Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Prijon > Capri Tour Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Capri Tour Kayak by Prijon


Rated: 9/10 Based On: 18 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



07-11-2012
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 7 of 10

     Picked up a pair of used Capri Tours a few years ago. Love putting people in them who have only paddled sluggish rec boats, they are always delighted in how much faster and easier these are to paddle.
Submit your own review!

03-18-2011
Submitted by: MiguelSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Picked up a used Capri 2 years ago and have enjoyed it a great deal. It's light weight, stiff and very comfortable. I padded out the hull with some neoprene to make thigh/knee pads for better contact with the hull for leaning. No kayak is perfect and the rear hatch does leak, so it only rates an 8 on my scale but it is a fun river and lake boat.
Submit your own review!

05-27-2009
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is my first kayak. I did a lot of research before buying it, and I am very happy with my choice. I love sea kayaking, so originally I was looking at sea kayaks. But then I joined a local paddling club and some of the members pointed out that I live a lot closer to small lakes and rivers than to the Lake Michigan or Lake Superior, so I would have more opportunity to use a recreational kayak. I then switched my search to recreational kayaks in the 12 foot range, weighing under 45 pounds. (I am a 5'4" female, so I wanted to be able to lift it on and off my minivan by myself.) Also on my short list were the Wilderness Tsunami 120 (regular version weighs 50 lbs but duralite version only weighs 43 lbs), Perception Tribute (40 lbs), and Necky Manitou 13 (45 lbs).

I liked the Prijon for several reasons: This German designed and made kayak seems to emphasize design and performance over unnecessary bells and whistles (e.g. cupholders); it is thermoformed instead of rotomolded, which makes it the strongest plastic kayak in the industry - it will easily take Class II rapids; the cockpit is small enough to accommodate a spray skirt (but not as small as a sea kayak).

On the water, it tracks great. The hatch gets just a trace of water. The cockpit is very comfortable - good seat, good foot pegs, nice thigh braces. It has no bow flotation, so I added a bow flotation bag. It has no deck perimeter line, so I added that, too.

I'm still hoping to get a sea kayak in another couple of years, but the Capri Tour will allow me to paddle small lakes, rivers, and Class II rapids for years to come.

Submit your own review!

05-20-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love this boat! I tried several 12' kayaks before making this purchase, and it's wonderful. Very stable-I've had it out in large waves (lake), class II rapids, and wind. It moves easily and responds quickly. I ultimately choose this boat because it's light enough for me to lift onto the car by myself (I'm a strong female). I'm presently looking to buy another Prijon. My only compliant is the small opening into the cockpit. But, that minor detail is not enough for me to give this boat less than a 10!
Submit your own review!

04-01-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have waited for a year of paddling in this yak to do a review. First off the HTP plastic of Prijon kayaks is second to none. This yak has seen stone and gravel shorelines, and concrete ramps, there is nothing but superficial scratches on the boat, unlike peels and gouges that would be on other plastic yaks that I have owned.

An earlier review questions the stability of this boat, but it is very stable even while fishing out of it and landing large fish, even my brother (who is a beginner) had no trouble fishing out of it in a river with an 8 mph current. I have also had it in 4ft. swells that is about its max as it tends to submarine the waves at that point. The speed and glide is very impessive and not far behind my 14 footer. The tracking of this yak is very good as there is no rocker, but still maneuvers easily.

The cockpit is comfortable but a gel pad is needed for the seat for extended trips. I added a float bag to the bow and perimeter deck rigging, as well as rigging behind the seat for paddle float rescues. I never had a failed paddle float re-entry as the cockpit is fairly large. The rear hatch is the only negative to the yak, as I have had to pump it out after practicing paddle float re-entry. The hatch also is a pain to close from in the yak and the opening is small. All the other Prijon yaks have great hatches.

The weight of the Capri compared to most other 12 ft. plastic yaks is light and can be easily put it the rack on my truck. If you are looking for a 12 ft. daytripper the Capri is probably the best on the market.

Submit your own review!

03-03-2008
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     If there ever was a Swiss army knife of kayaks this is it; rivers, flat water, bays and ocean (w/experience) surf - it just performs.

I tweek mine a little by adding strips of minicell foam in the v under the seat and on the underside of the seat front 2" chunk to stabilize the loose seat issues and I also filed the thigh braces flat against the combing about 2.5" from the back to get a more comfortable shoulder carrying position plus I velcroed in a 7/16 foam seat pad.
Nice little boat!

Submit your own review!

10-24-2007
Submitted by: groovymanateeSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     What a strange little kayak! Good acceleration, nice cruising speed, initially stable yet the hard chine allows it to carve nicely. Decent cockpit size that allows boat control yet easy access. The rear cockpit depth is a bit much however I can live with it.

I have had this boat for about a year and it has been on estuaries, marshes, rivers and lakes. Not a tripping boat but one of the few rec boats that paddles like a short sea boat. Lots of fun for the money.

Submit your own review!

10-27-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just want to follow up after spending a year with a Capri Tour. And because no one else has reviewed it yet this year. So far so good. The blow-molded plastic is tough; only minor surface scratches. Even demo Prijons I've come across don't have the deep gouges and fuzz. I've been using this boat mostly for advancing skills this year and a couple of day trips. The foot pegs and seat hardware have held up well. Nothing loosened up or fell out. One of the strings on the forward deck net broke, but I easily tied it back on. The only modification I made was to glue in 1/8" pads under the thigh braces to get a better grip with a wetsuit. Prijon's plastic and neoprene seem to repel each other. The rear hatch does let in a little water. After about an hour of rolling and capsize recoveries, there'll be about a cup of water to empty out. Speaking of rolling, the Capri Tour is easy to roll, as rec/touring boats go. It does require good technique, though. The cockpit is fairly deep and the rear deck is higher than on most sea kayaks so that discourages rolls that finish in a layback position. The Capri Tour goes fast enough to perform those Derek Hutchinson "Beyond The Cockpit" moves. High and low brace recoveries are good and the extended paddle lean turns are easy to do. As a day-tripper, the boat does very well. Tracking is great and there's little tendency to weather cock in the wind. The 24" width allows a good high angle forward stroke. I recently did a 15 mile trip on a nearby lake, and setting a comfortable pace, did it in 3 hours, 24 minutes. I'll still give it a 9 as a recreational day tripper.
Submit your own review!

10-30-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I bought a Capri in June and paddled it all summer, probably 2 or 3 times a week, usually for 2-4 hours each time. Most of my paddling was on the pretty flat waters of Onondaga Lake and the Seneca and Oneida Rivers. I am 6'1.5" and weigh 195.

My experiences with the Capri have all been positive. It is relatively light (42 pounds) and the blowmolding makes it stiffer and more resistant to scratches and other damage. Mine actually flew off the roof of the van on the trip back from the kayak shop (at 65 mph) and only suffered minor scratches.

The interior is good. The seat is comfortable and has a removable seat pad that I usually forgot to use. The footpegs are a little difficult to adjust at time but are functional. There is plenty of room for my size 13 feet. The thigh braces are a nice useful feature. My only complaint is that the hatch is a little difficult to close. You have to apply steady pressure over the entire hatch lid and even then it sometimes doesn't completely thread. The hatch provides adequate storage for a daytrip but it might not be sufficient for an overnight trip.

The Capri tracks well and is very maneuverable. I found it to be easy to paddle, as did my kids, one of whom is 10. I used my GPS on one trip and averaged about 4.5 mph with a peak of 6.1 mph on flat water. I also found the Capri to be very stable, even on a hard/sharp turn. I didn't find the wind to be a problem as the Capri is built with a low profile.

Although my paddling experience is limited to one summer and only 4 different boats (Perception Carolina and Acadia and an Aquaterra something) I would highly recommend the Capri. It has a good combination of good performance and stability that make it a pleasure to paddle.

Submit your own review!

10-11-2005
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Now, ready for a bad review on the Capri Tour? Nope. Won't find it here. I'll agree with the previous reviewers about the high quality blow-molded plastic used. It is stiffer, more scratch and gouge resistant than roto-molded linear polyethylene, as well as being a bit lighter. On the water, it's quite fast for a 12-foot boat and it tracks very well; no need for a rudder. Minor course corrections can be made by leaning it a little. Get it up on edge and it turns well. The hull is a shallow "V" with a hard chine and slight flare. There's a flat keel down the middle that's 9" wide at the middle tapering toward the bow and stern. Lengthwise, the hull has no rocker and has a long waterline for its length. Measuring the Capri Tour, it is a full 12 ft. long. The beam measured 24", rather than the 25" shown on the spec chart on Wildnets' site.

Also, you won't see it on the photo on their site, but the inner cockpit rim has a good set of thigh braces. They're not padded, but can be if desired. The seat on my boat is not padded and there's no cupholder. The contour of the seat is fine and I've found it to be better than some cushier seats. There's other ways to bring drinking water along. I'm 5'11" and 200 lbs. and the boat is a very good fit. Someone who's taller and wears shoes bigger than a 12 may be cramped. The rear bulkhead is watertight and the screw-on hatch works well.

Be sure all the threads are engaged when closing it so it doesn't leak. I've never rolled a kayak before but I was able to roll this one. I'm sure a more experienced paddler will find it easy to roll. In case of a swim, a paddle float re-entry can be very awkward, but a re-enter and roll is very easy. Even without a paddle. On the subject of self-rescue, the Capri Tour has no bow flotation whatsoever. A flotation bag that's 42"-45" long works well. The footpegs will hold it in place without having to tie it in. Stability is quite good. Not the rock solid primary stability like a lot of rec boats, but pretty good once you’re seated.

Overall, an outstanding kayak. Can't say it enough; be sure to demo as many boats as you can, but give this one a try if at all possible.

Submit your own review!

09-05-2005
Submitted by: cooldoctor1Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my second Capri purchase, it is THAT good. These are wonderful, firm HTP blow molded (not rotomolded) 12 foot, 44 lb gems. Look for another plastic kayak with this stiff a hull and this weight and you will sadly not find one. Although Perception, Wilderness Systems etc. have fancier ads in the kayak 'zines, and they do make some nice higher end kevlar/fiberglass products, none of their rec boats match the German made Prijon. Mine are yellow and mango green, and they fly fast and steady (no rudder--optional, but not necessary on these) in the water.

I have taken on large lakes with boat wakes and wind, as well as curvy, narrow streams, and they do very well indeed. I am 69 inches and about 170 lbs; harder perhaps for anyone over about 210 lbs to get a proper fit. I agree with the other reviewers about the seat, and thus the ding of one point on my review. The seat pad is removable and thin, and the seat position is not adjustable (like its big brother the Calabria--see my disappointed review). The main gripe is the low seat back, which is not adjustable up or down as it has two metal posts that must be secured to the seat bottom; would be nice even at my moderate size to get the seat back higher; this is not adjustable. The screw on hatch is very waterproof, but there is no front hatch so I agree with reviewer, this is a rec boat perfect for several hours of cruising, but not for overnight gear, tents, etc.

This is my second Capri, and the first is used by my wife and kids. That is a very strong validation that I would, even with the plethora of kayaks available, choose the same one again. And I am a picky son-of-a-gun, too! So, I really have no regrets, and dollar for dollar, this is the fastest and best darn boat going. I have a GMC Sierra, and the 12 footers slide right in back with about 2 feet off the tailgate; couple of ratchet cables and we are ready to rock n roll. I thought about the Capri tandem, but then you cannot use alone, and I find that having two is better, more flexible, and when my 10 year old son tires, I throw him a rope and pull him with ease. The boat is that smooth through the water. Enjoy and support Prijon.

Submit your own review!

11-29-2004
Submitted by: Art CooperSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is my fifth kayak and for this one I was looking for a sleek, fast, light and stable plastic kayak at about 12ft long.

To provide some idea of what I am using as my base for comparison, my other boats are an a 12.5ft Necky Cruiser SOT, a 14.5ft Wilderness Pamlico,a 18ft Cobra Expedition and an 18ft QCC 700 Kevlar/Carbon Sea Kayak.

I compared the Capri to the Necky Manitou, the Current Design Kestral, the Perception Acadia, the Walden Vista and the Dagger Blackwaters 11.5 & 12.5. All of these are in the same class by length, weight and price. The weights go from 37lbs to 53. Each is just different enough to attract a paddler who is primarily interested in slightly different things as most important.

For the reviewer below, the double line running in the cockpit fore to the bow, is intended to allow easy placement and retrieval of storage or float bags in the bow. It’s a simplified pulley rig.

I agree that no kayak should ever be purchased without paddling it first. Also, several similar boats should be paddled before a decision to buy is made. Sometimes this means going to several different shops because each carries only a few manufacturers. Also, local paddling clubs provide a wide variety of craft owned by their members on every paddle they schedule. Paddlers are nearly always willing to let you try their boat for a spin.

What sold me on the Capri were in the order of their importance to me:
Narrow boat less than 25" wide;
Narrow fore and aft for more streamline shape;
Smaller cockpit, just enough to do a cowboy entry and exit or pull the knees up to rest on long paddles;
Hatch that can be opened while sitting in the boat for calm rivers without firm banks and having a leisurely lunch;
Greenland style that has most of the length of boat in the water and not wasted on attractive upsweeps in bow and stern that add little but wind resistance;
The multichined hull, though I am not sure how much this added to the control of the boats stability.

In ten minutes on the water, I knew that this boat was a good fit for me both physically sitting in it and in the way it handled. I recommend this to anyone seeking a 12ft plastic boat. Try it, you may like it.

Submit your own review!

10-18-2004
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     While its full model name is the Capri Tour, it would not rate highly as a tripper. With a 12' length and relatively low volume, it just wouldn't cut it. So, I evaluate it as a recreational boat. As that, it's a much better choice than most of the plastic barges beginners will quickly outgrow.

The hull design and construction and 25" beam provide you with performance opportunities that grow with your skills. Some beginners may interpret the willingness to j-lean as instability, but that's not the case. The lean drops that hard edge and enables you to carve like it's on rails. Related to this, don't expect the padded thigh braces touted in the outdated promotion copy. These were eliminated after the first year. But, the deck is molded to accommodate knee and thigh control, and you can glue in the padding. The hatch and footpegs work well.

Either toss the funky seat pad or glue it in. The meager Velcro strips included all but ensure you'll loose it on a shuttle. There's a line under the foredeck that runs fore and aft, but I haven't discerned its function. The deck net is a handy addition, especially considering the poor bottle-holder placement that Prijon insists on incorporating in its seats. Trust me, if you're in the habit of icing your bottle prior to summer runs, you won't be comfortable with the location unless you've recently had a vasectomy.

I was also puzzled by the published paddler weight range, since it easily takes on people the north side of two hundred. Only thing I can speculate is that they were viewing it as a tripper and allowed for gear weight.

So, we all agree it's a fast, lively, lightweight and rugged boat, but is it worth the price tag for recreational applications? I found a number of dealers willing to discount heavily. My theory is that the nebulous product positioning has made it a slow mover and the dealers are willing to deal. I was able to buy one for well under the price of a 12' recreational barge. Better boat, lower price makes this close to a ten.

Submit your own review!

08-20-2004
Submitted by: SThatcherSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     WOW, what a boat. Wanted mid size light vessel; studied Old Town Loon and Perception Sundance. Demoed the latter with the Prijon: no comparison, Prijon rules on all grounds. Hull is ThermoHTP (not rotomolded) thus is light and stiff. Feels more "substantial" than others. Smooth paddling and fast with great tracking rudderless. Cost about 20% more than rotomolded (my dealer says he cannot sell the Prijons because recreationalists want cheap rather than speedy and light). Pay over a thousand for fiberglass, or sixty percent of this for thermo-mold. Weight 42 lbs; find another 12 footer at this weight for under $999 and I'll eat my hat. Portage, storage, cartopping and stroking, weight, my friend, is EVERYTHING in 'yaking. I am very happy to have stumbled onto my Prijon. One caveat: if you are looking for a stable short tourer (ie photography equipment, fishing tackle, etc., DO NOT buy a Capri. Don;t care what they say, much less stable than standard rec boats like Loon and Adventurer (OT). You will have your gear at lakebottom if you try reaching out, moving in the cockpit, etc. Although I can bend my knees up in 'pit (ie ampple room), and the boat has fore and aft storage aplenty, it is tippy (thus light and fast--you make the call). Prijon details, like screw hatch on storage, seat cushions (plush), beverage holder, shock cords with screw downs, 'pit rim, carrying handles are heads above all rec 'yaks. German made, don;t you know. If you cannot afford a Benz, at least spring for a Prijon Capri (or the like). Nothing bad to say. I am 5'9", 165 lbs (agree with below, some reason the site states only for rides up to 18olbs or something; mine will hold anyone under 300lbs I would estimate. My son 9 yo loves it (and has not tipped it like his old man getting in yet-so kid friendly but not "horse-around friendly" as it will tip). Fast boat for size. Paddle: Bending Breeze, same cost as heavier Prijon paddle, lighter weight, recommended. NOw out t the water, laddies, out to the sea.
Submit your own review!

08-09-2004
Submitted by: MRKSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This was my first Kayak Purchase. I was looking for a recreational kayak with a little more functionality, just in case I wanted to go on a weekend trip or maybe on some class II water.

I agree with another review that you should definitely demo the kayak before you decide upon one. I bought mine from Jersey Paddler in Brick, NJ. They let you demo several kayaks. I demo’d the Necky Manitou, the Dagger Element, and the Jolt 116. The Necky Manitou was the closest in comparison.

I picked the Capri Tour because I really liked the way that it tracked (even w/out the optional rudder) and I had really good speed. The cockpit was very comfortable, and I like the thigh braces, which most other kayaks did not have in this class. Also the storage area is 5300 sq in, which is much larger then any I looked at. The Kayak is made of HTP, which is a high performance polyethylene. It is lightweight and easy for me to get on and off my truck.

The only strange thing I found about this kayak was that Prijon rated this kayak for paddlers up to 180 lbs? I am 5’11” 195lbs and I have no problems with this kayak. If you compare to others in this class/size they rate them up to 250-300lbs. I may add more after I have had the kayak for a longer time.

Submit your own review!

04-22-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had my Capri for about a year now. I ordered it after demoing many Kayaks during a very large demo put on by appomatix river company. My wife went for a Necky SantaCruz. The demo they put on was perfect for finding just the right kayak. If you are in the market don't buy a kayak until after you have gone to a large demo and tried out many different models ... they all paddle suprisingly different ... you'll see.

We have gone mainly on lakes, and some kayaking along Pamlico sound off of the outer banks of NC. I love my 12' Capri. I am a beginner, but have had no problems staying afloat with the Capri when encountering wind, waves, or boat wake. It is a little tippier than most flat bottom rentals, or the wife's Necky, but I found balance comfort came very quickly. The Capri seems to be a very fast boat. For flat water lake use it is just great. I especially liked the more closed cockpit with knee support to really be able to control the kayak with hip and knee movements for turning. My wife preffered the more open cockpit of the Necky which allows her to pop her legs out for a stretch much easier. The Capri will handle waves, but the bow is not upswept so large waves will give you a good soak. The Capri shines on open, fairly calm water, where it is a sweet little red sportsyak.

I ultimately chose the Capri because it was very comfortable to sit in for me, I liked the molded knee braces on the cockpit for control, the boat seems much faster than other boats I tried -- it zips along, and the boat is a bit lighter (to carry to the water) and stronger (pressure molded plastic) than some others. My Wife's Necky was also on the lighter side ... we carry both of them together a ways to drop in. Consider weight my friends if you have to carry your kayak more than 50 feet to the water and you're not 21 anymore

After much more experience with kayaking and trying different kayaks after I bought my Capri, I'm even more sure that the Capri was the right choice for me ... it's a great little rec kayak.

Submit your own review!

09-29-2003
Submitted by: JEB
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have used my 12 foot Capri in some class 11 whitewater and flat water and like it. It tracks well and for me it is easy to turn - class two rapids are no problem and I believe it will do ok in class 111 if you have paddling skills. A big plus is the rigid plastic that this kayak is made of, can tie down with no problems for carry and can set on it to have lunch. The storage area stays dry and I added a floation bag to front of boat.
Submit your own review!

07-07-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Good stable kayak bought it because it advertised good for rivers. Seems very manuerable on flatwater. Good speed for me. Brought down rapids Class II ?? I think and flipped it twice. My inexperience is a lot of the blame not the boat but I do feel if I had my wider Lobo by Kiwi I would have had less trouble. I think the 12' with all the rocks were an issue for my inexperience. However, the dry hatch had my towel clothes etc. and guess what they were dry. I could use the towel the dry out the kayak and myself. Never thought it would stay dry seeing the boat basically sunk first time over. Second time it floated with me upside down. Had fun not looking to make a habit of this however. I still rate the kayak as good stability and manuerable in flat water and class I but I prefer wider boat for rapids.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Point65 Mercury 2013 Clearance Sale!
Mercury modular touring kayak
Solo $899/Tandem $1199 - save $3-600!
Shop online...

Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale