Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Pelican International > Apex II Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Apex II Kayak by Pelican International


Rated: 8.45/10 Based On: 20 Reviews

Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



08-15-2011
Submitted by: Gavin GSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this kayak in August. Good yak; a bit heavy, but still good. Will be decked out for fishing. Only no bungees on front but no worries; my uncle and I will put stainless steel eye hook and I will put my own straps to make my ice chest fit perfect on the front. Tracking is good. But for a first yak, no complaints.
Submit your own review!

Win a DVD
08-10-2011
Submitted by: Ben MSend Email
Rating: 6 of 10

     Beware of the new "version" of the 130T. No bungee/shock cords on bow but you do have four 3/16" holes that you will have to do something with. I emailed Pelican because the vendor's display had bungee cords at bow and stern and their images on their site (Pelican) show one with and one without. Took them three weeks to respond to my email. I gave them the serial number and got this lame reply:
"Unfortunately, from the serial# given the model is a KTA13P108 and in it's breakdown for this year only the back (stern) shock cords are in this model's makeup."
Disappointed in their customer service because I agreed to install the bungee myself if they would supply the $4.00 dollars or so in parts. Just be mindful that you are purchasing a perfectly good boat with four holes that you will have to do something with.

Good price, but we are now looking at solo kayaks and will stay away from Pelican based on this experience.

Submit your own review!

05-02-2011
Submitted by: DSFSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     First day on the water with our Apex 130T.
    Ratings:
  • 9 out of 10 for kids.
  • 5 out of 10 for adults over 5'10'' because knees will stick up too high for taller people and it is hard to paddle.
  • 10 out of 10 for price.

Submit your own review!

08-13-2010
Submitted by: DennySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought my Apex 130 a year ago and live on the island of Puerto Rico and I have the ease of use in rivers, lakes, mangroves and especially at sea. To start, this is the first of three kayaks that I have now and the cheaper ($200.00 used include the two seats, two paddles and two life jackets) and is very light to carry and transport on the roof of my Suzuki Grand Vitara.

In lakes and rivers is very easy to manage and keep straight, but at sea, usually turn to the right and is a little difficult to maneuver. It is very stable and the back has a big load space which can accommodate a large cooler, I usually sail with my wife and my two children and we sail comfortable. I understand for the price is the best kayak I buy

Submit your own review!

06-14-2007
Submitted by: NBSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Good boat for the kids to play with. Very stable for fishing. Too wide and heavy to go very far. Seats don't drain and hold water. I'm rigging this one out for fishing.
Submit your own review!

09-18-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Good 1st kayak. Boy and I had it up to 4.5 mph. Stable. We use it as a swimming/diving platform at lake. Also great for fishing. No speed demon but we get around fairly effortlessly. Real stable. Wife deathly afraid of water but after 10 min in this she loves it. Did have a leak I had to patch, annoying, but hey I own a Chevy. Nothing to compare it to, I being a newbie. Will get a solo top grade for me someday. But for <$400 for the fun and use, I'm happy. Good buy...
Submit your own review!

01-20-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     About eight months ago, I purchased this kayak for my kids. The Apex II is a nice entry level kayak. We found it to be very stable and the tracking is not that bad. The included seat backs are comfortable. The included paddles are rather short and you will probably want to upgrade those. This kayak has a fair amount of room for two people. We noticed some body flex when entering and exiting the craft. The seat well drainage is not the best. The boat is heavy but it seems durable. We take the kayak out almost every weekend and have a blast using it for "kite kayaking". I recommend the Apex II for anyone who is looking for a stable and sturdy entry level SOT kayak and wants to save some money too.
Submit your own review!

07-15-2005
Submitted by: Luis
Rating: 9 of 10

     Purchased this kayak two weeks ago. I used it in the Gulf bay area. Very stable for two people, I have not tried it by myself. I used it for fishing and it worked great. Very nice boat, highly recommend.
Submit your own review!

07-11-2005
Submitted by: erlSend Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Bought at Sports Authority, very cheap at $249 including 2 paddles, seat backs, and bungees.

Good stuff: 1) Price - can't beat it for a 2 person intro SOT. Priced used ones all over the east coast and did not find anything better. 2) Performance - not bad, especially in 3' surf and typical east coast chop conditions. The bow entry, combined with the weight and beam gave it very good stability. Played in the surf with 2 younger kids who were initially a little scared and ended up trying to stand and hang ten before jumping off at the shore break. With 1, performs best if you sit in the middle (where the hatch space is located) which is a little uncomfortable after a while. Big time stability, it is easy to get back on the boat after jumping in, and is pretty easy to move around, though more tippy in the bow of the boat. 3) Versatility - works well as a 1 up, 2 up, 3 small kid up, and can easily modify to a fisher. The drains support ocean rod end placement.

Bad stuff: 1) Kind of heavy at 63+ lbs. but about what you would expect for a 13 1/2 long SOT. (Hand hold moldings are at the balance point so one person can lift and place the boat on top of even tall SUVs pretty easily. Weaker paddlers may have some problems though.) 2) Paddles that come with the package are too short (OK for the front paddler, painful for the rear paddler). 3) The drain plug placement is not in the best location to easily get all of the water out of the inside of the boat. 4) The seats don't drain well and you stay wet in the butt. 5) Orange is the only color available. I like orange, but everyone looks the same.

Overall, this seems to be a good SOT, definitely better than some of the 2 person rentals at $200/week, and easily decent enough to justify having around for a weekend beach trip or Potomac River rapid play day.

Submit your own review!

05-17-2005
Submitted by: ishakSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This kayak is just great for me and my kids. The stability of this kayak is good for fishing. It's good.
Submit your own review!

05-02-2005
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great! Only a nine because of the drainage problem in the seats. I have been kayaking and canoeing for years and I just bought this one from Sports Authority in Florida. I like it. I weigh about 130 Lb. I have stood on it, laid on it, sat on it (front to back) and tried to flip it while on it. Since it is so wide it is really a good boat. I wish it had a little more storage though. The only thing is the water coming in and staying there, personally that doesn't bother me because you’re kayaking in water... Great boat, would buy it again!
Submit your own review!

04-07-2005
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just bought this based on some of the reviews that were left previously and agree it is a great first kayak, plenty fast for me, and very stable. Have used it three times in the Monterey Bay both solo and tandem and am quite pleased. Got it from Target.com (best price at the time) and they even rebated me 20% because their shipper lost a paddle! So if you don't mind a wet butt every now and then and want to enter kayaking with minimal outlay, this is a good choice!
Submit your own review!

11-01-2004
Submitted by: callmedabreezeSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My son and I just have had two tryout runs on a small lake before taking it fishing in Highland's Bayou that is close to the gulf coast. He was trying to flip me out, but to no avail! It is very stable and seems to be a real good first kayak for he and I.
Submit your own review!

09-20-2004
Submitted by: MEasterlySend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought this boat (my first) because I wanted something versatile. I live on Galveston Island, so I'm half a mile from the Gulf of Mexico, and half a mile from Galveston Bay and the Intercoastal. It performs beautifully in both. I find, contrary to some other reviews, that it handles well in the surf given that its 36" width compensates for the slightly lower bow when stability is an issue. With two grown men and fishing tackle on the open sea, it performed well. It's not too fast, but for exploring/fishing who's going fast? It is awkward to transport w/ one person and needs more lashes, but I'd recommend it to anyone that lives on or near the ocean. (Mine will probably never see a river).
Submit your own review!

09-02-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     first time out. easy to steer, went in and out of 2 foot surf ok. water drainage not exceptional (continuous wet butt), but excellent stability (casting is so easy), fast enough. Can't wait to cut out the optional hatch for all that fishing gear. Paddled through a fish boil, wishing for bait and a rod. Very comfortable.
Submit your own review!

08-23-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Looked around trying to pick my first boat. Wanted a tandem for the occasional trip with my wife but will primarily use alone for fishing. Local retailer had too good of a deal to pass up so now its here. I took it out on the lake alone for a test run and I'm impressed. I'm 6'1" 220 and I can paddle from the front back or even the middle. Sure a $1000 boat is probably a bit faster but this one is great for the buck. I sat on it sideways, stood up, and hopped from seat to seat and it was perfectly stable. I'm recomending it to my friends. My wife and I rented one for diving off the coast of Maui a few months ago so I know it will be fine as a tandem.
Submit your own review!

07-29-2004
Submitted by: GarrettSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great kayak! Handles very well, does not tip easily, and is built to last. Though it does not perform in rough surf as well as the "Ocean Kayaks" do it is still very fun. Works well as a solo and tandem riding kayak. You can't ask for much better for a $350-$375 kayak.
Submit your own review!

07-29-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 8 of 10

     An excellent value. It's well-constructured, very, very stable, tracks relatively well, and it has adequate speed given its dimensions (it's not a speed machine by any stretch, but it's not meant to be).

As it's been said before, it's not the best kayak when facing surf or swells. A higher/flared bow would help tremendously on its ability to handle everything but glassy conditions. A middle seat that is accessible when the front seat is removed would also make a big difference for solo-paddling since it doesn't paddle nearly as well solo from either the front or rear seats.

Given all that, it's still a good entry-level boat, and I give it good marks because it's the best bang for the buck in SOT tandems, it's very forgiving and performs quite well given its price (I got mine at 25% off MSRP and I just couldn't pass up that offer).

Submit your own review!

07-26-2004
Submitted by: Jeremy iz daSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I am only 14 years of age, and i love this kayak. the first thing i did with it was go in the pool. it was awsome! after that i went to a lake in the mountains and i paddled out. it has perfect tracking and does not easily tip. it is very stable. i strongly recomend this kayak for beginners. Once you take this out you will be amazed on how much you like it! That is how i felt when i first took it out. Remember though wear a lifejacket, be safe, and most of all Have Fun!
Submit your own review!

07-02-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     This SOT kayak is sold in many stores, but I couldn't find a review anywhere on the internet. I bought it anyway and couldn't be much happier for the price (less than $400). I've had it on the open ocean and flatwater creeks and rivers. It's very stable, tracks pretty well, and seems well constructed. I admit I've never tried the more expensive boats, but if you're an occasional weekend paddler like myself, I think you'd be perfectly happy with the Apex II, especially for the money. The boat comes with paddles and seat backs included. The seat backs don't provide padding for your rear-end, however (I bought some more comfortable Cabin Creek kayak seats on closeout). This boat is a tandem, but also handles well solo. I suspect it's not as fast as some of the expensive models, but so far I haven't been in a hurry. A great buy!
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter100,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!








Shop Online
Rendezvous River Sports
Rendezvous River Sports has everything you need...and more. Plus Used Gear at Amazing Prices.
Shop these fine Retailers





GRUMMAN CANOES
FREE SHIPPING on all canoes until May 14
See Paddling.net for great reviews
www.canoeinglife.com

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Educational DVDs Shirt Sale