Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Atlantis Kayaks, Inc. > Titan Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Titan Kayak by Atlantis Kayaks, Inc.


Rated: 8.89/10 Based On: 9 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



09-08-2010
Submitted by: yacomSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I had the opportunity to paddle the Atlantis Titan on a Canadian West Coast adventure and I have to say that I was very pleased with the boat. There are no construction flaws on that boat, the quality is amazing. The boat is very stable even in rough conditions, tracks very well and the cockpit is big enough to allow performing a west coast entry if needed. Fully loaded with gear, it turns easily when edging, I barely use the rudder on that trip since the boat tracked well in all conditions. I found out that the rear of the cockpit is a little bit high, no way to lean back for a potential combat roll, meanwhile, the boat is easy to roll unloaded (the VI version has a lower back). I have to admit that Atlantis will have to come up with a better seat system. The fiberglass seat is not comfortable at all; I just wanted to get out of the boat after only 30 minutes paddling it. I agree with SWS, the edges of the seat pan really make your voyage unpleasant. That would be the only reason why I wouldn't buy that boat. One good thing about the seat, it can be removed for cleaning. After being swept by a wave, I had a lot of sand in the cockpit and it was very easy to clean by just removing the seat pan. If Atlantis redesigns its seat system, I would consider the Titan to be my next expedition boat, probably the VI version.

Score: 10/10 for quality, craftsmanship, performance, seaworthiness, maneuverability. 2/10 for seat comfort

Submit your own review!

05-06-2010
Submitted by: SWSSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     I own 6 kayaks of all types and have paddled many more. What I really like about the Titan VI is the way it paddles forward and backward! It rolls like a dream and the quality is first rate, BUT, I really hate the seat pan. After paddling about 6 miles my upper thigh bones are very sore from hitting the edges of the seat pan. I am 5'6" tall and that is probably why they hit that point when my knees are braced against the thigh hooks(which are comfortable); poor design and they know it and are changing it but it does not help me.

Another thing I really hate is the back band system, "Raknid" is what they call it. Arachnid, like spider web, is more like it! It flops all over the place and is rather useless. The local Atlantis dealer cannot even figure it out! Another bad design. If you want to travel to the factory, in Canada and a ferry ride to Vancouver Island and back, they are happy to show you how it works.

They need to rethink how they do business, but it is a great hull design and superior foot pedal/rudder control. With an umbrella the boat sails like a dream!

Submit your own review!

04-24-2009
Submitted by: RcSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Exceptional quality and craftsmanship, the Titan is a MUST see!!! I ordered mine in a composite (Glass/Kevlar) with the Red/ Black fade and it is awesome. As stated by previous reviews it is stable, mobile, fast, comfortable and tough. I tested every kayak I could find, but the Titan fit me (6í1" 223) perfectly.

I could not be more pleased with the Titan and recommend to anyone looking for a ultra-quality, high performance, big water kayak with loads of capacity, the Titan is worth every penny.

Submit your own review!

07-01-2008
Submitted by: REDSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Started out as a novice two years ago with my Atlantis VI and I have enjoyed every moment with it in all kinds of water on Vancouver Island. Stable, mobile, fast, comfortable...and like other reviewers here I tried out many competitors before making this choice. It is heavy to carry in the fiberglass model (52 lbs), but once its in the water its a dream.
Submit your own review!

07-05-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     After searching high and low for the "Perfect" Sea Kayak for me (6'1" 250# ), I found it! The Atlantis Titan was made for big people like me and responds to my every whim. The secondary stability allows me to paddle on edge full time, the turning radius is that of a 14 footer not a yak that is a little over 18 feet. Being the owner of a dozen or so previous high quality yaks, this is the first one I have ever owned in which I can sit in over 2 hours with out my legs cramping or my feet going to sleep. I ordered mine in a composite (Glass/Kevlar) construction, and when picking colors, even the combing and seam tape are a choice. I was also able to get a compass puck at the location that suited me, and thier GPS holder is one of a kind. The hull profile is a hybrid taking the best from "Brit" and "N. American" yaks. I have not found anything this boat won't do for me including surfing into the beach on high crested waves.
Submit your own review!

09-01-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     After trying the Titan and Titan VI I decided to try the Wav and Mist-(16.5 foot boats)essentially the same kayak except that the Wav is a soft chine and the Mist is a multi-chine-- I must say I was extremely impressed with the whole kayak-very well built in all aspects!!!, but the most impressive part is the paddling-- paddling for me is not just to get from A to B- it is to have fun along the way--these are both very, very fast and quick turning- the Mist (multi-chine hull) seems to accelerate at the start slightly quicker, but that may have been because I was more warmed up--basically these are great fun!!--they also fit me and I am 6'2"" and 205 lbs-check them out you will be as impressed as I was.
Submit your own review!

07-06-2005
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have tried Titan VI (thatís Vancouver Island) which is a slightly lower volume version of the Titan- what a sweet kayak-does everything and does it well-exceptionally well built-lots of neat features-e.g. thicker rudder cable, seamed inside and out, locking hatch covers (which will stand vertically while you load your hatch)-it is stable and the fastest kayak I have ever been in- also look at the other kayaks by Atlantis--awesome workmanship!!!!
Submit your own review!

05-04-2005
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought an Atlantis Titan VI (VI for Vancouver Island) in fiberglass about a month ago and have done about fifteen daytrips in it so far. This is a fine, well balanced sea boat. I am 5' 10", 165 lbs., intermediate ability. Although the Titan comes with rudder, and I am happy to have it there just in case, I have never used the rudder and I expect that I seldom ever will. This boat is fast, tracks well in all conditions, AND is easily turned. It is the most predictable and well mannered boat I have ever paddled, and still manages to feel fast and lively. Very solid feeling in a lean. The cockpit fit is superb. Several nice design details. I tried the Nimbus Telkwa, Current Designs Solstice GTS, Necky Tesla and several others. The Titan VI outperforms them all, in my opinion. I just wish it was lighter.
Submit your own review!

07-26-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     We have only had these fiberglass kayaks for a month, but have paddled them in all conditions already. This is a new company that just started up in Nanaimo BC. We took the Kayaks out on a trip in the Broken Group on the west coast of BC and paddled in everything from calm flat to a 2-meter swell with a 25-knot wind. I must say that these boats handled everything we threw at them whether fully loaded, or empty. These are very stable boats, and they carved there way through the rough waters without a hitch yet maintained a good speed throughout. We were on a 5 day excursion and we had more than enough space to pack all our gear including 5 days worth of water. The hatches did not allow a single drop of water to enter the compartments the whole trip and they made the paddle a great experience. The fittings on the boats are first class from the foot braces/rudder controls that do not penetrate the hull, down to the stainless steel rollers on the rudder up/downhaul system. These boats suit the medium to large size paddlers.

Belonging to a kayak club we have had the chance to try over a dozen different kayaks and we could not be happier with our purchase.

Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Luxury Kayaking Trips
ORCA WHALES, EAGLES
SAN JUAN ISLANDS
www.crystalseas.com/InnToInn

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

Sweepstakes

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.