Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Foldlite Products > Monarch I Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Monarch I Kayak by Foldlite Products


Rated: 4.57/10 Based On: 7 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



12-16-2013
Submitted by: DAVID ALLENSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Just bought the 2013 version and it was a pain to put together but it is very sturdy and ez to navigate. The weight is less than 20 pounds and is a great kayak once assembled. I will never take it apart because it will take tooo long. It is light enough for child to carry and load. The weight is the only good thing about it. I have modified mine with inner compartments that I can load a day's worth of rations in, plus I bought an aftermarket seat to replace the crappy one. I only paid $169 for a brand new Monarch 1 ten footer. Good deal I think.
Submit your own review!

05-14-2011
Submitted by: Bryce BecketSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     Well... simply put... F*$% snap grommets! I'm currently on the verge of breaking my fingers trying to put this thing together.... I love the idea, but it's poorly engineered and manufactured. I got mine for $100 at liquidation world, thinking it was an offer I couldn't pass up... I'd return it NOW if they did returns, based only on the assembly.

I'm foaming at the mouth trying to assemble H1-H2, as the grommets refuse to take to one another..... I'm thinking a roll of duct tape to put it together, and consider it a lesson learned.... sadly I purchased 4 of them.... I can think of a few people I hate that will receive a nice Christmas present this year... I'd rather give the damn thing away, than dismantle it and have to put it together again.....

Submit your own review!

04-01-2011
Submitted by: MichaelSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     These appear to have disappeared from the market, which is a good thing. While I appreciate what the designers were trying to accomplish- a lightweight, modular, low-cost boat, unfortunately they had absolutely no understanding of the task, or of boat design. Where most folding kayaks have frames made of wood or aluminum tubing, the Foldlite used corrugate plastic sheets. Where quality folders used 1100-1200 denier PVC or Hypalon-coated polyester or high-tensile welded Urethane for hulls, Foldlite used a non-ripstop 300 denier silicone coated polyester- the kind of material used by ultralight campers for rainflies. The boats had no tracking ability, no provision for secondary floatation for safety, and no protection against abrasion. If you still see one for sale, avoid it- no matter how cheap it is. This is a boat only a personal injury attorney could love.
Submit your own review!

06-04-2008
Submitted by: STSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     I wish I had seen the last review for this before I bought mine. There just were hardly any reviews out at the time.
I got mine for 429$ from an ebay seller. A week later I see the horrible review, AND the company is liquidating the Monarch I folding kayak on ebay itself now. No bids at 300$ and now they relisted at 200$. Mine including a super cheap seat, and some foot blocks that do not fit anywhere of use. So, if the company is clearing them out at basement prices, what does that tell you.

Anyways, I would not care if I was happy with the purchase. I was avoiding an inflatable, and thought I would like this instead of just the typically expensive folding frame only types.

It took 2 hours to assemble the first time. And if you can get it to under 30 minutes with help, in daylight you will be doing good. This product, in the dark, with cold hands and no help is going to be a useless pile of parts, some small ones which you will lose. I could handle the pain to assemble AND missing the clearance prices if it was even just OK on the water.

The folding design, a mix of a flexible skin pulled over a rigid hull made of a sections of die-cut corrugated polyethylene sheet (it looks like heavy-duty Coroplast), cut and scrape you with harsh edges as you put it together. The hull is made from a number of sections or modules with a frame between each pair of modules, which are basically bendy plastic ribs. The rib edges are far too bendy for the pressure needed to hold the folded colorplast panels in place. The attachment quick-attach bolts are also too wimpy and and hard to reach in place. The design does allow for very lightweight construction but at the cost of the strength and ruggedness. If you step on it, a kid hops on it, or you do not put your hands right over the ribs when getting in, you will stress and put unintended bends in the colorplast.

Anyways, it was hard to get into based on cockpit size compared to only being able to touch it at a rib section to lower yourself in. Then, it was very unbalanced. I am no racing or expedition pro, but after years of recreational kayaking, found it very hard to keep upright on flat water. Its more like a block of styrofoam than a kayak.

As noted in the review that just came out, but was not out a few weeks ago when I bought this - it blows around in the wind. It is not that it just does not track, which it does not, it is so far beyond not tracking. The freaking wind actually blows your kayak in all different directions. Oh, and I do not mean storm wind, I mean a comfortable breeze.

Anyways, they are supposed to have revamped the design and tweaked it and have a new improved model out. The design is very innovative, it does offer the lightest weight going, and the manual was very well detailed.

My advice is avoid the Monarch folding kayaks, and if you are going to get a Foldlite-brand folding kayak, wait until the new improved versions have been out a year or more and get the reviews first.

Submit your own review!

05-30-2008
Submitted by: Ed ThibodeauSend Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     I AM incredibly disappointed in the Monarch single kayak I bought. I took it out for the first time last weekend, and I'll never put it in the water again. What should have been a pleasant afternoon turned out to be a frustrating and exhausting ordeal.

There was a light but steady wind, and that made the boat virtually uncontrollable. The only way it would track even close to straight is going directly into the wind. If I went with the wind, any breeze would catch the stern and spin me around 180 degrees, any other angle I would end up sideways. I was constantly stopping and trying to get myself oriented again before I could continue. I own three other kayaks, and have never had problems like this with any of them, including an inflatable Sevylor.

If you're looking for a boat you can put in your trunk, I'd suggest a good quality inflatable. It would also have the advantage of setting up a lot quicker than the Foldlite. I practiced putting it together several times over the winter before going out, and it still took me 45 minutes to put the Foldlite together.

Submit your own review!

01-16-2007
Submitted by: rob drewSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Hi Foldlite group, You guys need to hear my story so you know what kind of product you have. I have been kayaking for many years and two summers ago I decided to take the kayak down the Clackamas river. I would estimate that the river was about a class 2 where I hit the bolder and fell out of the kayak. I heard a crack and thought I had broken it. When I got to shore, I dumped the water out of it and everything seemed to be fine so I finished my run. When I returned to my car and took the boat apart, I was shocked to find I had cracked two ribs and broken one. Even with this, the boat stayed together. I understand they have changed the ribs to a nearly unbreakable material. I recommend this boat to anyone who wants a high quality, nearly indestructible kayak. The best part was that Foldlite worked with me to replace the ribs and my boat is like new again. I could never have done that with regular kayak. I would have been sol and had to buy a new one. Rob Portland, Oregon
Submit your own review!

06-08-2005
Submitted by: kayakpackerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my Foldlite from their web site. I do a lot of backpacking and wanted the lightest folding kayak I could find. The fact that this one had a rigid hull and no blow up flotation intrigued me. It also was inexpensive. They also say that they are coming out with a kit so that you could make into a single or a tandem. That is what actually sold me. The hull material is the corrugated plastic stuff that they make signs out of, and is surprisingly durable. The cover is made of polyester and fits nicely. The cover is what keeps the water out.

Overall I was impressed by the quality of design and part quality. The instruction manual was extensive to say the least. I scanned it but mostly just put it together without reference to the manual. Once you get the idea each section goes together pretty much the same way. I assembled it the first time in my apt. and it took about 35 minutes. It disassembled in about 10. Most of time was spent screwing the nylon bolts and wing nuts that hold the hull to the ribs. Now that I have done it a couple of times and can do it in less than 30. It tracks reasonably well given its length, actually better than my molded hard shell.

It is fun little boat and perfect for what I needed. I live in an apt., I have no space and I like to get out and go hiking on the weekends, now I hike to places where I can paddle.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Kayak & Bicycle Trips
Food Wine Kayak
2-6 DAY TOURS
www.crystalseas.com/Orcas

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale