Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Perception > Search 13 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Search 13 Kayak by Perception


Rated: 8.94/10 Based On: 16 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-13-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had a perception search 13 and love it. It is a superbly well rounded kayak. Stable enough to stand, though it does take some good balance to move around. Fairly fast I can keep up with my friends 14' AquaTerrra without to much extra effort.It is a GREAT fishing kayak if they were still made I would get another. in the mean time I keep my eye out for used. Only reason for the score of 9 is that it is a little on the heavy side 65-70 lbs. but it is rock solid. Wish they were still made
Submit your own review!

08-06-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've recently started fishing from kayaks and purchased a slightly used Perception Search 13. It is an older model that is no longer produced, too bad because this thing in near perfect for an average sized and skilled kayak fisherman. Very easy to control and to get going.

I have only been out a handful of times with it and is hands down superior to any that I have rented or borrowed, I can not recall most or them pelican and a castaway are a couple that I have been on. I also have played a little in the choppy surf on the Texas coast and is plenty stable. Fishing and messing around in the bay have been its primary uses. There is abundant storage both internal and in the HUGE aft well. With out a doubt I would not hesitate to recommend this kayak to anyone if they were still available.

The only reason for not ranking it a 10 is that I do not believe that there is anything that is perfect.

Submit your own review!

07-27-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I love the width and length of the cockpit in this kayak. Did not like the mesh side pockets because everything gets caught on them when fishing. As a short paddler, I feel the cockpit rod holder is too far forward. The kayak treks very well and is extremely stable. Love the large amount of storage.
Submit your own review!

05-08-2013
Submitted by: castaways01Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have 5 of the Perception/P-Sport kayaks for family and guests to use. However, about 2 years ago I bought the Search for myself. I previously used a Hobie Maui and found the Search to be much more stable (30" wide) and have more gear storage.

It's heavy and long (13' and 60 lbs) so if you had to lift it onto a vehicle, you may need 2 people. I keep it on my dock and slide it into the water and then pull it out when finished by myself, so transport wasn't a concern when buying it.

What I like about the Search is the Comfort Seating System, deep well in the back with bungees, side storage pockets, paddle holder bungee, and the molded cup holder. I've taken the deep well bungee off and carried a child back there and the yak was still stable. I've also had my large Shepherd aboard and there were no issues. I've never used the hatch - its way too far to reach and awkward. The hatch placement is the only reason I haven't given this yak a score of 10.

I mainly use the Search for snorkeling and cruising up and down the south coast on the island of Roatan, where I live. I'd highly recommend it.

Submit your own review!

09-17-2012
Submitted by: HermesSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I kayak fish, in fact, I started a local chapter. I have owned and paddled many, many kayaks. Without a doubt, the Perception Search (13 in my case) is a fantastic boat! I've paddled head on into 4' waves and it held a true line as well as paddling with or into a quartering wind. Great glide and plenty of room for my 6'1" frame.

The comments about initial stability are, in a word, wrong. It is not as stable as say an Ultimate 14 but definitely a stable boat. I sold my Search after 3 years of hard usage and regretted doing that so this year, I found a new leftover Search 13 at the insane price of $550 out the door. I bought it and am overjoyed with it ...again! Unless there are major changes in the newer kayaks, this one will be my keeper for life.

Submit your own review!

06-10-2012
Submitted by:
Rating: 10 of 10

     I got a Perception Search 13 four years ago. I give it a 10 out of 10 simply for the fact that after 4 years of exclusively salt water use and Florida garage storage, all of the hardware looks like new. Not a speck of rust on any of the metal fasteners. All bungies are just as springy as the day I got the boat. Hatch lid fits just as tightly as in 1998. Love my Perception!
Submit your own review!

06-01-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought the Search for me and a small 8 foot SOT for my daughter. My daughter is 10 and this was her first time paddling. She could not control her 8 foot boat at all and after about 15 minutes she was pretty frustrated and ready to give it up. I put her on the Search and she looked like a pro and was able to paddle that thing in a straight line at pretty good speed with no problems at all. I love this boat and will be buying another in the near future.
Submit your own review!

01-28-2009
Submitted by: MJDSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Bought this boat this weekend. Paddled an Ocean Kayak Speck for 2 yrs. Wow that a difference.
I'm 5'7" 170 lbs. Can't believe how well this boat paddles tracks. I had looked at a M/R 12, O/K Trident 13, W/S Ride 135. For the price and the amount of standard features the Search 13 wins hands down. Now time for the surf next weekend...
I would definitely recommend this boat.

Submit your own review!

10-10-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought mine used for $500. I don't think that I could have made a better purchase for the price... you get decent tracking and glide, enough room for overnighters, a comfortable seat, and the stability that makes this a great fishing yak.

I am a long legged 225# dude and this boat, unlike others in it's class, fits me well. I did take off the foot pegs since I had them at the very end of the rails anyhow... other than that the boat is a great fit and I LOVE it!

Submit your own review!

09-03-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     I ordered a Search 13 after trying one out at a demo day. I was impressed with how it handled, as well as the features. When mine came in I picked it up at the dealer, still wrapped in the plastic wrap from the factory. I thought at the time it should have been unwrapped and inspected by the dealer, but it had not. After getting it home and unwrapping it, the first thing I noticed was the foot pegs and rails had been installed backwards. Believe it or not, the adjusting latch on each peg was facing the seat and the small tab that is supposed to retain the pegs at the farthest extension was nearest the seat. (I would have thought that any 12 year old would have noticed this before it went out the door at the factory...guess not.) Anyway, I managed to slip the pegs off the ends of the rails (barely) and reversed them so I could at least get going. After getting the boat in the water for the first time, I sat back against the backrest and one of the straps failed at the overlapped (sewn) section. Examination revealed that the strap had been poorly sewn together, with only about 6 threads having gone through both thicknesses of material. The remaining stitches were just small loops unattached to anything. I returned the boat to my dealer, who was gracious enough to give me a refund. I liked the way the boat handled, etc., but if quality control at Perception is this poor, I was afraid of what might crop up next week or next month. I have a Perception America 11 that I like very much and wanted to stick with them, but I cannot recommend them now. I heard somewhere that some kayak manufacturers may be counting on their dealers to take up the slack in quality control. If that is so, it isn't being fair to the dealers or the customers and doesn't seem like good business to me.
Submit your own review!

11-23-2007
Submitted by: BMTSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Perception Search 13: I have been fishing from a OK Prowler 13 and an OK Drifter for six years: I got the Search 13 because I wanted a higher seat and drier ride: the Search 13 is under appreciated: it turns slower than the Prowler 13, but tracks and glides much better: at first it seems a little tippy, but then the secondary stability comes on strong. A little hull slap, but not bad. Takes boat wakes and waves well and paddles into the wind better than any other yak I have paddled before. If you are not a large body fisherman over 250 lbs.), this yak is a real winner indeed. I do not know why it is not getting more attention from the yak fishing community. A first class ride for sure and very well made.
Submit your own review!

10-10-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We bought this kayak for my husband, since he is 6'2". I spend more time on the water than he does, and I have fallen in love with this kayak. My kayak is Tarpon 140. The Perception has a lot more space on the exterior and interior. I am planning a 2-3 day kayak trip in it because of the interior space. I gave it a 9 because I can't reach the front rod holder. I'm 5'4", and this seems to be a problem with a lot of kayaks. I wish that there were some cockpit side molded rod holders that were more accessible, but not in the way when just paddling. Also the velcro pockets tend to be in a bad spot for me. I used the kayak to put out crab traps. I put my 10 year old son in the back to assist with carrying the traps. The boat was extremely stable.
Submit your own review!

09-25-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Perception Search 13 is the first kayak I have owned and I love it. I've only been on a lake with it, but I'm really looking forward to taking down our local river. It is smooth and goes straight- just glides. Plenty of room (hope to get my Golden Retriever trained to sit in the rear tankwell-it's roomy enough), lots of storage and a great look make this kayak a winner for me.

The reason I'm not giving it a 10 is the carrying handles. They are on elastic bands which in nice, as they retract, but the handles are slick plastic and uncomfortable; I can't carry it too far before I have to put it down and re-arrange my grip. I plan to change them out for bigger rubber handles. Other than that, I am really happy I bought the Search 13.

Submit your own review!

09-18-2007
Submitted by: TheUsualSuspectSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've had my Search 13 for a month now. Two words... Love It!
Tracking and glide is outstanding. Stop paddling and you can sail straight forever it seems. Handles waves well, and the initial rigging is really well thought out. I like the floor mounted bungee to clip rod leashes and my camera drybox to. The velcro side pockets are a nice touch, and gives a handy place to put pliers, hooks, plastic baits, and the like. And the rear tankwell is massive, although I was disappointed that a standard filebox won't quit fit in it. I believe a milk crate will do fine. The floor slopes forward toward the front scuppers, so your rear end can stay dry.

Downside, the good tracking means it is harder to turn. And the rear tankwell takes on water routinely, so anything in back is subject to soaking. A little extra height there would have been good. I'm 5'10", 220#, and the legroom is excellent and the ride is only a little wet.

A really nice ride that, for some reason, seems to be a bit of a secret.

Submit your own review!

09-14-2007
Submitted by: HPSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The only reason I didn't give it a ten is because nothing is ever perfect. This is the best SOT I've been on. Owned it for about a year and have not found a better SOT. It's Quick off the start, and has great glide and tracking. Stability is excellent (I commonly climb back on it after a quick dip in the river). In addition to being the best performing SOT I've been on, it is loaded -- rod holders, HUGE tank well, dry storage for a weeks trip, and EASILY accessible smaller storage, not to mention the cup holder.

Super comfy
Great performing
thought-out extras

The only draw back for me is it is a bit cumbersome to load. It's not all that heavy, but seems awkward to handle -- but a snap with two people.

Submit your own review!

03-05-2007
Submitted by: Bass SmittendSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This new SOT kayak from perception is definitely one you need to look at if your in the market, and need a good fishing kayak. I demoed this along with the LL Manta Ray 12, OK Prowler 13, and the WS Tarpon T120. Although it was close b/w the MR12, the Perception won out hands down due to its great Cadillac ride, tracking, secondary stability, quickness off the still start...not to mention its glide and dry ride. The other points that sold me on this kayak was the extremely large tankwell, predrilled flush mounts, large bulk storage, plenty of space for rigging, storagewell b/w the legs, velcro saddle bags on the sides, and the high ride of this kayak...you'd think that this would make the kayak tipsy, but that's not the case. It's also very stable and comfortable in sidesaddle position when fishing off of the side. The seat itself is very comfortable (like the MR12). I can't believe that perception is not advertising this kayak, but rather keeping it low key! Now the word is out, definitely give it a look see...You won't be disappointed! So that you may compare, I'm 5'7" and 155 lbs. I have no problem carrying this kayak (60lbs), and putting it on top of my car.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale