Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Victory Kayaks > Blast Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Blast Kayak by Victory Kayaks


Rated: 9.04/10 Based On: 75 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-10-2014
Submitted by: AKSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Bought this Kayak for my wife at Dick's Sporting Goods. Nice, +light weight Yak. Added some padding to the seat and seat back. Works great on calm water and I can fit it in the back of my GMC Safari Van for easy transport. Tracks well for a small boat. Very stable. I have seen a few converted to fishing Kayaks and they seem to work well in that role.
Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
09-14-2013
Submitted by: 600riderSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     My wife and I bought two Perception Sport Blast kayaks from Dunham Sports the end of July and have had a hard time staying out of them! They were $299 and we had a "Hot deal" online coupon for $100 off of each and also bought Harmony Drifter paddles that were $60 and had the coupon for $25 off.

These are our first kayaks and was not sure my wife would like "yaking" turns out that when I get home from work she is in he swimsuit and has her gear read to go! We have an app that tracks our outing and have nearly 70 mile on flat water lakes around our home. I was afraid she wouldn't be able to keep up with me (not that I am in great shape) but she has no problems at all! We are having a BLAST with them. We are into nature and birds and love that we can sneak up on them. We looked at boats that were a lot more money but jumped at these for the price and have been very happy with them.

I give it a 9 out of 10 because there is always room for improvement but I don't know what except for a cockpit cover to come with it!

Submit your own review!

03-27-2013
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I would like to announce that the Victory Blast kayaks are being made, once again by Confluence Watersports, exclusively for Dunham's Sports store. I called CW after seeing a circular, for Dunham's Sports, with the Victory Blast kayaks on sale in it and that's what CW told me after checking on it.
Submit your own review!

05-14-2011
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I own 4 Victory Blast kayaks. I have read in many reviews that they are made of plastic. Polyethylene to be exact just like Perception, Wilderness Systems, Emotion and many other kayak manufacturers. If you want Kevlar kayaks go mortgage your house.

The Victory Blasts are a great basic model that tracks very well and my 280 lbs. son had no problem dragging. If you are dragging the bottom then you are in too shallow waters. They have bungee cords on front and back and adjustable foot braces. Very stable with lots of room for storage or just to move around in. Do not stand on seat for any reason. Try to straddle the kayak and set you butt down on the seat. You can get a rectangle shaped pad at Dicks for $5.00 and it comes in different colors. Go to Kmart and get the kayak oar for $29.00. I have stored my first 2 kayaks outside with no protection for 5 year now and the other 2 for 2 year and I live where we get all 4 seasons of heavy weather and there is nothing wrong with them other than lots of scratches on the bottom. I'm thinking about getting them sprayed with Rhino Tough just to see if it's worth it. But like I said before, many kayaks are made from polyethylene and they get scratched up just the same. I love my kayaks and so do my friends and family.

Submit your own review!

08-16-2010
Submitted by: rpwSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I don't understand the "not a white water kayak" lol I have taken it down class III on the Chattahoochee and the Chattooga and it only sinks sometimes. I have also almost wrapped it around a few rocks. I have had it for 4 years and no its not made for that but it is fun to see what it will do. by the way the main problem is it sits to low and drags a lot.
Submit your own review!

04-01-2010
Submitted by: CRAIGSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a Blast last summer for $170 with the intent of fishin small rivers streams and farm ponds. I've also had it out on small to medium size lakes as well, and must say that I'm extremely impressed. Not only is the Blast a blast but its very versatile. easy to maneuver (even while fighting a 17ilb catfish) I would definitely recommend this kayak. also with a lil ingenuity your possibilities are endless. I've equipped mine with an anchor, lights, and hummingbird fish finder that operates on 12 volt system, rod holders, and paddle rack and it still weighs less than 50 lbs.
Submit your own review!

10-05-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I sold my text books last May and bought a Blast. All 9 feet and 6 inches of it fit in the back of my pick-up truck's box with the tail gate down. Use the drain plug as a tie down point and its loaded. Love the light weight 32-40lbs dripping wet but it is a bit wide in the paddle area, that just makes it easier to get in and out of. Been down class 1 rapids, moving rivers 6+mph, and some big 75+acre lakes but stay out of the wind or close to shore. It will take hits from rocks and stumps and grass drags with out much wear, it's a great value for the $amount of easy fun on the water.
Submit your own review!

06-05-2009
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is my second review on this fun boat (5/06).
Bought a Kestrel 120 HV to replace the Blast but I kept it for my daughter and friends who don't have a kayak. The Blast gets used a lot. It's easy to load and fun to navigate. The backrest sucks! Somebody said it's heavy, but I don't agree. 32-35 lbs empty. I've loaded it on roof racks 100's of times and thrown it over log/debris jams more that I care to admit. It's sturdy, stable and I spent a 1/3 less on it compared to the Kestrel. Take the money that you save and buy a better paddle, goes along way in tracking straight. When you get used to the sport and want to invest in nicer boat you will have something your friends can mooch off of.

Submit your own review!

03-29-2009
Submitted by: jaysoninbuffalo
Rating: 8 of 10

     Right to the points:

PROS:
1-great price, $200 even
2- lightweight, just a few pounds
3- short,I can have it through my trunk; up to my front seat and the cockpit hole doesn't even stretch out past the trunk (keeping it dry in rain).
4-quite comfortable, for having a plastic molded seat.

CONS: no molded "hook holes" for straps,(or security lock up) you must relay on the rope, and in time all ropes fray.
2- if you don't adjust your seat properly you may lean back too much and crack the seat hinge.
3- its short, if your in rapids and you lean back to avoid frontal splash you'll dip a rear side down and take on h20.
4- with a kayak this versatile, it's not fun to have frozen creeks 4 months a year.

BUY DRY BAGS AND "LOCK N LOCK" CONTAINERS THEY ARE THE BEST!!!

Submit your own review!

03-03-2009
Submitted by: Aslin InmanSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love my VICTORY BLAST! I bought mine from a friend for only $130. For sure I thought that there had to be something wrong with it because of its low price. There wasn't. He said he only paid about $180 for it because they stopped making them.

Due to the weather, I've only taken it out once (it was about 40F). That didn't bother me because I had a Blast on my Blast!!!

Submit your own review!

01-14-2009
Submitted by: kathySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Wow!! Bought my Blast as a gift for my husband's birthday. He loved the idea and soon rigged it up for fishing, adding some inexpensive pole holders, paddle holders and off he went. No fish were caught but Bob had a big smile all day. And I mean all day, couldn't get the guy out of the water for a camp dinner. Light weight, easy for me to handle and load on top of my Jeep. If Bob's happy so am I. Great deal at Dick's
Submit your own review!

12-09-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this boat this summer as part of the economy stimulus plan (Uncle Sam-LOL). I had used an inflatable Coleman that I got on Clearance at Wal-mart. The price was agreeable and I liked the stable looking bottom. My third trip out I did an 8 mile run on a river (Chattahoochee in GA below the West Point Dam) that flowed into a Lake Harding. The seat was uncomfortable with no padding but I have since used an inflatable pillow that can be purchased in the camping section for $5-$6 to use as a backrest.

Good price for a beginner.

Submit your own review!

11-03-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have to agree with "thinkpolicy" (10/16/08 review). It is important to understand what the Blast is NOT!! before you buy one. I purchased this kayak a couple of years ago and this is an updated review.

I am approx. 5'10" and 190 lbs. I am pretty comfortable for a 2 to 3 hr. ride. Anyone much larger than my size will NOT be happy with this kayak. The Blast is a plastic kayak, no rudder or skeg. It has dual tracking channels on the underside of the boat, similar to Perceptions'. I have NEVER had really bad tracking problems with this boat. It moves fairly effortlessly through the water and holds a pretty straight line with minimal corrective strokes.

You can NOT compare the Blast to a larger rec boat because it will fall short every time. I just got back from a 3 hr. outing on Farrington lake in N.J., threw the Blast in the back of my van, closed the doors and headed home with little effort. Now, if I was heading out to the bay, the Blast is out. You must ask yourself, what is my intended use for this kayak? Mine was, a small boat for my kid, my wife, and myself for playing around in.

With that said, what a great little boat!! I can't believe they stopped making it, (yet Dick's never seems to run out of them?). I have paddled quite a few places since I last reviewed this kayak and have learned many things. No matter what boat I eventually upgrade to from my current WS Cape Lookout, I feel I will always enjoy this Blast every now then. Finally, if anyone out there is thinking about buying this kayak for it's INTENDED purpose, go get it, "while supplies last". See you out on the water.

Submit your own review!

11-03-2008
Submitted by: TerrySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought a Wilderness Systems Critter in 2004; my first kayak to buy although not the first to paddle. It is identical to the Victory Blast except maybe in minor details. It is tough, laugh off abuse and is easy to get in and out (I am 69 and a bit stiffer than I used to be). Everyone who has paddled this kayak has enjoyed it, even my boat-phobic wife. For such a short boat it is surprisingly quick and tracks well, it turns on a dime when stopped although it wants to run straight when it is under way. it is dry. I have had it out in fairly choppy conditions with power boats zipping by on all sides and it has never given me a moments worry. I even fitted it with a sail! A sea kayak is longer and faster, a whitewater kayak is more maneuverable, but this is the best all round starter kayak out there.
Submit your own review!

10-20-2008
Submitted by: Frank TaylerSend Email
Rating: 4 of 10

     Bought this boat this last weekend and took it out. I wanted to like this boat because of the price, on sale for $150 but have to say it was not worth even that. The handling was horrible compared to everything else I have tried, the tracking was very poor and you cannot even edge this boat. The boat feels like a molded trash can in quality and personally I would not feel safe on the water with this boat. So far, I do not think anything compares to my Necky Manitou sport in handling and quality.
Submit your own review!

10-16-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     My wife bought me one for my birthday, and I enjoy it a lot. I've paddled for 20 years on lakes, surf, and rapids.
It's important to keep in mind what the Blast is NOT. It's NOT a whitewater kayak, it's NOT a sea kayak, and it NOT an expedition boat and doesn't pretend to be.

I have a lot of kids, and it's perfect for them, because it's light, stable, and tracks pretty well. If it tracked any better it wouldn't be good to run on smaller rivers and rapids. If you want it to track better, go get a sea kayak, if you want to go on class IV rapids, get a WW boat, but in either case you'll be spending a lot more money and you'll be locked into just one type of boating.

The Blast is a multi-purpose boat, which is what it's meant to be, and it's priced in a way that will get more people on the water. It drives me batty that outdoor equipment tends to price the not-so-affluent right out of the picture.

I've taken it down easy class III rapids with no problem at all, but I used a spray skirt. I've also gone a long ways on flat water. It's not real fast but it's not bad, and I'm into nature not racing.

Submit your own review!

08-20-2008
Submitted by: TimSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is a great kayak. I found this at Dicks and it is great. It is very maneuverable and easy to use. I highly recommend!
Submit your own review!

08-05-2008
Submitted by: marty
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought the Blast at Dicks for $250 and I picked up a Seasense paddle from Kmart for $20. I highly recommend both. I also have a Old Town Dirigo 106 and a Quest paddle but I prefer the Blast and the Kmart paddle. The Blast tracks better and is lighter to carry. The speeds are equivalent, the stability in the Blast is better, the sitting position in the Blast is more comfortable to me. The only down side is that the blast hull is thinner. Have fun! Kayaking can be cheap.
Submit your own review!

07-18-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Picked this kayak up in 2007 on sale. Already got out of it what I paid for the kayak. I have had the kayak out on coastal rivers and fresh water lakes, although no rapids at this time. Kayak is stable, but I probably wouldn't try to stand up in it. Tracks well for the size and handles chop okay, but that shouldn't be expected from this size of kayak. It is slightly on the heavy side, I just purchased a 12' kayak and it the same weight. Overall you won't find a better kayak for this price new.
Submit your own review!

07-09-2008
Submitted by: YakfisherSKILZSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     When I walked in to Dick’s sporting goods looking for a kayak I was stunned by the prices. However prices aside I was looking for the most stable looking kayak I could find because I was going to use it for fishing.

The Blast by Victory immediately stood out from the pack. It’s clearly wider than the others, but shallower as well. I thought it would sit too low in the water and therefore brushed it off. After seeing all of these reviews I gave the Blast a second look and after the store clerk told me it was on sale for $199 I bought it on the spot and threw her in the back of my truck.

For a total cost of about $300 bucks I got a kayak, life vest, paddle, paddle anchor for side of kayak and a fishing rod holder, that’s still a hundred cheaper than the next cheapest kayak. I haven’t caught many fish yet, but the one I did catch came in easily. I was worried about tipping my kayak once I get the big one on, but I can assure you this kayak feels steady. It is a bit cramped, but goes real straight and smoothly in the water. Dollar for dollar this is the best deal out there!

Submit your own review!

07-08-2008
Submitted by: JohnnySend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My friend and I have each had a Blast for the last 3 or 4 years. Its a good beginner boat. Tracks well in calm water and even performs surprisingly well in choppy water without a sprayskirt... and better with one. I've taken it out into some level II whitewater and it proved that it was only a recreational kayak. As others have noted, the seatback can be quite uncomfortable after 2+ hours but a little extra padding fixes it quick.

Overall, its a great little boat for the price, very durable and stable . BTW, I'm 6'1" and 180 lbs. I sit higher in the water than my friend who is 205 lbs. Just stay out of whitewater like the manufacturer recommends.

Submit your own review!

07-02-2008
Submitted by: henrySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought a Victory Blast from Dick's because of price (around $200). I also wanted a spare paddle holder but Dicks had few accessories for this boat. Later I found out this boat is no longer made.

This boat tracks better than I expected. I had another same size kayak that would turn right or left as soon as you quit paddling. This one holds a straight line better. It is fast enough for its size. But I can't give it a 10 because of its seat - the seat back slips and the seat bottom could use some padding. I don't mind the seat back not being padded because I always wear a PFD. nice yak for the price.

Submit your own review!

06-26-2008
Submitted by: AndrewSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We live in the Hudson Valley and are a couple of blocks from the river and creek. We were talking about kayaking for a long time and finally found out about the Victory Blast at Dicks-$199 on sale. There is nothing close for the price! We just took them out onto the Hudson and had a blast indeed--pun intended. With the money saved, it might be worth while to get a decent paddle (not included). I was surprised how well this yak tracks and feels in the water.
Submit your own review!

06-25-2008
Submitted by: BrandonSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     We ran across these on sale at a local sporting goods store... We bought 3 of the blast and already had one Perception Swifty. I must say the Blast tracked better and felt faster in the water. This is my first kayak so I don't have much to compare it to but with the tie downs front and rear, and the foot supports this was a perfect choice for me.

Good:
= Tracks well, for as short as it is
= Very stable for beginners
= Inexpensive in price

Bad:
= The back rest seems to move on its own; simple fix
= On one of the three Blasts we purchased the screw holding in the front flotation did not secure the foam correctly and it fell out the first trip. It was an easy fix but should have to be fixed on the first trip.

Submit your own review!

06-11-2008
Submitted by: jaySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just bought my wife and I 2 Blasts and we took the maiden voyage today.It is definitely worth the money.But I must say after 2 hours I decided a little seat modification is necessary. But over all I highly recommend it.
Submit your own review!

06-03-2008
Submitted by: KayakerSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have owned several different kayaks but needed to buy a few to keep at my place on the river for when I have guests. I ended up driving over and picking up two Victory Blasts. Of course I had to take them down the river for a few test runs.

The backrest did loosen on me but found it was a easy fix with some zipties. After that I had no problem with the kayak at all. This thing is super stable and tracks much better than I was expecting. The river I took them on also has frequent Class I rapids and this Blast handled them at ease, although I did get some water in the pit, that would be expected with any kayak without a spray skirt.

I slammed this thing into several rocks and logs and it didn't even phase it, just left a few scratches. This kayak is overall a great kayak and will last you years. Couldn't be happier with this kayak and with such a cheap price it's a total steal.

Submit your own review!

05-30-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought one of these on sale at Dick's for $199 for my daughter so she could do some kayaking at the local lake with me. She's 9 and is capable of handling it quite well. She loves it. I like it for what its intended purpose was - getting her out on the water with minimal investment.

On the plus side - low cost, especially if you get it on sale; easy to transport and store; very good primary stability; foot pegs and (minimal) deck rigging.
On the minus side - the seat leaves a lot to be desired; and it could use more flotation.

All in all, realizing the market it's intended for and understanding its limitations, I am quite happy with this boat.

Submit your own review!

05-28-2008
Submitted by: p.d.Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Got mine at Dick's for the sale price of $199. when I got there there I explained that I was interested because of the price . I asked if they were selling many of these, he looked at his inventory computer and said he had sold 8 the day before and the one hanging up was the last one and that it was going to be a discontinued item. I decided to get that one and tried it out on the local river the "Big Muddy River" this was my first kayak experience although I have been canoeing many times. I kayaked up and down the river and must say I am still getting the feel for it. I am 5'10" and I had the foot pegs maxed out and still my feet felt wedged in a duck step position.
Submit your own review!

05-24-2008
Submitted by: RFSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Thanks very much to all the other reviewers -- the positive comments convinced me to get one at the local Dick's Sporting Goods at the sale price. I've been out once and am quite pleased with the value for money. Yes, the nose does wobble a bit, but it isn't a huge problem over shorter distances, and I plan to use it for fishing, not touring. One caution though -- plan on spending about $50 for some better flotation! When I was practicing self-rescue I intentionally swamped the kayak and was disconcerted to see the foam block from the front emerge from the interior and float away in the wind, and the kayak nose sink :-( Not good! Also, bear in mind that a good PFD with a high back, decent paddle, safety kit, etc. will run you another $250 easy, so you are really looking at around $500 (true for any other kayak as well, of course).
Submit your own review!

05-24-2008
Submitted by: CDDSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Victory Blast is a good value if you get it on sale at Dick's for $199, but the backrest loosens during use causing back fatigue.
Submit your own review!

05-19-2008
Submitted by: SimplisticStyleSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great kayak great price, tracks great and is very stable. Have taken mine to several rivers and lakes and even got a chance to do some white water kayaking in it and it has held up well. Only reason I didn't give it a 10 is because it could use a better backrest but overall i LOVE my Blast.
Submit your own review!

03-28-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I was very disappointed in the performance of this kayak. The kayak is quite heavy, does not track at all (is like paddling an inner tube) and does not coast at all. This would work great for fishing and that is about it. Sold mine to someone who needed a kayak for fishing - they are happy with it. I have been paddling a Walden Paddlers Natuarlist for 11 years.
Submit your own review!

02-14-2008
Submitted by: D. DocSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I got one of these on a black friday sale 3 years ago. I took it out fishing and I'm the one hooked. I use it about 100 + times a year and can get into to hard to reach spots a jon boat can't. I bought one for the wife last year and she fishes with me a lot. They are only about 40 lbs., so I can lift both up on my car rack and strap them down. Can't beat the fun for the price. Great beginner Yak!!
Submit your own review!

02-02-2008
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We bought 2 Blasts 3 years ago.
Great for flat water and Class 2 rapids. You need a spray skirt to keep from getting swamped in rapids. Have had it in Class IV rapids...big mistake...these are not whitewater boats. The seat will separate from the bottom of the kayak, welds at contact point break. An epoxy for plastic held on 1 and did not on the other.

We have pushed these kayaks way past their limits and had a blast doing it. For the price this is the best beginner boat out there.

Submit your own review!

12-24-2007
Submitted by: AndySend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I give this kayak a 10 because it's about perfect for the price and what it is: an affordable introductory kayak for beginners.

It isn't something you'll want to fish from (though some would disagree with that, of course) and certainly wouldn't want to race from. However, for someone who is looking for an entry-level kayak to have fun exploring local lakes and rivers (even bays!), this kayak will be all you need.

I love kayaking but don't care to buy a bigger/better one. This one is fine and I suspect for most people who are interested in kayaking, this boat will do fine.

Submit your own review!

09-20-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Good beginner 'yak, great 'yak for a kid or an old person. Also great for someone who doesn't want a lot of hassle with transportation.

Primary stability almost unmatched, but that also means it's difficult to test the secondary stability. The fact that I can't really carve a turn in it is balanced by the fact that a boat this small turns well anyway. At 300 lbs, I have a full 1/8" of freeboard, too! Good thing I got a good skirt.

My only argument is that I got very poor after-sales support from Dick's Sporting Goods. I'd be happy to buy another Blast, but won't buy anything from that chain again.

Submit your own review!

07-19-2007
Submitted by: mark
Rating: 10 of 10

     I picked up my Blast Spring of '04 and have had countless great hours in it since then. I do mostly rivers - 1 to 1 1/2 hours upstream then back down and this kayak is well suited for that kind of workout. It tracks very well, is amazingly stable and can go through some really shallow spots. I've also taken it to the ocean the past two summers and enjoyed playing on the waves. The only hard part was getting the timing right to get past the breakers without getting swamped - once I was just beyond the breakers, it handled well, even in larger swells.

The only negative I've seen in it is the speed of it compared to longer or leaner boats. Since this kayak is short and wide, it is a little less efficient than sportier boats. It does not bother me at all under normal conditions - I am in it for the workout, but twice I raced it in downstream regattas and had to fight to keep up. If you are not looking to compete with anyone, I highly recommend this boat - a steal for the price!

Submit your own review!

07-16-2007
Submitted by: BrandonSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Me, my dad, and my bro got three of these... AWESOME! They track great and are incredibly stable. I can ride mine into about 5 inches of water and I'm 140 pounds! We put some distance on them on Lake Allatoona and it didn't take much to get these things and keep these things going! As far as stability, I can stand up on the seat, jump out, and get back in without tipping it! My grandpa who is close to 70, kayaked for his first time in it and loved it so it isn't hard to do. Also on a budget(like us) 3 of these cost as much as half the ones at the store and are just as good.
Submit your own review!

06-28-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     My three kids (22-32) bought me the Victory Blast for Father's Day. This is a terrific little boat. I am 5'8" and 160 lbs so it is just a perfect size for me. Having had a rowboat years ago, this is much easier. It works well in small lakes. It can just be slipped into the back of a Ford Escape (window open and rear seat down) .. easy and fast to load & unload. Those who mention a quick one-hour workout - I agree wholeheartedly.
Submit your own review!

06-18-2007
Submitted by: Iceman2099
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just recently purchased two Victory Blast kayaks from Dicks Sporting on sale for $199.00. I gotta say it was one of the best purchases I have ever made. I have always rented kayaks, all of them being SOT's, and took a leap of faith and purchased this sit in. I have used it for the last two days and will probably never settle for an SOT again after riding in the Blast.

I have found that it has great stability, tracks great, and is very fast. My first trip on it was a lake trip just to get the feel of it. While on the lake, a small thunderstorm sprouted up causing waves to form. I gotta tell you the Blast stayed steady and cut through the waves like butter. This kayak is also great for beginners. My girlfriend had never been on a canoe or a kayak and she was able to get in just fine and was paddling just as good as me within 30 min of being on the lake.

Hands down, for the money and the value, this is the kayak to have.

Submit your own review!

06-06-2007
Submitted by: nick
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just got my first kayak, a Victory Blast. I love it! I took it on a C1 and it handles nice. Even though its rated at 250 lbs max, I am 270 and still faster than my buddies.
A wonderful beginner kayak.

Submit your own review!

06-04-2007
Submitted by: JeffSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I got my Victory Blast last Friday at Dick's Sporting Goods on sale for $199.98 for the Memorial Day Holiday. What a great deal. I took it out to Back Bay National Wildlife Refuge in my home of Virginia Beach, Virginia. The Blast handle very well. It's a fine kayak for a beginner like me. All the great reviews here convinced me to get a Blast and I'm so happy I did.
Submit your own review!

05-23-2007
Submitted by: LynnSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just got this vessel and couldn't be more enthusiastic about it. It's harder to drown than to use this boat, although I DID roll it on glass-still water, (losing my less than a week old first ever pair of prescription RayBan Wayfarers!!!). I loved it, although the need to get new glasses was stinky...
The kayak is rated to class 3 whitewater, has a rudder, a capacity of 400 lbs, holds cargo and just generally is the best boat I've ever been on, (in). I'm about to buy another. Can't have too many of these..

Submit your own review!

11-27-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my Blast over the summer and I love it.Just use it for day trips would like to try a little kayak camping this season.My Blast should work out great.
Submit your own review!

08-09-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought the Blast Kayak after I injured my arm loading and unloading my 14ft conoe on and off the roof rack of my Ford Escape. I got the blast so that I could get on the water and handle the loading myself without risk of injury. Its been great! I use my Blast almost 4 to 5 times a week and it handles terrific. I bought my wife one and she loves it. We often hit the lake together for an hour or so in the early morning and have plenty of time to get ready for work. I've taken it to many lakes in North and South Carolina including some mountain lakes, the New River and lakes and rivers in the low country around Charlestown SC. This boat was a great buy and I highly recomend it to some one looking to get into kayaking. I recently purchased a Liquidlogic Tryon only because the seat cracked on the Blast, ( do not step on the seat when entering or exiting) which I tried to repair with fiberglass, but it did not hold. Duct tape though seems to have gotten the job done. I hope to enjoy my Tryon as much as I have enjoyed my Blast.
Submit your own review!

08-08-2006
Submitted by: LMFSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought this kayak for my daughter for her birthday (she's 13) and it was a HUGE hit. Of course I had to "test" it and I was really happy with it's stability, tracking and overall ease of use. For the price, $199, it's got a lot of bang for the buck and I would definitly recommend it.
Submit your own review!

07-31-2006
Submitted by: ChuckSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Bought two victory Blasts last winter. With nothing to compare them too the price was two good to pass up even if they were a bust. (they were not) they have exceeded my expectations and we use them alot. they have proven to be alot of fun on the local creek (very small and rockey lots of drops and rapids),probaly exceeding the design but so far they have held up well. they are just as much fun on the lakes and have become proven fish catchers. I'm hooked anyway.
Submit your own review!

07-19-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my Victory 'Blast'in Spring '04, after much research into buying my first kayak. I have canoed for 16yrs, mostly interior camping and lakes, but needed more of a challenge. It is a great beginner kayak due to it's stability, lightweight and ease of handling. I am 5'3, and 115lbs, and have no difficulty in carrying or transporting this little wonder. I have even doubled with my daughter in the boat, who is also my size and had no difficulty paddling upstream, except for the C1 rapids. And call me CRAZY but I have even ventured out 4 times this year already to go interior camping in my Blast, portaging and all. It was a tight squeeze but I was able to get enough gear for two nights out. I have ridden up to C3 rapids with my Blast but wouldn't recommend it, unless you have the experience and know the waters! I even survived a C5(should have CBR), but spent 45min pinned in the middle of the sluice up against a rock, before getting myself free. I don't recommend camping in this boat is for everyone, but it can be done. I am now buying a couple of R5 River Runners, to try something different but will continue using my Blast as much as possible, especially on those camping trips . This kayak "takes a licking and keeps on clicking" (the kms that is). A strong sturdy kayak that tracks well in all weather and I find even loaded has great 'freeboard'. The only dislike is the seat which digs in my pelvis at the back and the straps do loosen. I would recommend this kayak for anyone interested in kayaking but not sure where to start without spending a fortune. This was a great little beginner for me, to experience different waters to find out what kind of kayaking I was interested in pursuing. Keep your Paddle in the H2O!:)
Submit your own review!

07-17-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     For over a year, I have been trying to decide between a canoe and a kayak. I finally decided on the kayak so i could transport it by myself. I got an inflatable for my son, so we can both go out. My new Victory Blast Kayak is awesome! It meets all my expectations and then some. The standard foot pegs and rigging really add to it. It glides through the water like an expensive yak. It was easy to transport by myself and easier to get in and out of than i thought. The molded seat works great for me, but may not for a larger person. I am about 135 pounds. The molded cup holder and pole holders are a neat extra feature. All in all, i would say if you are in the market for a first kayak, you can't beat a Victory Blast. My deal was just ok at $229, but they can be had for $199 sometimes and sell regulary for $279. A very cool toy! I hope to get many hours of pleasure out of it.
Submit your own review!

07-17-2006
Submitted by: BrianSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     This was my first Kayak, have enjoyed it so far. Been out on several lakes and am looking forward to a few river trips in the coming months. Light weight, can throw in the back of my truck and go. I'm 6'1 180lbs, and have no trouble getting in and out. Tracks decent enough and turns on a dime. For a first timer this is a fun and stable kayak.
Submit your own review!

07-10-2006
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my first kayak. I never really thought of kayaking until recently. I've been bank fishing the White River in Fishers, IN (slow moving) for months, and it's getting old. This guy pulls up in a kayak with his poles attached, and he said if I wanted to find the good places to fish, I need to get a yak.

Anyway, the guy that said it's a small yak for someone over 6'. Well, he's right, but not unmanageably so. I'm 6'3", 215 lbs. I've been out 3 times this week, and I'm getting used to the size and getting comfortable. The only real problem is room for my size 10 feet. They get a bit cramped. I find that if I'm not paddling really hard, and don't need the leverage, I can straighten my feet out past the foot pegs and feel pretty comfortable.

For the performance, it tracks pretty easily for a beginner like me, and glides well, even upstream. I've been fishing out of it, and it definitely needs some rod holders (on order) but the built in bungees bow and stern hold plenty of stuff. It's very stable, and turns on a dime. I know everyone says that a sit-on-top yak is much better for fishing, and I'd have to agree wholeheartedly. But for $200, compared to the cheapest SIT for at least $350, this was a great start. By the time I can justify the money for a bigger, more equipped SIT, my son will be big enough for the Blast, and I'll feel 100% secure putting him in it.

It's also light enough to throw on top of my car easily (of course, I am 6'3"), and durable (I've run it aground in the shallows, slammed into a log in fast moving water when not paying attention, and flew over a few big rocks, no problem). I highly suggest someone interested in kayaking for the first time try this one out for size before spending double on a yak when you may end up hating the sport. I love it, and don't regret it at all.

Submit your own review!

07-10-2006
Submitted by: KPJSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     First off, thanks to everyone else who reviewed this boat - you were dead on. We decided to take the plunge and get 2 of them and just got back from such an enjoyable afternoon on the lake. I owned an inflatable years ago and found this boat to be a lot more stable and comfortable. For the money, it just can't be beat.
Submit your own review!

07-07-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I recieved 2 blasts. One for myself and one for my son. We have only used it on a lake and a calm area of the Potomic river and it's name lives up the enjoyment we have expeienced. I hope to run class 1 and 2 rapids with it soon. Definately a 10!
Submit your own review!

06-29-2006
Submitted by: WurstSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I just want to throw a caution out there if you were thinking of buying one of these without sitting in it and trying it out (i.e. online purchase). My wife got me one for FD, and when I went to get into it, I found I couldn't. Literally. I'm 6-1, 240. I was bummed out because it's a cool little Yak, and looked like it would be perfect for my purposes. The price was right, too - $199. I took it back to Dick's and ended up getting a WS Pamlico 100, and although only 6" longer, fits with plenty of room to spare. Large cockpit! There's a yak for everyone out there, somewhere.
Submit your own review!

06-13-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     For the money, the Victory Blast Kayak is tough to beat. I weigh 185lbs. It is rated up to 250lbs. For the length, I find it to be smooth,stable and fun to use. It even has a cup holder. Buy one and smile!
Submit your own review!

06-05-2006
Submitted by: jimSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I recently bought this kayak to use on Lake Havasu (Colorado river) and it is FUN!! I sold our runabout and don't miss it at all. I know I'll get a lot more use from this than the boat. We actually bought two from Dick's in Henderson Nv.Good buy $229 each.
Submit your own review!

05-31-2006
Submitted by: Stephanie N.Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I bought this on a whim. The price was right and the weather was nice. I LOVE it. It is fine for a first kayak. I felt very comforable and safe and I imagine that it will last me some time. One drawback is the seat back loosens after a while. But other than that it is great. Plus, it's easy to just reach around and tighten again. I would recommend a splash skirt. Otherwise you will have a wet lap.
Submit your own review!

05-25-2006
Submitted by: Lake Norman, NCSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     This is a fine kayak for the price. The boat tracks well at speed, has plenty of room, and is easy to carry. It is not the most comfortable and is made cheaply. But, it was only $199! I imagine the plastic will warp or split at some point, but I am sure I will get my money's worth out of it. I use it on a small lake and hope to take it down a slow-moving river soon.
Submit your own review!

05-15-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Not a bad kayak for the price. It probably won't ever be my favorite, but beginners will appreciate the stability and light weight. Not a speed demon, but can cruise at a leisurely pace very easily. Just plan on more time to get to your destination if its a good distance. Plenty of room behind the seat for my kayak cart or camping gear for an overnighter. It takes a little correction after you stop paddling to keep it straight if your fishing. A little annoying. Bow yaws back and forth a little but not too bad a tracker. It is a wet ride in chop, but can handle it. Will be getting a full spray skirt soon. The seat really sucks, straps loosen and the seatback is a bit uncomfortable. Overall for me, its a keeper for the price and I'll be outfitting it for fishing. You get what you pay for, and although its adequate, don't expect too much. Mixed review, but the pros outweigh the cons.
Submit your own review!

05-12-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have owned a Blast for about a year and found it to be a good inexpensive kayak. Seems to be very stable and have used it on both lakes and small rivers. I am fairly large so really appreciatte the large cockpit. My only complaint is the seat back. The strap does not hold the seat back upright.
Submit your own review!

05-04-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought this kayak about a month ago and absolutely love it. I had it out 5 times and wonder why I didn't get one sooner. The boat is very stable and comfortable. The back rest bends, but I'm large. My biggest problem is that since I'm a large paddler (250+) getting out is a challenge at best and that I ride a little lower and water splashes in slightly. I've got a skirt on order, should help.
Submit your own review!

04-18-2006
Submitted by: maximusSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     i have had my blast for 3 years now and absolutely love it . i have used it to cross elliot bay in seattle in some really bad wind . now i go out on the windy days and play in the waves on puget sound . the reason i bought this kayak was cost and it looked like my perception that i had when i lived in australia . i have caught a wide variety of fish out of it , including an 8 lb. steelhead , 17lb. coho salmon and 21lb. chinook salmon . i have even had a seal jump up on the back and it was stable enough to handle the fish and seal and not to tip over . i have made rod holders and i have a spray skirt ( which is a must in bad weather because of the large cockpit ) . it is highly manouverable , it is light and very stable in the water . i liked it so much i went and got another one for my wife
Submit your own review!

04-05-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I wanted an affordable multi-purpose beginners kayak. I have put approximately 75 miles on this kayak in a varity of conditions, ranging from flat water to 1-2 foot waves with 15mph winds. Tracking is good and it handles waves quite well, considering my inexperience. Once I gained confidence and made the paddling transition from canoe to kayak, I found the boat to be very stable. I would reccomend a spray skirt as waves in rough water do tend to enter the cockpit, but then it is a water sport. Thanks to Victory for producing such a great kayak for a very reasonable price.
Submit your own review!

03-20-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I just returned from my first outing with the Blast. I paddled it on Farrington Lake in NJ. It was a little windy and cool but the kayak was great. It cuts through the water pretty sharply and is very manuverable. This boat is excellent for it's intended usage. Having fun at a great price! I also sat in the OT Otter but felt cramped at 5'9" and approx.185 lbs. If you are thinking about getting a Blast, what are you waiting for? I plan on taking it to the Poxono launch at the Delaware this spring.It came with footpegs and deck rigging standard.Looking forward to a whole lot of fun with the family this summer. If you are too, get a Blast and have a BLAST!
Submit your own review!

03-06-2006
Submitted by: AlySend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     I purchased a Blast about a year ago. Throughout the spring and summer I was able to use it at least a dozen times. The blast is a great boat for the leisure kayaker. It handles great on fairly calm rivers and calm open waters. However, in rougher waters it bounces around a bit. Waves will smash up against the side and can easily fill the hule with water. It's a bit slow and there is some bow movement with each stroke. It rode much better for me in the rougher open waters than for others larger than me (I'm 5'0" 115lbs). However the the weight limit can be pushed and we have pushed it. I did notice that larger people look cramped in the boat. My inlaws each own a blast and a friend of ours purchased one just before christmas after using ours. It's a great boat for the leisure paddler who isn't going to challenge the rougher waters. I have since purchased a Tarpoon 120 and now use that as my primary boat and use the Blast for friends who wish to join us on our outings. My huband owns an older Walden Woods boat (it's incrediable fortunately they are out of businees) that cuts through the rougher waters like butter. However, the Blast is handy because it's a smaller and lighter boat that's easy to transport.
Submit your own review!

12-16-2005
Submitted by: JohnSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I just got this on Black Friday for $229 at Dick's--not as good a price as some, but still around half the price of a Pungo or Pamlico. I have paddled a Pungo 100 and I don't see $170 difference!

The day I paddled, the water was very smooth, and I felt the Blast was plenty quick, though without the glide of a longer kayak. The comfort for one hour was fine. The bow had some movement with each stroke, but not bad--certainly not more than 5%.

I purchased the Blast because I wanted a small, easily cartopped kayak, that could do everything from flat water to class 2--and I am sure it can.

One last item I liked. When paddling some other rec kayaks, the bow wave can be frustrating and an obvious speed controlling factor--but the Blast is designed with a fine entry and stern. It rapidly spreads to a wide, stable mid section, but there isn't a big bow wave like I had in the Blackwater 11.5 for instance.

After I have tried it one a windy lake and on the river, I will report again. If it is as good an all round kayak as I hope, I will upgrade it to a 10.

BTW, I have paddled and owned several rec kayaks and sea kayaks, both solo and tandem. You buy a Blast, not because it is a thoroughbred, but because it is a prospector's donkey--a go anywhere, do anything, very low care kayak.

Submit your own review!

11-28-2005
Submitted by: FishdogSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I also recently purchased the Blast by Victory Kayaks from Dicks Sporting Goods this past Black Friday for the same exact deal. $180.14 including tax for my new yak. I was lucky enough to be one of the early people at the location nearest me to pick one up for that price. I actually have been scouting out a good deal since last January, when my girlfriend and I went on an excursion in the Bahamas that had us kayaking in a dual through the mangroves of that gorgeous island. I absolutely LOVED that experience and kayaking in general. I found out this deal, picked one up and plan on starting my adventures in New Jersey and the tri-state area this spring. For the price I landed this watercraft, I think it's an amazing deal, especially since the model type is almost identical to the Perception Sundance 9.5' that I was eyeing prior to scoping out this deal. A website on here actually informed me that there is basically a few manufacturers who actually mold the boats then sell them to the companies; like Victory, Perception, Old Town, and so forth. Even if that information was wrong, I'm still completely psyched at the mere thought that several months from now I'll be paddling along the Metedoconk River in Jersey in my brand new ride for a very frugal price. I also want to thank you all who posted great, honest reviews of this boat that ultimately led me to follow through with this purchase.
Submit your own review!

11-27-2005
Submitted by: MadSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just bought the Victory Blast at Dick's on Black Friday........a steal of a deal at $179.00 and they gave me a $20.00 gift card to boot! With all of these great reviews, I can't wait to try it and am glad I decided on this one as opposed to a more expensive model.
Submit your own review!

09-12-2005
Submitted by: Sherryl
Rating: 8 of 10

     I just tried my new Victory Blast and enjoyed it very much until I found these raving reviews. I am a bit because I was not so lucky to find it for $199. I bought it at Dicks on sale for $279. Now, I can't enjoy it as much. I always look for bargains. I had no idea it sold for less. I originally was going to purchase an Old Town Otter, but the Blast caught my eye instead. I feel like I got ripped off.
Submit your own review!

08-07-2005
Submitted by: Ken HolmesSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I too recently went to the local Dicks sports store, with no intention to BUY anything...I spotted a Victory Blast hanging on the banister with a price of $199.00. This was an old sale price as all the rest of the same models were listed at $279.00. Dicks Sports honored their error and I walked out with a Great Kayak. I drive a Miata and I have had NO problem just strapping the boat to my roof and driving off. The light weight and compact size are perfect. In the water I am comfortable and secure. I have customized the cockpit with some foam padding so that I am snug and really in control. I am still a novice but I have joined some friends with missile like Ocean Kayaks and kept up just Fine, although I prefer just Gliding with the Gators in the back streams. Thanks Victory for a "Ready to Go" Kayak. And, thanks to Dicks sporting goods for being honorable. Victory is a “blast".
Submit your own review!

06-22-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Just got my Blaster this past Friday and I love it. Easy to get going, tracking is great, it's quiet in the water and weight is perfect. Got it for 3 reasons: 1. it's light enough for me to load by myself. 2. short for better maneuverability in creeks and 3. my partner and I now have 4 yaks so that we can take friends out with us. We've introduced a few friends/family now to kayaking. Price was great too, $200.00. The previous reviews on here helped me make my decision to buy.
Submit your own review!

05-31-2005
Submitted by: RMSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought the Victory Blast at a local Dick’s Sporting Goods for $199. Being a brand new paddler, I wasn’t sure what to expect. In my excitement to get out on the water I launched into the Great Miami River (Ohio) on a slightly overcast day. I no sooner hit the water and a storm blew in. I quickly found myself in a driving rainstorm on a river that swells quickly and can be dangerous. The kayak was fantastic though. It was extremely stable and tracked straight through the water even with my poor paddling technique. Not once did I feel any danger.

I’m fairly large 6’0” 245 lbs but this kayak performed great. The foot pegs and back rest help tremendously.

The very next morning I took it out on the same river. The skies were clear blue but the wind was howling. This kayak cut right through the waves though with no problem. I got a little wet, but it is a water sport, right? Its speed, stability and maneuverability easily warrant a 9 out of 10 rating. The only drawback to this kayak is that it lacks a drain plug. You can easily buy one and make your own though.

If you are looking to give kayaking a try at a low cost, the Victory Blast is a GREAT choice…very stable and easy to steer but yet still has adequate speed.

Submit your own review!

04-06-2005
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     After 15 years sold the canoe, I needed something I could pick up and throw on the roof of SW without help. The Blast met all my requirements. Inexpensive, would I like kayaking? Light weight, old age and surgery mandated. Took it out today on SE PA lake. After a few shaky minutes to get a feel for how it differed from my old town, I had a blast. It tracked well and was far more stable then I expected. Hope to take it out again soon.

I do not know how it stacks up against the more expensive one's but if your looking for a inexpensive one for your first try at kayaking This one should satisfy.

Submit your own review!

03-30-2005
Submitted by: DBSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Recently purchased a Victory Blast for just $190 and I'm very happy with it....it's more stable than any canoe I've been in, paddles easy, and tracks straight.....with me @ 195 it drafts about 5".....I haven't fished from it yet but think it will do just fine for fishing and I now have added rod holders, anchor, and paddle strap so it's ready to go.
Submit your own review!

03-20-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My friend recently purchased a Blast and an Old Town Otter, and I have had the pleasure of paddling both. They are both about the same length, but the Blast rides lower in the water, and thus will drag bottom on logs you may not even see, whereas the Otter would clear visible logs. The Otter was more maneuverable, But the Blast tracks straighter. I was able to paddle upstream in both kayaks rather quickly. It has a nice sized, comfortable cockpit, I'm sure it would be suitable for fishing. Overall, I liked the Otter more, but if you can catch this baby on sale for $200 it is a steal as it comes standard with the footpegs and deck rigging, and the Otter does not.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Banjo Shirt