Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Current Designs > Storm Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Storm Kayak by Current Designs


Rated: 8.43/10 Based On: 44 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



07-17-2014
Submitted by: TerrySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have rated this boat as a 9 because as we all know there really is no perfect boat. I have 2 17' boats, a rotomolded Current Designs Storm and a fiberglass Seaward Tyee.

The CD Storm in my opinion is one of the best plastic boats around. It is a bit on the heavy side but a pleasure to paddle. It is fast and effortless to paddle and makes a great overnight boat. It has a good payload capacity and is roomy for all your gear. Because it is rotomolded can take lot of abuse in rockier areas where a fiber glass boat might not be appropriate.

Submit your own review!

02-26-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Storm GT is a great rotomolded sea kayak. I primarily use it for fishing. This was my first sea kayak after using sit on top kayaks for two years. I found this to be a stable boat and it has a fair bit of speed to it. The rudder system works well and keeps me straight in wind or current.

The cockpit area is roomy and entry or exit are trivial. I am 5'9" 200 lbs. The hatches expose a lot of storage space that is contained by foam bulkheads. My kayak was used as a rental for several years and I had to seal one of the bulkheads with silicone.

Last week I tested the kayak in the Sol Duc River (class 3) Hatchery to Maxfield. It performed well navigating the boulder fields and shooting through the rapids. In the lake and salt water this boat performs well. The seat is comfortable but the material holding the padding is very weak in my model. I ended up duct taping the padding to the seat.

I'm considering buying the fiberglass model in the future (the Solstice model).

Submit your own review!

07-29-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought this kayak on the advice of a friend who used to sell kayaks. I am a larger paddler 230 pounds so I needed something that could carry my weight plus the weight of a week's worth of gear. This is the boat! It packs plenty of space for gear and fits me fine (maybe even a bit too big, but very easy to get in and out). This boat seems to wake up in choppy waters and really excels in open water, it is also at home on a long river trip.
    Pros:
  • Good amount of Cargo Space
  • Stable, tracks well and turns easily enough for a 17 footer if you know how to lean right.
  • Rudder allows you to track across currents or wind with relative ease.
    I prefer a rudder to a skeg because a skeg box takes up precious cargo space in the rear if you have one.

    Cons:

  • This is not a light boat, it is pretty heavy but that is to be expected with a rotomolded boat.
  • Does not turn on a dime (although what 17ft kayak does?)

I did notice the hull bowing in when I transported this boat on my saddles so I switched to a J rack type of roof carrier.

Over all I love this boat and will use it at least until I can afford a lighter fiberglass model. I love Current Designs boats though, and really enjoy touring in this boat. The seat keeps me comfortable for hours and I like the adjustable foot pegs with separate rudder controls at the toes.

I give it an 8 out of 10, would give it a 10 if it were 15 pounds lighter.

Submit your own review!

07-29-2013
Submitted by: KMSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've owned my Current Designs Storm for almost ten years now and love it for touring and general paddling. This is a kayak that truly comes into its own when fully loaded for travel. Beautiful lines, handles well on flat or bouncy water.
Downsides: the inner hatch covers can be a bear to seat properly and it weighs 63# which makes for a car-topping challenge!

Submit your own review!

07-24-2013
Submitted by: Kurt JohnsonSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Storm GT and I just got body slammed from behind by an unexpected 6' ocean swell out of Seward AK. Water was instantly sucked out from under, we hit bottom and the wave slammed us both hard info the sand & rocks. Only damage was the rudder shaped off at the base.

Next day we fought 30mph wind in standing 10-15' waves paddling absolutely full throttle only making inches of headway per stroke before breaking free of the point we were going around, paddled another 6 miles in sustained 10mph wind with gusts before riding a beach to crash on. Worst condition I have ever paddled in. Storm took all the abuse and handled exceptionally well considering the rudder was gone. Boat also took me from Cordova Alaska to Valdez, 317 miles with one 46 mile day.

Original fit was not great for me at 5'7", I moved the knee braces back to fit me, raised the seat 1", and added 1/2" foam to keep my calves off the bottom and under the foot pegs for padding and warmth against the Alaska waters I paddle.

Boat does sit low in the water when loaded, which means a few more waves come over the cockpit, but I will take that any day for the stability and handling the Storm provides in extreme conditions.

Submit your own review!

07-20-2013
Submitted by: Lon Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Have had a Storm for a decade. Wife (5'4", not thin) loves it. We bough this poly boat to hang on a scaffold at our beach which takes a beating from a 20-mile reach (distance over water) where wind builds and hits our property, destroys the scaffold, knocks the kayaks in the water where the chain holds them for hi tide/flood current/ 45 mph wind beatings. Kayaks fill with water and silt. Empty the Storm, 15 minutes of simple rudder adjustments and the Storm is ready to go. My wife has a Mariner Express for travel, a superb boat out of production. She comments a whole lot (and not gently) and never comments on the performance difference between the poly Storm and the glass Mariner.

Given durability against beach beatings and its performance, I rate it very well and am looking for a replacement for my 25-yr old Nimbus Puffin whose keel has finally worn thru. Given that this boat did exactly what we wanted, i.e survive without defect (other than some color loss) on the beach 12 months a year for a decade ad still performance-perfect, I thought a review was well-warranted.

Submit your own review!

06-17-2013
Submitted by: Mountain 1
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have been paddling my Storm for 12 years. I love this boat! It's had some tough use (seal launch down a granite slope, fell onto hard surfaces twice when I was learning to load it onto the car)and it just shrugged off the experiences. It's a delight to paddle. Yes, there's a lot of rocker but you get used to it -- I only use the rudder when the wind is 50 km/hr. or more. I have another boat (a fiberglass beauty) but the Storm remains my go-to kayak.
Submit your own review!

01-16-2013
Submitted by:
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought the rotomould Storm new 12 years ago. We have logged 100's of miles together, to include the Bay Of Fundy, the St. Lawrence River, swamps and creeks. It is so awesome to have a friend to trust with your life. It won't fail you, but the opportunity is ever present for you to fail the craft.

This is one tough beast and it wasn't designed to cater to sissies. If you want a kayak to paddle around in a puddle with and boast to your friends you were kayaking all weekend, this baby ain't for you. Looking forward to more battles this season...

Submit your own review!

08-19-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We just took a four day family river trip down the headwaters of the St. Croix River in WI. All five of us took turns paddling the two canoes and the two CD Storms. We found the seats comfy, the cockpits spacious and the kayaks to be fast even when loaded.

The rotomolded Storm GT's handled the many class I and II rapids with ease, but were somewhat difficult to turn due to the limited rocker. My only negative feedback is with respect to the adjustment of the foot pegs. As we changed back and forth between boats, we had to move them frequently and the adjustment mechanisms were often sticky and hard to move.
That said, we love these kayaks!

Submit your own review!

11-02-2010
Submitted by: ChrisSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I owned a Current Design's Storm for 4 years. If you are looking for a kayak that can take ALOT of abuse, this is a good choice. I am 5'10", 170lbs. and my knees were in the thigh hooks, which means this boat is for a bigger person if fit is an issue. Otherwise, I became accustomed to the fit for the duration of my owning this boat. The reason I sold her was that she is HEAVY, at 64lbs. and I found her to sit far too low in the water when loaded for expedition trips. When unloaded, she road the big waves beautifully, when trimmed slightly astern! The Storm is a VERY reliable, durable, all around usage kayak, but I gave her up to purchase a Current Design's Solstice GT in fiberglass, which holds 75lbs more weight, and is 10lbs. lighter than the Storm. Otherwise I would have kept the Storm, as she served me well for the purpose she was meant to!
Submit your own review!

05-20-2010
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I got a smokiní deal on a used 2001 pre-GT Storm a couple months ago. I have owned two other poly touring kayaks; an Aquaterra Chinook, Dagger Magellan and currently own a Prijon Kodiak.

I am 6'3" tall, weight 205 lbs, and have size 12 shoes. The Storm fits me like a glove, It's a large kayak, but doesnít feel or handle like a big boat. It's stable, but not a barge.

At first I thought that using a lever to raise and lower the rudder was a funky idea. Once I got it adjusted, it was great. My Dagger had the best hatches of any kayak I've owned, but the Storm's hatches are a close second. They are watertight and easy to use.

I ultimately came to the conclusion that I really only needed one 17 foot poly boat. I had to decide which one would sell. The Storm is a prettier boat, I like the hatches better and it has a tad more knee room. The Kodiak is made from a superior polyethylene, it has gas-pedal type foot braces. The seat and knee braces are adjustable and the seat is more comfortable. So I kept the Kodiak and sold the Storm. It was a tough decision. Both kayaks are great poly boats.

I would recommend the CD Storm to any skill level paddler.

Submit your own review!

03-26-2010
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     A good boat. Just picked up a 2006 Storm new for $900 and feel that I got a good deal. Spent a week on Florida lakes and rivers testing it out. At 6"1" and 225lbs. It fits me like a glove. Easy to enter and once in the thigh braces are positioned exactly where they need to be. The boat glides well and seems to maintain a 4-5 mph pace effortlessly. I spent 3 hours kayaking down the Salt River and never felt uncomfortable or like I needed to get out and stretch. Lower profile and glide lets me prefer this boat over the kevlar Solstice GT I just sold.
Submit your own review!

06-27-2009
Submitted by: Sam
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased a Storm GT a year ago and have been very pleased with it. I only recently was able to use it as it was intended, loaded with gear for a three day trip. I paddled with about 70 others and I believe I had the fastest boat on the water. It paddles good empty but with the extra weight I believe it paddled better. One of the other guys had a 17' Necky and we switched to compare...we both liked the Storm better. It was more stable and paddled easier. It has a rudder but I rarely use it. The higher the waves, the more fun it is to paddle. Very stable, even on a sharp lean.
I have a 13' Necky I love for knocking around and use almost daily, but if you want a boat that goes straight and will let you run with the big dogs on a long trip you can't beat the Storm GT.

Submit your own review!

06-23-2009
Submitted by: RJNSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've owned a Storm (polyethylene) for over 15 years. Never had a problem until I dropped off the truck top & broke the rudder. Could not find another in Canada, so I contacted the Current Design rep for Canada who went out of his way to build another for me after sending in pictures of the broken rudder. He sent new cables & rudder for what I thought was very reasonable price. I still own the Storm & just recently bought another for the wife. Thank you Current Design for the great backing on your equipment
Submit your own review!

07-28-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I rented the Storm today for the second time for a 6 hour river trip in Alberta, Canada. I'm so happy I did. Last weekend I rented a Necky Looksha 17 and I had nothing but problems with the pedals, and the rudder cords consistently got caught up in the pedal cables... very lame, very frustrating.

The Storm's components just seem sturdier, more reliable, and they work consistently! I'm seriously considering buying a Storm. The only thing I'd like to see added on this model is a day hatch. This is the 4th poly touring kayak I've rented, and as far as value and reliability, I've gotta' give it to the Storm.

Submit your own review!

05-28-2008
Submitted by: JMSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I got my Storm in 9/07 as a beginner. I'm 6' and 175. It was a very comfortable, stable and well gliding boat. I have had issues with it pulling to the left and have been unsure if it was my stroke or the current. It may well be my stroke because it does not always do it. After reading one of the reviews here, I will have it checked though. It is very durable. It is more at home cruising than playing in chop of 2' or more.
Submit your own review!

08-28-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     not sure why no one has posted since 2005...
The Storm has been completely redesigned and is a great boat if you are a big guy like me (6'2", 230lbs., high center of gravity)... I started paddling in a Perception Captiva... fell in love with paddling but progressed past this boat quickly...great stability because it is about the same size as an aircraft carrier... took some lessons locally and bought a Current Designs Sirocco... great boat, very nimble, very quick but I had a real problem with the initial stability...

After a year of really trying to adapt, I demo'ed the Storm and fell in love with it...I sold the Sirocco to a friend who is smaller and has a lower center of gravity... he loves the Sirocco, I love the Storm and we are both really happy

My wife (who loves her Valley Avocet), my friend, and I now paddle all over Narragansett Bay, including the areas exposed to the Atlantic...4 - 6 foot swells are commonplace and all 3 of us have no problems in our boats... it is fun to go out in the big waves and have the same confidence as the folks I paddle with.

I recommend this boat to any large person who wants a fast boat which is easy to put on edge (I never use the rudder) but gives the confidence in big seas to stay upright... the 3 of us are planning a week long paddle from Conanicut Island in Rhode Island to Orleans, Massachusetts on Cape Cod... should be outstanding. Happy paddling to everyone!

Submit your own review!

10-17-2005
Submitted by: bobSend Email
Rating: 3 of 10

     Purchased a (plastic) CD Storm in February 2005. Stability is excellent. Rigging is good. I can paddle all day without a sore bum. If it wasnít for one significant failing I would love it to death.

So why did I give it a 3 out of 10? Simple, it turned up with a bent stern, and as a consequence it permanently turns left. Every left hand stroke is a sweep, and I cannot do more than a mild power stroke on the right. It does full circles so its not prevailing conditions. Yes you can put the rudder in to counter the situation, and this makes it great for resistance training.

It is now October and I am still fighting to have it replaced with a straight boat, under the so called no-nonsense warranty! To date the dealer keeps getting new Storms in and they are all bent exactly the same way. The importer claims it occurs during transit. Clever the way transit managed to "damage" each new boat exactly the same way. The importer did admit that it was a problem with the mold in August, but they have since changed the story to the transit one.

At the end of the day I suggest you stay away from them till they get their act together.

Going bananas!

Submit your own review!

08-30-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought a used 2002 Storm this summer and have now had it out quite a few trips(appx 20) on both rivers and large lakes. This craft is quick, stable and has lots of room for both cargo and paddler. It does seem to want to turn into the wind, but it handles big waves with ease. I have had no problems with my legs falling asleep, or my bum getting sore from the seat. Some of the features I like about it are the wrap around rigging, large hatches, reflective tape, cargo storage, leg room, and handling. My gripes are small, but include: the neoprene hatch covers that go under the plastic covers do take some time to put on, the guy I bought it from said the plastic reflective tape started peeling off on his first trip(and its still going), and its tendency to turn into the wind unless you use the rudder. This is my first kayak, and I'm very pleased with it thus far.
Submit your own review!

08-22-2003
Submitted by: TimSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This review is based on a 1 day paddle when I rented a Storm. I was very surprised by the maneuverability of the Storm and its secondary stability. You can really turn this 17' boat if you want to. I paddled it through some tight turns in a creek with no problems. The Storm was easy to get in and out of. It had plenty of room for my pathetic 240 pounds. The primary and secondary stability are excellent. It is maneuverable yet tracks extremely well. The seat was fairly comfortable. Even though the Storm is 64 lbs I found it easy to load and carry with one hand. The quality of everything seemed very good. The speed of the boat seemed pretty good too.

I only have a few gripes: I'm short legged so the thigh supports were on top of my knees. This is a boat for big fellers. I'm not crazy about the hatch gaskets. They are a pain to get back on. That's it!!! Overall I was very impressed with the boat. I can't imagine there being a better 17' plastic boat.

Submit your own review!

07-29-2003
Submitted by: CARGSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is my first boat after having tried several others. I have had it for a little over a year now and have loved it. It has paddled quite well island hopping on the Maine coast and I have had little to no trouble manouvering it about while rock gardening. It laughs at barnacles! It does tend to weather cock in the wind, but a strong lean usually will set you straight. It also surfs quite well. Currently my only beef with it is that my bulkheads are leaking. I have tried various caulking measures to reduce the problem, but have not been as successful as I would like. Since I usually only take it for day trips, this has not become too much of a problem, but after a day of surfing a hatch full of water gets a little annoying. Regardless: I highly recommend it as a "starter boat." It paddles well and is durable .
Submit your own review!

04-29-2003
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     This will be my third year with my Storm and while I was at first pleased with it, I have become less so over time. The first issue is the seat. It's shape and tilted angle is horid. Because of the deep dished shape combined with a very pointed seat front, my legs fall asleep within 15 minutes of getting in. The only way to revive my legs is to take them out from under the thigh braces and pull my heels up to the seat making the boat unstable. Second issue with the seat is the brittleness of the plastic. I broke the seat back when learning to roll and have since replaced it with a back band. My last issue is the boat's performance in wind and rough seas. The Storm weather cocks termendously. Following seas and rolling waves cause this boat to broach. Getting this boat back on track and holding your bearing without seriously leaning (or using the ruddler) takes an act of shear will. The boat is sluggish and slow to react. On the good side this boat will take a great amout of abuse. I have experienced no oil-canning. I feel that the Storm is a good boat to learn on or act as part of a rental fleet, but if you are serious about paddling, look elsewhere. I am.
Submit your own review!

03-26-2003
Submitted by: SCW
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought my Storm when I moved to Tampa and it has been a great boat for back water and open ocean. I am a larger paddler and I have found this boat offers plenty of space for me and my gear. My main complaint about other boats is the lack of leg room, but the Storm has plenty. I highly reccomend this boat.
Submit your own review!

08-26-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased a new plastic Storm w/rudder at the start of summer and have been out every week since. After checking out various manufacturers, this kayak was the best choice for the money. I'm 6'4" & 235#. The boat handles easily and is very comfortable. Its stability both inital and secondary gives you immediate confidence. The leg room and seat fit great. Paddling is responsive and the Storm gets to speed immediately and crusies very well. As an intermediate paddler, the storm handles fine without the rudder. The rudder does make windy conditions alot easier. At 17' long it requires some effort to car top. I have used it on large lakes and several 3/4 day trips. It has good storage and I've had no problems with leaks and everything has stayed dry. The Storm really handles rough water compared with other kayaks that paddle with me. Current Design built me a kayak that is a solid performer and great fun. I would highly recommend the Storm for larger paddlers. The smile after a day's paddle says it all.
Submit your own review!

07-16-2002
Submitted by: StevenSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I?m planning to by another sea kayak to replace my aging Aquaterra Scimitar; the Storm is high on my list. I live in Texas where heat is a major concern; right now I?m in the process of checking out the durability of my ?potential? new kayaks. I e-mailed Wenonah (Current Designs US distributor) and to gather some information on the rigidity of their hull, they responded very quickly and with good answers. Here?s their response (verbatim): Our most recent poly kayaks have the ABS plastic bulkheads. We switched from the foam last July or August. As for the plastic, all the kayaks are made of the same. However, we did switch to a more dense plastic in April 1999. All plastics become somewhat soft after being exposed to the sun, however we have placed additional reinforcement in the keel line. This is the area which is affected the most, and makes the greatest difference in paddling.

Sounds like they have made some excellent improvements.

Submit your own review!

06-11-2002
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I purchased a roto-molded Storm with rudder about three weeks back. I am 5'10" and 185# and felt very comfortable in this boat right from the start. There seems to be plenty of room and the seat is decent.I have paddled mostly in a large river (choppy) and one of the great lakes. This boat seems to handle well but I was a little disappointed with the tracking without rudder. With the rudder, I was able to cruise easily and was comfortable for several hours at a time. I noticed after only my second time out that there was water in the rear bulkhead, something which I am sure I can fix when I have time. Overall I am satisfied with my purchase and would recommend to an intermediate paddler like myself.
Submit your own review!

02-18-2002
Submitted by: Andrew D.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Have a Polypropylene 2000 Breeze and a Polypropylene 2001 Storm, racked-up many km in each. The Storm is much smoother in almost any water. Have not witnessed any "oil-canning" in the Storm that others have spoke of and I am a big fellow, (194lbs).

Only two beefs with the Storm, both easily repairable in minutes; the rudder lever needed a little adjustment right out of the wrapper; done in less than 2 minutes. The other was a bit more of a P/O as I was in high-water, mid-January when it occurred. If you buy a Storm, check the crimps that hold the foot pedal cabling - mine popped out quite easily, unfortunately, the very first day out in the water.

I have now re-crimped the cable with a larger crimp and even dropped a bit of crazy-glue into the crimp before clamping it. Otherwise, the Storm is the best under-$2000.00 boat that I have tried so far, (at least 20 other sub 2-Grand boats).

The Storm's rudder is easily moved up and down, its storage is sufficient for at least a week of touring, (lots of top-straps as well as two storage ports with a total of 152 litres of storage), and the seat, while not perfect, is better than most in this $ class, ($1400 Ė $1800.00).

Submit your own review!

10-16-2001
Submitted by: Val
Rating: 8 of 10

     I'm a big guy, 6'4" 260+ lb., and the Storm is one of the few boats I am comfortable in. Got one used (ex-rental) a year ago. Reasonably maneuverable, good tracking. I haven't used the rudder for months. Handles rough water very well. Hatches seal well (even though the neoprene covers are worn & cracked). Easily carries camping gear for overnight, although it's best to be careful of fore-aft trim. Note that when fully loaded, I only have about 5" of freeboard from the waterline to the coaming rim. Sits low in the water like an Eskimo boat. Rolls smoothly, especially when loaded.

One downside is the lack of reinforcement to the rockered bottom under the cockpit. Mine has a nasty oil-can dent that I've tried to remove but it keeps coming back. This problem may be reduced change in materials/design on the newer models. The dent doesn't have too much adverse effect on the handling. Definitely a decent boat for big guys on day trips or overnighters. Not really enough capacity for long expeditions & heavy paddler.

Submit your own review!

10-02-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have owned my plastic Storm for two months now, and I love it. I demo'd five other boats before buying the Storm, and the main reason for buying it was the instant feeling of security I got as soon as I started to paddle it. I have had it out in 20 knot winds and 2-3 foot chop and it handles well. When it started to surf swells it took me a few seconds to realize what was happening. The durability of the plastic boat is another big plus for me. I drag it up on beaches and hit submerged stuff in the water and it is holding up fine. Finish and craftsmanship is excellent. When I brought it home from the dealer, I noticed a slight oilcanning on the bottom of the hull. I put the hairdryer to it and it came right back to normal. No problems since. After the maiden voyage my wife caught me beaming and asked how the new kayak was. I said that I would take this boat anywhere. And I will.
Submit your own review!

08-30-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     My rating thus far is only a 9 because I don't think that any boat is perfect which is what a 10 would be. I just bought mine at Go With The Flow in Roswell, GA. and took it out on Lake Lanier. I didn't realize that this was the weekend of the Poker Run which means lots of big boats and big wake. I was amazed at the stability in 3 foot waves coming from the beam. Also, it tracks like an arrow with very little weathercocking in moderate winds. I love this boat.
Submit your own review!

07-16-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is a nicely outfitted sea kayak in plastic, with adequate deck rigging and hatches fore and aft that have remained dry in the several outings I've taken so far. A lever controls the rudder, which is a nice feature. However, it's a little awkward to get at, and I'd like to see it brought forward a bit for easier access. The Storm handles well overall and turns more easily than my 15 foot Wilderness Systems Cape Horn. It does have a tendency to weathercock on open water in a stiff wind, but-in all fairness-I have not had the boat loaded with gear in the time I've owned it, which could affect performance. On the other hand, the high deck gives a dry ride in rougher seas. (By comparison, a Dagger Atlantis I demoed on the same day in stiff wind left me soaking wet.) The cockpit is roomy, making it a good choice for larger paddlers and allows easy entry and exit. I removed the thigh braces from mine; at 5'7", they did not feel comfortable for me. After reading numerous reviews about the boat's tendency to oil can, I was a bit skeptical about buying a Storm. I contacted Current Designs and told them of my concerns about their plastic oil canning and scratching easily. They assured me that changes had been made (I believe in 2000) to stiffen the hull and make the plastic more durable. So far, the boat has scratched only lightly, and has not shown signs of oil canning, even when strapped on the vehicle for extended periods.
Submit your own review!

06-18-2001
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I looked at many types of boats at the paddlefest. Because I am 6'3" tall, many of the boats I tried did not fit. It came down to 4 boats. But of all the boats, the Storm seemed to be the quickest and most maneuverable. I got a good deal on the 2000 model. Due to the reviews here I knew of the problems with the plastic.
My wife tried it and wants one too. The lever to put down the rudder is a really nice feature, Although the rudder does not deploy all the way down. Just 90 percent of the way. I have not had any oil canning problems yet, but can see how it would happen. I do have a few deep scratches. I expect to hit it with a torch to clean them up at the end of the year.
All in all I love the boat and accept the problems.

Submit your own review!

11-20-2000
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've owned my Storm for one year. It is great to paddle. As an inexperienced kayaker but it has carried me through some big wave and lots of wind on the Georgian Bay of Ontario. My sons faired equally as well in the wind and waves. I've been very careful to only rest the kayak with support under the bulkheads so as to prevent oil canning of the hull. I was disappointed to find a rather large dent in the bottom after inadvertently leaving it on a portage cart for one week. The dent came out easily enough by heat from a hair dryer. I'd buy another for friends to use but wish I had spent another $1000 to get a Solstice for me.
Submit your own review!

10-04-2000
Submitted by: FredSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great boat paddling into the wind. High bow skims right through the waves for dry ride. Large hatches for storage. Paddles nicely, except when hit by waves from behind. Plastic hull seems to scratch and dent quite easily though.
Submit your own review!

07-10-2000
Submitted by: Michael HeikkaSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     The best plastic 17' boat design for larger paddlers, but too bad they use cheap materials to build it. After renting one weekly for about two years (year 'round paddling and one Baja trip), I passed because of the oil canning and seat breakage. Performance-wise, it is fast, stable, comfortable, and holds a ton of gear. It feels heavy off the water, but stable on. It has great primary and secondary. Its stability instills great confidence, even in serious conditions. As much as I like the Storm, it oil-cans so badly (imagine a 3" deep 16" diameter pizza sized depression right below the cockpit) that I couldn't buy a new one. The seat is made of cheap brittle hard plastic, and the seatback will crack and break if you use the boat to learn eskimo rolling (or step on it to exit at a high dock). The rental I used went through 2 seatbacks and one seat bottom in the last 18 months alone. I contemplated buying one and adding a back-band, but that still would not address the seat bottom or oilcanning issues (which occurs on many Storms - I've looked at five, and all have had these problems). If you can overlook oil canning and seat breakage, it really is one of the best performing plastic 17's on the water. I didn't want to spend $1400 on a new boat that I knew would need periodic seats and hull "debubbling", even if it is great fun on the water.
Submit your own review!

06-25-2000
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Oh yes this is my first boat and I fell in love. My first few paddles I did have some trouble with tracking but like i said first boat jitters. my long trip up to moosehead lake was a treat. even with my bad packing skills I was able to have room to spare. This is a big boat. I kept everything in dry bags but I didn't need to everything kept dry not so for my friend with a wilderness systems cape horn. She seemed to track great in the rough stuff the wind gave us although I did get pushed around once or twice. I have noticed some oil canning but it poped right out when left in the sun.. Also it seemed to scratch really easy. But it's forgive able I love this boat.
Submit your own review!

03-23-2000
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just love this boat in the open water. Most of the boating done was in the North Channel in Ontario off Lake Huron. Ten miles wide and 90 miles long-so the winds can really blow- always felt comfortable in these boats. They have a beautiful look with the high bow, great quality rudder system thats easier to lift and drop compared to some others. The first sea kayak I tried, I thought other makes and models would be just as good but haven't found one yet- My girlfriend is quite small and she handles it like a dream, likes it even more than I do--great boat-fast, stable, tracks well and with the rudder turns pretty quick-love it.
Submit your own review!

08-30-1999
Submitted by: CarlSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Plastic boat in horrible, but highly visible shade of, I think they said, strawberry. Used for two years off the cost of Maine, on rivers and lakes in New Hampshire and in the Adirondacks. It will carry anything! Bring your luxury tent, gourmet meals, most comfortable clothes. I even take a wheel set with mewhen I know there will be carrying. It has dumped me out morethan once, but is very friendly about letting me back in. Really stable, great for "bashing" waves with the wind in your face, good platform for hauling your friend out of the drink when the other boat goes over.
Submit your own review!

08-23-1999
Submitted by: STHSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     Nice enough ride but I had a huge problem with oil canning. Took me a week with a car jack to remove bottom dent caused by dealer strapping kayak to my car top. Also does not float as high as Old Town Heron, which causes it to hit bottom in very shallow water, while the Heron, with same load, floats merrily along. Current Design needs to stiffen the bottom.
Submit your own review!

08-23-1999
Submitted by: JonathanSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've only had my storm for a couple of months and so far I am very pleased. The boat is surprisingly quick and handles quite well. On moderate to light seas it is a dream, as the initial stability makes it quite comfortable, yet tracks quite well. On heavier seas it can be great, too, except when following seas are hitting you from the quaters. It handles anything from the front quarter beautifully, even near-shore, lightly breaking waves, and can hold up to some pretty strong beam seas. Getting quartered from the rear can be very frustrating. It seems that if you find the right angle for the waves you can get a good push out of them, but if the waves aren't very regular or you can't find just the right angle, she'll fight to come abeam more than is fun. It feels quite stiff for plastic, and may very well be the best thing short of fiberglass. Since I take it through locks a couple of times a month, it's nice not to feel the "ouch" of scratching a nice glass boat. If you're looking a good boat to get good in I highly reccommend it. Beginners won't be shy while "taking off the training wheels" as the rudder is so easy to pop in and out, and there is plenty of control to the shape without the "twitchiness" of some sharper keels. It's an excellent boat for beginners and a good boat for intermediates.
Submit your own review!

08-14-1999
Submitted by: TrinaSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We have one of these in our "family fleet" and its my favorite. It can carry a considerable amount of camping gear, and is a good compromise between stability and performance. Handles waves well, jumps the tops when hit fron-on, for a nice dry, fun ride. My 50 year old mother can paddle all day quite comfortably in it. My only complaint is the horrible shade of hot pink.
Submit your own review!

08-09-1999
Submitted by: JL
Rating: 6 of 10

     The Storm has a lot going for it, high volume, stablity, and decent speed. One common problem to be aware of is "oil canning" slight denting in the hull, a stiffer hull or support would make this a much improved performer.
Submit your own review!

07-25-1999
Submitted by: MSSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is the best plastic boat available. It is extremely stiff, tracks well and handles quite well for a 17 foot boat. If you need a high volume, performance sea kayak the storm is one heck of a bargain.
Submit your own review!

03-08-1999
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is one tough kayak. It has made 5 trips into the BWCA, on the Rum and Mississippi, all rocky and tricky. Hauls a ton. Longest trip was a circumnavigation of my favorite BWCA lake, 65 miles, some in bad weather. Planning the next one and the Storm will be featured. Highly recommend this boat if you want strength and reliabily. Paddles like a dream all day long and will glide for ever when needed like in birding. One great kayak!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale