Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Seda > Glider Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Glider Kayak by Seda


Rated: 8.83/10 Based On: 18 Reviews


Glider Kayak by Seda

Length: 19' 0" - Width: 22.00" - Starting at: $3700.00
See More Details about this Kayak
Seda Logo



09-06-2014
Submitted by: Kevin BondSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Long and light this fiberglass boat is great for racing. I typically use it for kayak camping and the only drawback is that the forward hatch is only six inches wide and there is no forward bulkhead. You have to put your equipment in through the cockpit. Corkscrewing and wind cocking is a problem, but no boat is perfect.
Submit your own review!

09-05-2014
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I am still using a 1989 Kelvar Glider. A friend likes it when he borrowed it to help train someone for the Texas Water Safari. Only 44 pounds so easy to put up on the truck racks.
Submit your own review!

01-11-2012
Submitted by: DaveSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Glider is one durable kayak!
I bought a '95 a couple of years ago. It had been keelhauled over so many rocks etc. that there was a 6" hole in the keel at the stern. I ground off the gellcoat, patched the hole and re-gelcoated the entire hull. It was perfect! At the first traffic light the Glider came flying off of the roofmount carrier and sailed the 8' down to the street! It did amazingly little damage. The worst was because it hit bow first, it buckled the boat between the cockpit and the bow hatch. But only the thinner deck, not the hull at all. I added some fiberglass patches to the areas, buffed out the new spiderweb cracks on the deck and touched up the scuffs in the gelcoat.
Although I'm not taking it whitewater kayaking, I'm sure it would survive.

I have 3 kayaks. The Glider is for weather forecasts of "light to moderate chop". It's kind of susceptible to wind & currents. Though it would perform better if fully laden with camping gear.
My 17' Seaward Tyee is 24" wide and is a more stable touring boat, but averages 1/2 MPH slower than the Glider.
My 17'Necky Chatham is for weather forecasts that include "small craft advisory" and is about a full MPH slower than the Glider.

If I could only keep one it would be the Glider. I call it my telephoto kayak because it brings distant objects into focus. I can spot a speck on the horizon and an hour later I'm there. And it'll hold a lot of gear.

Any issues I have with my '95 have been addressed with the current model. The sliding rudder controls. (I prefer the "gas pedal" controls) Mine has no forward bulkhead plus the new model has recessed hatches & deck fittings. That's got to help with the wind issues. Plus there's the deck recesses to keep your hands from hitting the deck when paddling.

I've demo'd an Epic 18X and it'd be fun to speed across "calm inland waters" but with that low bow it's got to be more susceptible to "pearl diving" into waves. Besides, if I bust an Epic, I can't fix it like I can a fiberglass Seda.

So for me, a flatwater-touring kayaker the Seda Glider IS the best boat. It's fast, handles moderate weather, and holds a lot of gear. It tracks like an arrow. With an Epic winged paddle to maximize my forward stroke, I can close my eyes and stay on course. Arriving at a beach I feel like I'm berthing the Queen Mary, but I'd choose tracking over turning any day.

Submit your own review!

12-10-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     My first experience was my fiberglass glider model year 1991. I kept it until 2008. It was a fine boat very watertight. The hatches were a raised profile but the hatch covers were very secure and it went through the surf without any leakage. My new boat is about two years old kevlar deck and carbon hull. The design is better for paddling and it's a little faster. The hatch covers are terrible. I would be afraid to go into the ocean without securing them with tape or some additional device. I use a featherlite rudder and always prefer it because I steer without even thinking about it. Turning 180 is a little tough but I only have to do it once a workout! Prices are quite a bit steeper than they used to be. Layup had some flaws and the new SEDA management wouldn't even discount for that. It took longer to get from when I ordered it than they promised. I think they make truck shells in the off season or something.
Submit your own review!

11-17-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Still have my Kelvar I got in July 1989. I ordered several months before and got it when it was finally produced. I rigged a system to keep the fiberglass hatches attached by getting some U-brackets and attacking quick releases straps to them. I have taken out into the Texas surf I prefer paddling the bays. It would be nicer with a rudder and some of the refinements that were included in later models.
Submit your own review!

03-03-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have paddled Gliders for six years. Presently, I own two, an '05 Kevlar model and an '08 CF/Kevlar model. Previously, I paddled Neckys, and Current Designs. Over the years I've had the opportunity to paddle boats from other North American brands, as well as those of the major three British imports. In my experience, the Glider is the best all around touring kayak available. It is faster than any other touring kayak (with the single possible exception of the Epic 18). The paddler-friendly sculpted deck increases stroke efficiency and its ability to surf wind waves can further extend touring range considerably. Paddling into a stiff wind, while never painless, is easier. Further, the Glider is remarkably stable and maneuverable.

Seda's workmanship is good. There is ample storage for expedition or multi-day touring and the day hatch is a tremendous convenience. I don't need a new kayak. however, were I to buy one, it would be a Glider.

Submit your own review!

05-10-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Seda Glider was love at first sight for me.
After paddling once a week for 4 years and owning 6 kayak previously, I know what I was looking for. The size of the cockpit is excellent for me. I can go in and out easily. Also easier to do self-rescue like - cowboy style and side straddle. It also makes my paddling style doable- legs together with knees pointing up.....like on a surfki or k1 kayak. I had to of course change the pedal to a kickboard with controls on top for the rudder.

It's straight tracking kayak and the down side is that it's more difficult to turn. I'm aware of the trade off. My Norkapp HMC was like that and I'm used to it.

The kevlar model I got is about 45#. And that's not too heavy and not lite either. I will never buy another 30# kayak from a bad experience I had. It flies on top of the water after a capsize with a super strong wind gust. A paddle leash attached to the kayak was my only salvation. Advanced paddlers might not have this problem.

When it comes to speed, I was able to paddle the Glider at 6 mph for 30 min. straight. That might not be that fast but I can't even do over 5mph on my Epic V-10 sports surfski (afraid to capsize?).

I feel confident when I paddle my Seda Glider just like my Nordkapp HMC. Is it perfect? No such think. BTW, I did not have any issues with quality... Excellent kayak!!!

Submit your own review!

03-30-2009
Submitted by: dave
Rating: 7 of 10

     I had a Glider! The Glider is a very fast boat, but it has several issues that caused it to be a (Had)boat. The gliders fit & finish were fair with a lot of air bubbles in the layup. The fiberglass hatch covers that came on my $3000.00 boat would pop out from under the straps no matter how tight the straps or how small the wave that came over the deck. My Seda rudder made a loud droning vibration noise while going through the water. The basic hull design is good, meaning the bow rides over waves & the glider can do more than race. If you are looking for a boat that is very light & fast on flat water, this boat may be for you.
Submit your own review!

04-11-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have had the 2007 Carbon Glider for a few weeks now and am highly satisfied with its design, the quality of the layup, and its performance. I was looking for a fast sea kayak for fitness paddling and racing. I would recommend the Feathercraft rudder upgrade and toe controlled rudder that allows you to push off a solid platform. I like the fact the rudder lays flat on the deck when not deployed rather than it sticking up where it could be damaged. It also comes with a cleat that holds the rudder intact while deployed. The cockpit is large enough to allow knees to be up in the cockpit or to the side. It is also easy to do feet out landings and launchings. I did not get the day hatch option and do not miss it due to the amount of room behind the seat. The deck lines are perfect for holding a camelback hydration pack in a manner that does not interfere with paddling. It tracks well and I do not care that it does not edge like my hard chined boat. I handles open ocean conditions and boat wakes well even with a wing paddle. Seda's customer service is outstanding and I am very pleased with my purchase. I would not rate it a 10 as an all around BCU type boat but it is a 10 for what I bought it for.
Submit your own review!

04-10-2006
Submitted by: Hans K.Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Knowing Joe & his wife from their beginnings in a small industrial garage in the mid 70s. After buying a 13" kayak in 76, buying my glider in 2002.Its much better than any others I have tried , in bays or oceans .I would fish and paddle in San Diego bay, the aircraft carriers passed it would roll - heel to a solid point even in the trough . Like others have written it tracks straight even when driven with hard paddling, off shore it handles weather well .

Its almost a bit too small ( leg room ) for me 6' 6" 230 lb ,still very comfortable after hours in the seat. Its a lot to carry for one guy in the standard glass. I recommend the wheels and spray skirt as a standard for this boat. You can live without a rudder on most inshore water ways.

Its way faster than you can imagine. Lots of storage , at a good price.

Submit your own review!

03-08-2006
Submitted by: John S. (Auburn, CA
Rating: 10 of 10

     The Kevlar Glider (November 2005 model) in natural kevlar bottom and yellow top is my second SEDA. My first was purchased two years ago and is the SEDA Swift model in the same material and configuration. All I can say about the Glider is: 1) I wanted a fast; smooth paddling and light boat; 2)I received that and more; 3)I have found the Glider to be very comfortable; 4) I have the rudder which I seldom use, but nice to have to set a course in the wind; 5)The Glider is a very smooth and a straight paddler; 6)I'm not out to win a race; however, I wanted a boat that was smooth, fun and fast! I found it in the Glider!
Submit your own review!

09-16-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     The Glider was my first glass boat after two years in a CD Scirocco. It doesn't have a rudder and I raced it for 2 years w/o one. When racing there were too many correcting strokes and I would waste valuable energy and time to stay on track after a passing boat or current change. But w/o a rudder you really learn how to handle a boat. I finally just installed a Sealine system and the rudder is a necessity. Now you can concentrate on your forward stroke and stay your course or get out of someone's way in a hurry at the start of a race. Here's how I rate it:

  • Touring - 10
  • Racing - 7-8 due to weight limitations
  • Turning (while racing) 90 degrees - 8 of 10
  • Turning 180 degrees - 6 of 10 (you must practice tight turns because the built in hull type skeg in the stern enables you to track well over distances bet defeats the turning ability in tight quarters.)
  • Windy Conditions - 6 of 10 (While racing around Jamestown, RI 15 miles, I had to stop for other issues nothing to do w/ the boat. 3 racers passed me. This was the downwind leg with the tide and current. Over the next five miles I settled in and caught all three boats. Turned into the wind on the Northern leg and then 6 miles into the wind heading south and all three boats slowly but surely walked away from me.)
  • Following Seas - 7 of 10 (gets squirrelly due to the lack of rocker in the stern. You have to brace and watch yourself. Like most boats.)
  • Weight 48 lbs w/ Rudder it's Kevlar w/ Glass overlay on Hull. Fit & Finish 10 of 10
  • Resistance to Wear Factor - 10 of 10 (This boat looks new on the water - it's five years old.)
  • Hardware/Decking - 10 of 10
  • Resale - 10 of 10
  • Cockpit - Roomy the way I like it.
  • Hatches - 10 of 10 dry as a bone
  • Length - 9 of 10 (it's long @ 19ft.)
  • Boat Appeal - 9 of 10
  • Cruising w/o effort - 4mph
  • Cruising w/ effort - 5 to 5.5
  • Racing - 5.5 to 5.9 (steady pacing)
  • Racing - Sprint - 6.2to 6.5 mph (hard to sustain)

    I would be hard pressed to sell this boat so I recommend it highly. If I bought a race specific boat I would still keep the glider. This is an all around fast cruising day boat that can do expeditions fully loaded and you are always in front of the pack.


  • 04-19-2004
    Submitted by: Eric NyreSend Email
    Rating: 9 of 10

         I just received a new graphite Glider, and the difference between the new Glider and the Kevlar one I owned in the mid 90ís is night and day. The speed is not quite up there with an Epic Endurance (they cruise about the same, but in a sprint the Epic will win), but the comfort was much better (better seat, backrest, and room for knees!). It won hands down when compared with a Current Designs Extreme (my previous favorite boat).

    Deck rigging has been improved. They installed a reflective perimeter line, and a braided shock cord which has more stretch. The bulkheads are curved and the rear bulkhead curves up to the cockpit coaming making emptying the boat a breeze. The inside of my boat is smooth from release cloth, but small air bubbles in the bow show it wasnít vacuume bagged. Core mat, or similar stiffener is used in the hull and in the paddle float rigging of the deck. It is light, weighing under 40 lbs, with the rudder. The finish is very nice, the seam is smooth, I would say the construction is excellent. The only problem is the deck rigging bolts, which extend past the nuts and into the hull. They will rip drybags like a knife. Itís not too hard to grind off those sharp edges.

    Stability is marginal, and secondary stability is not much better. We had the boat in strong winds, and it did not weathercock. We could paddle at any angle to the wind without problem. It is long enough to get squirmy if you are on the crest of 2 waves, and it does not want to turn very quickly (but I have other boats for that), but for speed and comfort it is a blast. I routinely used my old Glider in class II whitewater, and I suspect the new boat will end up there as well. My old Glider was built like a brick house, and could take a serious beating. The new one being Graphite is more fragile, but it seems very solid.

    As for the guy who preferred the Mariner II, thatís like comparing a SUV to a race car. I also paddle a Northwest Pursuit, and choose that boat in rough conditions. But when I want to go fast and have fun, the Glider wins hands down.

    Submit your own review!

    11-19-2001
    Submitted by: ---
    Rating: 7 of 10

         Owned both Glider and Impulse. Both in kevlar. Glider was fast and comfortable. Very nice tracking. But in rough water, the lack of rocker makes it "skewer" on choppy waves, and it is a real task to handle in the wind. I am 6'2" and have paddled for more than 25 years - and this was still a handful. Round canoe-form hull means not as easy to brace on side, or to turn. Large cockpit means must concentrate to roll, because thighs can slip if wet- I put sticky foam on thigh braces to increase thigh contact and control. Liked Impulse better. Like Mariner II and Kajaksport Vivienne much better - for all around conditions. These two track well, and turn much better than Glider.
    Submit your own review!

    02-19-2001
    Submitted by: Rich HodgkinsSend Email
    Rating: 10 of 10

         Bought it to race. Now it is my favorite all around kayak. It is fast but stable enough to take pictures in waves and swells. The price is a good selling point.
    Submit your own review!

    09-13-1999
    Submitted by: Al BowersSend Email
    Rating: 8 of 10

         I've had my Deluxe Glider for almost 1 year now. I love this boat, it has an excellent finish (nearly as good as done by Current Designs) and the boat is impressively fast. I found the beam to be less than specified (mine is about 20 5/8 inches) but stability is not a problem. It isn't great at leaned turns, but in a straight line this boat is great. I don't have a rudder, and I found it is a little bit of a handful to turn in high winds (~35 knots and 3 ft chop). It also needs to be trimmed down in the bow just a bit. Great boat.
    Submit your own review!

    12-06-1998
    Submitted by: Ken JohnsonSend Email
    Rating: 8 of 10

         Have enjoyed my kevlar Seda Glider for 6 years. Paddle almost daily in Corpus Christi Bay and Gulf of Mexico, plus have taken many long trips in Great Lakes, Pacific Coast, and Florida. Boat is fast, comfortable, easy and fun to paddle, very seaworthy, easy to pack for long trip, and has held up very well. Biggest disadvantages are that rudder doesn't lock well to provide good foot bracing without using rudder, and it can be hard to turn in heavy winds.
    Submit your own review!

    12-03-1998
    Submitted by: Tim MattsonSend Email
    Rating: 7 of 10

         I love my Glider. Its fast. In fact, using the Sound rowers classification scheme, its the fastest of all "fast Sea kayaks" (any "faster" and it moves into the surf ski category). I bought the boat for racing, but I discovered that its a great expedition boat as well. Roomy, stable, and able to carry a ton of gear. My only gripe? It sits very high in the water and therefore can be a real problem in high winds. Also, the low rocker and long length means it needs the rudder more often than I would prefer. Finally, its soft chine gives it a sluggish response to a lean and makes it less than ideal for surfing wakes and big ocean swells.
    Submit your own review!

    Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
    Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
    The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














    Bicycle and Kayak along Island Shores
    San Juan Islands
    See Whales & Eagles
    www.crystalseas.com/BikeKayak

    Follow us on:
    Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

    Sweepstakes

    ©2014 Paddling.net Inc.