Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Future Beach > Angler 160 DLX Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Angler 160 DLX Kayak by Future Beach


Rated: 9.5/10 Based On: 18 Reviews


Angler 160 DLX Kayak by Future Beach

Length: 13' 4" - Width: 30.00" - Starting at: $849.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Future Beach Logo



07-05-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I recently purchased the Future Beach Angler160. This is a really nice kayak for both fishing or simply cruising around. It is extremely stable, and affords a lot of space to move around, as well as store all your gear. The seat is not the best, so I purchased an Ocean Kayak high-backed seat on-line for 39 bucks that installed easily and is extremely comfortable. The kayak was purchased from Ocean City, on sale for $359 (list from manufacturer is $800)
Great boat for a great price!

Submit your own review!

07-03-2014
Submitted by: Rachel SmithSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I LOVE THIS KAYAK! This is a very functional, comfortable, and well built sot kayak with lots of storage. I must also say that it's extremely stable. Believe me I know from experience! I was out fishing for only my second time on this kayak when a huge cotton mouth snake was bee lining across the water straight towards me! I have to admit I panicked when I saw it approaching me and at no time during the extremely scary (afterwards embarrassing) event while I was flailing around and screaming as i was trying to get the heck out of dodge, did I ever have to focus on keeping myself stable from flipping it! I also took my pooch down the Caney Fork River for his first float on my first trip with the Future Beach 160 and he sat up front and rode like he had been floating for years! He too obviously felt stable and secure. Thank you Future Beach! Nice looking quality kayak at an affordable price to beat!
Submit your own review!

07-01-2014
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Great Yak tried a bunch of others last fall. Saw this in Ocean State Job Lots and decided that for the price they had in March to go for it ($299) on sale. its been great boat tracks very well even in a hard wind. Waves are not a problem and super stable. My knees are shot and standing up is a no go for me besides with big feet and molded foot braces not going to be at all comfortable doing that. storage is great will hold rods inside hull extra tackle and whatever else you want. Actually you can take more gear than you can ever use also with some imagination you can deck it out with upgrades galore. spent like 300 bucks extra but for the price I am way ahead. My fishing bud also bought one. and we decided that a trailer was in order so found an old trailer and now set up and take down is a breeze. really can't say enough other than flat deck for legs would be better
Submit your own review!

03-24-2014
Submitted by: praymondSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my second Angler. The first cost me $749 for an Angler 144. A year later I see an Angler 160 for $399 at Job Lot. Not wanting to add insult to injury, I waited until Job Lot gives out the annual 40% discount for Seniors over 62. In the Spring. I paid $240 and no taxes.. (RI). Keep an Eye out for the annual discount.

I have been in Narragansett Bay, (RI). with 3 ft swells. IT is very stable. I have stood on it (I weigh 235). I see friends at the fishing clubs spending $1300 for an Ocean Kayak or Hobie. The only negative with Future Beach is their lack of options... seats, lighting, trolling motors. I plan on utilizing the rod holders for a trolling motor. The motor support will allow for additional rod holders, lighting, seat support and counter weight measures. So I spend $200 bucks, I still win.. PS. when you're out a mile off shore or that's where the fish drags you to, trolling motor can save your life.

Submit your own review!

07-22-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Future Beach Angler 160 DLX is one of the best sit on top fishing kayaks on the market. Weighing in at 75lbs, it's a bit on the heavy side, but is extremely stable and agile in the water. Many user friendly attributes including two dry hatches, two fishing pole mounts and convenient beverage holder. I've used mine to do river safety/rescues as well as river sweeps (clean-up). Very roomy & comfortable. I'm 5'10"/220lbs and my 75lb dog often rides along with!
Submit your own review!

05-07-2013
Submitted by: TODDSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I got this kayak from Ocean State Job Lot for 400.00. It was well worth the money, very stable. I love it. Only complaint - it would be better if there was a larger flat surface to put your feet for standing.
Submit your own review!

08-31-2012
Submitted by: Mike
Rating: 10 of 10

     Recently purchased the Angler 160 from Ocean State Job Lot for $360. I was reluctant as other web sites don't have much to say about the Future Beach. I have taken it out three times so far. Both fresh water and salt. The kayak handles very nice moves through the water smooth and seems very stable. From what I read, The front hatch was a bowl and the rod holders were not sealed at the bottom. Future Beach must have listened to these complaints because the Angler I bought had rod holders which were sealed and the "bowl hatch" actually had access to the entire inside.

I do highly recommend this kayak. For the money you just can't beat it. Quality seems very good.

Submit your own review!

05-25-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've owned my Angler 160 over two years. When I bought this kayak I wanted a good all around stable kayak.. I use it for fishing on Lake Michigan as well as touring down many of the rivers in my area.. You might not want it for smaller winding streams and it's not the lightest kayak to portage .. but than is not what it's meant for.. I'm very happy with this yak for most of my kayaking needs.
Submit your own review!

05-23-2012
Submitted by: MainemanSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased my Future Beach Angler 160 DXL last year for $400.00 and had it in the water maybe six times before cold weather set in and drove me inside for the winter.

The Angler 160 is a great fishing platform, real stable, I clock in around 230-35 lbs depending on whether it's before dinner or after and I have no problem at all standing in this yak and tossing a fly or spinner.

It's not real fast but I didn't buy it for racing, just fishing. It's heavy for a Yak, 74 lbs, that's the only real drawback about it overall. I own a truck so I don't have to fight to get it loaded, unloaded but I would not want to car top this Yak, could be a real pain in the back, etc.

Submit your own review!

03-22-2012
Submitted by: halfskiSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     After reading the other reviews, I guess I missed the 50% off sale. Darn! I purchased this kayak for $600, and it was money well spent. The boat is extremely stable (you can stand on it with no problem). While it might not be the fastest kayak out there, it is not slow by any means. With all its features, I do not know if there is a better fishing kayak on the market for its price.
Submit your own review!

09-19-2011
Submitted by: MACSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I can't say enough of how much I like this kayak. I just started kayak fishing and this kayak didn't break the bank... I got it while it was on sale for $349.99 (Dick's Sporting Goods)!!! It's really the exact copy of an OK Prowler and a Redfish 14, which are both over the $800 price range!

It's made for a large angler (xxxl) and has the weight capacity of over 400lbs. Two flush rod holder, up-front scotty rod holder, seat, two 6" dry storage and bungee straps on the side... it's ready to be on the water.

Submit your own review!

07-06-2011
Submitted by: Bill GardianSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Love this kayak! tried it in different conditions and I have to say it is stable, safe and easy to maneuver! Heavy to put on a roof top, but worth the extra weight for safety and efficiency needed to fish great! Good purchase! Got mine from in Quebec from a new kayak joint in Knowlton, Quebec something like kayaksknowlton.ca Anyway, was able to try different models and that really help as I am glad I took this Angler160 even my wife loves it! and that is something else!!!
Submit your own review!

05-27-2010
Submitted by: KESend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought this kayak for stability and it has not let me down. It rides the waves great but it is difficult to track under certain conditions. It tends to follow the waves which ever direction they are coming from so you do have to give extra effort to keep it in the direction you are traveling. I also bought it for upper body exercise and it does give plenty of that on a windy day. I would buy this boat again.
Submit your own review!

08-14-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is a really great boat for the money. It's a solid & stable boat. A great fishing boat. The materials even allowed for some customization that I wanted to make. While it's true you won't win many races, I believe it moves along just fine. There is no everything boat, so if you give up a little speed and gain all the utility this boat offers who cares if you don't cross the finish line first. I'm comfortable enjoying my day on the water.

Someone coined the term "SUV of boats" in a review when I first started looking, I think that term applies here. This boat offers a huge capacity (I can take my 6 year old daughter or large dog along comfortably), comfortable seat, & stable ride. Pretty much meets the SUV criteria.

There are a few basic improvements to make the boat truly awesome. One add a larger back storage hatch in place of the 8" one(I plan on doing that this winter), two open up the bow hatch instead of the shallow trey under the front hatch(I have already cut this open myself, it allows you to store larger items in the bow). Lastly eliminate the molded foot braces and use foot pegs. It would make standing up a bit easier. There is space to mount them, as the mold shape has enough space to do so. I think that may be a winter project too. So I end the way I began, Great boat for the money!

Submit your own review!

07-24-2009
Submitted by: Todd DionSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've had my Future Beach Angler 160 for a month now and I absolutely love it. I paid $450 at Dick's Sporting Goods, and I promise you FOR THAT PRICE you can not find a comparable kayak with the features this one has.

I am 5'10" and 230lbs and this kayak handles me and all my gear without a problem. It tracks true, and I seem to be able to generate some good speed, even though the boat is large and wide. I've paddled out of the mouth of a river into large ocean surf and had no problems. My favorite feature is the stability. I have no trouble turning and kneeling on the seat to reach gear in the rear well, or kneeling in the cockpit to get items in the front hatch. I have landed a 27# striped bass and the boat felt solid as a rock. The smaller hatches, once I sealed them with silicone, are fairly watertight, even when taking waves over the cockpit. The rear well is great for holding a milk crate and or a 5 gallon bucket.

This boat is definitely for a larger paddler. The ONLY reason I would not give it a ten is due to the difficulty transporting it. I would consider myself very strong, and I struggle to get this boat on the roof of my truck alone, but I don't mind a little extra effort since I get the stability I need.

Overall, this is a fantastic fishing platform, and you won't find a better value, trust me I tried.

Submit your own review!

07-24-2009
Submitted by: HeavyGSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought the Angler 160 and took it out for the first time today. I absolutely love it. Lots of storage and very stable. I'm 6' and weigh 303 lbs. and I could do back flips off this thing and it wouldn't turn over. I added a scotty fly rod holder and put an anchor system on it.

I love this kayak and found it on sale at a good price, $399.99. It paddles easy and tracks well. It is a little heavy for one person to handle but you forget all about it after you get it on the water. If your looking for a fishing kayak, this is a good one. I have an Old Town Vapor 10 that is rigged up for fishing and it is a nice kayak but I found that I like the sit on top better, easier to get on and off. Great kayak.

Submit your own review!

05-29-2009
Submitted by: RPBSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Got mine over a year ago. Love it.
It's like they took the Prowler 13 Deck, and put the stability of a Redfish 14 hull on it. I got the sand color.... love it.

Submit your own review!

09-09-2008
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this kayak after doing a lot of research for a fishing kayak. This met all my needs and then some. It has plenty of storage with an elliptical hatch in the bow, a 6" hatch just in front of seat and another just behind the seat. It also has room for a large cooler in the stern or for a 5 gallon bait pail(recess molded in, also has 2 flush mount rodholders. This is an extremely stable kayak. Has a dihedral hull design that keeps it stable and tracks exceptionally well.

It may be a little on the heavy side, although I checked against others and at 57# it really isn't all that bad for a SOT. I would say that my only complaint would be against the graduated footwells. I would much rather have preferred adjustable braces.

Over all, for the price this was very hard to pass up on. I got it in the $550 range and that was shipping included. It also cam with a paddle, scupper plugs, and a padded seat. That is a great value. If you consider this kayak for purchase, there is also the freedom model that is the same boat... only the price is $50 more. I guess that is for more color options. The angler comes in Sand or Olive Green.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














2-6 Day Kayaking Trips
San Juan Islands
Camping & Inns
www.crystalseas.com/KayakCamp

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.