Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Prijon > Touryak Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Touryak Kayak by Prijon


Rated: 8.63/10 Based On: 8 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



02-01-2011
Submitted by: PWSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I am a big fan of Prijon kayaks and the Touryak is the fourth one I have added to my fleet. I was looking for something that would cruise better than my Combi WW and would be more maneuverable that my Kodiak. This boat really fit that niche. I played around with one of these in my rolling class and decided buy one last spring.

On my first trip out I spent about four hours playing around on Cassadaga Lake in New York. It was very windy and choppy that day. This boat paddled straight with out much weather cocking. It is stable, fairly fast and very maneuverable for it's size. I paddled down the outlet of the lake up to the beaver dam. The outlet narrows down to about three feet wide and I had no problem at all making the meandering turns that trap bigger boats like my Kodiak.

The next outing was in Whitefish Bay area. We got blown off of Lake Superior so we paddled about 10 miles up the Taquamon River. It was extremely windy and had good size waves rolling down stream when wherever the river faced the wind. This boat had no problem at all taking the waves and wind, it was stable and tracked straight.

Like all Prijons it is very sturdy. It has deck lines, cargo nets and dry hatches that really stay dry. It has a couple of nice features for a paddle/float re-entry. The seat is comfortable and adjustable but the back rest always pops our and gets in the way when re-entering. The only thing that I do not like about this boat is that it seems to plow water a bit as if it had to much weight up front, even with the seat all the way back.

If I could only have one boat this is the one I would choose. It is stable enough for fishing, fast enough for touring and can handle big water too.

Submit your own review!

12-06-2010
Submitted by: JMKSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I purchased this kayak used and have been using it for 1 season so far. This is my first step up from a recreational kayak to a touring kayak. I purchased the boat because I day paddle very frequently in the spring/summer/fall, and we typically take a 3 day kayak camping trip every year.

Here is what I like: the boat is quite stable and comfortable. Even when the whitecaps are flinging over the deck I don't get that "I'm going swimming any moment" sensation. Also there is the opportunity to move my legs and feet around so that I can change position a bit and not stiffen up on a long paddle. I also like the capacity that the boat has. It can handle the tent, sleeping bag/pad, clothes, food, and misc. gear for a 3 day trek without having to strap so much on the deck that I feel like a pack mule.

The thigh pads and foot pedals are comfortable. The seat itself is comfortable (but not as comfortable as our old Dagger). The tracking seems to be fine, except in heavy cross winds. I do not have the optional rudder which might solve that issue. The speed of the Kayak is OK, but not fantastic. I think that speed is the tradeoff for the comfort and capacity of the boat. Still, when I go paddling with friends speed is never really an issue. It still travel a heckava lot faster than my recreational kayak.

If your kayak use is similar to mine then I would recommend looking at this boat.

Submit your own review!

01-05-2010
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I was looking for an upgrade from my 12.7 Dagger oil-canned hull boat. This was an option to try at a paddlefest. It was roomy and stable, yet faster (than I was used to). I then tried the Seayak and felt a little tippy. The big bonus with the Touryak is that it fit my 6'3" husband who has size 14 1/2 feet.

Soon after I also bought a Seayak. I would marry the Seayak and ended up selling the Touryak. Despite setting the seat back as far as possible, we both felt like the bow of the boat was always plowing down. It is a weird - and not exceptionally fun sensation that we both individually expressed. We are average weight, so it wasn't a weight thing. I called the company and they recommended setting the seat back (which he had done).

I would say that the Touryak is for a relatively inexperienced or docile boater that likes a lot of stability and good quality plastic. However if you like to have a little more fun and aren't too tall - go with the Seayak!

Submit your own review!

01-24-2009
Submitted by: RGBSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had 3 kayaks to date and was wanting to go further, faster and on rougher water. I am a taller paddler and hate kayaks with a low and small cockpit that leave me wedged in and unable to move my legs around for break. I did quite a lot of looking around and decided on the Touryak and have not been sorry. It is as described by Prijon a good all around boat that balances speed, stability and comfort in the balance I was looking for.

I have been on some rough water with very strong winds and it handles it with ease and at no time yet have I felt I have come near its limits. Long paddles are a pleasure with the seat. Speed is good and I have no trouble averaging up to 5mph in it. What I have found in this and my other kayaks is a big affect on speed is the paddle. I find with this kayak and my other ones an almost 20% increase in speed when using a carbon paddle compared to a fibreglass shaft paddles with a stiff good quality plastic blade.

If you want an all round kayak for comfort, stability and reasonable speed then I would highly recommend it. If you want to go faster then a longer skinnier kayak maybe the go but the compromise is that it will be heavier, probably less leg room and much less stable. If you tip or have to do Eskimo rolls that will slow you down as well.

One thing to watch is the keyhole hatch is not water tight but it is still good to keep things basically dry but use a dry bag for small things like phone and keys.

Submit your own review!

08-19-2008
Submitted by: RRSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     First let me say Iím fairly new to kayaking, one season but I have tried several Kayaks. When going out with another, also new to the sport kayaker but in a different kayak, I found it impossible to keep up. I really had to work hard and still could not match the slow speeds of the person I was with. They had to always wait for me. I tried changing paddle strokes, angles, sitting forward more, you name it. Nothing worked. Not sure if it was me or the kayak, I asked if we could trade for a bit. Right away I knew it wasnít me. They are just SLOW. They looks good and are very comfortable and handles well. Dry hulls are mostly dry but would recommend anything you need to stay dry be put in dry bags. If you get one, donít go out with any thermoforms or fiberglass boats. They will leave you behind with little effort. You will work hard to go slow. If your looking for a fast boat, keep looking.
Submit your own review!

08-02-2007
Submitted by: StrikerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I am no pro and I don't have a lot off experience, but one thing I do is to do my homework with anything I purchase.

I looked and studied every kayak that was available to me over 300km radius and every time I thought I may have found what I wanted, it died a miserable death once I had a look at it. The Prijon kayaks are so far superior in Quality then most kayaks, it's not funny.

I love the look and the finish on these Prijon plastics - the blow molding finish is superb. Sorry, I just think the rotomould and other kayak plastics look and feel cheap my personal preference. I could have purchased 4 different model Prijon's they're that good. Did I mention the seat... wow! quality and comfort not some spongy pad or foam. brilliant.

As you can see I love my kayak no wonder you never you see any second hand... I have seen the light. I decided for the Touryak because I need something with good stability so I can get my wife into the game who is currently playing around on a 3m sit on top. Happy paddling buy a Prijon, any model, you won't be disappointed.

Submit your own review!

07-25-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     A fine boat. I have nothing but praise for it.
Submit your own review!

10-23-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Prijon catalog describes the Touryak as a wonderful blend of stability, comfort and performance in a mid-sized kayak, and I couldnít agree more. The Touryak was my first kayak and I will never regret having bought one, it does a little bit of everything and it does it well, just the way the manufacture intended it to be.

For me it is what I would call an all around kayak, and I think it would be an excellent first boat for someone who was just getting started in kayaking yet wanted more features and capabilities than you would find in a recreational kayak.

When I first started looking for a kayak I was looking for what I would refer to as the Holy Grail of boats, a kayak that could do it all and do it well. I had only planned on owning a single kayak (that didnít last long) so I wanted the most bang for the buck and this model seemed to fit the bill. So what do I like and dislike about this kayak, well lets take it apart item by item.

It looks nice, yup you heard me, I like the way it looks, and it has nice lines, form, shape and angles. The bottom line is I think you have to like the way something looks in order to appreciate it fully.

For my first kayak I thought it would be safer to have a boat with slightly more initial stability then secondary, besides I enjoy bird watching and photography so a stable platform was important to me. Having said this you would think that secondary stability would have to suffer but I donít think so. Iíve had my Touryak out in four foot white caps on the lake and never rolled it over.

Speaking of rolling, I learned how to roll a kayak with my Touryak which is no easy task to teach yourself. The Touryak is easy to roll but being 24 inches wide it is slightly more difficult then my 21 inch Barracuda. The thigh supports are very comfortable and adjustable with a wrench that stows behind the seat and the seat it self is adjustable with a single line lanyard. In all I found the seat to be comfortable and easy to adjust but a little to spacious in the hip region (just add hip pads).

So how does it track? Well, it tracks pretty well. As with any kayak corrective strokes are necessary to keep it going straight from time to time. I elected to install a Prijon rudder after experiencing some weather cocking when out in the open lake.

Could you get by without a rudder? Well that all depends on what you want to do with this kayak, if youíre headed out onto the open lake then I would say get the rudder but if your just hugging the shore or paddling on rivers then you can get by without it

In respect to the rudder, I think Prijon makes one of the better rudders on the market in ease of installation and use with gas type pedals for operation. The rudder is a composite material, foiled shaped and balanced.

Hatches: the hatches on the Touryak are the tried and true neoprene with a hard plastic cover over it, they are easy to get into and have been water tight so far. I like the shape of the hatch openings in that they are elongated so you can actually fit things into the cargo area verses other manufactures who make there hatch openings round and to small. What good is all that cargo space if you canít fit anything into it?

Pack nets: I like the bow net that comes with the Touryak; you can actually put things under it and roll your kayak with the comfort of knowing that everything will be there once you roll back up. Some of the nets that I have seen on other kayaks are nothing more that a few strands of bungee cord which seems too little, too late and generally in the wrong place.

Keyhole cockpit: for my first kayak I wanted a cockpit that didnít feel to restricting, as if it were going to trap me in it (a common feeling for us Newbeís) When I use the Touryak I tend to be in and out a lot so a larger cockpit was an advantage, this also allows me to lift my knees up and stretch on longer paddles as well. For bird watching and photography I now have a place to put my equipment for speedy access.

Paddle Float recess: since I use a Greenland type paddle the recesses in the deck behind the cockpit are an advantage. A wood paddle on a plastic deck slides around a lot but once I slide my Greenland paddle into the built in recess and tighten them down with the installed straps it pretty much stays in place. There are also recessís forward and aft of the cockpit so you can rest your paddle on and use as an outrigger for entering or exiting.

HTP Plastic: I get the feeling that in this day of fiberglass and composite materials that the ole plastic boat is looked down upon but it to has its advantages. For one thing cost, plastic is much less expensive. Two, repairs, unless you get attacked by a Killer whale then the worse thing what might happen to you kayak will be the scratches and bumps it gets while in the process of being used.

Of course it has its disadvantages to, such as weight (itís a little heavier but not at all bad) and if you leave it in the sun on a hot day then it might warp. But in all the HTP plastic blow molded (not Rotomolded) kayaks are excellent boats, you probably wonít see one in the Olympics anytime soon but I think they are an excellent alternative to the pricier Fiberglass/Composite boats.

Foot space: One of the problems I had with some of the kayaks that I tried out was getting my feet in a comfortable position (Male size 11) I had to cock my feet off at some odd uncomfortable angle to sit in the kayak and this of course became uncomfortable after awhile. No problem here with the Touryak, plenty of room even with boots on.

Deck fittings: Iím the type of person that will lash just about anything to the deck of my kayak and once again the Touryak excels here as well in that it has heavy duty d-rings and a grab line on each side of the kayak that runs the length of the boat. There is also a quick release line on the starboard side for lashing your kayak off to a tree or another kayak to be towed. T-handleís are installed on the bow and stern of the boat for ease of lifting.

So what would I change about the Touryak. Well two things only with the first one being the seat cushion and backrest. While doing paddle float rescues the backrest often comes loose; which allows the seat cushion to float away and the backrest comes out of its slots, so you might find yourself sitting on top of it. To overcome this Iíve tied a knot in the bungee cord that holds the backrest in place which seems to help by making it tighter.

The second thing I would change is the lip that surrounds the cockpit, sometimes it is difficult to get a good seal on your spray skirt and a sharper edge would be better I think or maybe I just need a new spray skirt?

Other than that the Touryak is everything that the manufacture set out to create and in years to come as I buy different kayaks I will always keep my Touryak as my general purpose, can do most anything kayak and as stated in their catalog ďa wonderful blend of stability, comfort and performance in a mid-size kayakĒ.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale