Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Canoes > We-no-nah Canoe > Heron Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Heron Canoe by We-no-nah Canoe


Rated: 6.33/10 Based On: 6 Reviews

Canoes
Research Canoes in the Buyers' Guide!
Canoes Image
Canoes Image
Canoes Image

Select Canoe to View in Buyers' Guide



05-03-2013
Submitted by: AMWSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have the kevlar version and it is fantastic for solo use due to its light weight. It is the most maneuverable canoe Wenonah makes, but the drawback to that is that it is very hard to keep a straight line when it is windy or on large water.

All in all, this is fantastic canoe and it has served me well from the Boundary Waters to Lake Powell.

Submit your own review!

03-31-2009
Submitted by: JeffreySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchases my Heron ROYALEX on a impulse buy. I seen it hanging from a ceiling in a tavern. It is bright Yellow with Linenkugels printed on the bow and Honey Weis Bier on the Stern. I liked the looks of it and thought it was a sin just hanging in the bar. I asked the owner if I could buy it, She said 500.00 "sold" (what a buy this canoe never seen water) I went home got the money and my van. Picked it up and brought it up to my cabin.

My wife and I have zip for experience. We feel very stable in it. Not to tippy at all and tracks fairly well. Our lake is fairly calm, we only take it out when it is calm because of the wind. We fish a lot out of it about 99% of the time. I have a high powered fishing boat so when the wind is up I can afford not to kill myself fighting the wind back to the cabin.

I am a recreational paddler, fishing, and photography is why I own this canoe. When I am not fishing with my wife (5'4" 125lbs) I go with my brother in-law he is 6'6" 250lbs and I an 5'6" 190lbs, we have no problem with my Heron. The only thing I don't like about it is the floor has more flex than I like. I seem to think it would be more efficient to paddle if the floor was firmer.

We take it to different lakes rather than pulling my power boat out of the lake and tow it all over, in and out again and waste 2 hours. I keep the rear seats out of my Caravan all summer and we just put the Heron in the back of it hang on and go. We have 26 lakes within 15 minutes. So we get to experience many different lakes.

I have nothing to compare it to, but no one has complained yet about it. I bought it for fun and exercise and getting close to the Loons for photography and that is what I am getting out of it. Actually the Loons get close to me I just sit still and they pop up within feet of the canoe. It makes for an awesome day.

Sometimes my younger family members come up to the cabin and they take it out for a few hours. With that bright yellow it's not hard to find them on the lake. And they are very visible to larger watercraft. It is a very good quality product. We use it fairly often over the past 3 summers and it still looks great. No real signs of wear and tear other than the reasonable bottom scratches mostly from loading and unloading. It fit's our family needs.

Submit your own review!

01-21-2009
Submitted by: RBSend Email
Rating: 2 of 10

     Made the mistake of buying without trying.
Dealer sold it as a solo that could take an additional person. Told me to sit backwards on the seat when going solo. Does not track. Feels like I am paddling a bath tub. Please also note We-no-nah rates this as the LEAST EFFICIENT boat they make.
Might be usable in a stock pond.

Submit your own review!

08-21-2006
Submitted by: Randy
Rating: 8 of 10

     I have had a Royalex Heron for about 4 months and have used it on small lakes and rocky rivers. It is great for just knocking around. I like that it is easy to carry (only 15' long and less than 50 lbs), very maneuverable, has plenty of room, and slides easily over river rocks in shallow spots (I have not had it in anything tougher than an easy Class II). My wife likes that it is short, so we sit closer together than in our 18 footer. It tracks well (especially for a canoe this short), which to me is the most important feature in a canoe because I can pay more attention to our surroundings and less to my stroke. On the downside, it felt tippier than I thought it would for its width, but that was largely because the web seats are mounted higher than I like. I think Wenonah puts the seats up that high so you can fit your feet under them if you decide to kneel, but I have big feet so that was never a possibility. I lowered the seats about 1 inch and they feel more comfortable, are closer to the water, and the boat is more stable. We had to do some experimenting to get the trim right because I have about 90 lbs on my wife. Our preferred setup is for her to sit on some cushions just forward of the bow seat and put the heaviest gear under and just behind the bow seat. That trims us and puts my wife in a narrower part of the canoe where it is easier for her to reach the water. We tried turning it around, with me sitting backwards on the bow seat and her backwards on the stern seat. This put her a little too low in the water for most uses, but worked nicely when going downriver into a strong headwind. I have paddled it solo by kneeling or sitting right at the center thwart. It takes some manhandling to get it going but once moving it tracked much better than I thought it would. I have not soloed it downriver yet, but it is so stable and maneuverable that it seems like it could handle the occasional Class II water solo. I give it a 8 out of 10 because it is good at what it is for, but is not nearly as fast as our 18' cruiser, and I had to lower the seats.
Submit your own review!

04-27-2006
Submitted by: Dave WSend Email
Rating: 3 of 10

     I've had my Huron (Tuftweave) for a little over two years. I wanted a tandem canoe that I could carry myself and sometimes use solo, and also use for fishing with my buddy. This canoe is light (less than 50 lbs) and moves easily in the water. Compared to my buddy's Old Town Royalex canoe, it feels light as a feather!

I like to fish, and despite being advertised as suitable for sportsmen, this canoe has been a major disappointment for me. "Tipsy" used to be a nice feeling when I was younger but this canoe gives a whole new meaning to the word. Ugh! It's also very uncomfortable, as the cane seats are set pretty low to maintain stability. I will probably try to sell it (it was pricey -new) and get something else -something perhaps a little heavier but with more stability. -Am tired of tipping! But I blame myself for buying it without trying it out first. The dealers here in Western Mass aren't into it but I will Never buy a canoe again without trying it out first.

Submit your own review!

09-12-2004
Submitted by: SHSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Have taken my new Wenonah Heron to the Oswegatchie River in the Adirondacks, and on a solo trip to Algonquin Park in Canada, amongst other, short trips. On the twisty, turny Oswegatchie River, the Heron was a joy to paddle with my daughter. Other folks we ran into on the trip commented on the fact that we were handling the many turns much more easily than a longer canoe. Excellent secondary stability - I can stand up in it on calm water, and can easily crawl all about the canoe in the middle of the lake, if I'm by myself and need something from the bow. On the solo trip to Algonquin, I removed the stern seat, turned the canoe around, and paddled from the bow seat, as recommended by Wenonah. Obviously, this boat is not a great solo canoe, but it did work quite well for me. The Heron's tracking as a solo canoe is somewhat limited. The canoe felt very seaworthy when the wind came up on one larger lake, and I never felt in danger of capsizing. I have abused the heck out of it already - lots of scratches in the royalex, but the Heron seems to be sturdily built. Awfully heavy for portaging, though! A great boat for someone like myself who needs a tandem, but sometimes wants to solo, and doesn't have the money for kevlar.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Piragis Northwoods Company
Free Shipping on New Canoes from Piragis Northwoods Company or pick up in Ely, MN and get $100 off
Shop these fine Retailers





Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale