Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Mainstream Kayak > Streak Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Streak Kayak by Mainstream Kayak


Rated: 9.38/10 Based On: 24 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



07-31-2013
Submitted by: Audrey H.Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have loved my Streak from the moment I bought it. The only issue I've had is that my seat pad for the back part of the seat blew off somewhere when I was transporting it early on. Easy to handle and steer. Great first kayak.
Submit your own review!

Win a Kayak or Canoe
06-21-2013
Submitted by: RichSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Purchased used but in excellent condition....my Streak was a great buy at $195. My first Kayak... wish I could find another one, very stable. I fish from it and was surprised at how stable it is. Read complaints on tracking, but have not seen an issue with this myself...guess I realize it's short and didn't expect it to track like it was on rails, but I think it tracks fine.

I've only had it in clam water so far. Lightweight, easy to handle off and on water. Comfortable seat. I thought the interior front height could have been a tad taller to accommodate feet on the foot pegs...that's my only real complaint...but still comfortable overall.

Submit your own review!

07-13-2012
Submitted by: AWSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I absolutely adore my streak. i'm currently looking for a play boat and it breaks my heart to give up old trusty. the only issue ive ever had is the foot pegs fall off fairly easily. i've had my boat for about 10+ years and still love it. use it in up to class 3 and it does better than most other boats around the same size. the plastic is flexible (but tough) so it bends over rocks some allowing me to rarely stay stuck. i do recommend buying a seat cushion for long trips though!
Submit your own review!

02-18-2010
Submitted by: Greg B.Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I purchased this kayak about 8 years ago extremely happy with it. I do a lot of fishing and fly fishing out of it. I have recently adapted a trolling motor to the side. works great. I do a lot of night fishing as well. very stable not like the otter. I have been down some rivers in it with some pretty good rapids a slope about 75 ft and slope of 45deg. it was a blast. I am glad I purchased this kayak. I am also wondering if anyone out there can point me in the right direction of a spray skirt that would fit this model.
Submit your own review!

08-03-2009
Submitted by: MTSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I recently purchased the Streak by Mainstream and I love it. As a beginner kayaker, it tracks well and fits all my needs. I use it in Lake Huron and find that it handles well. The only thing I wish the kayak had come with (or I had the option of buying) was a spray skirt, as I am having difficulty finding one that fits this kayak. Great first time kayak!
Submit your own review!

07-11-2008
Submitted by:
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought my Streak used from a girl who only paddled occasionally. Tracks great, paddles easy, stows front and back, easy in and out. Nice and light and easy to handle. My only complaint is hard to find a spray skirt that fits properly.
Submit your own review!

11-19-2007
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     For an "older" woman looking for a portable kayak, this is the greatest! I can paddle creeks, rivers or lakes and the lightweight, short length boat can be tucked in or on any vehicle with ease. I can grab & go anytime, anywhere!
Submit your own review!

08-07-2007
Submitted by: EricSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     Great fun little boat! I recently purchased two for $500. I can't think of much bad about them. I am a big guy, about 275 lbs. Moves easily and tracks well. However my wife is about 140 lbs., she enjoys the kayak and is very pleased with it, but has a little more trouble keeping it tracking as straight as I do. Probably due to it sitting higher in the water. However don't hesitate, you will love this boat.
Submit your own review!

06-08-2007
Submitted by: DaveSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Love this kayak. When you first start going, it wobbles a bit left to right w/ each stroke, but when your under way it isn't a problem. Very good stability, I regularly go out in the bay with it, and go through the state boat channel along side power boats, it handles the wakes very well. Even got caught in some bad chop by the mouth of a canal, no problem though, just paddled hard and steamed right through. Would definitely recommend this kayak.
Submit your own review!

05-14-2007
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I had a really good time with my new Streak this past weekend. For the past few months myself, my wife and my 2 children have been getting heavily into kayaking with our 2 tandam sit-on-tops. I wanted a little 1 person kayak for my teenage son (at that age where he likes to do things on his own--including in relation to kayaking. Well we both spent time in the Streak on the Banana River (moderate chop). It was great! A very neat little craft. I was not at all disappointed. Actually pretty 'zippy' and plenty stable. And the construction on mine is very good.

The company's philosophy is evidently "just grab your paddle and go" - friendly and the Streak allows you to do exactly that. My SOT's are HEAVY at 80 something lbs each. The Streak is 39 lbs and very "grabable." It is definitely a craft that will allow you to really be mobile with your yak, you'll be able to meet and take care of those "gosh, I've got a little spare time and I need my kayaking fix" moments, and the ride is a lot of fun. I highly recommend the Streak. Neat little water scooter.

Submit your own review!

10-24-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This is an update from my previous review. Several months into using this kayak and still loving it. Three things I see as issues however are that the Harmony Sprayskirt I have is not neoprene and it tends to collect water on top which I have to tip out but this may be corrected if I try tightening the skirt more but with the weather getting colder I think a neoprene skirt would be more waterproof and not allow this problem. Second issue is water tends to collect under the combing and this sometimes leaks inside the kayak. Not enough to be major but I notice it when the bay rough with large swells etc. Again a neoprene skirt would probably solve this problem. Third issue I have encountered is the front bottom of the seat has broken off from where it is molded to the kayak floor. I am concerned that a minimum amount of plastic remains where these two plastic pieces attached to the floor and it could spring a leak at any time so I now need to have those areas repaired with some type of kit to make sure they do not begin to leak. Having said all this there is not a day I am not greatful for my little Streak. Yesterday on St. Andrews Bay I enjoyed a cold brisk wind, lovely rough swells and a most beautiful sunset.
Submit your own review!

09-27-2006
Submitted by: Peter MSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     What an awesome little boat!! My wife and I were fortunate to be able to pick up a matched pair of used Streaks for $600CDN (including paddles and sprayskirts). We took them out this past weekend for a leisurely 10km (6.2 mile) lake paddle and had a great time. The boat is very comfortable, as others have mentioned (we were in them for about 4 hours), and I find it more than roomy enough (I'm 6'2", 195lbs). The wide cockpit allowed my knees to bend, and there was tons of room for my size-11 feet even when the footpegs were fully extended (which I have found is not the case with most rec kayaks under 10 feet). They are very stable - I felt like I could dive off the boat without tipping it. I found the tracking to be excellent (for a boat this length). I paddled hard a few times, just to see how quickly I could go if I wanted to, and was very impressed at the speed I was able to pick up and maintain fairly easily. I will say this: there was a fair amount of chop on the lake as it was quite windy. When I was really pushing it into the waves, I ended up being really glad I had the sprayskirt on, because a fair amount of water was on it. This wouldn't be a problem at all in calm water, but just for comfort and convenience I would strongly recommend the sprayskirt if you get out in choppy or moving water at all. All in all, for the price, the Streak is a fun, practical and very affordable intro to recreational kayaking and I would highly recommend it.
Submit your own review!

08-15-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     This is an updated review of the Mainsail Streak. I took it out into the Gulf of Mexico to Anclote Key, a sevem mile round trip from the coast. It performed well in one to two foot swells and 15 mph crosswinds. With constant paddling the Stream tracked well but would turn into the wind with reduced paddling - not unexpected. The cockpit stayed amazingly dry with no skirt and at no time did I feel out of control though my forward speed was noticeable reduced in the bigger swells. I've got to compliment Mainstream on the design and this boat's abilities in difficult conditions.
Submit your own review!

08-09-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Nice Kayak. This is my first hardshell and I am impressed. It tracks well and my first outing was a 10 mile roundtrip on Clearwater Bay. I am 5'11" and it's a tad cramped for me but I'm used to an inflatable sit on top. Solutition - when it feels too cramped I extend my feet outside the cockpit onto the bow and ride it like an SOT!
Submit your own review!

07-03-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have had several kayaks over the years and have always had to be cost conscious and research each purchase well. I have never made a kayak purchase that I feel so great about as this one. I am a 42 year young female in reasonably good shape. This little boat has so many strengths. It is light and easy for me to load and unload. I am 5'6" and medium build and I find it easy to get in and out of and very roomy inside. I also have never been in another kayak with a more comfortable seat than this one. I also expected it to fill up pretty quickly with water when not using a skirt on the ocean bay but even when the waves were moderately choppy - it rode the swells and even after two miles no bailing was needed. I had been leaning on the sit on tops more but this boat has me thinking no SOT's Ever Again! It is fast and I had no issues with tracking. It tracked beautifully better than my SOS with a skeg. Apparently the tracking channels designed into the hull work. There is plenty of room for storage and at first I was disappointed my model did not have a cut in dry storage hatch but after using it I now prefer no hatches. There is plenty of storage area behind the seat and even in the bow. There is a good amount of internal flotation material which is excellent. The boat is sturdy, reliable, comfortable and has good speed and tracking. It is great buy and I am planning to get another for family/friends. I almost bought a Majestic or America that was a little longer and $100 more and I am so glad I didn't. I have a budget, limited storage and transport alone often. This yak is a gem. Thank you Mainstream!
Submit your own review!

03-02-2006
Submitted by: AirmapperSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I've been paddling and fishing from the Streak for years. My first, and as of yet my only Kayak, I think it's a great boat. I'm pretty tall (6'4") and it gets a little cramped after 3 hours or so, but other than that no complaints. It's very stable, tracks pretty well. I've clocked the speeds using GPS at: 3mph= comfortable cruise, 4=mph= fast cruise, 5mph= As fast as I can go.

For fishing it's an excellent platform, very stable, and has room for a lot of gear. I can easily pack 3 rods, a small tackle container, and a knife on the front rigging.

Submit your own review!

02-09-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I bought this boat for rivers and creeks but I was surprised to find that it handles class III white water pretty well. I have three years experience with Dagger play boats and love this one so much that I prefer it over the prijon and dagger for short runs and 3 hour river runs as well.
Submit your own review!

01-03-2006
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Iíve been floating for over 20 years, mainly in canoes. I current own an Old Town Charles River and I love it, but the Streak is my first kayak. Man why havenít I bought one before now!? I only paid $249 new from Gander Mountain and itís the best money Iíve spent in a while. Iíve done a lot of research on line before purchasing a kayak and this one has all the features I was looking for. This kayak is stable and tracks well for the length and will turn on a dime. Itís also comfortable. Go ahead and buy a skirt even if you donít expect to do white water to keep dry from the paddle dripping. I added a rod holder and a paddle bungee myself. I like the amount of storage it provides and the seat design allows you to get to the storage area behind the seat easily. My first trip out, I put in on the head waters of a local lake and floated down to the lake and back. I was able to quietly sneak up on ducks, turkeys and turtles along the way. I canít wait to try fishing from this rig and I am planning an overnight on the Buffalo River this spring. A LOT OF FUN FOR THE MONEY!
Submit your own review!

12-05-2004
Submitted by: RATSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I rate this kayak a 10, mainly because for the value it does exactly what you would expect it to do...We travel by boat quite often and these kayaks are perfect for mounting on swim decks, are light in weight and are stable for most people. When anchored out we toss a few in the water and away we go!! They are great for exploring and site seeing...if you look in the sales papers of Boaters World, West,& BoatUS you can catch them on sale for around $325.00 complete with skirt & paddle. A great value for the money!!
Submit your own review!

09-19-2004
Submitted by: View Profile Send Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     My first Rec Kayak, I went with the Mainstream Streak for the low price. At the time I was purchasing two so that was a big factor. We use ours for slower river kayaking. Mostly on Class 1-2 rivers, and creeks. They are great if the current is moving. They allow good turning. The tracking is not so great, but I didn't expect it to be with such a short length. In all they seem to handle very well where we use them. I think they make a great low end Rec Kayak, great for learning, and getting used to the feel of kayaking.
Submit your own review!

08-11-2003
Submitted by: FJLSend Email
Rating: 5 of 10

     I bought this as a second kayak so my friends and family w/o kayaks could go paddling with me. For the money its a good deal for a kayak. However it does not track very well and is the only drawback, but must be expected for shorter boats. Plastic is not as durable as I'd hope. Still, great kayak for the $250.00 I spent on it. Took it out on the Potamac this weekend and does best is small creeks class 0-1 where tracking is not really an issue.
Submit your own review!

04-17-2003
Submitted by: pvigSend Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     I love the Streak's adaptibility to different conditions. It's great for a quicky and I never feel like I'm working very hard in it. Great value, and experience, especially for the beginner.
Submit your own review!

12-09-2002
Submitted by: DoloresSend Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I love this little boat. As a small woman, I needed something I could carry myself that would fit my size and carry my gear. There is plenty of storage room, the seat is comfortable (esp. with the added cushion of my PFD), and the adjustable pedals are great for someone short like me. The price is great for the kayak. Front deck rigging is great for stowing stuff and behind seat storage takes care of the rest. For handling, it is great, moves and tracks well, very good speed, and extremely stable. Save some money on the boat, invest in a great paddle, and you'll be happy with it for sure!
Submit your own review!

10-01-2002
Submitted by: MikeSend Email
Rating: 8 of 10

     Great 'yak for the money.($300) Makes a very stable platform for fishing... ie. not "tippy". Tracks well, but is not quite as fast as some other comparable models that I have tried. I recently did a 16 mile overnight trip (class I-II river) and found it to be a very comfortable ride. Also has plenty of room for both the paddler and equipment ( I'm 6'2", 200lbs). The only complaint that I have is the seat has 4 small plastic legs that help secure it to the hull. 2 of them broke on my 'yak. This minor flaw has not seemed to have impeded performance ( actually the seat is now more comfortable). I would recomend the Streak.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale