Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Perception > Prodigy 10.0 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Prodigy 10.0 Kayak by Perception


Rated: 8.83/10 Based On: 42 Reviews


Prodigy 10.0 Kayak by Perception

Length: 10' 0" - Width: 29.50" - Starting at: $525.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Perception Logo



11-19-2014
Submitted by: JGSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I purchased this kayak two months ago and have logged over ten hours in it. The yak tracks better than expected for its price range and is very stable. It has been awhile since I have used a high-end yak so it is difficult for me to make a direct comparison but I am pleased with the ease of paddling and making turns. Seat is very comfortable, even on a two hour non-stop run with my 61-yr old back. The one disadvantage for me is the lack of any bow floatation - not even a foam block. When I tried to work on self rescue, the bow went down and the boat was at 90 degrees to the surface. I have not discovered an acceptable way to add floatation. There is no way to secure inflatable floatation so it just floats out. Thanks to its stability, I have not capsized unintentionally (yet).
Submit your own review!

07-02-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This is my first kayak, though I have used many. It is very comfortable, tracks well, has good stability, and is easy to get in and out. For the price, it is a good kayak for a beginner.
Submit your own review!

06-23-2014
Submitted by: WGCSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Good value, doesn't track as well as I had hoped nor does it cut through the water as cleanly as I would like but that's to be expected considering its size and width, which provides great stability.

We own two of these and would recommend them to first time owners if you're planning to stay on fairly mild water conditions, if you're into fast water or ocean and waves then go with a bigger, more appropriate yak.

Submit your own review!

06-09-2014
Submitted by: AHDSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     A great value. Stable, large cockpit, faster than you would expect. BUT hull material of the last few years is less durable. AND if you want a CAMO boat, be aware that this boat has a lot of bright lime green. Be prepared to do some painting if you want a camouflage boat.
Submit your own review!

09-02-2013
Submitted by: Crescent MoonSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I rented this kayak this year. I found it to be fast enough and stable on the lake with wakes from the larger boats. Easy to back paddle and turns quickly.I will definitely consider this for purchase, for the price it's a bargain. The cheaper kayaks were very hard to turn and not as quick in the water in side by side comparison.
Submit your own review!

07-27-2013
Submitted by: J.FSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My friend has one of these and I got to try it out on the Spoon River in Knox County, IL. I am new at kayaking and canoeing and only have a few experiences to go by, and a few different varieties to compare to..for me, this one was lightweight and easy to maneuver, the only exception being that it was a few feet longer than the simple open, top rentals at the Current River in Missouri that I love so much. It has an adjustable backrest too. It comes with a hatch to keep things dry and some straps/rigging to hold onto stuff too.

So I guess other than the length and the fact that it is "too fancy" for a beginner like me, most regular kayakers would absolutely love this one, and for the price you cant beat it!

Submit your own review!

07-26-2013
Submitted by: MeghanSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just recently purchased a Perception Prodigy XS 10ft Kayak and I LOVE it! This Kayak is recommended for Children or Smaller Paddlers so it is Perfect for me. Things I love about it are - Size, nice and narrow and easy to paddle, Weight - Nice and Light for me to lift & load on to the top of my car, Price - Good price point for a beginner Kayak.
Submit your own review!

07-24-2013
Submitted by: paulSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Purchased the Prodigy 10.0 from sportsman marina, Hadley, Mass. recommended by mechanic who also paddles. Kayak is light, makes for easy loading new for 2013 DLX seating super comfortable with back and thigh adjustments [being a person with lower back problems I had no issues getting in or out and sitting in this kayak for 5 hours]. Thigh pads on rails and easily adjust the foot pegs from sitting position it has a large dry storage in stern with tie down.

First kayak I purchased; love this kayak very easy to move around on the water and tracks great even in windy conditions, I use it for fishing also, if your looking for that first all around great kayak with awesome features that wont break the bank then the Perception Prodigy 10.0 is for you [5 stars]

Submit your own review!

07-21-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Not the biggest, or best, but these kayaks (we bought two) are very forgiving and sturdy (one-piece fiberglass/plastic) and do everything we've expected from them. These kayaks were reasonably priced and, at 44 lbs, are easy to get up and down from my car roof-rack system.

My wife and I have enjoyed paddling these boats on many of the lakes and streams in Marion County and other parts of Florida.

Submit your own review!

07-03-2013
Submitted by: TSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great kayak for the money. We have 2 of them they track well and are easy to control. Not a speed demon but did not buy for that reason. Fishing, cruising class I and II river and lakes. Zone seating system is awesome.
Submit your own review!

06-25-2012
Submitted by: NancySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my second kayak, and I love it. I'm a 53-year-old woman and I use it for recreational paddling and fishing. It's stable, easy to paddle and with the big cockpit, I have room for a small cooler, and my 48-pound dog can ride there (he does make the nose of the kayak dip down a bit making it harder to paddle.) It had a drain plug, which was a must-have for me, since my first kayak did not, and I love how easily the foot pegs adjust. Drawback is the seat -- my tabs broke when nephew flipped it in shallow water-- but replacement seats aren't expensive. I wouldn't use it for rapids but it's really nice for the flat water paddling we do in Maryland.
Submit your own review!

02-24-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Best kayak ever! I fish from it. I float backwards down rivers. I do some rapids. Great kayak and will buy again if it ever breaks!
Submit your own review!

07-05-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Perfect, I couldn't be happier... I'm 6' 250 lbs and this one is a Breeze... fast as well. Great for inland waterways as well as deep rivers.... A mini skirt tops it off well.... Tracks great. Seat is very comfortable... Great Job Perception!
Submit your own review!

06-22-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a very quick boat if you want to go fast. It does sit very low in the water and the seat is terrible. You really need a firmer seat in this boat to be comfortable. It does not track well and is very hard to keep straight. Inexpensive boat but a lot of work to paddle. I will stay with my Emotion Glide Angler.
Submit your own review!

11-02-2010
Submitted by: Shawn WaddellSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     This was my wife's first kayak. It is very stable and very cheap. We bought it used with a paddle and pfd for $200. It is a pumpkin-seed type kayak with a HUGE open cockpit that makes a sprayskirt impractical. There are sprayskirts that fit it fine, but the weight of the water sometimes collapses the skirt on top of you. (that is usually if I was someplace that I really didn't need to be in this kayak. The seat is not too comfortable but decent. There is no storage but a deck bag does the trick. I would recommend it as a good stable first boat in class 1 or 2 rivers or calm lakes. The ocean would swallow this boat.
Submit your own review!

04-06-2010
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My wife and I are new to kayaking. We rented a tandem SOT last summer in PA while on vacation and enjoyed it so much we purchased 2 kayaks later on our trip in our RV. We purchased 2 Prodigy 10s from Appomattox River Co. in VA. The 2 boats we purchased were the last of the version that has a bulkhead and dry storage area in the stern. I highly recommend this company, excellent very personal service and great prices. We have used our Prodigys on Class I & II rivers in NC, flat water in GA & FL. We are very happy with the kayaks. My wife especially likes the large cockpit opening and easily adjustable seat back & foot rest. They are a little slower than our friends kayaks, but as beginners, we like the added stability of the wider boat.
Submit your own review!

10-07-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bit the bullet and purchased the Prodigy 10 for $399 (2009); paddle and other gear made the bill about $500. This is my first kayak and honestly, cost was the primary factor in choice. Overall, I'm delighted with my purchase. The boat seems well constructed, stable, lightweight, handles well. My boat seems to drift to port slightly which causes me to have to apply a noticeable stronger force to compensate. This could be for a number of reasons like current, wind or even a stronger right arm.

I've tried fishing with it a few times; a little cramped but you get used to it pretty quick. I recommend buying some side mount hooks to keep your paddle on while holding your fishing rod. Funny, if you're casting, the drag from the lure pulling towards the kayak makes the boat turn easily! I do a circular casting pattern and complete a complete circle in 4 casts.

Not a bad buy and most of all, I'm super happy with my new outdoor "exercise machine"!

Submit your own review!

08-04-2009
Submitted by: DLSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love this kayak. I tried a Loon 110, but found it to be too tippy and it made me sea sick. I brought it back and got the Prodigy 10.0 Best choice I could have made.

Comfortable wide open cockpit so there is move ability without fear of tipping over. It tracks nice, tends to pull to the side in wake waves and against the wind but easy to get back under control. There are no dry hatches for storage, but the Pungo dashboard fits this boat and I will be adding that for the dry storage. I will be adding a seat cushion as well, since I found this one to be not so comfortable after 2 hours on the water.

It is easy to carry by holding one side and lifting it into the back of a pickup truck by myself. I had surgery for my back and this feature was very important to me since I would not have a second person to help me load and unload it.

Submit your own review!

11-05-2008
Submitted by: mdpaddlerSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I was looking for an all around boat that I could use on rivers with a variety of conditions, from moving flatwater to class II for the most part, and the occasional class II+, III- rapids. My friend had bought a WS Pamlico 100 recently, and I had tried it out, and liked it, but I wasn't keen on the rear hatch, which I've heard leaks, and really seems like it's just for show. Overall the boats are very similar, but the cockpit of the Prodigy was more centered, and has higher, more rounded sides. I believe they both ride about the same height in the water, the Prodigy only appears to ride higher due to it's slightly higher cockpit sides. The hull and profile of the two boats is nearly identical otherwise, so being nearly 100 dollars cheaper, I went for it.

Positives include that it tracks fairly well, even in current, but of course suffers as all rec boats do when it comes to maneuverability due to the rudders at each end. The seat was quite comfortable for me, and the cockpit was roomy. I took it though some class II rapids, and it was very stable and maneuvered quite well. It's width makes it difficult to paddle against current, but that is a trade off for stability. I used a seals sprayskirt, which I highly recommend, it does a great job of keeping water out. In comparison to the Pamlico, it seemed slightly more stable to me, as the Pamlico has lower, edgier sides that can be grabbed a bit easier and cause you to flip.

Some negatives I see are, as with the Pamlico, the width of the cockpit makes it difficult to use the kneepads with your knees under the edges when in any kind of situation that you'd want that(i.e, aforementioned class II rapids). The overall size of the cockpit would make it difficult to stay in the boat if you flipped and roll back up, but honestly, the main reason for a large cockpit is so that you can get out easily in the case of that.

Overall, I think this makes a really nice all around type of boat as long as you don't go into anything rougher than class II, II+.

Submit your own review!

09-15-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I rented this kayak today, haven't bought a yak just yet since I'm trying to find one that I really like. This Prodigy 10 did better than I anticipated. Tracked well for shorter size, and manoeuvred great! However, I did not like the large open cockpit. Also, eventhough this maybe consided a lightweight by some people, for a 5'1" female, that's the max weight I can handle for a yak. It weights 43 lbs. I think I'm going to stick with below 40 lbs. One other thing, is that this particular yak had knee padding, which I haven't used before. Certainly a must from now on. Can't believe the different with padding!
Submit your own review!

06-23-2008
Submitted by: Florida RobSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have been using my Prodigy 10 for 2 months now and like it a lot. I bought it because of the length and weight. I can easily carry it and lift it to car top. My storage space is limited so I went for a 10 foot length.

I find it tracks well and has adequate speed. I sometimes go with others and have no problem keeping up. I use it for coastal Florida exploring and on our slow rivers.

The foot pedal adjusters are handy with extensions to the hip, not the usual clamps that you have to be out of the kayak to reach. It came with a paddle holder. And it has a drain plug. All features not usually found on kayaks at this price. I did not get a hatch or deck bungees, as I do only day trips and there is plenty of room behind the seat for picnic items.

A very good buy and quite satisfactory for my uses.

Submit your own review!

05-28-2008
Submitted by: JamesSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've owned a Prodigy 10 for a year now and still think it's a great "fun" boat. I should qualify that by noting that I live in SE Iowa and use it only on lakes. This is the first kayak I paddled much, although I tried many different boats at a paddle day and picked this one as my favorite. A recent paddle day allowed me to expand the models I've tried, and I'll stick by my claim that if you are looking for something that will get you on the water for fun at a very reasonable cost, I don't think the Prodigy can be beat. I also paddled the Pungo, but it felt more like a tub than the Prodigy (but it does have a bigger cockpit).

I love the Prodigy cockpit because it is completely unrestrictive for me (5'8" 160 lbs). I can wiggle around, keep a small cooler between my feet, jump in and out to swim or explore, all without even thinking about it. I added rigging to the rear deck, and added flotation foam in bow and stern because the foam provided doesn't really even keep the boat above the surface if its filled with water. However, this boat is so stable I can almost stand up in it, and I have never tipped it, even in the powerboat wakes on Coralville Reservoir (2' high sometimes). The stability also means you can get in and out of the water almost anywhere very easily.

As you would expect for its length, tracking isn't great but it is super maneuverable and I've had a lot of fun exploring tiny creeks (sometimes even too narrow to paddle). Since it's inexpensive and tough, you don't have to worry about having fun with it.

I'd say the only real weakness is the seat back as I broke the tabs off the bottom within a year. Replacements are available for $30 but I repaired/reinforced with aluminum and think it'll last a long time now. I also added foam under the seat for flotation and to keep things from getting lost under there, but it may have had the side benefit of reinforcing it.

This boat won't set any speed records and may annoy others if you are in a group with faster boats. Cruising speed is about 3.5 mph, 4 is attainable but you'll wear out very quickly (not to mention getting wet from both bow and paddle splash, and making a lot of noise). It does feel a bit like paddling a tub at times, but I've paddled enjoyably even in 20 mph winds.

If your intention is to get on the water and have fun you won't go wrong. Be sure to use at least a 230 cm paddle due to the width of the boat and have fun! (HINT: If you are looking for something with many of these characteristics but better performance, check out the Perception Carolina 12.)

Submit your own review!

12-06-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 3 of 10

     I bought 10 of these for my canoe livery to rent. Within 3 months, 8 of them developed a crack at the weld point where the seat bottom is attached to the bottom of the hull causing a thru hull leak. Given this happened on 8 out of 10, I would say the engineers need to reconsider the weld point for this.
Other than the leak, we really like the look, size, and how it paddled in the water.

We ran these kayaks on mountain rivers with class I & II rapids with some rock. Perhaps in a lake the weld point would not fail and they would do better. But until the weld points are redesigned I am not buying another one for my business.

Submit your own review!

11-06-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've been paddling this boat for three months. I'm 5'10" and 200 lbs. The boat floats well and has great initial stability. Secondary stability is OK. It handles flat water and small rapids (class 1-2) well. It doesn't like tracking straight, but with a little practice, you can shift your hips while you paddle to keep it straight. It is a sea-cow in windy conditions. I wouldn't use it on a large lake.

Today, I paddled about 4.5 miles on the Moreau River (really a creek) near Jefferson City and averaged about 3 miles per hour while paddling according to my GPS. I could keep a pace of 3.5 mph for at least 20 minutes at a time in an easy rhythm. I sprinted at a "streaking fast" 4.5 mph but could only keep it up for about 1 minute. It is noisy when it plows through the water.

My kids (10 and 7) could paddle this easily around my dad's small pond. It's a little wide for kids though.
Strengths: stable, cheap, fast for a rec kayak.
Weaknesses: No deck rigging, no bulkheads and hatches, cheap backrest.

Submit your own review!

10-24-2007
Submitted by: Cathy T.Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Bought the Prodigy in July along with 2 Acadia Scouts for my kids. We had been renting kayaks for 2 years and decided it was time to bite the bullet.

I was looking for an entry-level kayak - strictly recreational (with a 6 and 8 year old), fairly lightweight (which I realize comes as a tradeoff with price), and inexpensive as this was my first foray in owning a boat. I love the Prodigy. I paid $275 for it at a local rental/boat sales operation. I have only used it on local ponds since I'm not ready for the kids to battle currents but it's a great little kayak. It handles super, very stable and comfortable (although our trips are typically no longer than 2 hours). I wish it were a little longer and lighter but I realize that 43 lbs. is lightweight as far as kayaks go.

It can be a little work to get on top of my van, especially after paddling, but I think it seems heavier since the Scout's are only 25 lbs. I definitely recommend the Prodigy. While it lacks any decking and the cup holder is a little too close to the seat it has a nice open cockpit where I can put a backpack with snacks and drinks. The footpegs are easily adjustable while on the go via a simple sliding bar.

If you're looking for an entry-level boat go with the Prodigy. You can't beat it for the price!

Submit your own review!

09-06-2007
Submitted by: Rob AbramowitzSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     After reading reviews and considering several rec boats, I chose the Prodigy. I have used it in local ponds with much success. It tracks well, moves fairly well, and is quite stable. As a beginner of medium height (5'10'' and 200 lbs) it feels comfortable, rides fairly high, turns and maneuvers very well. For the money it is a great intro boat.
Submit your own review!

08-20-2007
Submitted by: Roger JonesSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     We've tested this on Class I and Class II rivers. Handles well in Class II and skims through chop with minimal splash into the cockpit. Needs a splash skirt. Turns on a dime. Tracks very well. My wife thinks it is very stable and not tipsy. I found that due to my size (5'11"-290 lbs) that I consider it pretty tipsy anytime I shifted my knees. It is only rated at 275 lbs but it still was riding higher in the water compared to our other kayaks. Had to constantly roll the hips to maintain stability through the rapids, but overall a good challenge to overcome.

I believe this is a great kayak for the money for river running for Class II or less. Although riding high in the water, I still bottomed on some rocks that our loaded Keowee 2 went over and didn't touch.

Submit your own review!

08-04-2007
Submitted by: G. ValiquetteSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Primarily a canoeist, I recently entered kayaking with the purchase of the Prodigy 10.0. It tracks well, has excellent primary stability and firms up when leaned. It is definitely not a boat for anything over a class II rapid. When facing a cross wind it tends to weathercock. It definitely needs more flotation in front and rear so that reentry after a dumping can be made safely.

I would recommend this to anyone seeking a first recreational boat for flatwater use on small bays and lakes.

Submit your own review!

07-26-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this kayak for my wife on sale at MC Sports for $300.00, not including local state taxes. After using it a few times I like it almost as much as my SOT kayak, which is an Emotion Exhilarator that I bought used.

It doesn't get a 10 because of two things. One is that it didn't come with any deck rigging, I suppose to keep the price down? And two, the drink holder needs to be moved forward a few inches. A common problem in most kayaks that offer a drink holder. It's almost useless in the existing position for an adult. A child or teen should have no problem with it though. While seated, an adult has to keep their lower back tight up against the back of the seat in order to make use of it. If you start to slide down in the seat at all, your drink is right up against your crotch area, which can be annoying!

It tracks and rides exceptionally well for being only 10' long. We have a 20 pound Schipperke dog that rides with my wife with no problems in the roomy cockpit. It is also very light and easy to haul. My friend went out and bought one at my suggestion and loves it!

Submit your own review!

07-11-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just purchased the Prodigy 10'. Paid $330 from REI. Spent two hours on river. Conditions: Strong wind blowing upstream, 90 degrees, storm front blowing in. GREAT KAYAK. The seat is more comfortable than my WS Pamlico 145T. Plenty of leg room, speed ~ 4MPH. Weight is 42lbs. Easy to lift by myself. Very steady and tracks well for a 10' kayak. Very pleased with my purchase. Didn't feel guilty about buying another kayak. I almost bought the Hurricane 116 Sport (which is a great little boat), but it was priced at $900. I wanted a great little fishing kayak and that's what this is. Great boat for general recreation.
Submit your own review!

07-02-2007
Submitted by: DavidSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased a basic prodigy 10 from EMS @ 279.00 bought two scotty flushmount rod holders and deck rigging for ~ 50.00. I have had it out about 5 times and it is nice. No complaints at all!!!
Only one..... anyone buying an "angler" model is getting ripped off! I almost got a predator, heritage angler or an EXP version. As mentioned, I purchased the accessories for < 60.00. Meaning I got paddle, kayak rigging and a workdek for under 400.00. By comparison the exp angler model rigged the exact minus a hatch was over 200.00 more for the boat alone. First time I rigged a kayak and it took a whopping 45 minutes. Seriously. All in all great boat, tracks well, ports easily and extremely stable!! Great the last 4 outings. I am totally satisfied and enjoying it it.

Submit your own review!

07-02-2007
Submitted by: RickSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my first kayak purchase, though not the first boat I have paddled. I am very happy with it, especially at the price. I would give it a 10 except for two minor flaws. 1) It would be nice if it had some kind of rigging and 2) as others have suggested, the seat can get uncomfortable on a long paddle. Its not excruciating or anything, but I do need some lumbar support if I take it out for an 8 or 10 mile flat-water trip. At this price, you really can't complain. Bought it for about $300 ($380 with paddle, life vest from REI).I'll paddle the P 10.0 this summer, and if I really am sold on paddling, I'll sell it for $200 (or gift it to family), and upgrade to an $800+ "real" boat. $100 to "rent" a boat and see if you want to get seriously into the sport is well worth it.

I did get a little gear-snob attitude from the folks at REI who wanted me to spend a smooth grand. They actually told me I wouldn't enjoy this low-end boat. I nearly listened and didn't buy anything, because I wasn't willing to part with $1000 to try a sport I might not like! I am so glad I ignored them. I love paddling and love the boat; enough that I probably will upgrade at the end of the season. I don't say all of that to rant; but if you are faced with the same attitude, pay no attention and go for it: I am very happy with this inexpensive but very functional boat.

Submit your own review!

06-26-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased a Prodigy from EMS after much research here at Paddling.net. I had tried a Pamilco but I felt tippy at the slightest shift of weight. I decided, as a middle-aged female & newbie to kayaking, secondary stability was my main concern & the Prodigy fit my needs. I work out in a gym 5 days a week, but I was still concerned about my balance & my core stability on water. I had it out today for the second time on a choppy lake (high winds) & we did real well. I was able to stop & take photos without feeling like I was headed for the drink. It's not fast by a long shot & my upper arms get a great workout but it's worth it, while I learn & gain confidence. I love the large cockpit as I am 5'8" & any smaller would make me claustrophobic. The seat is comfy & I have ample leg room. I would recommend to anyone who is new at kayaking & finding their core balance.
Submit your own review!

06-25-2007
Submitted by: ProdigyRobSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     An update...
After about 3 months the little tabs on the backrest broke. So I thought, no problem I'll call Perception. They told me that I would have to take it to the dealer who would send it to them, and then they would evaluate it and send me a new one if it qualified as a warranty issue. That translates into 2 months without my boat in the middle of summer. I bought a backband that was actually designed for a sot but it works very well. I just got a gps so I could track speed and distance. It says I'm averaging 3 mph and maxing out at 5 mph. While I was replacing the seat back, I replaced the seat cushion with some material my company had laying around (we make replacement insoles). Very comfy!!! Even with the broken seat back, I still love my boat.

Submit your own review!

06-14-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My fiancee uses this boat. We purchased new kayaks in April at the local Eastern Mountain Sports (thanks to advice from this forum). I own and use the Pamlico 100. That said, I can offer some feedback based on her use (five days on calm water) and my 2 days in her boat (calm water on the Conn. River).

The price ($299 - 15% ) could not be beat. She got a good deal. She likes it because it is a basic boat. She likes using it on flat water and liked the open cockpit. The fact that it does not have hatch or riggings for gear (there is a small rigging for holding the paddle) was a positive for her... she wanted a basic boat.

Biggest gripe: the seat is not comfortable if you are wearing a PFD. She now prefers to not wear her PFD because of it... not a good idea in my opinion. She also has to use a rolled up towel to give more support for her lower back.
She likes how it looks, how it handles (good tracking and handling).

In comparison to the Pamlico: this boat sits a lot higher in the water and felt less stable to me. It is more tipsy, but one can lean into a turn more than my boat. Handling and tracking, other than this tipsy feeling, is about the same.
The Pamlico seat is much more comfortable. I wear the same model PFD as she does and have no problem.

Good basic boat. It replaced the ever-so popular Swifty from what I have read and heard.

Submit your own review!

06-12-2007
Submitted by: Steve SaylorSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I recently purchased the EXP version of Prodigy 100. So far...so good. Pleasantly surprised how well it paddled at my size. (6' 220lbs)

Lot of features on such a small boat.
Pros: low price,stable, light at 45lbs, front and rear deck rigging, dry storage, room behind seat, cup holder, thigh braces, paddle holder.
Cons: seat not as comfy as my Acadia 12.5, cockpit a little too big for my preference. I think it could have been a little smaller and still given the roomy feel. Will need a skirt for the I's and II's. I got wet on a class I on my first outing.

All in all, I think a good boat. I will report back after a few more excursions.

Submit your own review!

05-30-2007
Submitted by: JRSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I picked up two of these to replace my wife and daughters SOTs. While the price was good, 270 on sale at the local REI, I was not to impressed by the seat. My wife and daughter like the large open cockpit. Boats appear to track fair and handle acceptable. After testing them, I prefer my Pamlico over the Prodigy, but all in all, the price can't be beat.
Submit your own review!

04-30-2007
Submitted by: Paul
Rating: 6 of 10

     I wanted a kayak that would be a pleasure to operate on mainly flat water. I test drove the Pamlico 12 ft which felt way too big and cumbersome. The other one I tried was the Perception Prodigy 100. I was initially going to buy this one because its price was very attractive but when I tried it on the water I found that I felt like I was floating in a bubble on top of the water. I felt like I had to constantly move my hips back and forth to keep balance. I tried tipping it and of course it didn't tip but it felt like it was too high in the water. The one I went with was the Pungo 100 because it sat nicely in the water--felt very stable and just felt right. Even though I spent an extra $200 or so, it was worth it because it feels so good on the water.
Submit your own review!

04-26-2007
Submitted by: ProdigyRobSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     An update. I have now rigged the back deck and installed a rod holder. It works perfectly for my needs. I have had it out in windy (30+ mph gusts) and with a mini skirt it is tolerable. It seems to track into the wind even if it is behind you. Wierd huh? With the new deck rigging, I can't wait to try an overnight trip with it. I love my boat.
Submit your own review!

04-16-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I picked this boat up from a sporting goods store here in Ontario, Canada for $409 plus taxes which I thought was a very good deal. I had a dimension escapade before this kayak and immediatly noticed that this boat had a padded seat, thigh pads, a paddle holder, EASILY adjusted food peddles, a drain plug and grooves moulded into the bottom. It did not have deck rigging which I think is silly. I took it out the other day for a few hours on a windy afternoon. It is far faster and straighter than the Escapade and is much more comfortable...and it only costed $60 more. I think this kayak will suit my needs perfectly when I just want to throw it on my cavalier roof for a photo shoot or to go birding or whatever. Overall I am glad I made the switch and think I got the most boat for my money that there is out there. If I could change anything on it that would be to add deck ricking, that is it...other than that is is a great package. Considering this boat is only a 10 footer so performance is obviously not going to be stellar and considering its remarkably inexpensive price it is only fair to rate this kayak a 10. I highly recommend it.
Submit your own review!

03-29-2007
Submitted by: ProdigyRobSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I am a complete newbie to kayaking. The boat is stable and roomy. I went from a 17' Grumann aluminum canoe that I ended up paddling by myself most of the time. I went to a GOPC demo day and one of their people told me it would be like putting a V8 in a Honda once I got the stroke down, they were right! It is cool to be able to glide up on a blue heron and get within 6' of it. I give it a 9 because I think it is a shame that the stern deck is not rigged. there is no point in rigging the bow deck because you can't reach it from the cockpit anyway. Overall a great boat at a great price.
Submit your own review!

12-26-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     The prodigy 100 is a new kayak out in 2007. The dealer told us it was replacing the swifty. I bought it for my wife who is a first time kayaker and a non-swimmer to boot. The boat is rated up to 275 lbs. and has the larger cockpit so there is no clautophobia. It seems to track well and doesn't appear to have much drag. My wife loves it and was able to learn how to control it very quickly. It proves to be very stable and she was able to get in and out easily. Plenty of room behind the fold down seat to store gear. At $330 it was a great deal. It has adjustable foot rests that can be adjusted on the fly. It has padding to protect your thighs and knees which is exceptional for the price. It is perfect for the first time kayaker. I give it an 8 because at 10 feet, it is a bit short to be a touring kayak and it doesn't have a storage compartment or deck rigging. Still a wonderful recreational kayak.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Shop these fine Retailers





Luxury Kayaking Trips
ORCA WHALES, EAGLES
SAN JUAN ISLANDS
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.