Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > Coleman > RAM-X 17 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for RAM-X 17 Canoe by Coleman


Rated: 8.57/10 Based On: 54 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



10-12-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I purchased the Coleman Odyssey 17(actually 17'3") in 2002 at a clearance from a Camp Coleman outlet for $399. Its Ram XX hull has stood up to all the abuse my son and his friends could dish out. The hull is subject to "oil-canning", which adversely affects its speed. However, it has high initial and final stability,and its relatively low price, make it ideal as a young family's entry level canoe, or for fishing.
Submit your own review!

07-03-2014
Submitted by: J. ArnoldSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This was my families first canoe and we love it. it's great for flat water and slower moving rivers. My family loves the room; we can carry all kinds of gear and the children have lots of room to move around in amuse themselves. It's not the fastest handling canoe nor is it to the lightest but it is a good stable rec canoe.
Submit your own review!

05-11-2014
Submitted by: Steve SSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've had my green 17' Ram-X canoe since 1978. It weighs 80lbs. It's been on countless rivers and camping trips. It's done lakes and small Class 3s. It did a class 4 once, but not successfully. I think we could have done it though with a little different technique. My wife and I took the 3 boys down several rivers when they were smaller. It's very stable.

The reason I bought it was based on price. It was what I could afford. But after using it for years and 'competing' with the aluminum canoes, I've learned that the only people that 'smack' the Coleman are those that don't own one. That's not to say it as fast and maneuverable as more expensive canoes, because it's not. But it is way quieter than the aluminum canoes and just as tough. It gleans over rocks quietly and will not bottom out on the rocks like the aluminum canoes will.

Whatever Ram-X is made of, it's durable. I store mine inside so it still is not faded. The keel is straight and the skin is still flat.

I'd rate this boat a 9 based on all we've put it through. It's heavy, but a great buy for anyone who can't pay the price of the lighter brands.

Submit your own review!

12-30-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought the Ram-X Scanoe 1977 and used a 5HP motor on it for years, now only paddle power as cracks developed along the gunnels. My wife and I use for fishing and prefer it for the mobility, comfort, and stability. It also has been used to duck hunt with good results.
Submit your own review!

12-27-2013
Submitted by: DavidSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my 17ft Coleman somewhere in the neighborhood of 30 years ago. It has bounced down every creek around and done endless laps around the local lakes and strip pits. It still has the original seats. My 18 year old son now has discovered bass fishing and the Coleman is hauling him around. Not long ago I was taking bream off his hook...
This was the best money I've ever spent and it's still going strong.

Submit your own review!

08-12-2013
Submitted by: Wayne DufourSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have a Ram X 17 for 3 years now I love it it's sturdy I use a 30 lb thrust trolling motor I have no problems using a trolling motor. I can stand and paddle with no problems and cast my fishing pole with no problems. It has lots of room I have 3 totes of camping gear and 2coolers. I have hit some white water and big rocks on shallow rivers it's one tuff canoe. I don't go camping without it!!!
Submit your own review!

06-22-2013
Submitted by: RichSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Just bought my used Coleman RAMX17. Purchased for $225. Interior is in excellent condition. The exterior is faded from red to a very light, almost milky looking red. Would imagine the plastic doesn't have good UV stabilizers in it, but I don't think it weakens the material. My wife and I can carry it but its not exactly light...but very manageable. I would consider it stable as long as it is in the water, put the front keel on shore and it will tip right over with little effort. I have not canoed for quite some time, but it feels relatively fast for its size and weight. Does not turn on a dime, but would imagine not many 17' canoes do with a flat bottom...I prefer the stability, at least for my style of canoeing which will be recreational and fishing. I am going to fabricate an aluminum leaning tower and sponson outriggers and mount an electric trolling motor on it with an anchor pole for easier fishing this summer. I like the indestructible feel of the canoe.
Submit your own review!

06-04-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     Coleman Canoes are incredibly slow, heavy, tanks. However, they are tough and relatively maintenance free, and high initial stability. If you plan on paddling any distance, look elsewhere. If you just want a canoe to fish from or play around in and leave at a camp, they are perfect for that.
Submit your own review!

11-15-2010
Submitted by: Manuel MarquesSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a used RAM-X 17 last summer, my very first canoe (well, I also have an inflatable Sevylor kayak, but I doubt if that counts!). Did a good deal - 250 euros for the canoe, plus 3 paddles and 3 life jackets. From the HIN I deduced it must be at least 17 years old.

I wished I had more time to go in the water with it, however I was able to do some nice river exploration with it. Didn't try whitewater, though - however, the previous owner (a recreational club) did a lot of mountain river descents, and the bottom of the canoe is all scraped up - of course, given that this is RAM-X, I'm not worried with the dents, which are at most 1 mm deep. They used the canoes (there were 4 for sale, now I believe they still have 2 left!) extensively, and that is noticeable - both buoyancy compartment covers are missing (I'll probably stick some wood panels there, once I get the measurements right), seats are a little cracked, but nothing serious!

With me and my younger brother paddling, it moved fairly fast, and when stopped one notices it is extremely stable.

I still plan on doing larger outings with the canoe (especially some which involve camping, given the large cargo compartment it has...), but first I need to get some proper vehicle mounts! :)

Works as expected, and it is doable for two men to carry for *short* distances - portaging it for more than 500 m is out of the question!

Submit your own review!

11-02-2010
Submitted by: BobSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have a RAM-X 17 on a Trailex SUT-200-S. Just like surf boards and guns, one is no better than the other but just for a different application. This one is perfect for my use. I lake fish with a trolling motor. I boat in camp on a large lake with an '89 1.75hp gamefisher to hunt hogs. I duck hunt in a large saltwater bay (network of ponds and rivers). I love how I don't have to worry about the boat on a trip, I just worry about the motors and passengers. If it's your first canoe and your not car topping it (as in other posts, the frame is above the gunwhale and this makes for scratchy paint. Use foam pipe insulation if your gonna do it.)buy this canoe first at a yard sale cause you can always upgrade and sell the Coleman at your yard sale for the same price.
I used to think I would upgrade to a really cool canoe but after reading the moose-hunter post, I don't wanna smash up a nice one.

Submit your own review!

06-22-2009
Submitted by: darkharlezucreekSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I recently bought my 17 1/7 ft Ram X Pelican (aka Coleman) and I love it. I got it used for $200 from a little old man who used it twice, to fish on his farm pond. It's stable, sturdy and indestructible. It is heavy for two women to get onto the car but do-able. There was a bit of water inside the hull when I got it. The guy who had it before me had installed a motor of some sort. I think the wood he attached allowed rain water in as it sat outdoors for 4 years unused. It doesn't take on any water but I would like to drain what is in there somehow. The on line manual I read says it may drain if I stand it on end. I haven't tried yet.
Submit your own review!

03-18-2009
Submitted by: jbfSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought my Coleman canoe new in '97 and have logged 450 kms per year, mostly on the North Saskatchewan River, from the foot of the Rocky Mountains to my home in Edmonton, Alberta (class II & nearly III). As far as durability and load carrying are concerned, it is unbeatable - an excellent value for the money spent.

However when it comes to handling, it sucks - it took three or more strokes before it responded - a serious liability! So I fixed it - and here's how. The problem is that it has a keel and it's flat - what a person has to do is put some rocker into the boat - put some curve into the keel. You don't have to go over the top like I did and install a tube steel frame. Simply support the canoe at the stern and bow so it's completely off the ground and install a shim (3-4" advised) between the stay and keel pipe. The result is a canoe that turns easier and is less affected by cross channel currents.

I do a lot of river tripping and I'll gladly put my Coleman up against any craft on the market. The main thing is: Get on the water but do it safely - you won't be disappointed!

Submit your own review!

11-21-2008
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My first canoe was a Coleman. I have a bad habit with outdoor gear of buying then researching. I had mixed experience with the boat. Ram x is flexible which can be very discomforting at times. The inside keel tube does a great job of eating fishing tackle and other small items. It is nearly un-sinkable be cause ramex is buoyant. My boat was purchased in the mid 70s and I kept it nearly 20 years only because I could not afford to upgrade.

My boys were quite young, read small, then and were not heavy enough to keep the bow down if I was on the back seat. I nearly always had to paddle backwards on the front seat. It was symmetrical so that was no trouble. I did that till my Bow man weighed 100 lbs or so.

The flat bottom meant that we could hardly get away from side waves and leaning was out of the question. I have seen the newer versions. I am not impressed with their interior set ups. My boat is now with Boy Scouts in Iowa. I don't know how it held up but that plastic is very sensitive to UV deterioration.

I got my money's worth from that boat and it instilled a love for paddling in my 4 Children. I car topped it to Colorado several times and it liked mountain lakes, but not mountain streams. It was a good "learning experience" boat which trained the kids and me so that when we moved up to Old Town Discovery 12 years ago we didn't even know that they were supposed to feel tippy. We now have canoed from Illinois to Colorado, and into Canada and Minnesota. The Colman was an excellent starter boat and I am glad that we had it.

Submit your own review!

07-02-2008
Submitted by: MWVSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Very durable canoe. I purchased mine new in 1976 and it has perform extremely well over the years. It has seen multiple river and stream trips.
Submit your own review!

04-28-2008
Submitted by: VirginiaSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I borrowed this canoe on a recent wild creek trip. I do not recommend this craft for rivers. We scraped the bottom and a hole was made in the keel (we do not recall when this happened). The remaining 17 miles we had to get out every 40 minutes, remove our gear and dump the water out to keep from sinking. On the second day we hit a cypress knee and got a gash in the side. Now that I am trying to find help repairing it and it is not looking very good! If we had been in high water with not much current then this would have been a nice comfortable stable ride. We were 2 adults with overnight gear.
Submit your own review!

08-12-2007
Submitted by: AlaskasteveSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I own two Coleman 17' double enders. One (red) is 27 years old and the other (green) is 25. I bought both new and still use them every season. To say I've gotten my money's worth would be an extreme understatement.

When I bought my first Coleman, I was replacing a homebuilt 18' fiberglass canoe that weighed 105 pounds, so that new Coleman seemed light as a feather. It was years before I learned that a Coleman was supposed to be heavy!

My family, friends, and I have used these canoes in lakes, creeks, and rivers all over the road-accessible parts of Alaska. They carry heavy loads, bounce off rocks, slide over logs, run rapids, and ride out 2-foot lake swells.

On moose hunting trips, I've navigated a river with Class II sections many times with a load of gear and meat in my Coleman that the sissy canoes couldn't even float. To be sure, it takes a lot of adrenalin and heavy paddling to weave around rocks in a Coleman, with or without a big load, but I've logged about 700 miles on that river over the years and only capsized once - when my partner's canoe hit mine and pushed it up against a log jam. (I grabbed the bow line, waded out to shallow water, and pulled the Coleman free. Apart from being full of water, the boat, my gear, and the moose meat were undamaged. After changing clothes and recovering my normal body temperature, we went on as if nothing had happened.)

Together, my two Colemans have racked up well over 1800 miles on Alaskan wilderness lakes and rivers, in sun, rain, wind, and snow. Yet, they just keep right on working!

My life and the lives of family and friends have depended on my Colemans many, many times and they have never failed us. On the other hand, I've seen not a few smashed up Old Town, Mad River, and other high-dollar canoes abandoned along wild rivers, and shivered at the thought of their owners' fates.

There are a lot of canoes out there that are lighter, faster, and prettier (not to mention more expensive!) than Colemans, but I know of none that will do the really hard work better. I'd rate my pair as 11's if your rating scale didn't stop at 10!

Submit your own review!

04-02-2007
Submitted by: Keith MSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Just bought an older model RamX-17 (actually 17 1/2) for 100 bucks from a river touring outfit. Pretty much couldn't pass up the price, what can I say, I'm poor ;) . The thing looks like a beast: orange, big and feels pretty darned heavy, big skeletal aluminum framing, a little warbly in places - but was hopeful it wouldn't be a terrible canoe.

Well after it's maiden voyage (without the wife and son) I was a little impressed, or better yet comforted. I've since taken her out several times with the family, and aside from being heavy and awkward portaging & loading(the aluminum thwarts sit higher than the gunnels - so when cartopping or truck topping, kiss your paint goodbye! GET FOAM TUBING to cover the gunnels and thwarts... oh yeah, and watch the handles too - they'll drop down & take a good chunk out of your paint if you're not watching).. aside from that, the canoe is actually pretty great.

It really does track well thanks to the keel. It isn't the fastest canoe by far - but it's not a bear to paddle either. Won't turn on a dime, but considering it's size and the keel, it turns a heck of a lot better than I was expecting.

I thought it felt a little unstable the first couple minutes I was in it, but after giving it the shake-and-rock-and-wiggle, it wasn't flipping over. My son walks around in the boat while we're out and you barely notice it (then again he's only 50 pounds).

The previous owners beat this old canoe on lots of rivers - there's more miles on this beast than I could imagine. (I wouldn't dare take it out an anything that looks like more than a I.) But I gotta say, if you're looking for a canoe to just get on the water, if you find one of these at a yard sale or what not - you can't go wrong.

It's not the canoe I want, but all considered - this canoe does a fine job as a "family wagon" so to speak. Don't know what they cost new, or even how the new models perform (saw a new one & it didn't look anything like my dinosaur), but 100 bucks used - I give this an 8 simply for its performance and value....

..and someday when I have money, I'll treat myself to a nice light solo canoe ;)

Submit your own review!

02-22-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've put my Coleman Ram-X 17 through a lot in the 4 years I've had it. Tough as nails. I run a Class I-II river on camping/fishing trips. I've logged about 400 miles on it, some of them very hard miles, when the river was too low and we ran it anyway. The Ram-X hull takes alot of abuse, but these canoes invert due to their construction, and are too floppy. It tracks well because of the keel, but this also makes it very hard to manuver in rough water. If you are looking for a tough, inexpensive canoe for fishing or camping, I recommend it, but I wouldn't recommend a wilderness trip for days on end. I would say it does what Coleman intends it to do for the price.
Submit your own review!

11-27-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my RAM-X 17 a year ago. I had to love it, low buck! It's got scratches and a gouge or two but nothing I can see daylight through! I have fabbed a side motor mount and added a 36# thrust electric motor from my previous 18' runabout. I have also mounted 2 universal DC outlets for PDA's , Laptops, etc.... a sonar/gps fish finder, 3 rod holders (lite weight composite), and a 5W solar charging panel to extend the cruising range of the "barge". I'm considering radar and a live well for the future.

I owned a Grumman 17 (aluminum) that weighed 80# (=RAMX) 30 years ago. I like my Coleman better!!! The Grumman cost big $$$ and had no better performance features. I've made my cheap used beat-up RAM-X into a "Escalade" lake, slow stream, river or moderate bay primo explorer, fish hunter and cruiser. I am very :-) with this craft.

P.S. My wife thinks I'm a little "over the edge" on this boat ... but it's far more fun to add lil' neat junk to it than to catch up on all those "honey do's". luv it

Submit your own review!

07-17-2006
Submitted by: Lars Erik NarmoSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my Coleman Ram 16 second hand 10 years ago. Very good and steady canoe. Recently I was paddling with it on the Pite river in Lappland, Sweden. I was unfortunate in the stream and turned around. The canoe was hevily damaged, expecially the aluminium frame. The canoe was still floting, but is not a pretty sight any more. I want to fix it and wonder if there are possibilities to by anew the whole aliminum frame on top of the plastic? Lars Erik from Norway
Submit your own review!

04-21-2006
Submitted by: Erick The MonkeySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I wish I could rate this canoe an 11 - worth every penny. I've been really beating on the thing 5 years now and no incidents at all - this thing is a tank on the water - I can pack more than a car full of gear and the wife and she handles it very nice - seems like the more weight the more stable she is - only complaint I have is no cupholders.
Submit your own review!

03-06-2006
Submitted by: lisaSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     love it...puttin a 3.3 merc on for the first time tomorrow.
Submit your own review!

09-14-2005
Submitted by: ak76wrenchSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Last year I purchased a RamX 15' that had a hole dead center of the keel. The hole was approximately 1/2 inch wide by 2 1/2 long. I agree that repairing it with various plastics, marinetex, etc. is fruitless. But they are repairable. What I did has worked extremely well with absolutely no problems while heavily paddling Alaska all season. I drilled multiple 1/4 holes around the existing hole. Used a 3" wire wheel on an electric drill to rough the area surrounding on both the outside and inside of the canoe. Then I used the 'Walmart' fiberglass kit and fiberglassed from both sides. With the roughed surface the glass was able to adhere and it made it even stronger by bonding to itself through the holes. 2 layers of glass on the inside and 4 layers on the outside. The glass tapered down nicely and adds no drag. I've seen patches people have done with soda bottles, laundry detergent bottles, plastic sheet, etc. It all looks crazy to me and adds lots of drag. Oh by the way, I was given the canoe for free because the previous owner couldn't figure out how to patch it. It cost me $12.00 and 1 hour of labor. This has been a fantastic canoe for me!!
Submit your own review!

08-26-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I would have given the old barge a '10' but my wife knocked a couple off because she still doesn't forgive me, or it , for those couple of hundred yards she helped my son and I carry it from our tent to the edge of Derwentwater (Cumbria, England) each morning last week. Can anyone tell me just how heavy these old (10yrs +) 17 footers are? The new ones are listed at about 37kgs (whatever that is).

My son's only 15, but he's a 2nd Dan black belt and I thought he'd be all I needed to hold up the other end, but we had to rope in 'her indoors' to help and were so exhausted by the time we reached the lake I had to drink half the beer that should have lasted the whole expedition.

Submit your own review!

08-16-2005
Submitted by: duncanSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have had my Ram-X 17 canoe for a while now, and I absolutely love it. I take it in the lakes and rivers of Washington, particularly the Skykomish River and the Upper Sky Valley and it performs very well. The length makes it less than nimble when having to navigate narrow spots in rivers, however, the stability and ruggedness of it is unparalleled. I highly recommend this canoe.
Submit your own review!

05-17-2005
Submitted by: GeorgeSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     What a great boat I have a very early one still works great. Had a split in seam repaired with a RV plastic septic tank repair kit and painted red to match with vinyl paint.

A neat trick to try is make a mount on rear platform that will axle two push mower wheels mount them about 4 inches above platform, when boat is to heavy to carry flip it and pull it, if mount is fabricated right you could leave excess metal out to one side to mount a trolling motor. you can also buy at any hardware store a broomstick clip, mount two on both sides, inside canoe to mount you're paddles (works better with aluminum paddles) try these neat tricks to make you're next outing more enjoyable.

I still love my 17 footer, very stable, unsinkable canoe.

Submit your own review!

10-30-2003
Submitted by: RGSSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Iíve had my coleman scanoe since 1994. The first trip was all the way down Karasjohka river when it was spring flood. Each year it has been used for Salmon fishing in the Tana river system. Itís brought me some 17 to 87 Atlantic salmon each year, but the latest years Iíve mostly has been fly-fishing. This canoe has been in some heavy water streams and a couple of times Iíve crashed, once where the stream was so heavy that the boat just went under and turned around. I was trapped with may foots and barely got lose before it crashed against a stone and stopped. The aluminum traverse was broken, but it was only to use some wood to continue the trip. I also have a 4 hp Mercury that I sometimes use when Iím fishing. Once, the canoe fell off may car roof (90 km/h), slide against the road and out in the periphery. The only thing that happened was some minor scratches in the aluminum front.

The only thing Iíve later altered is reinforcing the side with some hang glider alu so itís more stable when Iím roving with my homemade paddlers, also made of hang glider alu. If it has been some inches wider and a little bit higher in the stern (front), it would be a perfect rowing boat for fishermanís (trolling?).

John is asking for a permanent repair kit that fits this boat. When I bought this boat I also bought a repair kit (but hasnít had use for it, in spite of numerous stones that has ripped against the bottom) from Sweden (canít get this boat in Norway). The repair kit has some plates with the same ram X material that the boat is made of and 2 component Scotch-Weld (3M) with the number 3532 B/A urethane adhesive tube (118,2 ml). Iím not sure where the instruction are, but I remember that one has to use a heat gun to nearly melt the surface before applying the adhesive and joining the surfaces.

When I need a new boat I surely would by the new scanoe that looks even nicer.

Submit your own review!

10-20-2003
Submitted by: JohnSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     Bought my RAM-X 17 new 7 years ago, liked the stability of the keel, however after many scrapes on river rocks, one of the deeper scratches along the keel slpit open and now I have a 6 inch separation in the keel which leaks water at the rate of 2 gallons per hour. The emergency repair of Wrigleys chewing gum and duck tape saved the trip however I am looking for a more permanent repair and can't seem to find any type of RAM-X epoxy repair kits on the Coleman site. Any/All suggestions welcome.
Submit your own review!

08-26-2003
Submitted by: Bagot BoySend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've had a Coleman 17 foot Ram X since 1981 ( 22 years ). I found it durable, heavy, stable, and capable of carrying 2 adults, a kid, and lots of gear: 3 adults in a pinch on friendly lakes. Easy to load too- a real plus- ever tried stuffing packs under triple thwarts? It works great on the Canadian Shield lake country weekend stuff we do. BUT: recently the bow entry point has worn through- a small crack, and I'm looking for advice on how to fix it-- more accurately, how to get anything to stick! E mail me please if you have any ideas. Happy canoeing.
Submit your own review!

06-24-2003
Submitted by: JCMSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I own a Coleman RAM-XX 17. It was purchased specifically for solo camping and fishing trips along Mississippi's streams of various types. I have had the opportunity to canoe many streams in other brands of canoes and I have not found one that can beat the Coleman overall. Yes, there are prettier canoes, some a little lighter and all more expensive. This canoe is 100% functional, tough as they come and safe. Some call it slow but that's really relative to an individual's strength. Mine seems pretty fast. I have never considered the canoe slow. The plastic hull is rigid with properly installed keel tubes and thwarts. The bottom will flex over rocks and logs that would either jam or flip a stiff-bottomed canoe instantly. When swamped the canoe still floats high. The longer canoe steers well and is stable, thanks in part to a substantial keel that runs the length of the hull. Sit in the front seat and face the stern whenever solo. If you add fifty lbs. of weight in the bow, it becomes even more stable and flat. The boat tracks exceptionally straight across open water in a crosswind. It handles rapids just fine. It's a kick to have at the beach and will handle moderate waves well. There is nothing more disturbing to fish or wildlife than the loud clunking and scraping of metal or fiberglass associated with other canoes. The Coleman makes no sound. The polymer material of the hull slides well over the ground making portages easy and there is no resulting chipping, gouging or any damage to the underside of the vessel. The only complaint I have is that the seats are a tad high and if you sit on a cushion you are asking for a dip of the sudden kind. If you want an indestructible craft that is safe, stable and silent and can take all manner of abuse, get this canoe.
Submit your own review!

10-16-2002
Submitted by: paulSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I owm a 15 foot scanoe it has beem used a great deal on lakes and rivers with some whitewater . very tough bears up with alot of weight the major complaint is the metal tubing for support things ,like rodtips or small objects get caught under or broken overall it is a good entry level canoe.
Submit your own review!

06-17-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased the RAM-XX 17 in 2001 as a starter canoe and I have had it in some tight situations and she has always come through. She is however deserving of her nickname the "Barge" as so many have dubbed her.. but if you want a reliable and indestructable vessel this would be an excellent choice for the money.. but it will soon be time for an upgrade to a Buffalo or Old town. but she will remain a part of the family for years to come...
Submit your own review!

04-29-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased the Coleman 17 for $200 in the early 70's. I used it for Boy Scout trips & to teach scouts for their canoeing merit badge. We had many types of canoes on our trips, but the Coleman was by far the toughest. The fiberglass canoes shattered; the aluminum Grumman canoes were split wide open by rocks, and others wound up with large holes, but the Coleman merely got scratched (very sharp rocks along the Colorado River). It handled better than most of the others on 10 foot swells in San Diego Bay, the two foot chop in Mission Bay, and on many 100-mile trips on the Colorado. It is heavy, but if you know anything about scouts, you know that they are usually overloaded (being prepared for everything), and the Coleman handled the weight well. Young boys are abusive to equipment, and destroyed many of the canoes on our trips (accidentally, of course), but the Coleman could take anything they could dish out, including being stuck on a large rock mid-stream, with several hundred pounds unsupported at both ends. Most canoes would have folded, but not the Coleman. For youth groups, I rate this canoe a 10 for it's forgiving nature and indestructability!
Submit your own review!

08-03-2001
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     As Tommytwofast said... if you put a motor on it it can't be beat. When I had mine the 1.5 horse motor (side mounted) was great. At this point however a canoe becomes a power boat and these reviews become irrelevant. Again... it's a great entry level canoe. There's value in a Coleman but after owning a Coleman the only way to go really is upscale. I doubt there are many people who later on buy a second one.
Submit your own review!

07-16-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I had my Ram-x 17 for afew years and its very heavy, so what. If you want a hard hammering wave braking canoe, buy this one. If not stick to a 10 footer! This canoe is hard to handle light, put some weight in it. I weight it down (the wife does ok) with everything and strap a old johnson (53) 3horse outboard. I hammer every wave I can, this canoe will not tip! I was even side thrashed by ski-doo's before and never tiped, justed swamped. This body is tough and I never have to baby it (try that with wood) in the river. Sure it rocks, you have to ride the 3 foot waves. I drag it off and on the ladder rack of the truck, today it gotaway from me. All I can say, if you go outboard, you will be hard pressed to turn back. P.S comming soon, 5 horse
Submit your own review!

06-11-2001
Submitted by: Grant S.
Rating: 8 of 10

     I had an old coleman canoe years ago that was sold by my parents. It was a great old heavy canoe and fairly indistructable. Now I have had an newer model Coleman RamX that is definitely lighter and just as tough. I have no problem with it in open water,paddeling alone or with the help of my nephews (ages 5-10) and I have found it just as effective in rapids in nothern Ontario. Overall a great canoe for the reasonable price.
Submit your own review!

06-11-2001
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've had my Coleman 17' for more than 20 years. The rest of the reviewers are right. On the bad side, the thing is slow and heavy. On the plus side it is cheap, durable, forgiving and with a large capacity. It has good positive buoyancy with the bow and stern floatation, and requires no maintenance. Also, it is quite likely that you can leave it unattended anywhere, and it will not be stolen.
Submit your own review!

01-27-2001
Submitted by: GS
Rating: 5 of 10

     Any canoe that get you on the water is a good canoe! I bought my 17' in the late 70's, good boat for not much money. Used it on family day trips with the kids and canoe camping with the guys. Carries lots of stuff. The keelson is fine on lakes, but on twisty rivers it is awful. I did not realize how bad it was until I replaced with an Old Town Penobscot. You can actually kick the back end around!
Submit your own review!

01-22-2001
Submitted by: Dan ThomsenSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     As my first canoe I'll say that short of being virtually indestructable and cheap this canoe is a BATH TUB. It's not fun to paddle and it's definately the heaviest in it's class. The initial stability is awesome and very reassuring to the novice or family. I had the misfortune of holing mine on a railroad tie that was mid river. Let me tell you that this canoe is virtually impossible to repair. A speciality plastic shop may be able to half ass plastic weld a puncture but the canoe will never be the same. To be fair I have logged many miles on the 17 ft. coleman and have some great memories. It's a dry canoe that carries a big load and it's about the cheapest decent canoe out there. I have to complain though,in the newer colman design the seats are moulded to the hull making it impossible for one to kneel while paddling. The new seat design is a BIG step backwards. Sure you can now store stuff in the seat but who cares! Coleman has taken this canoe from a cheap HEAVY tripping canoe and turned it into a cheap HEAVY cottage canoe. PROGRESS! If you canoe for more than a day or two at a time AVOID this canoe. It' WILL hurt you with it's weight and with the new seat design it's real stabilty is gone. Only colman could make a barely acceptable design worse.
Submit your own review!

09-06-2000
Submitted by: DFSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've owned a 17ft. coleman canoe for about 20 years. I've used it on several 2-7 day trips in Pa. and N.Y. as well as fishing and day trips. It is at its best as a flat water canoe but does handle moderatly fast water. It will easily take two adults and gear for several days and it is tough. Mine shows a lot of scrapes but I have never had to repair it and it has not been babied. It handles well even solo although it can be tricky in high wind when you're alone. My biggest complaint is the weight. At 80+lbs this is not a canoe you want to portage very far.
Submit your own review!

09-02-2000
Submitted by: SteveSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my RAM-X 17 in 1984. Since that time I have canoed all over New England and Canada and it has been one of the best purchases, dollar for dollar, that I ever made. At 17 ft. it can be a trick to hoist on top of a car by yourself but once tied down properly it never moves. It is easy to paddle solo and takes moderate whitewater (Saco River, Maine) with ease. It can also handle the constant movement of two young boys while fishing and is quite stable. The claim that this canoe is indestructable is 100% accurate as I have had trees fall on mine during hurricanes Gloria and Bob with no damage. In order to easily haul my heavily loaded RAM-X 17 to shore or along a portage trail I use a folding boat cart similar to the model sold by L.L. Bean.
Submit your own review!

08-23-2000
Submitted by: JRSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I borrowed a RAM X-17 from a friend and my father in-law and I went 8 miles from Lyons Falls to Glenfield N.Y. in June of 2000. Very nice stable ride and found them for sale at Wal-Mart for 350 dollars without paddles. I am thinking about buying one of these canoes now thanks to a good friend named PAT that allowed me to use his canoe.
Submit your own review!

07-30-2000
Submitted by: EugeneSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have owned an older green canoe for 15 years and used it on lakes and creeks. It carried large loads of camping gear, my pet Lab and my fishing buddy with ease. We have been caught out on a lake when high winds came up and it rode the waves getting us to safety very well. I like the way it holds its shape, transports heavy weights and is very stable for its price range. Its only fault to me is its weight.
Submit your own review!

06-04-2000
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I agree with all previous reviewers. had ours 8 years.fools that we were--we tho't we could whitewater in it--and bless it's heart the canoe didn't dunk us--but we were scared when we found out a keel is not for rapids. This has been a good first canoe, especially for paddling around quiet lakes. very indestructible, but also heavy.
Submit your own review!

04-23-2000
Submitted by: TF
Rating: 8 of 10

     The Coleman Ram x 17 is a canoe that can be ideal for some intended purpose. I have not owned one, but have been a partner in them on 20 or more river camping trips. IN moderate ClassII whitewater they handle beautifully and if you are a skilled paddler, they can turn quite well to avoid obstacles. This is even heavily loaded and in low water conditions. They are a large volume canoe and can handle some pretty good water and waves. My firends do not like to pdaale so we go on moving water or use an engine for tripping. They are indestructable. Once the canoe came off the car and got bent up pretty bad. We took the supports off the canoe, bent it back around a tree and reassemble the canoe. It has worked great ever since. We hit some big boulders in the river and had 8" dents in the bow but when exposed to the sun, they popped right back out. I would not want to own this canoe to paddle any distance as it is a barge but moving water or an engine is great. Oh by the way, I own nine canoes myself from $2,800 solo wood canvas canoes to 17" kevlar canoes but they are too nice to abuse on a river.
Submit your own review!

04-12-2000
Submitted by: BobSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I've had my RAMX17 for about 13 years now and its still going strong. Considering the price I paid and the use I've gotten from this boat, I've definitely gotten my money's worth. This boat is large, stable and can hold a lot of gear, its capacity in this area has earned me the reputation for being a gadget camper, as I tend to do primitive canoe camping in a very comfortable way. The only down side to this boat is also one of its strengths, the flexible hull. While this hull will bounce of rock (and houses, yup did that once) with little lasting effect, it does tend to flex in the water. As a result a lot of the effort you invest in paddling gets lost, making this boat rather slow. For my purposes this canoe has lived up to my needs very well for 12 annual 4-day canoe trips. If you need a fast boat forget this one, if you need a rugged, stable boat that can handle a lot of gear and take a lot of abuse then this boat will work for you.
Submit your own review!

03-20-2000
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We got our Coleman Ram-X 17 over 20 years ago, after a boat show where the seller was offering us to take a swing with a ball bat at the hull. My brother-in-law broke his bat without any damage to the hull and he sold me that canoe on the spot. It's gotten much rougher treatment since then (through frozen rivers, over beaver dams) but nothing stops it. I've even rigged it with a sail and lea boards. Very stable. A great family boat.
Submit your own review!

12-12-1999
Submitted by: SteveSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I am a Scout leader in charge of eight Coleman Ram-X 17í canoes. These canoes are 5 to 14 years in age. Being in Arizona and used by Boy And Girl scout units on outings they do get a lot of use all year round. They do get the gunwales bent and the keel poles do get kicked forward out of position. The biggest tool I have to use is a rubber mallet to tap the uprights back in place. At this time I am prepping the canoes for a 75 mile trip down the Colorado River by a boy scout troop that they do each Christmas break. The Coleman RAM-X 17 canoe can be unstable when used without any cargo on board, the seats put the center of gravity too high. I always put in a few sand bags when I teach canoeing or on a day outing paddling around a lake. The only major problem found so far is the two oldest canoes bow is worn through from landings on rocky shorelines. The kit from Coleman is good but the two part epoxy tubes are too small to attach the full bow repair part. I have tried purchasing the epoxy from the manufacturer but they will not sell it in small batches (less than 15 gallons).
Submit your own review!

08-05-1999
Submitted by: Jerry HalvorsenSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I've nicknamed my Ram X "The Rust Barge" because of the color and the fact it's so heavy and slow. However, it will go through almost anything and I've never had to patch it in over 18 years of use. My family of 4 has used it often. I've also soloed with it, although not for very long. It's a great first canoe and a good one for families with kids who want to get into paddling.
Submit your own review!

07-13-1999
Submitted by: DaveSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     RED RAM X 17, I`ve had mine for 10 years on the Potomac in Western MD. In very low water it handles great, a lot better than an aluminum one, it doesn`t show much wear. I`m very happy with the product.
Submit your own review!

03-29-1999
Submitted by: BBSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have an older green model, which I have used on the Susquehanna River in northeast Pennsylvania. Mostly tame waters, but when the level drops in late summer, scraping the bottom is common. It seems to be just about bomb-proof. The bottom has a zillion scrapes and gouges, some of them deep, but nowhere near through. Never had to patch it. Comparing it to my other canoe, an aluminum Grumman 17 ft. squareback, with a keel. The Coleman is not nearly as stable, noticeably more tippy. However, the tiny keel, and flexible bottom makes it easier to scrape the rocks here and there without being tossed out. Thanks to Coleman for the oil-can effect. The paddling effort is about the same for the two, but the Grummie is more comfortable for the stern paddler, me, because of a wide, shelf-type seat. I am currently trying to swap the double-ended greenie for a Coleman Scanoe, which should combine the best advantages of both. wide, stable, little or no keel, the beloved oil-canning instead of tumbling into the drink, no maintenance, and the flat stern for mounting a motor. As a cheap, no nonsense, trouble free canoe, the Coleman ram-x is not a bad choice.
Submit your own review!

01-25-1999
Submitted by: BruceSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I've had one for 20 years, it's a fat, slow barge... but it's reliable, cheap, stable and impossible to damage. I recommend it for still water use where you're not looking to cover a lot of distance. Good for lake fishing. The shoe keel makes running shallow creeks dangerous. Hit a rock sideways and you'll be wet.

I've done a lot of tripping... but never with this old friend.

Submit your own review!

01-17-1999
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     The ram-x 17 is a slow but straight tracking canoe. It's width provides great stability. This is a teriffic party canoe. It is also low priced.
Submit your own review!

01-01-1999
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Pastic hull,inside alum. frame. Each part can be replaced seperatly. I have had mine for 15yrs. + very good pack canoe for extended trips. Very tough,also very heavy! I have never had a problem with mine.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale