Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Dagger > Redline Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Redline Kayak by Dagger


Rated: 9.36/10 Based On: 14 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-23-2005
Submitted by: JOE CSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I've had my Redline for about two and a half months now and I find it a superb little boat. I am 6' with size 12 feet and although I had to do a few modifications (I took out the thigh braces and stuck foam to the inside of the cockpit where my knees rest - and removed the full plate foot rest and put in a couple of chocks of foam) with these mods it is extremely comfortable and I often spent up to nine hours paddling down the river (the Trent). I find the boat very stable both when running weirs and unpredictable water to jumping off the top of locks (16'). Surfing in the sea is a real pleasure to. Top marks!!!
Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
07-23-2003
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Use my redline for Great Lakes surfing and some river running. Does a great job at both. Rolls easily and tracks well on the flat streches for a WW boat. Enough volume and length to move well in surf zone.
Submit your own review!

04-07-2003
Submitted by: EricSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I had a Super Sport before I got my Redline. The redline is alot more stable, roles easier, and surfs better. It doesn't squirt quite as well but it does a fine job. I am 6'1" and I don't have any trouble fitting in it. A note to taller paddlers though my boat has the pillar cut out so my heals can touch this adds alot of foot room I am not sure if every boat came that way so if you don't fit cut it out. I have run so pretty big water in the redline without any trouble. I haven't tried any new boats in a while but the redline is the best all-round boat I have paddled.
Submit your own review!

03-04-2002
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is the best all around kayak anyone getting into the sport could buy, its versatile to any type of water you are running,easy to roll and just plain out bad.
Submit your own review!

10-31-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     Excellent C-1 conversion. This boat surfs front and sideways like crazy and does wonderful flat spins. Tracks nicely and carves turns well. Reasonable speed and acceleration. I had Dagger supply the boat new as C-1; the thigh position under the cockpit edge is pretty tight and my legs cramp a lot more than in my old Atom C-1 with the same basic outfitting. If it were as comfortable as the Atom, I'd give it a 10.
Submit your own review!

02-05-2001
Submitted by: harriss cottinghamSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Redline is a great all around boat, it has the capability to go from play boat to creek boat. Thatís not saying much when you see a XXX run the Green, but my point is that the boat is a well laid plan. It has all the characteristics of a good all around boat. Its a must for ones quiver of boats, we all need a quiver these days. P.S Pray for rain.
Submit your own review!

02-01-2001
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Redline is everything Dagger said it is with much more foot+knee room than the RPM. I'm 5'11" and it's comfortable. It surfs great. At a length of 8'6" it feels short and made everything I tried a little easier.
Submit your own review!

10-23-2000
Submitted by: MikeSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This boat is a little play and a little river runner. It doesn't do both perfectly but does let you have a good time trying. I have to admit I've been a little jealous of the guys pulling off the rodeo moves in their slicey little boats, but the Redline will let you get a nice stern squirt and sets up for drops well (occasionally the stern does stick on a drop if your not careful). It's easy to roll and feels relatively stable through boils, across eddy lines, through haystacks, etc. The planing hull is sweetness, it's nice step up if you've been paddling something like an RPM. Surfing this thing is the best, even on little waves the boat goes where you want it to go and sticks in a wave as long as you want. I have to say that I do feel a little cramped in the Redline. I'm 5'10", 175 lbs, and after about 2 hours of paddling I feel like the Thanksgiving wishbone - my thighs have been stretched apart all day without quite snapping out from my hips. Plus my size 10 feet feel like they are at about the limit with the bulkhead moved all the way back. There simply isn't much, if any, room to move your legs or feet around to get a needed stretch now and then. Like an earlier poster mentioned, I'm having so much fun I hardly notice the pain, but I do ache for awhile after I get out. Overall this boat is a blast, the comfort factor is a bit of a pain, but the ride more than makes up for it.
Submit your own review!

04-24-2000
Submitted by: Simon BurrSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     To all who are tall and paddling a Redline! Replace the bulkhead with one from the infrared, it fits great and adds the room you need. I highly suggest it.
Submit your own review!

12-02-1999
Submitted by: Tim MattsonSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Heavy people beware! I bought the Redline since its advertised as a boat that can be used for both river running and play-boating. At 5'8" and 225 pounds, I am within the advertised weight range.

Unfortunately, I am too heavy for the boat! I can sink my bow just by leaning forward gently in flat water. This means it works as a specialized play boat, but at my weight, its not the "river running play boat" I expected.

OK, so maybe I should accept my mistake, sell the boat and get a higher volume "fat boy boat". The problem is that the Dagger Redline is the most amazing ocean surf boat I have every paddled. On a steap ocean wave, the bow sticks out in the air and the boat's planing hull really shines. At the same time, the beveled chine makes it forgiving when a monster wave collapses and you need to go into survival mode.

So, I'm going to keep the Redline and use it exclusively as a surf boat. This means I'll need to buy another boat for river running and use up even more of my limited garage space (a fact that won't score points with my wife).

Submit your own review!

09-20-1999
Submitted by: Greg WeatherbeeSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I'm new to play boating and recently purchased the Redline. I paddled the Wavesport X and I much prefer the Redline! It is by far the most comfortable kayak I have ever paddled. My first time out I was able to stern squirt with ease, enders-no problem, surfing-without effort! In short this is the best boat I have ever been in period! Runs rivers with no problem to boot!
Submit your own review!

07-29-1999
Submitted by: St WebbSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great boat. Surfs like crazy and easy to squirt and ender. I'm starting to learn to cartweel but the water level doesn't stay consistant enough to get good practice. It's really not a very comfortable boat for me but I usually don't notice because I'm having so much fun. I'm 6'1, 200lbs and have size 13 feet. The feet are the problem. I'm sure you could remove the bulkhead and foam out the bow but I can live with a little discomfort for now.
Submit your own review!

12-11-1998
Submitted by: H.R. HallSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have tried all of the Dagger line out and really do like their Newest Play-Runner. I call it this due to the fact that you can still run rivers in it with no problems. It is a Play machine that does not have to stay in one hole all day. Even though it is not suggested to Creek in, it boofed like crazy; I was literally flying off rocks. It was a totally different ride. The Redline was easy to Squirt and was more comfortable to me than the Vertigo. I am hooked on bulkheads over the footbraces, which the Redline is equipped with a bulkhead. Very comfortable and easy to do tricks in of all kinds. Buy this Boat, Today!!
Submit your own review!

09-03-1998
Submitted by: H.R. HallSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The first time I sat in this brand new, fresh on the market boat I knew it was right. It is comfortable and roomy; I am six feet tall and 205lbs. The Redline is easy to paddle, handles well, is easy to roll and twist and spin and ender and rotate, whatever you want it will do. This boat is a combination of a rodeo and river running machine; Whichever you choose to do It will do it, with tons of fun to go along. I love this kayak!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Shop these fine Retailers





Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale