Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Kwik Tek > Airhead TK-1 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Airhead TK-1 Kayak by Kwik Tek


Rated: 8.5/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-16-2013
Submitted by: Rick WestlakeSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I wanted this kayak to use as a dinghy/tender for solo sailing. I'd gone through a couple of other choices ... my old Perception Keowee (which I swamped the first time I tried to get back up on board my sailboat), a Saturn KaBoat (which is too wide to use as a kayak - and the seat is too high - but it's a decent rowboat, after you spend all the time and effort inflating it) and a Sevylor Tahiti (sloppy-floppy inflatable that paddles half-ass-decently with a kayak paddle).

First PLUS: The package is LIGHT! The kayak comes boxed, strapped-up with a carrying handle instead a case; two heavy-duty straps with Fastex buckles that snap around the folded kayak, and an adjustable shoulder-straps joins them. Basic and light and convenient!

The TK-1 is reinforced properly, with PVC tubes inside a waterproofed-nylon hull and tubes. It's easy to inflate - I have a West Marine double-action pump, and it took 30 double-strokes to inflate the floor TIGHT and 35 double-strokes to pump up the port & starboard tubes. One thing I'll note - you might need silicone grease on the threads of the Boston valves, at least the first time.

The boat was stable and non-tippy as I climbed down the swim-ladder and boarded it. I could have done better, if I'd tied the amidships carry-handle to the boarding ladder in the first place; but it worked, that's the main thing!

It's stable and roomy enough that I was able to rise to my knees, to climb back up the swim-ladder and board my sailboat again. It was also stable and comfy in the wake of a power boat that was buzzing around the anchorage as if he wanted to make us all seasick.

It doesn't track as well as a hard kayak, but that's hardly surprising! There is a directional fin back aft, but you're still going to have to take short "stabbing" strokes with your paddle to keep this boat going reasonably straight. Once I got the feel of that, I was quite satisfied with it.

Two regrets - I didn't take my GPS along to check my paddling speed. And I didn't try "falling out of it," to see whether or not I could recover from a capsize. But it takes up only a little room in the lazarette of my sailboat ... it inflates quickly and deflates even quicker ... and it's enough kayak to get me from my anchorage to the shore, and to bring back drinking water and ice and beer so I can keep on trucking!
(Does this make me a fellow Airhead?)

Submit your own review!

07-17-2013
Submitted by: Gary ClarkeSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     After having hardshell SOT's which my wife could not carry anymore, and were troublesome to transport on the motor home, I decided to explore the world of inflatables. The Airhead ahtk-1 was very low cost, but surprising good quality. This is actually excellent for my wife, a little small for me at 6 ft, 210 lbs. Typical 3 air chambers with 'boston Valves' it inflates quickly and easily. Love the safety orange color.

This boat has 4 2" x 4" strakes on the bottom, but are not very helpful on open water. It waggles a lot while paddling, I'd give it a 4-5 score for tracking. I'd give it a 8 for design and construction. The literature says that this kayak is 9 ft 9 inches. when inflated to the correct pressure I measure it a about 9 ft 3 inches (maybe it will stretch in time).

Overall for my wifes recreation use I give it an 8. I might be tempted to run class I or II but nothing more severe. It's not a pool toy, but it is a conservative recreational kayak at best.

Submit your own review!

10-01-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Well, if you're reading this review then you're interested in a lightweight, easy to use, inexpensive inflatable kayak. How do I know that?? Because that's exactly what I was interested in when I found the Kwik Tek Airhead TK-1 inflatable kayak.

I purchased the TK-1 as a first kayak. I had never paddled a kayak at all before. I really wanted something that was going to get me back out onto the water after a few years worth of absence. I researched quite a bit online and found the TK-1 late one night while searching around some different websites. I was having trouble finding information about it because it was listed as an "Airhead TK-1." It took me a bit of searching to determine that it sometimes was called a "Kwik Tek TK-1." I navigated here to paddling.net and found some favorable reviews and a few favorable posts in the message board and decided to give it a go. I got mine for a GREAT price on clearance at a big box store. Look around and you can find one for well under the MSRP.

I got the boat home and wanted to set it up right away. I took the TK-1 out of the box, unrolled it, and inspected it. Right off the bat I was fairly impressed by the build of the boat. It had really nice fabric covering the tubes that hold the air, and a really heavy duty looking hull. The hull really impressed me. It really looked like it would be able to stand up to quite a beating without any kind of downside. The D-rings seemed well made, all of the seams were sewn together well, the seat seemed really nice. The overall impression I got upon initial inspection was great. The ONLY issue I had was one of the skeg fins on the bottom of the boat was a bit bent. I figured it was like that after being packaged in the box. I later found out that an easy fix for this is to take the boat and leave it out in the sun bottom up for about 15 minutes. I did that and the fin flexed itself back into it's normal position... problem fixed, for free!!!

I grabbed my electric pump and hooked it up to the TK-1. The Boston Valves with the boat seemed to be pretty good quality. They screwed in very tightly and seemed better made than some other Boston Valves I had looked at. I started pumping the boat up. The TK-1 is wanting you to pump it up to 2 PSI. I quickly discovered that my electric pump wasn't up to the task. I couldn't get the boat very firm at all. I resigned myself to just putting it all together to see what it looked like. I hooked the seat up and was really impressed at how nice the boat looked. It looked like something that would really hold up well. I tore the boat down and ordered a bellows foot pump online. Luckily for me the pump came in just a few days so I was ready to get out on the water.

After the pump showed up, I took the boat to a local lake just to make sure that it would work at all. The TK-1 has a posted capacity of 300 lbs. I weigh about 240 or so on a good day, and I was a bit worried that the boat might not hold me. When I got to the lake I got the boat all set up. With the bellows foot pump the boat inflated extremely quickly. I had it all pumped up and ready to go in less than five minutes. I attached the seat and grabbed my paddle.

Now, keep in mind this is my first kayak and my first time IN a kayak. With the boat in the water, as I was standing next to it I felt that it didn't seem very sturdy. It wobbled and rocked as I was walking it out to about knee deep in the water. I really was worried that the boat would flip over when I tried to get into it. My fears of that were soon dismissed, however, because as soon as I sat in the boat it immediately became rock solid. The weight in the boat caused the rocking to stop and the boat floated very well. My 240 pounds didn't even cause a kink in the side tubes, and the boat was floating very well. My initial fears that the boat might not support my weight turned out to be unfounded.

I began to paddle the boat, and it was going where I wanted it to. It was working. That trip was very short. I really just wanted to make sure that the boat would support my weight, so after about 10 minutes I packed it up and came home. A week later I went for another paddle, this being the first true trip in the boat. I have to say that the boat exceeded my expectations in several ways.

First off, I felt that the boat moved along at a pretty decent speed. I have nothing to compare it to, but I didn't feel like I was going slow. With that said, I didn't feel that I was going "fast" either.
Next, the boat was extremely stable in the water. Even going over waves and wake from boats I never once felt like I was anywhere near tipping. I believe that you would have to try pretty hard to get the TK-1 to tip over with you in it.

Next, the boat tracked well... or didn't... depending on your definition of tracking, which I'm getting a bit confused on myself. The boat went in a straight line pretty well as long as I was paddling it. It kind of slightly zig-zagged across the water as I paddled, but for the most part it went in the direction I wanted it to and got where I meant to go. This could be partly due to my lack of knowledge on paddling, but I believe that the boat went pretty straight. I've watched quite a few videos of inflatable kayaks online, and I felt that mine wasn't wagging back and forth anymore than any of the others that I have watched. Now, where I would say the tracking is bad, however, is that as soon as I stopped paddling the boat quickly wanted to "skid" to the side. It would start turning in circles. The small skeg fins didn't seem to make much of a difference for this, and I felt a bit let down that it did this almost immediately after I stopped paddling. I let a bit of air out of the floor panel at this point, and it seemed to help the issue a bit.

On returning to shore I noticed that my floor bladder wasn't centered, and I contributed at least a little of the skidding action to the fact that the bladder wasn't centered. With that said, I believe I am going to add a bigger fin or skeg of some type to try and help it go straighter when I'm not paddling.

Also, the seat was extremely comfortable. I thought it provided excellent back support and felt good on my backside with the inflated seat bottom. The foot brace also was nice, as I found myself using it almost naturally. I think it might be odd to try and paddle without one. The entire boat, actually, was quite comfortable. I felt that I could be out for several hours without any real issues.

Last observation was that it didn't leak in any water. The small amount of water that was in the boat was easily attributed to the paddle splashing some water in. All in all I stayed VERY dry inside the boat, which is nice. After paddling for probably about 2 kilometers I finally made it back to my starting point. The boat tears down quickly and easily. In less than 5 minutes I had the boat completely broken down and was throwing it back in my trunk.

When I got it home I set out to get the TK-1 dry. I had read that some kayaks with the bladders inside of the fabric covering can be hard to dry. I had no issues with this, and this is how I did it. I first take the boat out to the back deck and set it on it's bottom, uninflated. Mind you, this is NOT in direct sunlight. I let it sit like that for several hours, then go out and flip it over. I let it sit like that for several hours. After that, I take it into my garage and hang it from the ceiling. I leave it like that overnight. Each time I have used the TK-1 this has been my method of drying, and within 24 hours the boat seems completely dry to me.

All in all, I am EXTREMELY happy with my TK-1. It seems to be a great little boat for the money that I spent on it. I think that for about $20 and some home engineering I can make it track quite a bit better, as well. I have some ideas to fix that, none of which are extremely complicated. I think it's great to be able to throw the boat in the trunk and go to the lake and be out on the water in 10 minutes or less. It's also nice when I go to store it that I can just toss it in a closet.

The TK-1 has gotten me hooked on kayaks, and convinced me that inflatable will be the way to go for me. I have already begun researching my next inflatable, as I would like something a bit larger to do some camping with. But for now my TK-1 is doing great and giving me lots of fun. I would highly recommend this kayak to anyone looking for an inexpensive inflatable that is also pretty well made.

Submit your own review!

06-11-2008
Submitted by: T.GlacySend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My wife and I just spent our first day on the water with the 2 person version of this boat....7 hours and 13 miles down the lower Saco River here in Maine.

Pros: Boat inflated quickly and easily, looked fantastic, and handled the 2 of us plus a days worth of gear with no problem. Boat was stable, comfortable (I was impressed that even after a whole day in the boat my back felt fine... even in my Dagger kayak I need to take breaks every couple hours due to back issues). It is also quite portable, we had to portage around 1 dam, and we were also able to deflate it and load it into our Toyota Matrix at the end of the trip (something we cannot do with our hard-hull kayaks and one of the big reasons we purchased this inflatable. Overall very good bang for the $.

Cons: Did not track well at all on this body of water...even with the 4 mini-skegs on the bottom the boat tended to drift all over the place. Being an inflatable it also was quite slow in the water compared to our other kayaks and canoe. Took a lot of paddle power to keep it moving with any decent speed. As the day wore on we noticed that the bladders seemed to be losing a bit of pressure... it wasn't terrible but definitely noticeable. We concluded it was due to the drop in temperature and loss of direct sunlight hitting the boat as we neared the end of our trip at dusk. Finally, as we were breaking down after taking out of the water I noticed there was a spot on the underside of the boat where the seam-tape had pulled apart. There was a bit of water in the boat at the end of our trip, and I would attribute most of that to water that came in off our paddles etc... but this spot makes me nervous and I will need to figure out a way to re-seal this portion of it.

Submit your own review!

03-24-2008
Submitted by: nick stamatesSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought this kayak as an optional light class 2-3 ww boat for my girlfriend. When I received it in the mail and pumped it up it looked great!! Then I tested it out on the lake I live on and quickly realized I was taking on water?? hmmmm... water was filling up in the crack between the wall air chambers and the floor chamber = 3inches of water in 5 minutes.

I called the manufacturer and they told me to try seam sealer, I bought 5 tubes and left no doubt. Still leaked! I then bought roofers caulk and filled every seam on the boat. $30 later the problem was fixed but I called the manufacturer back anyways and demanded they send me a new boat!! 2 months later after being on backorder I got my new boat. Guess what? The first defective boat I got didn't have rubber pvc paint coated on the cordora fabric. This is why I had the water coming in everywhere, it soaked right through the fabric and into the boat. Once I pumped my new boat up I tested it out and no problems since!!

I know for a fact that this is why so many other people have had trouble with it taking on water/ not drying out, somebody at the factory wasn't putting on the PVC paint. Boat tracks goof for an inflatable and built tough, Great soft WW boat, If you are ripping the bottom hull material, then you are dragging in in glass, there is no reason this material should rip. It's built tough if you don't have a defect.

My advice, buy a Sevylor Colorado inflatable, Kwik tech customer service is awful and I see this boat in shops all the time and they don't have the PVC coating on them, quality control must have got the year off!! Seriously... buy a Sevylor colorado for an extra 100 bucks, it's night and day

Submit your own review!

08-28-2007
Submitted by: jdmSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     $179.99 on Walmart.com. You can't beat the price. This a good kayak for the price. Inflates pretty well. You have to manipulate the bladders a little to get them to inflate properly, but no big deal. I bought this for my stepson while my wife & I paddle in our Sunny. He loved it and wants to go out again. I would highly recommend this IK for someone who's just getting into paddling and doesn't want to sink $600-$800 into a high quality IK. Hey, if you don't like it, sell it on ebay.
Submit your own review!

06-20-2007
Submitted by: Chris GouletSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     This inflatable does the job without having to work overtime to pay for it. Three PVC bladders are stuffed in coated nylon chambers. This kayak probably won't last 15 years.

I evaluated this kayak for solo camping feasibility. My backpack just fits in the front, and I can squeeze my feet on either side of the pack. Another bag fits behind the seat. The seat has to be moved back, but the straps are too short to double up, so I just tied them with knots to the loops.
Then I evaluated the feasibility of having a second person aboard. I placed a Therm-a-Rest chair in front, and a small passenger can sit in the back with legs crossed, or up on the side tubes.
9 ft. 9 in., 27.7 lbs.

Strengths
The underside is tough enough for some adventure. Handled two-foot lake whitecaps with barely a sprinkle coming in, and no worries about tipping over. Tracking is marginal but it can turn on a dime. It has a self-bailing screw plug in the back.

Weaknesses
One chamber was lumpy, so I had to deflate it and adjust the bladder. Out on the lake, I measured its speed by GPS and concluded that it's a bit of a 'pig', getting 4.5 km/hr on sustainable paddling vs 5.0 with my old Hutchinson Marsouin, that died after a trip on the Amazon River. The underside fabric remains a bit corrugated even after inflation, and contributes some drag. Water seeps into the bladder chambers, and to dry them out I have to open all the zippers, and place a fan in the area for about a week. Could get slimy in there if it's rolled wet inside. I'll have to get a duffel bag for it, wish it came with one. Well the price was right.

Submit your own review!

05-03-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The only problem with this inflatable is the floor bladder is made of vinyl and rips easily, bring some vinyl repair kit on your trip, because if you overinflate it, it will rip. Wish the manufacturers made it from thick rubber. The 2 other tubes on the sides seem to be ok because they don't get as much stress as the floor bladder. Other than that its a fine craft and works well.
Submit your own review!

05-01-2007
Submitted by: max fooSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Was impressed how well it performed, beats some costing hundreds more. This is a very rugged and well designed inflatable kayak. It is very portable and lightweight and great for backpacking to a remote location. Keep it in the trunk for when you get that urge to paddle when you see a new body of water.
Submit your own review!

07-24-2006
Submitted by: jim repkaSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     have had rigid pacific kayak for years,but live in condo now so i need inflatable.tracks well , little effort to maintain course .foot rest in floor helps to deliver more power to the stroke.have used only on lakes --have no idea of white water performance-fine kayak for recreation use .well built with good stabilty.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale