Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Accessories > Pacific Action Sails Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Pacific Action Sails


Rated: 9.44/10 Based On: 9 Reviews

Research Boat Accessories / Boat Outfitting in the Buyers' Guide!



07-02-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     What fun! If you're looking for a thrill, and LOTS of attention, add one of the sails to your kayak. But be ready for some speed! I've actually had cars stop on bridges to watch me fly by. Really is a lot of fun!
Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
05-03-2012
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I run a number of PA sails and will be switching up to a larger one this summer. At the moment I run the PA_s110 the 1.1 meter sail and I run this on a Prijion Seayak for 6 years now no problems. I have no trouble with the sail furled and laying on deck. I could see it being a problem as some folks buy large sails and mount them on shorter kayaks and things could them be crowded. A bit of thought when mounting is handy. I taped my rig to the boat took it out and sailed it on 3 of the 5 points of sail and when to shore and bolted it into place. I like these sails so much I am now a dealer...
Submit your own review!

07-29-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a pacific action 1.5 sail and put it on my Valley Roto molded Nordkapp. The short answer is the sail is awesome. I have had so much fun with the thing. When they say it adds a new dimension to kayaking its true. I have 2 friends that each have a sail. One is a wind paddle, and the other is a spirit sail. Those sails are okay for simplicity and portability. But the Pacific Action beats them in speed and kills them in maneuverability. I can sail 90 degrees off straight down wind / I have 180 degrees of practical sailing available. I have confirmed this with my gps multiple times. The other sails can not do 1/2 of that.

The cleats that come with the sail are horrible. I rigged 2 ($5 each) jam cleats to my boat and now it only takes 1 hand to adjust the line. Now I do not have to let go of my paddle to adjust the sheets. One other downside that is hard to correct is the bulkiness of the sail when it is down. It just gets in the way. As soon as I know sailing is over I head to land to take the rig off. There is no practical way to completely remove the sail away from land.

I cannot wait for my next long day wilderness trip. If it is a down wind leg I am going to beat my group to the next camp site by a lot. Nobody can beat a kayak with a sail in the right conditions. I highly recommend the Pacific Action sail. Consider buying the larger sail and remove some of the mast for a home made sail of a smaller size.

Submit your own review!

06-28-2008
Submitted by: Gerrold AdlerSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought the smaller sail several years ago for my Wilderness Systems Sealution II XL. It is wonderful. I had little difficulty installing it or sailing it (I have been sailing a long time). The one drawback which could be a safety hazard is that the bungee which acts as a forestay and allows the masts to be held on deck and raised at will became abraded by the metal fairlead and had to be replaced. The company could have smoothed that metal piece's "throat." If the bungee breaks while under tension it could be bad news.
Submit your own review!

06-27-2008
Submitted by: john allsopSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had Pacific Action sails for a few years and i can recommend them, you may have to devise your own method of mounting as I did for my Klepper A2 and my Folbot Yukon, I decided a "line" to each mast is the way to go, they are simple to use can be raised, lowered and stowed with ease, great for down wind and across the wind (reaching), they are probably the best invention since the kayak. If you have to go into wind pull the sail down and paddle, easy, I am now trying to find out how close I can sail to the wind, probably not very close, the speed record for the sail is now about 20 kph set in a gale in New Zeeland, (I would have been on the shore,) I watch my speed on a deck mounted GPS which I power direct from a flexible solar cell.( Klepper America have now devised a mount for kleppers) In Canada, I bought mine from Tundra sails in Yellowknife.
Submit your own review!

06-24-2008
Submitted by: JimSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Good
I am very hard to impress and at a price of about $350 US taxed and shipped for the 1 meter sail I turn into impossible to impress. The sail impressed me. A lot, frankly. All components are of the highest quality. Workmanship is flawless. The design is right on and is a snap to learn to use. Easy to set up and take down, I have trained a 12 yr old and a 15 yr old to use it well with just a two minute class. Most of that two minutes was spent impressing the importance of speed in striking the sail and securing it to the bungie. Everyone I have taken out sailing in my double baidarka has been a non paddler and absolutely had a blast. It is especially cool when the hull starts to make that gurgling sound as water passes under it. I went out on a test sail in very high winds and the kayak rocketed along comfortably. I was advised to modify the rig a bit and did. I replaced the original sail control line or sheet with two ten foot pieces of sheet material. I installed two deck clamcleats. All of this really helped and cost an additional $30. Sail control was simplified, became more precise and physically easier.

The Bad
The only strong criticism of the PA sail concerns the instructions for installation. As a person who has built four kayaks from kits and a Melonseed sailboat from a line drawing and not much else I found the PA sail instructions almost useless. I went on line and looked at photos of installed PA rigs to wing it as best I could. A critical step to pay attention to is mounting the twin sail posts that hold the sail erect. You must ensure that the twin posts, which look like your fingers making a peace sign, are spread out as far as possible so the sail sets flat. This will take two helpers or some jury rigging to hold the posts away from each other. The posts are then permanently set at this angle with a pair of screws bisecting the posts. Get it wrong and you either have to redrill the posts possibly weakening them or live with your error.

I would spend the money again in a heartbeat.

Submit your own review!

08-28-2007
Submitted by: Paul AufderheideSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have been using the Pacific Action 1.1 meter sail on my Valley Aquanaut (skeg w/o rudder) for several months and have been very pleased with design and functionality. I'm a lifelong sailor, and always frustrated in a kayak when I cannot use the wind.

The most interesting feature of this design of "V" sail is the sheet attached to the midline of the split via mast on either side. This does allow adjustable sail trim, and in light air does allow for relatively safe and fast reaching. I would never have thought possible the ability to reach in a kayak with limited or no feeling of capsizing. The boat appears to track well at this point-of-sail, and does not necessarily require the skeg down.

Installation does require drilling the holes in your boat, including two small brackets to hold the base of the mast, and in my case I placed to the cam cleats just in front of the cockpit which are very functional, and are useful for other applications than the sail sheet. A very nice feature of the rig is the bungee tensioning at the bow, allowing both masts and sail lowered and placed under deck bungees within seconds. The length of the mast fits in front of my cockpit with inches to spare, and for this reason I would think many conventional kayaks would probably not desire a greater sail area the 1.1 meter.

The only downside I have found in the rig is related to the tensioning device which connects the mast to a "deck roller" which allows the sail to be taken down and put up rapidly. This device has been somewhat difficult to tension, which allows the sail to become more slack than desired when sailing downwind.

This sailing system was designed in New Zealand, and was clearly set up by good Kiwi sailors. I would recommend it for anyone looking to add the dimension of sailing to their kayak, without interfering or altering the classic nature or structure of their boat.

Submit your own review!

05-29-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I regularly paddle and freedive off the coast of Southern California and have used the 1.5 m PA sail on my Ocean Kayak Scupper Pro for the past year. I am completely hooked on the sail and use it on virtually every paddle. The main benefit to me is that the sail has easily doubled my range, and I now routinely paddle-sail between 10-20 miles with relatively little effort. That may not seem far to some of you, but try paddling a fully-loaded Scupper Pro for that distance. It can and has been done, I am sure, but it's like pulling a dead horse through deep snow. In any event, it's all relative. If you installed a PA sail on your narrow SINK and your normal paddling range was 20 miles, your range would very likely increase to 40 miles, and so on.
Here are some of things I really like about the sail:
  1. The PA sail is totally hands-free and allows me to paddle without obstruction while sailing. This is key because I am first and foremost a kayaker and, well, I like to paddle. If I wanted to sail only, I'd buy a sailboat.
  2. The PA sail works in a broad range of conditions, in winds from 5 mph all the way to 20+ mph. It can be sailed dead downwind, or it can -- contrary to what the other reviewer appears to believe (a common misconception) - be sailed on a beam reach (90 degrees to the wind). This means that unless I head upwind (which I try to avoid by starting out early in the morning), the wind is now my best friend. The more wind, the better. It's a totally new kayaking paradigm.
  3. The PA sail has flexible rigging allowing the sail to depower itself in strong winds or gusts. This makes for very stable paddle-sailing. I have not managed to capsize yet, and don't feel any more at risk of capsizing with the sail than without the sail. One reason may be that the added speed also adds stability to the boat. On a beam reach, the sail pulls the boat forward, lifting the bow over the swells. Even with a 12-15 knot breeze right on the beam I feel quite secure, sailing several miles offshore sometimes. In low winds, I sometimes sail while lying down facing aft with my feet on the rear hatch. I know it sounds a bit over the top, but on a Scupper Pro it's really quite comfortable and safe. It's a great way to take a break without stopping (conditions permitting).
  4. The PA is extremely light, easy to install and uninstall (I have done it on the water in 20 knots once), and does not get in the way of paddling when not in use. In fact, I sometimes wrap extra clothing inside the rolled-up sail that I would otherwise have to stow in the hatches.
  5. The PA sail can be raised and lowered instantaneously. This means I can convert from a pure paddlecraft into a paddle and/or sailing craft in just a matter of seconds. If the wind becomes too much (or dies), the sail can be rolled up and tied down just as quickly. Aside from being utterly safe, this design is also convenient and user-friendly. Like most kayakers, I am not fond of complicated rigging, lines, etc.
So what are the downsides, you are wondering? Frankly, I don't see any. Well, except maybe the "cheating factor." Hardcore sea kayakers may scoff at the idea of using a sail for the same reasons they abhor the idea of outriggers or motors, etc. In other words, the PA sail (or any kayak sail) could be viewed as a crutch of sorts. And perhaps it is. But if so, it's one heck of a fun and effective crutch. Imagine there was a crutch that enabled you to run twice as far with half the effort and double the fun. Would you still turn it down?

Submit your own review!

06-02-2005
Submitted by: TomMSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We got the 2.2 sq meter size sail for our 21' Chesapeake Lightcraft triple kayak, drilled a couple of holes to accommodate the simple rigging...and we took off to a new dimension in kayaking. With a good 20-30+ kt crosswind-turned-tailwind we covered 57 miles measured by buoys in a day down the NC Intracoastal Waterway...like a toboggan shooting down a mountain! Still, it was stable and safe-feeling...and fun! No all-day pulling water with a paddle. Without a rudder it would be tough, but with it, it is like controlling a go-kart. Lighter air days are a dream - all you need it the breeze coming from a little behind...not directly on the beam or ahead - otherwise it is back to the ol' trusty paddle. My paddle has more than 2000 miles on it, but I'm now a BIG FAN of the sail system. The lines and rigging allow for a bigger sail = more speed and makes the sail more controllable.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale