Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Perception > Aloha 8.5 Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Aloha 8.5 Kayak by Perception


Rated: 6.5/10 Based On: 10 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



06-14-2012
Submitted by: CassSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     When I first bought my Aloha, it was very hard to keep it straight. But I told myself I would master it's quirks and now I really love it! I'm unconscious of any overcompensating maneuvers to control it and it is like second nature to me. I'm over 200 lbs. but it holds me just fine. It is only like 8 inches deep to start with, so yes I lowride a bit, but who cares, I'm having fun. It is also good if you want to really move it out, like I do, and get a good speed built up and a great paddling workout. Low, close sides plus the short bow allow you to dig in your paddle for a full, close stroke from bow to rear. Yes, more tippy than a rental, but it's only a matter of time before you master the balance of this kayak.

I would fully suggest this kayak to those willing to learn the techniques required of using it...a great bargain, if this is you!! Also, love the lightweight, and short size, which fits perfectly in the longbed of my 4 X 4.

Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
01-30-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     bought the Aloha 8.5 for Christmas present for our 6 1/2 year old son...he loves it. It's lightweight and easy for him to paddle and handle and has plenty of growing room for years to come...LOVE IT
Submit your own review!

08-18-2010
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 4 of 10

     This might be good for surfing as it's very light, but for a Class II river - it's very tippy. Also, it's very small and even a moderate weight guy would find it difficult to fit. No real tracking.
Submit your own review!

08-11-2010
Submitted by: wlnSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     I bought this kayak to ride waves (that's how it is advertised) but it is not good for that. It Pearls, turns uncontrollably, and mine leaks badly with no way to get the water out. Mine will do a sharp 180 when I stop paddling. I let someone 30# lighter use it and he had the same problems. The only use would be as a light weight plaything for the kids assuming you have one that doesn't leak. I bought mine at West Marine and it is labeled the Mainstream Aloha 8.5 but I think is the same boat. A complete waste of $300.00 which I will be asking back.
Submit your own review!

11-18-2009
Submitted by: ChuckCSend Email
Rating: 2 of 10

     UGH! It might be okay in the surf, but that's about it... I liken it to paddling a 2x4 upstream with a plastic spoon. Save your pennies... spend a little more, and buy something else.
Submit your own review!

05-01-2009
Submitted by: radrasSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     We have a couple of these and they're great toys. I'm about 200# and max out this kayak, but my considerably lighter wife and my 13yo son love them. They're easy to handle and maneuver in waves and shallows, and not intimidating for first-timers. They load and store easy, we take them anywhere there is recreational water. They ride nice on the roof rack of a little car. They will be much more fun for the family than the inner-tubes and other toys on the house boat.
Submit your own review!

03-16-2009
Submitted by: KathieSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I can't say enough good things about this kayak, what a sweet little boat. The Aloha is easy to get on and off, is very stable and can really carve up a wave. I take this boat in the river and lagoon as well and it is always fun to paddle.
Submit your own review!

04-05-2007
Submitted by: JameySend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I bought one last summer and used it mostly in the NJ surf. Used it a couple of times in rivers as well. It seems like it's a really good boat...But I'm at the top end of the weight capacity, I'll probably be selling it and getting a bigger boat before returning to the surf. It's a wet ride in a river for me and it tends to nose-dive in the waves a lot.
Submit your own review!

04-03-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Purchased 2 of theses on clearance and local retailer. The are light and fun to play with, turns well, great for the kids in flat water. Recently we took and 8 mile paddle and my 14 year old chose one of these, she enjoyed it over our Yak. I tried it, its definitely not made for a 200+lbs person, almost sank the little thing. Priced right, under 250 with paddle and seat.
Submit your own review!

04-05-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Very stable and easy to paddle, seems lighter than the 37 pound specs. It's a little slow, but that's for 190 pound paddler. Here's the good news - it carves easily and turns/spins with little effort. Even 180s are possible. almost Perl-proof up to 4 feet even with a late take-off. It is a little loose and side slips with only a slight molded skeg. A great beginner/intermediate boat and can double as a beginner flat water boat for friends who are afraid to get in any kayak because they are "too tippy" - I've even paddled it in tidal creeks for short 2 mile work outs.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Austin Canoe & Kayak
Over 80 models to choose from! 15% off ALL accessories with any boat purchase.
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Zoar Outdoor
Free Shipping on all New Kayaks!
Shop these fine Retailers





GRUMMAN CANOES
FREE SHIPPING on all canoes until May 14
See Paddling.net for great reviews
www.canoeinglife.com

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Paddling.net Sweepstakes Shirt Sale