Your #1 source for kayaking and canoeing information.               FREE Newsletter!
my Profile
Product Reviews > Kayaks > Northwest Kayaks, Inc. > Synergy Add Your Review Now!

Reviews for Synergy Kayak by Northwest Kayaks, Inc.


Rated: 8.14/10 Based On: 7 Reviews

Kayaks
Research Kayaks in the Buyers' Guide!
Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image Kayaks Image
Select Kayak to View in Buyers' Guide



12-29-2011
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     I have had my Synergy HV (kevlar) for over a decade. This boat is extremely seaworthy. It has made countless trips to the coast. It is the best looking yak out there still today. It has taking abuse in the surf and has never leaked a drop. This boat is the crown jewel of my kayak fleet. I gave it a 9 because the seat is torture after an all day trip.
Submit your own review!

11-27-2006
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 10 of 10

     Recently acquired the new 'aircraft lay up" Synergy. This flared hardchine v-bottom hits the sweet spot for me (5'11"; 210). A nice blend of primary and secondary stability, as well as manueverability vs tracking. It is rock solid when put on edge and carving a turn and takes waves with aplomb. All this in a boat that weighs only 4 lb more than my single rowing shell. Well built; no leaks; a definite winner.
Submit your own review!

10-25-2004
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 10 of 10

     I have a kevlar Synergy HV. I am happy with every aspect of the kayak. Of course it helps that I got a major deal on it. I say this after a demo in five other boats. I also owed a Current Design SS and a Current Design Storm. I like the way the boat tracks and I find the boat very comfortable given my large frame (6'3" 220). Unlike some of the people who had problems with leaks in the early design, mine has had no such problems.
Submit your own review!

08-11-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     I purchased a Kevlar Synergy a few months ago. Excellent workmanship, no leaks as reported on some older models, and it carves a turn beautifully. Big difference in the hull design over my other NWK Cadence LP. Great boat. Very comfortable. One thing is I wish the seat back was a little lower but fear not, you will like it.
Submit your own review!

07-08-2003
Submitted by: ---
Rating: 9 of 10

     Just as a side note. I paddled a composite Synergy the first year they came out and had major issues with the leaking into the storage compartment.... Perhaps this issue has be addressed since then. Other than that the boat perform like all other Northwest Kayaks ...Excellent
Submit your own review!

12-02-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 1 of 10

     The boat had very bad leaks in the rear 2 compartments. So bad, that it made the bow pitch up 20+ degrees. I exchanged the boat with the dealer after repair attempts failed. The boat I exchanged this for was not another Northwest. The dealer told me this was the 3rd Synergy in 1 year that had this kind of serious problem where the boat had flooding compartment(s). Norhtwest never replied to my requests for assistance or advice. As good as the design might be (I think it is), one just has to have a boat that does not get flooding compartments in mild conditions.
Submit your own review!

08-12-2002
Submitted by: Send Email
Rating: 9 of 10

     This boat has excellent workmanship, layup, and gelcoat. It is extremely seaworthy, and can deliver a decent turn of speed. Unloaded, it can reasonably be proprelled at 4 knots. The boat (kevlar) is definitely way over its advertised weight of 48lbs. This boat is all about seaworthiness, reasonable touring speed, and quality assembly and materials. I would buy one again. The only negative is not enough leg room (6'3", 245 lbs). I will have to adjust the footbrace slides or get an after market rudder kit.
Submit your own review!

Don't Miss the Paddling.net Weekly Newsletter!
Free Newsletter120,000+ people can't be wrong!
The Paddling.net Newsletter is a must if you like to canoe or kayak! Each week it is packed with great articles, photos, product reviews, and special features. Better yet, we promise not to sell your email address to anyone; that's right ZERO spam! Sign up today and find out what you've been missing!














Follow us on:
Free Newsletter | About Us | Site Map | Advertising Info | Contact Us

©2014 Paddling.net Inc.
Sweepstakes Shirt Sale