satisfied!
Submit your own review!

04-28-2010
Submitted by: ctSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my second kayak and I really like it so far. (My first is a Pelican Burst which is an 8' sit on top.) My concern with purchasing a sit-in kayak was being able to get in and out with my abnormally long legs and the Vapor 10 filled the bill well with its large cockpit. FYI, I'm 6'4" and about 175# and find this kayak very stable, comfortable and easy to enter/exit. I bought this kayak on 4/2/10 and within 18 hours of purchase, I had it on 2 rivers and 1 lake. The only complaint I have is the location of the drain plug which I would prefer to be at the stern since I whacked my elbow on it once or twice while paddling(probably leaning back to far - so I adjusted the seat and no problem). I like the line that makes it simple to adjust the seat back and the padding on the inside of the cockpit where I can lean my legs. Nice kayak for a nice price!
Submit your own review!

09-23-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is my first kayak, I'm glad I came across this websites reviews. It has great features for a recreational kayak mentioned in previous reviews. I've had it for about a month and got caught out in the dark twice. One feature not previously mentioned is that laying a flashlight in the front between your feet and one in the back compartment will light it up like a Christmas lawn ornament (might not be the best thing when you think about what might be watching you under the water). I actually like the open back storage compartment now, it's easy to reach into, doesn't usually get wet and never had anything blown out, yet.
Submit your own review!

09-15-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     After much research I purchased the basic Vapor 10 for $379. A great boat! Tracks well, any wandering off track is likely a result of too strong of a stroke. The boat seems to be stable, I'd like to try to tip it just to see what it takes. The padded seat is comfortable, the lack of padding on seat back is not noticeable. The adjustable seat back is great as it's nice to adjust back position on the move. Same thing with the foot pegs. I find myself moving pegs and the seat back a couple of times during a trip as my paddling style changes. After reading some other reviews here I purchased a 230cm paddle. I still find myself bumping into the sides occasionally, but that might be due to my height (5'7")

Things I don't like...The cockpit is HUGE. That's great for getting a tan on your legs, or carrying your pet or child. However it leads to a lot of water dripping off the paddle onto my legs, which is not horrible when it's 80 degrees outside but as the weather cools so will my legs. The purchase of a Seals splash deck is in the future. The 2 molded cup holders are a nice addition, but due to the length of the cockpit it's a stretch to reach the holder up front. The open day well at the stern (with hatch on the 10xt) takes up most of the room behind the seat, precluding the storage of big items like camping gear.

In summary it is a great kayak. The cons are more annoyances than anything else. No regrets on the purchase. I've had a blast in my Vapor 10!

Submit your own review!

08-28-2009
Submitted by: edellaserraSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I am new to kayaking and researched several different kayaks before purchasing a Vapor 10. I am 6' 245 lbs, so I wanted a kayak with a higher max capacity and I also wanted a large cockpit. The Vapor fit those requirements.

The fit and finish on the Vapor are great. The footpegs are topnotch and very easy to adjust.The rear storage well on the base Vapor 10 does give the boat an unfinished look in my opinion, so I plan on getting a storage cover at some point, and may even add some deck bungees in the front to complete the look. The Vapor is very stable when getting in and out of the boat, and also in open water. The ride is high and dry.

I do agree with the recommendations of using a 230 paddle, as it is a wide boat. It certainly is not the fastest kayak on the water, but it is easy to get moving and tracks well for a 10' boat. I typically take my 5 yr old with me and she sits at the front of the cockpit on a seat cushion, and I have plenty of room to paddle. I have had several people ask about the boat when they see us paddling around. I have noticed that I am able to paddle more efficiently and faster with the extra weight when my daughter is riding with me.

Although I have not needed it at this point, as the boat stays relatively dry, but I think that a factory installed drain plug would be nice to have. All in all, I am happy with my Vapor 10. Great boat!

Submit your own review!

08-27-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased my Old Town Vapor a couple months ago and it's probably one of the best investments I've ever made. My wife and I go out on the water as much as possible. This thing goes through rapids like a hurricane; I have done up to class 4 rapids and gone through bolder gardens from hell and this thing just keeps going. If you're looking for a spray skirt you'll need a Seals 7.0, it can be purchased through Oak Orchard or NRS, there's a couple to choose from. In my opinion this kayak is the best bang for the buck.
Submit your own review!

08-26-2009
Submitted by: KCSSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased the Old Town Vapor 10X last week. I love it already. It handles beautifully is quite stable and is very comfortable. I kayak mainly to photograph wildlife. I love the ease of maneuvering and glide that I get with the Vapor. I also own an Otter and a double Old Town which is very heavy. The Vapor is lighter and easier to transport. The cockpit is large enough to allow me to bring my dog sometimes which is fun for both of us. It also accommodates my tall husband better than the other two. Great design, great fun.
Submit your own review!

08-10-2009
Submitted by: sunstorm87Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've been kayaking on and off for about 10 years now. I've owned two tandems, a loon 160T and a 17' kevlar boat, and a single, a Hobie Mirage Sport with sail. I also own a Sunfish Sailboat. I bought the Vapor 10 for a cheap fun boat that I can take onto any body of water that I please. When the wind is too high to go sailing (which it can be in ND), I'll go take this thing out for some fun in the waves (I hope).

My Vapor 10 base model was delivered today. Overall, fit and finish was really nice for a rotomolded boat. Everything about it is what you would expect for only paying 379 for it. The thigh pads might be a bit flimsy for good control, but we will see how it performs out on the water. The edge is a bit sharp under the coaming, so I'll have to remember to wear gloves when carrying it. The foot pegs are really nice. I would prefer the boat be an inch more narrow for a bit more speed/room to paddle but it was designed to be recreational, not touring. The jam cleat seat back adjusting system is clever, and useful, as without the seatback in the upright position, the spray skirt pops off.

Speaking of sprayskirts, I purchased a 7.0 Inslander from Seals and it fits so tight that I had to use a bungee cord on either end attached to the carrying handles of the boat to get the thing on. We will see how this works out on the water. To my knowledge this is the only spray skirt currently out there for the Vapor 10. Some grip tape under the lip of the coaming wouldn't hurt to prevent the sprayskirt from falling off. The boat's plastic is very very smooth.

I bought a Bending Branches slice crank paddle 230cm with this boat. A 230 is a must, lest you want your hands torn up and bumping against the hull with every stroke. For anyone getting into kayaking, and looking to move forward with it, I recommend getting a paddle like this. It puts your hands at a more natural position. Giving you more control, power, and less strain on your wrists/forearms. They are also lightweight, which makes for an enjoyable paddling experience. You can stay out longer when you aren't worn out. Worth every penny of the 130 bucks I spent on it.

Anyways, that's my review for now...going to take it to the lake this weekend and see how she performs.

Submit your own review!

07-30-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased the Old Town Vapor 10 (not the XT) on Craigslist for my daily lunchtime kayaking trips. I have a Hobie Classic Mirage, two Wilderness System Rippers, and now the Old Town Vapor. As a South Florida kayaker I was a little hesitant to try a sit-inside for fear that it would be too hot in the summer, but the extra large cockpit on the Vapor has been perfect even for those 100 degree days. I go out everyday at lunch in the Vapor, and it is the perfect boat for my short jaunts on flat water. It tracks nicely and has a roomy cockpit. It is heavier than the Otter, which makes it a little more difficult to throw on my shoulder and carry down the hill. I have an 83" (210cm) paddle right now, but that is too short due to the height and width of the Vapor. I am going to shop for a 230cm paddle instead.

This is a stable little boat that I would recommend for day trips, short camping trips, and fishing. It will not keep up with the longer touring boats, but that is not what it is designed for. I would recommend this boat to beginners and to anyone looking for a quality low-priced "knock around" boat.

Submit your own review!

07-29-2009
Submitted by: JeffSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     My son bought a Vapor 10 base model this spring and has used it many times. It is a roomy kayak for larger paddlers and handles very well. He is 5'9" and about 240lbs and loves the roomy cockpit. His brother is 5'11 and 280lbs and he also used it and liked it very much.

The only complaint we have is it is not good for class 2 or 3 whitewater due to the fact it swamps very easy thanks to the over-sized cockpit. It is very heavy when full of water. A spray skirt would make this problem go away.

Our overall feeling is that it is a great boat and very tough.It is used on class 2 and 3 rapids on a weekly basis and handles the abuse well.Buy this kayak with confidence you will enjoy it

Submit your own review!

07-13-2009
Submitted by: DubyaGSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought a Vapor 10 last month. It wasn't what I was looking for, but when it came down to it, the price was right. It was easy to just throw in the back of the truck and required very little room for storage. As it turned out, I think I made a good decision overall. I wanted it for fishing and light paddling on inland waters, so I outfitted it with rod holders, rigging, etc... which turned out to be pretty easy. It has plenty of storage room. I put a nice but small size cooler in the back well with bungies to hold it. I keep ropes in a small bag bungied on the bow, and there is room for a bag for the anchor and other accessories behind the seat. Up front, in the cockpit there is plenty of room for my tackle box and even a dry bag shoved up in the bow.

She tracks well for a 10 footer. I thought it was pretty fast for its size, until I found myself paddling with a couple of buddies on a 16 foot tandem that left me like it was a lear jet. Nevertheless, this is a great little yak. It is very stable for paddling or fishing and I have no qualms about putting it in deep water lakes, rivers or bayous. The seat is adjustable on the fly and even pretty comfortable. It's also a dry ride that I can put in the water in the fall and most winter days as well as in the summer. A couple of bassboats and johnboats passed by and it handled the wave action without leaving me feeling like I would turtle.

If I had to do it over again, I might buy a 12 footer for a little more speed, but otherwise have no complaints other than color choices. Rig it yourself to save a bundle.

Submit your own review!

06-25-2009
Submitted by: georgiapaddlerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Vapor is my first boat. I have rented larger boats, mostly sit on tops. The Vapor with it's large opening offers almost as much suntanning as a sit on top, but a much dryer ride. Price for the Vapor is great; can't believe you get this much boat for so little money!

I am 6 foot, 200 lbs and the Vapor works great with me in it on tidal rivers, lakes, and light surf. At ten feet it feels like a sports car, quick, responsive, but very stable too. The shallow draft means I can paddle against the shore in just a few inches of water and the light weight means just a paddle stroke or two is all that is needed to start, stop or turn.

Twin cup holders are great as well as the bow and stern handles. Makes it real easy to toss into a 6 foot truck bed for hauling.

Footpegs are easily adjustable in or out of the boat. The bottom is round so there is some leaning if you take your feet off the pegs and just relax. It is a kayak, not an easy chair after all. Nothing major, the boat is stable but I would not try to stand up in it!

The seat back is adjustable while you paddle. The seat base is ok. If you use your legs and torso to paddle, the movement on the seat helps keep things comfortable for at least 3 hours (longest paddle to date). If you sit there and arm paddle, the seat base gets pretty hard after half hour or so. A foam pad might do wonders. I did add a small square pillow to the seat back. My PFD stops halfway down my back, leaving no lumbar support. The pillow fills in the space under the PFD to my backside making things right again. I like the seat back is fully adjustable while you paddle

All in all I am very happy with the Vapor. I think I have gotten a great boat for a great price and I have been out on the water way more than I thought I would be. It is so easy and fun to put the Vapor in the water! Try this boat, it is a great recreational kayak.

Submit your own review!

06-04-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Recently bought two of these after comparing several different models. We had sold a Wilderness Systems Pamlico tandem that fit us and our two kids (2 & 5) but was too big and unwieldy for solo use or even for some of the family use. We have done some touring but decided to get a couple small recreational boats for use with the kids. We have used these boats on regional rivers (Lamoille river) with great enjoyment. It's small size made it easy to access the main river from a smaller tributary, as well as to haul it up and out of the river where there was (sort of) a good place to take out.

Memorial weekend saw use in the Westport River (MA) where it dumps into the ocean. Boats handled well - were lively and fun in the waves and boat wakes but we always felt stable. Cockpits are quite large, providing plenty of room for paddler, stuff, and child. There are even a couple of molded in pockets and a drink holder at the front of the cockpit for the kid, and one in front of the seat for the adult. The large size of the cockpit opening allows plenty of room for paddling motion without thumping the passenger....seat was relatively comfortable, much better with a simple $9.00 foam pad (like what hunters use). Same provides a fine seat for passenger.

The Vapor has a molded in paddled rest and a molded in open-topped, rear compartment. If you upgrade to, I think, the XT, you get a paddle tie down strap, a hatch for the rear compartment, and a better seat. For the money, we chose not to. You can buy these all separately, as well. you can also get a spray skirt for (at our retailer) about $80.

Our time spent in the boats in windy, wavy, tidal conditions was fun, and relatively dry. They are easy to load by your self on to a car, drag or carry to and from water and easy to maneuver in tight quarters. the capacity of over 300 lb means that the boat floats up and over waves with no trouble at all and can operate in mere inches of water. The short length means that the wind doesn't cause too much trouble (easy enough to correct with paddle stroke). Probably helps with tracking that the bow and stern have a pronounced keel.

Summary: Love the boats, perfect for our use and priced much better than the competition that we felt was inferior, for our use. Easy to maneuver, fun, stable but short length means 'top speed' is far from that of a longer, touring boat.

Tip: buy a drain plug (about $10) and install it for easy after paddling drying out. Get a couple of inexpensive foam cushions (@$10/each)for a passenger (and to supplement paddler's) seat.

Submit your own review!

05-27-2009
Submitted by: Tracy TippettSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I recently purchased a pair of the Old Town Vapor 10 Kayaks. I am 5'11" and 240 lbs and found the cockpit roomy and comfortable. The adjustable seat back and footpegs were easy to adjust and I soon found myself custom fitted and paddling our local canyon lake with ease.

The kayaks are quick and responsive even for novice handlers and they are extremely cost effective. I was able to purchase the pair for less than comparable singles. I suspect that the barebones approach in the Vapor might not appeal to those interested in extended touring, but it was a great lake boat which handled easily even in 20+ mile per hour winds that came up while we were out. By the time we finished a single day both our teenagers 15 & 14 were doing very well having never paddled before. My wife and I were equally at home even though our experience was in canoes and never in kayaks.
Thanks to Old Town for this great little beginner boat!!!!!

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale