Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Dagger > Echo 14.0 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Echo 14.0 Kayak by Dagger


Rated: 9.4/10 Based On: 5 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-03-2013
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love this boat. It is my play boat. With a large cockpit, it's easy to get in and out of the boat. When the skeg is down, it feel like a 17 footer, when the skeg is up it turns like a 10 footer.

It's too big of a hole for a skirt, but rain gear fixes that problem. I have taken it camping on rivers with lots of logs, and was able to load it with a tent and other supplies.

It's durable and a great boat to have in your fleet. It's my beater boat, when I don't know what the river will have in store for me, I grab this boat.

Submit your own review!

08-02-2011
Submitted by: NeilSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a used Dagger Echo about a month ago. I have used it a lot in that time including as a platform for coaching junior and women sailors my sailing club's sailing camps. There I paddled 5 to 6 hours each day for five days in a row and found the Echo to be a great kayak for my purposes. The seat back is adjustable up and down and forward and back and is very comfortable (something I was concerned with due to a previous back injury). It is very stable and tracks well without the skeg with proper paddling technique. I have been sailing for many years and understand boats, wind and water. I often read reviews about kayaks that don't track well which I believe are mostly due to improper paddling technique. If the boat wanders somewhat, there is a reason and there is a paddle technique that can correct it. The Echo can paddle straight forward and backward and can be turned quickly, for a 14' boat, when needed. I don't know why this kayak was discontinued, except that perhaps it is too similar to the Wilderness Systems popular Pungo (owned by the same company that owns Dagger).
Overall I'm very happy with this kayak.

Submit your own review!

08-23-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a 30-day followup to my previous post below. The Echo continues to be an outstanding kayak for flat water applications. I've had it in a variety of lakes and ponds and it serves me quite well. I can store three fishing poles in the front section of the kayak and a tackle box, backback and safety pack in the cockpit immediately behind the seat without having to put anything in the dry storage cavity. One thing to note is the advertised 50lb. weight is pretty stretched. I'd say it's more like 75 pounds and at 14 foot long, it's a bit ackward to muscle up on the truck. However, I use the Yakima boat loader to get it up by myself on my truck topper which makes it a much easier task. If I didn't have that nifty device I'd be a hurtin'.
Submit your own review!

07-17-2006
Submitted by: AdamSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Well, after looking, researching and comparing prices, I finally picked up an Echo 14. I bought this boat for my wife I have a Catylist 12.8 We paddled on a small lake first to get familiar with it and test it out some more. It is a great boat. Very stable, tracks well and has a great deal of room for the paddler as well as storage. The drop skeg is a very nice addition. It deffinitely makes a difference in open water. We went to the Little Blue River yesterday and out it to the test. Once again, very happy. This is a great boat for a beginner as well as a do all boat for an intermediate paddler. We are looking forward to doing some 2 and 3 day trips.
Submit your own review!

07-07-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     After extensive research into the many rec kayaks out there I ended up buying the Dagger Echo 14.0. It's a bit longer than my target of 11-12' however, I'm glad I went for the additional 2 ft. I had to come to the realization that most of my kayaking will be on flat water or slow moving rivers. This kayak tracks very well with the drop down rudder and is quite faster than I've ever been in a kayak before. It is very stable and the seat has all the adjustments I was looking for on a kayak. My back is the first to go on me and if I can keep my back comfortable, I can easily double my float time. The large cockpit also allows for my ocassional squirming around, seat adjusting, etc. The cockpit is pretty large at about 55" long. This cockpit size allows me to easily insert a couple of fishing poles into the front cavity with very little imact on my imediate working space. Plus, one additional feature of the cockpit is the large accessible space immediately behind the seat. There is no rim to interfere with placing a small cooler, tackle box or dry bag. Of course this is in addition to the huge dry storage cavity in the stern. Overall I think I'm pretty well pleased with this 14.0 Echo. One other thing to note is that it is stated to be 50 lbs. yet, it carries more like 55 or more. So, I bought one of those little wheelie tripods things and it really made the difference.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale